DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 3-17-25. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2024/0118738 to Patel et al. (“Patel”) in view of US 2025/0251130 to QIAO (“QIAO”).
Regarding claim 1. Patel discloses a backup power system for providing backup power (fig. 1, and para; 0024, The DERs 110 can provide backup power to the loads) to all or a portion of a data center (data center 105), the backup power system comprising: and one or more uninterruptible power sources (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source and para; 0027, fossil fuel energy sources (e.g., diesel generators, coal-fired plants, natural gas); wherein the one or more uninterruptible power sources are configured to, following a power outage (para; 0010, API to ramp-up backup energy sources during routine maintenance of the grid and ensures resilient operation of the data center during grid outages) to the all or the portion of the data center, provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center; wherein the one or more turbines of the turbine plant are configured to, following the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, start a startup process (para;0052, controlling the DER resources 110-1 through 110-N. For example, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4). If some or all of the DERs 110 (e.g., DER 110-1 through 110-N) are carbon-free energy sources (e.g., renewable resources), the WECS 130 is configured to utilize the renewable resources to power the data center 105 and reduce overall carbon output (e.g., compared to diesel generators)); and wherein the turbine plant is configured to, following the one or more turbines finishing the startup process (para; 0052, WECS 130 is configured to use information about the weather, electric utility grid status, and data center 105 status to simultaneously and in near-real time, control the DER controllers 112a-112n, thereby), provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0024, DERs 110 can provide backup power to the loads, e.g., in the event of grid failure and provides flexibility in energy sources while also preventing downtime in the case of grid failure).
But, Patel does not disclose a turbine plant comprising one or more turbines;
However, QIAO discloses a turbine plant (para; Micro-gas turbines also offer the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power, multi-fuel capability
and ease of emissions control) comprising one or more turbines;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel by adding multi-fuel turbine as part of its configuration as taught by QIAO, in order to the advantages of
compact size, low weight per unit power and micro gas turbine engines rely on spinning at very high rotational speeds and operating at high temperatures, which both induce a lot of thermal stress and mechanical stress onto the components of the engine.
Regarding claim 2. Patel discloses the data center (fig. 1, data center environment 100).
Regarding claim 3. Patel discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Patel does not disclose the turbine plant is a multi-fuel turbine plant, and wherein the one or more turbines are each multi-fuel turbines.
However, QIAO discloses the turbine plant is a multi-fuel turbine plant, and wherein the one or more turbines are each multi-fuel turbines (para; Micro-gas turbines also offer the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power, multi-fuel capability and ease of emissions control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel by adding multi-fuel turbine as part of its configuration as taught by QIAO, in order to the advantages of
compact size, low weight per unit power and micro gas turbine engines rely on spinning at very high rotational speeds and operating at high temperatures, which both induce a lot of thermal stress and mechanical stress onto the components of the engine.
Regarding claim 4. Patel discloses one or more on-site fuel storage tanks (para; 0027, other energy storage systems) configured to store enough fuel to run the one or more turbines of the turbine plant for 24 hours or more (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)).
Regarding claim 5. Patel discloses the one or more uninterruptible power sources are further configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center for 20 minutes or more (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods; for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)).
Regarding claim 6. Patel discloses the backup power system further comprises one or more generators; the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source) are configured to, following the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, start a startup process; and the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source) are further configured to, following the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source) finishing the startup process, provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0052, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 7. Patel discloses the one or more uninterruptible power sources are further configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center for 5 minutes (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods; for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)) or less; and the system further comprises one or more additional on-site fuel storage tanks (para; 0027, other energy storage systems) configured to store enough fuel to run the one or more generators for 30 minutes (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods; for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)) or more.
Regarding claim 8. Patel discloses the one or more turbines of the turbine plant are configured to, prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage (para; 0078, examples, the WECS is constantly receiving power control information from the RDCCS for data center operations during critical grid operations (e.g., maintenance, unplanned outages)) to the all or the portion of the data center, start another start up process; and the turbine plant is configured to, following the one or more turbines finishing the another startup process, provide dispatch power to a utility power grid (para; 0083, The respective DER controller receives a command or multiple commands to update corresponding values related to the DER operation. The respective DER controller may also receive a command to synchronize with other DER controllers, and adjust the executed timing of the respective DER).
