DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, 15, and 20 are independent.
This office action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 3, 5, 6, 9 – 11, and 13 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0213781, hereinafter “Kelly”), in view of Schlett (US Patent No. 6,563,228 B1).
As per claim 1, Kelly teaches a system, comprising:
a backup power system for providing backup power to all or a portion of a data center [energy system 100, fig. 1, abstract, 0065: energy system 100 for a datacentre 105; 0067: in the off grid mode the power generation system 114 is activated], the backup power system comprising:
one or more generators [0033: the power generation system comprises a plurality of gas engines. Advantageously; the plurality of gas engines are operable to generate electricity in excess of the datacentre load requirements. ; 0096: Gas Reciprocating Engines 162]; and
one or more generator switchboards [0034: “…each gas engine drives a corresponding generator that produces power that is delivered to a corresponding generator ring main unit (RMU). Advantageously; each RMU is coupled to a pair of generator switchboards which in turn supply the a main switchboard...”; 0096-0097: “…Each Generator RMU is coupled to each of the Generator Switchboards that, in turn supply the main ECMVA and ECMVB Switchboards…”];
wherein the one or more generator switchboards are configured to, following a power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, receive power generated by the one or more generators, and are further configured to, following the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, provide the power over a first pathway to one or more main switchboards to be provided as the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center [the ECMVA/ECMVB boards receiving generator power and supplying it onward to UPS array/loads via a first pathway for backup purposes, 0067: “…In the off grid mode the power generation system 114 is activated. In the grid support mode power supply from the energy system 100 to the grid 110 or power consumption from the grid 110 to the datacentre 105 is controlled in response to a request. When the grid 110 has a scarce level of power provided by renewable sources; the datacentre 110 is powered by the battery energy storage system 112..”, 0096 – 0097: When the UPS registers a failure event and goes to off grid mode, the Generator Array is called to start and support the operating load…Once the generators are synchronised and ready to load, the BES array begins handing-off the load to the Generator Array over a period of a couple of minutes.]….
However, Kelly does not explicitly teach “…wherein the one or more generator switchboards are further configured to, prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, receive the power generated by the one or more generators, and are further configured to, prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, provide the power over a second pathway to be provided as dispatch power to a utility power grid, wherein the second pathway skips the one or more main switchboards….”.
Schlett is cited to teach power branching off the generator bus upstream of the step-up transformer; one branch goes through the step-up transformer to the high voltage grid, the other goes through a separate auxiliary transformer to a medium voltage network serving the plant’s own auxiliary loads. The grid path structurally bypasses the auxiliary-load switchboard entirely. Schlett teaches the well known and conventional topology used in the power industry.
Both Kelly and Schlett are directed toward generator to grid interconnection design and management.
As per claim 1, Schlett further teaches … wherein the one or more generator switchboards are further configured to, prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center1, receive the power generated by the one or more generators [electric generator 15 and auxiliary generator 19, col. 1, lines 20 - 44], and are further configured to, prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, provide the power over a second pathway to be provided as dispatch2 power to a utility power grid [fig. 1, col. 1, lines 25 – 35: the power generated by the generator 15 … from the bus duct 31 upstream of the step-up transformer 13 directly to high voltage network 11], wherein the second pathway skips the one or more main switchboards [col. 1 – 2, lines 21 – 20: the “second” path (path from generator 15 to step-up transformer 13) and the first path (path from auxiliary transformer and switch 18 to the medium-voltage network 21 are parallel and independent of each other (second path bypasses switchboards generator switch 20, switch 18 ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Schlett and Kelley, as Schlett explicitly provides how to selectively couple a power conditioning system to the grid, by bypassing a load serving switchgear via a parallel branch off the generator bus.
As per claim 2, Schlett teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second pathway comprises one or more dispatch transformers [the step-up transformer 13, fig. 1, col. 1.].
As per claim 3, Schlett teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second pathway provides the power to one or more main switchgears prior to the power being provided as the dispatch power to the utility power grid [switch 14, fig. 1, col. 1].
As per claim 5, Kelly teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a first set of one or more main switchgears and a second set of one or more main switchgears, wherein, when the first set of one or more main switchgears is receiving utility power provided by a utility power grid, the second pathway provides the power to the second set of one or more main switchgears prior to the power being provided as the dispatch power to the utility power grid [0078-0079: “…Referring to FIG. 4 which illustrates each String being fed from each of two Datacentre Medium Voltage Switchboards (DCMVA and DCMVB) 136A, 136B and converted to low-voltage by a 20 k V/400V transformer 140 with a low voltage switch. In normal operation; each of the DCMV boards 136A, 136B and transformers 140 operate at 50% load. Where there is a failure of the transformer 140, LV Switch 142 or the outgoing LV cable failure on either side, the load transfers to the corresponding string on the opposite side of the IT Load Block…”].
