DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1 in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Post (US 6869387).
Post discloses a bag for carrying a load (22; Fig. 1-5; col 2 In 23-33), said bag comprising: an initial stage of the bag produced from a flexible sheet material (round tube 30 formed from flexible material drawn over rounder former 12; Fig. 1-5; col 2 In 34-42, col 1 In 21-28), said initial stage being generally circular in cross-section (circular cross-section of round tube 30; Fig. 1-5; col 2 In 34-42); a final stage of the bag formed from the initial stage thereof (22; Fig. 5; col 2 In 23-33), said final stage being generally square in cross-section (square cross-section of 22; Fig. 5; col 1 In 17-19, col 2 In 23-33); and a cavity defined in the final stage of the bag (conventional bag having cavity; Fig. 5; col 2 In 23-42, col 1 In 26-37), said cavity being adapted to receive the load therein (bag used for holding groceries; Fig. 5; col 1 In 21-24).
Regarding claim 2, Post further discloses the initial stage of the bag includes a peripheral wall produced from the flexible sheet material (wall of round tube 30; Fig. 1-5; col 2 In 34-42), said peripheral wall being tubular in configuration and extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end (round tube 30 extending longitudinally; Fig. 1-5; col 2 In 34-42), wherein the peripheral wall is generally circular in cross-section (circular wall of round tube 30; Fig. 1-5; col 2 In 34-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Post (US 6869387) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Dunlap et al. (US 11319144, hereinafter ‘Dunlap’).
Regarding claim 3, Post discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the pleats and lift belt as claimed.
However, Dunlap teaches a bag (10; Fig. 11, 17; col 25 In 49-58, col 24 In 26-41), comprising: a plurality of pleats formed in the peripheral wall at circumferentially spaced-apart intervals from one another (pleats of body 38; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41), wherein each pleat of the plurality of pleats extends longitudinally along the peripheral wall (longitudinal extension of pleats of body 38; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41); a lift belt secured longitudinally along each pleat (instances of 50; Fig. 11, 13, 17; col 24 In 8-16); and wherein the peripheral wall with the plurality of pleats formed therein and the lift belt secured to each pleat comprises the final stage (configuration of Fig. 11, 17 with pleats and lift belts; Fig. 11, 13, 17; col 24 In 8-16, col 24 In 26-41).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have employed the elements of Dunlap upon the bag of Post, in order to strengthen bag integrity and improve handling of the bag by a user.
As pertaining to claim 4, Post in view of Dunlap teaches the bag according to claim 3, and Dunlap discloses further comprising: a plurality of reinforced regions provided in the peripheral wall at the circumferentially spaced-apart intervals from one another (instances of 43; Fig. 11, 13, 17; col 24 In 8-16); wherein the plurality of reinforced regions extend longitudinally along the peripheral wall (longitudinal extension of instances of 43; Fig. 11, 13, 17; col 24 In 8-16); and
wherein each pleat of the plurality of pleats is formed in a different reinforced region of the plurality of reinforced regions (dispersion of pleats of body 38; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41).
As pertaining to claim 5, Post teaches the bag according to claim 2, but is silent wherein the flexible sheet material which forms the peripheral wall comprises a woven fabric.
However, Dunlap teaches a bag (10; Fig. 11, 17; col 25 In 49-58, col 24 In 26-41), comprising: the flexible sheet material which forms the peripheral wall comprises a woven fabric (woven polypropylene; Fig. 11, 17; col 1 In 53-55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have employed the elements of Dunlap upon the bag of Post, in order to strengthen bag integrity.
As pertaining to claim 8, Post in view of Dunlap teaches the bag according to claim 5, and Dunlap further discloses wherein the lift belt comprises a first side (left arm of lowermost instance of 50; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 8-16) and a second side (right arm of lowermost instance of 50; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 8-16), wherein the first side is in abutting contact with a first surface of the pleat (left side of lower pleat of 38; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41) and the second side is in abutting contact with a second surface of the pleat (right side of lower pleat of 38; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41), wherein the first surface and the second surface of the pleat are opposed (opposed surfaces of pleat of 38; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41), and wherein a loop of the lift belt extends outwardly beyond a first end of the final stage of the bag (upward extension of 50 beyond top end of bag; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 8-16).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Post (US 6869387) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Dunlap et al. (US 11319144, hereinafter ‘Dunlap’) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Tavsanli et al. (US 2016/0355331, hereinafter ‘Tavsanli’).
As pertaining to claim 6, Post in view of Dunlap teaches the bag according to claim 5, and Dunlap further discloses wherein: a plurality of regions of a first thread density formed in the woven fabric (thread density of regions of 38 with pleats; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41); wherein a rest of the woven fabric is of a second thread density (thread density of regions of 38 disposed away from pleats; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41); wherein each pleat of the plurality of pleats is formed in one of the plurality of regions of the first thread density (regions of 38 with pleats; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 26-41); but is silent wherein further comprising: wherein the first thread density is greater than the second thread density.
However, Tavsanli teaches a bag (Fig. 1; para [0047]), comprising: a plurality of regions of a first thread density formed in the woven fabric (greater fiber density regions at lift handle attachment points; Fig. 1; para [0032]); wherein a rest of the woven fabric is of a second thread density (regular fiber density regions; Fig. 1; para [0032]); wherein the first thread density is greater than the second thread density (greater fiber density greater than regular fiber density; Fig. 1; para [0032]); and wherein each pleat of the plurality of pleats is formed in one of the plurality of regions of the first thread density (pleat formation in greater fiber density regions; Fig. 1; para [0032]; Post as modified by Dunlap and Tavsanli).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have employed the elements of Tavsanli upon the bag of Post in view of Dunlap, in order to strengthen bag integrity.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Post (US 6869387) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Dunlap et al. (US 11319144, hereinafter ‘Dunlap’) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Richardson, Jr. et al. (US 2003/0235349, hereinafter ‘Richardson’).
As pertaining to claim 7, Post in view of Dunlap teaches the bag according to claim 3, and Dunlap further discloses wherein the lift belt comprises a first side (left arm of lowermost instance of 50; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 8-16) and a second side (right arm of lowermost instance of 50; Fig. 11, 17; col 24 In 8-16)), but is silent: wherein the first side and the second side are in abutting contact with one another; wherein the first side is in abutting contact with a first surface of the pleat, and wherein a loop of the lift belt extends outwardly beyond a first end of the final stage.
However, Richardson teaches a bag (Fig. 1; para [0027]), comprising: the lift belt comprises a first side (right arm end of leftmost instance of 18; Fig. 1; para [0028]) and a second side (left arm end of leftmost instance of 18; Fig. 1; para [0028]); wherein the first side and the second side are in abutting contact with one another (abutting contact of arm ends of leftmost instance of 18; Fig. 1; para [0028]); wherein the first side is in abutting contact with a first surface of the pleat (right arm end of leftmost instance of 18 in abutting contact with pleat; Fig. 1; para [0028]), and wherein a loop of the lift belt extends outwardly beyond a first end of the final stage (upward extension of 18 beyond top end of bag; Fig. 1; para [0028]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have employed the elements of Richardson upon the bag of Post in view of Dunlap, in order to strengthen lift belt integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
October 27, 2026