Regarding claim 9. Patel discloses the turbine plant further comprises one or more turbine main switchboards, wherein the one or more turbine main switchboards (para; 0096, switchgear devices are configured to control, protect, and isolate electric equipment in a data center environment. The WECS can perform a managed transition of the data center environment to the grid connected mode) are configured to receive electricity generated as a result of the one or more turbines, and further configured to provide the generated electricity to the utility power grid as the dispatch power (para; 0090, the central controllers 332 can transmit commands to perform functions including power factor control, energy source dispatch, load shedding, volt var management, and frequency control. Referring to FIGS. L A and 1B, the WEC system 130 illustrates the functionality of the third layer 330).
Regarding claim 10. Patel discloses a power outage to all or a portion of a data center (para; 0010, API to ramp-up backup energy sources during routine maintenance of the grid and ensures resilient operation of the data center during grid outages): providing, by one or more uninterruptible power sources, backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0055, The WECS 130 determines appropriate usage between a standby power system and an uninterruptible power system depending on if the event is a planned ( e.g., maintenance) or unplanned (e.g., power grid blackout)); and a startup process (para;0052, controlling the DER resources 110-1 through 110-N. For example, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators); and following the one or more turbines of the turbine plant finishing the startup process, providing, by the turbine plant, the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0052, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4)).
But, Patel does not disclose one or more turbines of a turbine plant,
However, QIAO discloses one or more turbines of a turbine plant (para; Micro-gas turbines also offer the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power, multi-fuel capability and ease of emissions control),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel by adding multi-fuel turbine as part of its configuration as taught by QIAO, in order to the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power and micro gas turbine engines rely on spinning at very high rotational speeds and operating at high temperatures, which both induce a lot of thermal stress and mechanical stress onto the components of the engine.
Regarding claim 11. Patel discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Patel does not disclose the turbine plant is a multi-fuel turbine plant, and wherein the one or more turbines are each multi-fuel turbines.
However, QIAO disclose the turbine plant is a multi-fuel turbine plant (para; Micro-gas turbines also offer the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power, multi-fuel capability and ease of emissions control), and wherein the one or more turbines are each multi-fuel turbines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel by adding multi-fuel turbine as part of its configuration as taught by QIAO, in order to the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power and micro gas turbine engines rely on spinning at very high rotational speeds and operating at high temperatures, which both induce a lot of thermal stress and mechanical stress onto the components of the engine.
Regarding claim 12. Patel discloses comprising storing, by one or more on-site fuel storage tanks (para; 0027, and other energy storage systems).
Regarding claim 13. Patel discloses the providing, by the one or more uninterruptible power sources (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source), the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center comprises providing, by the one or more uninterruptible power sources, the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center for 20 minutes (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods; for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)) or more.
Regarding claim 14. Patel discloses the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, starting, by one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source), a startup process (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source); and following the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source) finishing the startup process (para; 0052, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4)), providing, by the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source), the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center.
Regarding claim 15. Patel discloses the providing, by the one or more uninterruptible power sources (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source), the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center comprises providing, by the one or more uninterruptible power sources, the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center for 5 minutes (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods; for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)) or less; the method further comprises storing, by one or more additional on-site fuel storage tanks (para; 0027, other energy storage systems), enough fuel to run the one or more generators for 30 minutes (para; 0024, it may be more efficient to use a DER 110 in place of a utility grid during some time periods; for example, in the event of grid failure DER 110 can provide backup power to the loads (during other time periods, it can be 5, 10, 20 or 30 minutes)) or more.
Regarding claim 16. Patel discloses prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage (para; 0078, examples, the WECS is constantly receiving power control information from the RDCCS for data center operations during critical grid operations (e.g., maintenance, unplanned outages)) to the all or the portion of the data center, starting, by the one or more turbines of the turbine plant, another startup process; and following the one or more turbines finishing another startup process, providing, by the turbine plant, dispatch power to a utility power grid (para; 0083, The respective DER controller receives a command or multiple commands to update corresponding values related to the DER operation. The respective DER controller may also receive a command to synchronize with other DER controllers, and adjust the executed timing of the respective DER).