As per claim 6, Kelly teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising the one or more main switchboards, wherein the one or more main switchboards are configured to, prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, receive utility power provided by utility power grid, and are further configured to, prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, provide the utility power to the all or the portion of the data center [power conditioning mode, grid powers the UPS/IT load in normal operation 0065,0073, 0098: “…The Energy Centre Medium Voltage Switchboards (ECMVA & ECMVB) select the incoming energy supply from the Grid, BES Array or GEN Array and supply the UPS Array and Mechanical Loads in parallel…”].
As per claim 93, Kelly, in view of Schlett teaches a method, comprising: following a power outage to all or a portion of a data center:
receiving, by one or more generator switchboards [0034: “…each gas engine drives a corresponding generator that produces power that is delivered to a corresponding generator ring main unit (RMU). Advantageously; each RMU is coupled to a pair of generator switchboards which in turn supply the a main switchboard...”; 0096-0097: “…Each Generator RMU is coupled to each of the Generator Switchboards that, in turn supply the main ECMVA and ECMVB Switchboards…”], power generated by one or more generators [0033: the power generation system comprises a plurality of gas engines. Advantageously; the plurality of gas engines are operable to generate electricity in excess of the datacentre load requirements. ; 0096: Gas Reciprocating Engines 162]; and providing, by the one or more generator switchboards, the power over a first pathway to one or more main switchboards to be provided as backup power to the all or the portion of the data center [Kelly: the ECMVA/ECMVB boards receiving generator power and supplying it onward to UPS array/loads via a first pathway for backup purposes, 0067: “…In the off grid mode the power generation system 114 is activated. In the grid support mode power supply from the energy system 100 to the grid 110 or power consumption from the grid 110 to the datacentre 105 is controlled in response to a request. When the grid 110 has a scarce level of power provided by renewable sources; the datacentre 110 is powered by the battery energy storage system 112..”, 0096 – 0097: When the UPS registers a failure event and goes to off grid mode, the Generator Array is called to start and support the operating load…Once the generators are synchronised and ready to load, the BES array begins handing-off the load to the Generator Array over a period of a couple of minutes., fig. 9 and
prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center:
receiving, by one or more generator switchboards, the power generated by the one or more generators; providing, by the one or more generator switchboards, the power over a second pathway to be provided as dispatch power to a utility power grid, wherein the second pathway skips the one or more main switchboards [Schlett: col. 1 – 2, lines 21 – 20: the “second” path (path from generator 15 to step-up transformer 13) and the first path (path from auxiliary transformer and switch 18 to the medium-voltage network 21 are parallel and independent of each other (second path bypasses switchboards generator switch 20, switch 18 ].
As per claim 10, Schlett teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second pathway comprises one or more dispatch transformers [the step-up transformer 13, fig. 1, col. 1.].
As per claim 11, Schlett teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second pathway provides the power to one or more main switchgears prior to the power being provided as the dispatch power to the utility power grid [switch 14, fig. 1, col. 1].
As per claim 13, Kelly teaches the method of claim 9, wherein, when a first set of one or more main switchgears is receiving utility power provided by a utility power grid, the second pathway provides the power to a second set of one or more main switchgears prior to the power being provided as the dispatch power to the utility power grid [0078-0079: “…Referring to FIG. 4 which illustrates each String being fed from each of two Datacentre Medium Voltage Switchboards (DCMVA and DCMVB) 136A, 136B and converted to low-voltage by a 20 k V/400V transformer 140 with a low voltage switch. In normal operation; each of the DCMV boards 136A, 136B and transformers 140 operate at 50% load. Where there is a failure of the transformer 140, LV Switch 142 or the outgoing LV cable failure on either side, the load transfers to the corresponding string on the opposite side of the IT Load Block…”]..
As per claim 14, Kelly teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising, prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center: receiving, by one or more main switchboards, utility power provided by a utility power grid; and providing, by the one or more main switchboards, the utility power to the all or the portion of the data center [fig.1, fig.9, power conditioning mode, grid powers the UPS/IT load in normal operation 0065,0073, 0098: “…The Energy Centre Medium Voltage Switchboards (ECMVA & ECMVB) select the incoming energy supply from the Grid, BES Array or GEN Array and supply the UPS Array and Mechanical Loads in parallel…”].
