DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This communication is in response to the Applicant Amendment filed on 06/29/2026. Claims 1-20 were pending. Claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claim 9 is cancelled. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objection to claim 12 is moot based on the Applicant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20160129839 A1, hereinafter “KIM”) in view of Schmierer et al. (US 20230356670 A1, hereinafter “Schmierer”).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) KIM discloses a camera monitor system for a vehicle (0048; Figures 1-5; ‘integrated overhead assembly 100’), comprising
a camera (0048; Figures 1-5; ‘a camera module 200’),
a monitor holder, the monitor holder comprising, a vehicle interface (‘112’) for mechanical attachment to the vehicle (0055; Figures 1-5; “[0055] The main case 111 includes a windshield coupler (not shown) for the windshield bracket, and roof couplers 112 for the roof inner panel 10, so as to securely couple the main case 111 to a corresponding region of a vehicle interior.”),
a monitor (‘a multi-display unit 300’), the monitor being mechanically installed in the monitor holder (‘110’) (0054-0056; Figures 1-5; “[0056] The rear end part of the overhead console case 110, which is disposed opposite the camera module 200 with respect to the multi-display unit 300, may be provided with the interior illumination unit 120-121 for radiating light to a vehicle interior.”), and
a printed circuit board (‘123’), the printed circuit board being mechanically installed in the monitor holder (‘110’) (0060-0061; Figure 3; “[0060] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interior illumination unit 120-121, which is constructed in the above-described manner, may include LED modules 124 attached to a lower surface of the sub case 113 of the overhead console case 110 to emit light at a predetermined illuminance, a printed-circuit board 123 to which the LED modules 124 are soldered, a contactor 125 soldered to the printed-circuit board 123, and a push type projector 122 for radiating the light emitted from the LED modules 124. [0061] The push type projector 122 may constitute a part of a lower surface of the sub case 113 of the overhead console case 110.”).
KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, but failed to disclose wherein the vehicle interface is configured to be mounted on an A-pillar of a vehicle cabin of the vehicle such that, in the state of the camera monitor system mounted on the vehicle, the monitor is positioned on a front side of the monitor holder and the A-pillar is positioned on a back side or on a side of the monitor holder.
Schmierer, however, in the same field of endeavor, shows wherein the vehicle interface is configured to be mounted on an A-pillar of a vehicle cabin of the vehicle such that, in the state of the camera monitor system mounted on the vehicle, the monitor is positioned on a front side of the monitor holder and the A-pillar is positioned on a back side or on a side of the monitor holder (0055-0058 and 0061; Figures 9-10 and 14).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the vehicle interface mounted on the A-pillar of the vehicle as shown by Schmierer in the integrated overhead console assembly for vehicle of KIM in order to mount the vehicle interface on the convenient place of the vehicle cabin to yield predictive result.
Regarding claim 2. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board (‘123’) is electronically connected to the camera (‘200’) (0060-0061; Figure 3; “[0060] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interior illumination unit 120-121, which is constructed in the above-described manner, may include LED modules 124 attached to a lower surface of the sub case 113 of the overhead console case 110 to emit light at a predetermined illuminance, a printed-circuit board 123 to which the LED modules 124 are soldered, a contactor 125 soldered to the printed-circuit board 123, and a push type projector 122 for radiating the light emitted from the LED modules 124.”).
Regarding claim 3. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is electronically connected to the monitor (‘300’) (0060-0061; Figure 3; “[0060] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interior illumination unit 120-121, which is constructed in the above-described manner, may include LED modules 124 attached to a lower surface of the sub case 113 of the overhead console case 110 to emit light at a predetermined illuminance, a printed-circuit board 123 to which the LED modules 124 are soldered, a contactor 125 soldered to the printed-circuit board 123, and a push type projector 122 for radiating the light emitted from the LED modules 124.”).
Regarding claim 4. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is electronically connected or connectible to the vehicle (0060-0061; Figure 3; “[0060] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interior illumination unit 120-121, which is constructed in the above-described manner, may include LED modules 124 attached to a lower surface of the sub case 113 of the overhead console case 110 to emit light at a predetermined illuminance, a printed-circuit board 123 to which the LED modules 124 are soldered, a contactor 125 soldered to the printed-circuit board 123, and a push type projector 122 for radiating the light emitted from the LED modules 124.”).
Regarding claim 5. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is mechanically connected directly to the monitor holder (0060-0062; Figure 3;‘110’, “[0062] More specifically, the push type projector 122 is preferably made of a transparent or translucent material to allow the light emitted from the LED modules 124 to be transmitted to the vehicle interior. The push type projector 122 may be a switch actuator which is moved upward to press the contactor 125 when being pushed upward by a user. The contactor 125 is preferably composed of a tactile switch.”).
Regarding claim 6. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the camera monitor system comprises a housing of the printed circuit board which at least partially surrounds the printed circuit board and which is configured separately from the monitor holder and is mechanically connected to the monitor holder (0060-0062; Figure 3;‘123’, “[0062] More specifically, the push type projector 122 is preferably made of a transparent or translucent material to allow the light emitted from the LED modules 124 to be transmitted to the vehicle interior. The push type projector 122 may be a switch actuator which is moved upward to press the contactor 125 when being pushed upward by a user. The contactor 125 is preferably composed of a tactile switch.”).