Regarding claim 17. Patel discloses one or more memory units (para; 0101, computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, such as EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices); and one or more processors communicatively (para; 0037, The control unit 131 can include one or more hardware processors, controllers, microcontrollers, and/or other appropriate processing hardware capable of executing instructions to determine control information) coupled to the one or more memory units, the one or more processors configured to (para; 0033, The RDCCS 140 can determine the amount of power based on the computational power (e.g., the number of computers) that will be used to process the workloads, the duration of the workloads, the amount of power consumed by computers and other components of the data center 105, and/or other appropriate factors): following a power outage (para; 0010, API to ramp-up backup energy sources during routine maintenance of the grid and ensures resilient operation of the data center during grid outages) to all or a portion of a data center: cause power from one or more uninterruptible power sources to be provided as backup power to the all or the portion of the data center; and to start a startup process (para;0052, controlling the DER resources 110-1 through 110-N. For example, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators); and following the one or more turbines of the turbine plant finishing the startup process, cause power from the turbine plant to be provided as the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0052, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4)).
But, Patel does not disclose one or more turbines of a turbine plant,
However, QIAO discloses one or more turbines of a turbine plant (para; Micro-gas turbines also offer the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power, multi-fuel capability and ease of emissions control),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel by adding multi-fuel turbine as part of its configuration as taught by QIAO, in order to the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power and micro gas turbine engines rely on spinning at very high rotational speeds and operating at high temperatures, which both induce a lot of thermal stress and mechanical stress onto the components of the engine.
Regarding claim 18. Patel discloses the one or more processors are further configured to: following the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, cause one or more generators to start a startup process; and following the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source) finishing the startup process, cause power from the one or more generators (para; 0005, local energy sources can include two or more of (i) a diesel generator, (ii) a solar energy source, (iii) a wind energy source, or (iv) a battery energy source) to be provided as the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0052, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 19. Patel discloses the one or more processors are further configured to: prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage (para; 0078, examples, the WECS is constantly receiving power control information from the RDCCS for data center operations during critical grid operations (e.g., maintenance, unplanned outages)) to the all or the portion of the data center, cause the one or more turbines of the turbine plant to start another start up process; and following the one or more turbines finishing another startup process, cause power from the turbine plant to be provided as dispatch power to a utility power grid (para; 0083, The respective DER controller receives a command or multiple commands to update corresponding values related to the DER operation. The respective DER controller may also receive a command to synchronize with other DER controllers, and adjust the executed timing of the respective DER).
Regarding claim 20. Patel discloses tangible non-transitory computer readable medium comprising logic configured, when executed by one or more processors (para; 0101, computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, such as EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices), to: following a power outage (para; 0010, API to ramp-up backup energy sources during routine maintenance of the grid and ensures resilient operation of the data center during grid outages) to all or a portion of a data center: cause power from one or more uninterruptible power sources to be provided as backup power to the all or the portion of the data center; and to start a startup process (para;0052, controlling the DER resources 110-1 through 110-N. For example, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators); and following the one or more turbines of the turbine plant finishing the startup process, cause power from the turbine plant to be provided as the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center (para; 0052, the WECS 130 is configured to utilize backup resources (e.g., battery assets, diesel generators) in the event of an electric grid failure (e.g., blackout event 403b or 405a referring to FIG. 4)).
But, Patel does not disclose one or more turbines of a turbine plant,
However, QIAO discloses one or more turbines of a turbine plant (para; Micro-gas turbines also offer the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power, multi-fuel capability and ease of emissions control),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel by adding multi-fuel turbine as part of its configuration as taught by QIAO, in order to the advantages of compact size, low weight per unit power and micro gas turbine engines rely on spinning at very high rotational speeds and operating at high temperatures, which both induce a lot of thermal stress and mechanical stress onto the components of the engine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rixhon et al. US 2021/0066957 Al- The present invention is related to a hardware developed for allowing the virtualization of power and therefore bringing change to the data center market. This new concept, unique in the industry, offers the missing link to respond to the multiple and contradictory challenges the industry will be facing in managing power. The concept of a rack mounted power pack sized for average loads, is allowing peak shaving, and microgrid utilization. The combination of renewable power sources and grid connections enables cost savings while increasing the resilience of the overall infrastructure. The so-called "Power Fusion" operates like a decentralized double conversion UPS with all the advantages of centralized architecture.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849