Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10679342, 11341641, 12283042, 10692207, 11763448, 10853938, 11568537, and 12315156. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a user interface to provide improved usability.
Claims 1-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/229488 and 19/196044 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a user interface to provide improved usability.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 14 recites the limitation "the second end of the enclosure housing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes “a second enclosure housing end” is disclosed in the claims from which they depend and suggest amending the claims to align the limitation language to ensure clarity and avoid indefiniteness.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13, line 18, recites the limitation of claim 18 verbatim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-15, 17-18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (US 2013/0142406 A1) in view of Ito et al. (US 2015/0010758 A1) and Tribble at al. (US 2010/0094653 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 7, 13, and 18, Lang discloses a system for preparing a pharmaceutical compound, comprising: a base comprising a scale having a platen configured for placement of an object thereon [Lang: FIG. 2], the platen comprising: one or more recessed grooves [Lang: ¶ [0028]: The tray 48 may be self-aligning in some embodiments, such as by fitting into a similarly-sized recess in the surface of the stage 44, by having alignment fittings in the tray 48]; and a transparent and/or translucent material configured to permit passage of light therethrough [Lang: ¶ [0028]: As shown in FIG. 2, a user-removable tray 48, which may be washable, sterilizable, and/or disposable, and which is substantially transparent to such portion of the electromagnetic spectrum]; a supporting arm comprising a first end coupled to a portion of the base and a second end extending to a position above the platen of the scale [Lang: FIG. 2]; an enclosure housing comprising a first enclosure housing end and a second enclosure housing end, the first enclosure housing end attached to and extending from the second end of the supporting arm, and the second end of the enclosure housing extending over the platen of the scale [Lang: FIG. 2] and comprising a portion that is concave along an axis defined by the first enclosure housing end and the second enclosure housing end [Lang: FIG. 2], wherein a field of view of the image capture device includes the platen [Lang: FIG. 2; and ¶ [0028]], wherein the enclosure housing has a curved profile to minimize flow disturbance [Lang: FIG. 2]; an image capture device received within the enclosure housing and operatively connected to the scale [Lang: ¶ [0030]: the light source 62 may include a discretely identifiable illumination source power control module 68 that emits radiation 70, such as infrared light, that passes through a stage 72 and is blocked in part by subject units 74 (e.g., pills). A portion of the unblocked radiation 76 impinges on a camera 78, functioning as an image acquisition component]; an infrared camera received within the enclosure housing [Lang: ¶ [0030]]; and a user interface arranged on the base, the user interface operatively connected to the scale [Lang: ¶ [0028]: an operator interface cluster 34 integrated into a base 36 on a sloped face 38 thereof].
Lang may not explicitly disclose one or more recessed grooves [as shown in the instant application FIG. 4] and the system is positioned within a flow hood.
However, Ito discloses one or more recess grooves [Ito: FIG. 7].
Ito may not explicitly disclose the system is positioned within a flow hood.
However, Tribble may disclose the system is positioned within a flow hood [Tribble: ¶ [0141] The present system combines a macro-level workflow manager that tracks the status of dose production in the pharmacy IV room from the receipt of the dose order, through preparation at a workstation that can include a laminar flow hood].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the flow hood of Tribble with the system of Lang in order to provide safer working environment for users, as well as the recessed grooves of Ito in order to provide mitigation for objects rolling around.
Regarding Claims 2 and 14, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses wherein the second end of the enclosure housing has a curved profile to minimize flow disturbance within a flow hood [Lang: FIG. 2].
Regarding Claims 3 and 15, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses wherein the supporting arm is arranged such that a center of a field of view of the image capture device coincides with a center of the platen [Lang: FIG. 2].
Regarding Claims 4, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses further comprising a printer [Lang: ¶ [0051]: printer].
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses further comprising a barcode scanner received within the enclosure housing and operatively connected to the scale [Lang: ¶ [0034]: barcode scanner].
Regarding Claims 10 and 21, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses wherein the enclosure housing is configured such that, when the system is placed in a laminar flow hood, a consistent pressure is applied to the scale [Tribble: ¶ [0141]; wherein it is understood normal air pressure is considered consistent].
Regarding Claims 11 and 22, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses wherein the enclosure housing is configured such that, when the system is placed in a laminar flow hood, drag is minimized [Lang: FIG. 2; Tribble: ¶ [0141]; wherein “minimized” appears to be a broad term which may be interpreted as reducing drag in any amount].
Regarding Claim 12, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses wherein the second enclosure housing end comprises a portion that is concave along an axis defined by the first enclosure housing end and the second enclosure housing end [Lang: FIG. 2].
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Ito and Tribble as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Hoare et al. (US 2015/0257574 A1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Lang in view of Ito and Tribble may not explicitly disclose further comprising a printer integral with the base.
However, Hoare discloses further comprising a printer integral with the base [Hoare: ¶ [0112]: Electronic scales associated with the appliance 250 may have an integral label printer for creating a barcode such as a 2D barcode 255].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the integral printer of Hoare with the system of Lang in view of Ito and Tribble in order to provide compact tools with integrated peripheries.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Ito and Tribble as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Luchinger (US 2011/0286886 A1).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Lang in view of Ito and Tribble may not explicitly disclose wherein the enclosure housing is configured such that the scale exhibits a gravimetric accuracy of +/-0.05 g.
However, Luchinger discloses wherein the enclosure housing is configured such that the scale exhibits a gravimetric accuracy of +/-0.05 g [Luchinger: ¶ [0011]: The term "high-resolution weighing cells" refers to devices which allow the mass of a weighing object to be measured with an accuracy as fine as a microgram].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the high accuracy scale of Luchinger with the system of Lang in view of Ito and Tribble in order to provide improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Ito and Tribble as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Dartus [US 5938074 A].
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Lang in view of Ito and Tribble discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 13, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Lang in view of Ito and Tribble may not explicitly disclose Scales capable of weighing several grams with a weighing time of less than one second can be found on the market.
However, Dartus discloses Scales capable of weighing several grams with a weighing time of less than one second can be found on the market [Dartus: Col. 2, ll. 50-55: Scales capable of weighing several grams with a weighing time of less than one second can be found on the market].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the well-known quick-stabilization scales of Dartus with the system of Lang in view of Ito and Tribble in order to provide improved work pace.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482