As per claim 15, Kelly, in view of Schlett, teaches a system, comprising:
one or more memory units; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memory units [Kelly: 0069: the controller 118 comprises an energy and power management system (EPMS) that provides the real time supervision and control of the energy system 100; 0118-0122: general hardware architecture including processor, memory, etc.], the one or more processors configured to:
following a power outage to all or a portion of a data center, cause one or more generator switchboards to provide power, that was generated by one or more generators, over a first pathway to one or more main switchboards to be provided as backup power to the all or the portion of the data center [Kelly: 0067, 0096-0106: “…Energy and Power Management System (EPMS) 170 is the overarching SCADA system for the electrical generation and distribution system within the energy system 100. As such, the EPMS 170 provides functionalities traditionally split between a Power Management System, which is typically responsible for real-time supervision and sequencing, and an Energy Management System, which is typically responsible for measurement and power quality archiving…”]; and
prior to the power outage or following a fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, cause the one or more generator switchboards to provide the power, that was generated by the one or more generators, over a second pathway to be provided as dispatch power to a utility power grid, wherein the second pathway skips the one or more main switchboards [Schlett: col. 1 – 2, lines 21 – 20: the “second” path (path from generator 15 to step-up transformer 13) and the first path (path from auxiliary transformer and switch 18 to the medium-voltage network 21 are parallel and independent of each other (second path bypasses switchboards generator switch 20, switch 18 ].
As pe claim 16, Schlett teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second pathway comprises one or more dispatch transformers [the step-up transformer 13, fig. 1, col. 1.].
As per claim 17, Schlett teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second pathway provides the power to one or more main switchgears prior to the power being provided as the dispatch power to the utility power grid [switch 14, fig. 1, col. 1].
As per claim 18, Kelly teaches the system of claim 15, wherein, when a first set of one or more main switchgears is receiving utility power provided by a utility power grid, the second pathway provides the power to a second set of one or more main switchgears prior to the power being provided as the dispatch power to the utility power grid [0078-0079: “…Referring to FIG. 4 which illustrates each String being fed from each of two Datacentre Medium Voltage Switchboards (DCMVA and DCMVB) 136A, 136B and converted to low-voltage by a 20 k V/400V transformer 140 with a low voltage switch. In normal operation; each of the DCMV boards 136A, 136B and transformers 140 operate at 50% load. Where there is a failure of the transformer 140, LV Switch 142 or the outgoing LV cable failure on either side, the load transfers to the corresponding string on the opposite side of the IT Load Block…”]..
As per claim 19, Kelly teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, cause one or more main switchboards to provide utility power, that was provided by the utility power grid, to the all or the portion of the data center [fig.1, fig.9, power conditioning mode, grid powers the UPS/IT load in normal operation 0065,0073, 0098: “…The Energy Centre Medium Voltage Switchboards (ECMVA & ECMVB) select the incoming energy supply from the Grid, BES Array or GEN Array and supply the UPS Array and Mechanical Loads in parallel…”].
As per claim 20, Kelly, in view of Schlett, teaches a tangible non-transitory computer readable medium comprising logic configured, when executed by one or more processors, to: following a power outage to all or a portion of a data center, cause one or more generator switchboards to provide power, that was generated by one or more generators, over a first pathway to one or more main switchboards to be provided as backup power to the all or the portion of the data center; and prior to the power outage [Kelly: the ECMVA/ECMVB boards receiving generator power and supplying it onward to UPS array/loads via a first pathway for backup purposes, 0067: “…In the off grid mode the power generation system 114 is activated. In the grid support mode power supply from the energy system 100 to the grid 110 or power consumption from the grid 110 to the datacentre 105 is controlled in response to a request. When the grid 110 has a scarce level of power provided by renewable sources; the datacentre 110 is powered by the battery energy storage system 112..”, 0096 – 0097: When the UPS registers a failure event and goes to off grid mode, the Generator Array is called to start and support the operating load…Once the generators are synchronised and ready to load, the BES array begins handing-off the load to the Generator Array over a period of a couple of minutes., fig. 9] or following a fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, cause the one or more generator switchboards to provide the power, that was generated by the one or more generators, over a second pathway to be provided as dispatch power to a utility power grid, wherein the second pathway skips the one or more main switchboards [Schlett: col. 1: the “second” path (path from generator 15 to step-up transformer 13) and the first path (path from auxiliary transformer and switch 18 to the medium-voltage network 21 are parallel and independent of each other (second path bypasses switchboards generator switch 20, switch 18].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0213781, hereinafter “Kelly”), in view of Schlett (US Patent No. 6,563,228 B1), in further view of Whitted et al. (US Patent Application No. 2014/0122906, hereinafter “Whitted”).
