DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,8-10,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN217761308 to Peng (provided by applicant in IDS) in view of US Patent 10634142 to Doepker.
As to claim 1, Peng discloses (the prior art Embodiment of Figure 8 is relied upon which shows the cover 43’ disposed below the counterweight 41’, and other figures are referenced for their better representation of the Features of Figure 8) A compressor comprising: a shell (10); a compression mechanism Fig 1); a driveshaft operable to drive the compression mechanism to compress a fluid (60); and a ring-shaped counterweight assembly (Fig 3) positioned on the driveshaft and having two radial surfaces (top and bottom Fig 3) and a circumferential edge between the two radial surfaces (exterior of 412), wherein the counterweight assembly includes: a counterweight (Fig 3; 41’) fixed on the driveshaft (Fig 8), the counterweight including a coupling ring (417, Fig 3) and a main weight (412) extending from the coupling ring, the coupling ring defining a bore sized and shaped to receive the driveshaft (413) to fix the counterweight on the driveshaft, wherein the main weight has an arcuate shape (412) with two circumferential main weight end surfaces (415 ends of 412); and a cover attached to the driveshaft via a snap fit (45’) connection (43’ Fig 8; Fig 4) in a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft to form the snap fit connection, wherein the counterweight and the cover cooperate to define the counterweight assembly (Fig 5,Fig 8), wherein the cover extends circumferentially between two cover end surfaces each positioned adjacent one of the main weight end surfaces to define a disk-shape of the counterweight assembly (Fig 5).
Peng discloses a snap ring (45’) holding the cover in place but does not expressly disclose wherein the cover includes a coupling collar including a circular base and flexible fingers, the flexible fingers engageable with a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft to form the snap fit connection.
Doepker discloses how a counterweight cover can be held in place by a snap ring (Fig 7a) or by modifying the cover to include a coupling collar including a circular base and flexible fingers, the flexible fingers engageable with a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft to form the snap fit connection (788, Fig 9a, 16C).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Peng to include the cover includes a coupling collar including a circular base and flexible fingers, the flexible fingers engageable with a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft to form the snap fit connection instead of a snap ring using the teachings of Doepker so as to utilize fewer parts, as expressly desired by Peng simplifying the overall construction and assembly with predictable results.
As to claim 2, Peng discloses each finger of the flexible fingers includes a grip that extends radially inward to engage the circumferential groove of the driveshaft to form the snap fit connection (Doepker : 788, Fig 9a, 16C).
As to claim 8, Peng discloses the cover is attached to the driveshaft separate from the counterweight (Fig 5,7,8; counterweight is press fit requiring separate installation as it is installed first being the upper component).
As to claim 9, Peng discloses the cover includes a main body, wherein the coupling collar defines a circumferential extent that is greater than a circumferential extent defined by the main body (Fig 3,4; 417 has full circumference as compared to main body portion of cover 436 which is partial circumference; equivalent to present application).
As to claim 10, Peng discloses the cover includes a size that is complementary to a size of the main weight to define a substantially smooth transition between each of the two cover end surfaces and each of the two main weight end surfaces (Fig 5).
As to claim 18, Peng discloses A method of assembling a compressor, the method comprising: positioning a compression mechanism within a shell of the compressor (10); operably connecting a driveshaft to the compression mechanism; positioning a ring-shaped counterweight assembly on the driveshaft, the counterweight assembly having two radial surfaces and a circumferential edge between the two radial surfaces, the counterweight assembly including: a counterweight including a coupling ring and a main weight extending from the coupling ring, the coupling ring defining a bore sized and shaped to receive the driveshaft (Fig 3-5,8; as cited and rejected Claim 1 above), the main weight having an arcuate shape with two circumferential main weight end surfaces; and a cover including a main body, wherein the counterweight and the cover cooperate to define the counterweight assembly, wherein the cover extends circumferentially between two cover end surfaces to define a disk-shape of the counterweight assembly; fixing the counterweight on the driveshaft (press fit); and attaching the cover to the driveshaft using a snap fit connection such that the two cover end surfaces are each positioned adjacent one of the main weight end surfaces (Fig 3-5,8; as cited and rejected Claim 1 above).
Peng discloses a snap ring (45’) holding the cover in place but does not expressly disclose wherein the snap fit connection is formed by flexible fingers extending from a circular base of a coupling collar of the cover engaging with a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft.
Doepker discloses how a counterweight cover can be held in place by a snap ring (Fig 7a) or by modifying the cover to include a coupling collar including a circular base and flexible fingers, the flexible fingers engageable with a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft to form the snap fit connection (788, Fig 9a, 16C).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Peng to include wherein the snap fit connection is formed by flexible fingers extending from a circular base of a coupling collar of the cover engaging with a circumferential groove defined on the driveshaft using the teachings of Doepker so as to utilize fewer parts, as expressly desired by Peng simplifying the overall construction and assembly with predictable results.
As to claim 19, Peng discloses the cover is attached to the driveshaft using the snap fit connection via one or more grips defined on the flexible fingers (Doepker: 788).
As to claim 20, Peng discloses the cover is attached to the counterweight by sliding the cover over the driveshaft to articulate the flexible fingers until a portion of the flexible fingers is received within the circumferential groove of the driveshaft (Doepker: 788, Fig 9a, 16C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 11-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746