Regarding claim 7. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the monitor comprises a display unit and a monitor housing, wherein the monitor housing is configured separately from the monitor holder and is mechanically connected to the monitor holder (0060-0062; Figure 3;‘123’, “[0062] More specifically, the push type projector 122 is preferably made of a transparent or translucent material to allow the light emitted from the LED modules 124 to be transmitted to the vehicle interior. The push type projector 122 may be a switch actuator which is moved upward to press the contactor 125 when being pushed upward by a user. The contactor 125 is preferably composed of a tactile switch.”).
Regarding claim 8. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the monitor comprises a display unit and a monitor housing, wherein the monitor housing is integrally formed by the monitor holder (Figures 4-5).
Regarding claims 10-11. (Original) Claims 10-11 further recites the camera monitor system, wherein the monitor holder comprises a water drain, wherein the water drain is configured in such a way that water is directed away from the printed circuit board in a targeted manner. It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the monitor holder to comprise a water drain in order to prevent water damage the electronics device.
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) Schmierer further shows the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the camera monitor system comprises a shielding plate for shielding the printed circuit board from electromagnetic compatibility interference (EMC) interference radiation (0043 and 0052; Figures 1 and 6).
The motivation used in the rejection of claims 10-11 to combine Schmierer prior art with KIM prior art still applies to the combination of the prior arts on the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 15. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the camera monitor system is a mirror replacement system (0051-0052; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the camera monitor system is a legally approved mirror replacement system (0051-0052; Figure 7).
Regarding claim 17. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the camera monitor system is a mirror replacement system approved according to UN/ECE-R46 (0051-0052; Figure 7).
Regarding claim 18. (Original) KIM discloses the camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board (123) is a processing unit of the camera (200), and/or a processing unit of the monitor (300), and/or a further processing unit of the camera monitor system (implicitly at least one of the three possibilities) (0060 and 0056; Figures 3-4; “[0060] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the interior illumination unit 120-121, which is constructed in the above-described manner, may include LED modules 124 attached to a lower surface of the sub case 113 of the overhead console case 110 to emit light at a predetermined illuminance, a printed-circuit board 123 to which the LED modules 124 are soldered, a contactor 125 soldered to the printed-circuit board 123, and a push type projector 122 for radiating the light emitted from the LED modules 124.”, “[0056] The rear end part of the overhead console case 110, which is disposed opposite the camera module 200 with respect to the multi-display unit 300, may be provided with the interior illumination unit 120-121 for radiating light to a vehicle interior.”).
Regarding claims 19-20. (Original) Claims 19-20 recite similar features as the limitation discussed above. Claims 19-20 further recites the following. KIM further discloses a vehicle, comprising a vehicle cabin, and a camera monitor system according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle interface (112) of the monitor holder (110) is mechanically connected or connectible to the vehicle cabin (112) (Figures 5 and 7), the vehicle comprising a data and/or communication unit, wherein the printed circuit board (123) is electronically connected or connectible to the data and/or communication unit of the vehicle (implicit).
Therefore, claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasoning of obviousness as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of Schmierer, and further in view of Lynam et al. (US 20020159270 A1, hereinafter “Lynam”).
Regarding claims 13-14. KIM in view of Schmierer shows the camera monitor system according to claim 1, but failed to disclose wherein the camera monitor system comprises a heatsink for cooling the monitor and/or the printed circuit board, wherein the heatsink is arranged in an inner space of the monitor holder.
Lynam, however, in the same field of endeavor, shows wherein the camera monitor system comprises a heatsink for cooling the monitor and/or the printed circuit board, wherein the heatsink is arranged in an inner space of the monitor holder (0141; Figure 17; “[0141] In the illustrated embodiment, non-incandescent light source module 316 includes one or more non-incandescent light sources 332, such as LEDs, which are connected by a non-incandescent light source circuit 334 so that their total forward turn-on voltage is approximately equal to the voltage supply of the vehicle electrical ignition system, typically 12-volts. Alternately, the total forward turn-on voltage may be in a range of 2 volts to 16 volts, with circuit 334 incorporating a current limiting element or device, such as a series resistor or a diode, with a voltage drop in a range of 0.5 to 14 volts, and optionally a heatsink to dissipate any heat built-up. For example, light sources 332 may be mounted to a circuit board, with light sources 332 electrically connected by circuit 334. …”).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the heat dissipation mechanism (heatsink) as shown by Lynam in the integrated overhead console assembly for vehicle of KIM in view of Schmierer in order to provide the protection to the camera monitor system for overheating and possible overheating damage and yield predictive result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amended the independent claim 1 to include the previously rejected dependent claim 9 and argued the intended use of the displays on Schmierer is different from the intended use of the display on Kim.
Applicant argued Kim uses the multi-display unit 300 serves as a rearview mirror for reflecting a rear view image of a vehicle to a driver. Although Applicant argued that it is not clear how person of having ordinary skilled in the art would considered improving the display provided on the rear view mirror by replacing or adding display(s) placed near or at the A-Pillar of the vehicle. Examiner disagrees.
It is within one of ordinary skilled in the art to place the provide a multiple displays at the location of ones choice. This is merely a design choice.
In response to applicant's argument that Schmierer could not be considered because Kim uses the display on the place of the rear view mirror, while Schmierer uses the display on or near the A-pillar, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Therefore, Applicant's arguments filed on 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lang et al. (US 20220094831 A1, hereinafter “Lang”).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASMAMAW G TARKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482