As per claim 7, Kelly, in view of Schlett, teaches the system of claim 1. However, Kelly, in view of Schlett, does not explicitly teach “… wherein the backup power system further comprises: a turbine plant comprising one or more turbines; and one or more uninterruptible power sources; wherein, following the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center: the one or more uninterruptible power sources are configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center; the one or more generators are configured to start a start up process; and the one or more turbines of the turbine plant are configured to start a start up process; wherein, following the one or more generators finishing the start up process, the one or more generators are configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center; and wherein, following the one or more turbines of the turbine plant finishing the start up process, the turbine plant is configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center.…”.
Whitted is cited to explicitly teach turbine backup system, sequentially handed off from generators in a data center. Kelly, Schlett and Whitted are directed toward generator to grid interconnection design and management.
As per claim 7, Whitted further teaches… the system of claim 1, wherein the backup power system further comprises:
a turbine plant comprising one or more turbines [turbines, 0011, 0050]; and
one or more uninterruptible power sources [battery 185, 0053]; wherein, following the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center:
the one or more uninterruptible power sources are configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center [battery 185 provides short term power, 0053];
the one or more generators are configured to start a start up process; and the one or more turbines of the turbine plant are configured to start a start up process; wherein, following the one or more generators finishing the start up process, the one or more generators are configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center [0053: “… As such, short term (e.g., at least 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60 seconds at full load) operation of the DC load is maintained by power supplied from the battery 185. The diesel generator 210 may be started to provide power to the AC bus 225, preferably before the battery 185 fully discharges. …”]; and
wherein, following the one or more turbines of the turbine plant finishing the start up process, the turbine plant is configured to provide the backup power to the all or the portion of the data center [generator 215 (turbine) brought online sequentially after diesel generator 210, 0053: “…For more extended AC power faults, the co-located generator 215 may be brought on-line to provide a more cost-effective operation, or to avoid exceeding government-regulated limits on diesel fuel generation…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Whitted, Schlett and Kelley, as Whitted explicitly provides how to selectively couple more generators online corresponding to the backup needs of the data center.
As per claim 8, Whitted teaches the system of claim 7, wherein: prior to the power outage or following the fix of the power outage to the all or the portion of the data center, the one or more turbines of the turbine plant are configured to start another start up process; following the one or more turbines finishing the another start up process, the turbine plant is configured to provide additional dispatch power to the utility power grid [sequentially adding more power generators online as needed, 0053].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morales; Osvaldo et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0208129) “Reserve Power System For Data Center” is cited to teach a system for performing computing operations in a data center, including one or more sets of computer systems, one or more primary power systems, and a reserve power system. The primary power systems include at least one power distribution unit that supplies power to at least one of the sets of computer systems. The reserve power system automatically supplies power to at least one of the sets of computer systems if a condition is met (such as a failure of the primary power system).
Emert; Steven et al. (US Patent No. 9,923,371) “Shared Resource System” is cited to teach a ring bus Shared Resource electrical System (SRS) having at least an essential electrical power ring bus and a critical electrical power ring bus as well as multiple SRS electrical power distribution platforms. Each SRS distribution platform includes one or more interconnected essential switchboards and two or more interconnected critical switchboards. Each essential switchboard is coupled through the essential electrical power ring bus to essential switchboards of two other SRS distribution platforms, and each critical switchboard is coupled through the critical electrical power ring bus to critical switchboards of two other SRS distribution platforms.
Graham; Thomas. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0272471 A1) “Island Mode For Nuclear Power Plant” is cited to teach a nuclear power plant having a pressurized water reactor (PWR) and a steam generator driving a turbine driving an electric generator. A condenser condenses steam after flowing through the turbine. Responsive to a station blackout, the nuclear power plant is electrically isolated and a bypass valve is opened to convey bypass steam flow from the steam generator to the condenser without flowing through the turbine. The thermal power output of the PWR is gradually reduced over the transition time interval. After opening, the bypass valve is gradually closed over the transition time interval. A supplemental bypass valve may also be opened responsive to the station blackout to convey supplemental bypass steam flow from the steam generator to a feedwater system supplying secondary coolant feedwater to the steam generator. The supplemental bypass steam flow does not flow through the turbine and does not flow through the condenser.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176
1 Schlett is directed to a conventional gas turbine power plant. Adapting the conventional process only requires one of ordinary skill in the art.
2 The physical topology- two branches off a common generator buses one of which reaches the facility’s own switchboard and one of which reaches the grid without passing through the switchboard – matches the structural limitation.
3 The examiner incorporates the detailed individual discussion of the prior art references as set forth in claim 1
hereinabove to address the limitations of claims 9, 15, and 20 to the extent applicable.