DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sheet feeding mechanism” in claim 1; and
“sheet feeding tray lifting mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa (US 2023/0391567 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa discloses a document conveying device comprising: a sheet feeding tray 44 on which a document is placed; a sheet feeding mechanism 31 which feeds the document placed on the sheet feeding tray in a predetermined sheet feeding direction; a sheet feeding tray lifting mechanism 33 which lifts and lowers the sheet feeding tray; a top plate 21 which is adjacent to the sheet feeding tray on a downstream side in the sheet feeding direction and is in contact with a lower surface of the document to be fed; a fixed wall part 23 which is provided extending downward from an upstream side end portion of the top plate in the sheet feeding direction, and fixed in position; and a lifting wall part 25 which is provided extending upward from a downstream side end portion of the sheet feeding tray in the sheet feeding direction, faces the fixed wall part 23 on an upstream side of the fixed wall part in the sheet feeding direction, and is lifted and lowered along the fixed wall part together with the sheet feeding tray 44 (par. 76), wherein the lifting wall part 25 has a slit 25T4 along an upper-and-lower direction, the fixed wall part 23 has a fin 23T4 along the upper-and-lower direction, an upper end portion of the slit is opened in the upper-and-lower direction (see, e.g., Fig. 7), and the fin protrudes upstream of the sheet conveying direction, and is arranged inside the slit (see, e.g., Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Nakagawa discloses the document conveying device according to claim 1, wherein the slit is provided at a plurality of positions (25T2, 25T4) in a width direction crossing the sheet feeding direction, the fin is provided at a plurality of positions (23T2, 23T4) corresponding to the slits. Regarding the claim limitation, “at least two of the fins are in contact with the document placed on the sheet feeding tray”, Nakagawa anticipates this limitation because a document having a ragged leading edge, for example, could make contact with the fins of Nakagawa when placed on the tray. Further, inclusion of the specific material or article worked upon by a structure does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Regarding claim 3, Nakagawa discloses the document conveying device according to claim 1, wherein edge portions of the slit 25T4 protrude upstream of the sheet feeding direction, and a tip of the fin 23T4 and tips of the edge portions of the slit on both sides of the fin form a same plane. See Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 4, Nakagawa discloses the document conveying device according to claim 1, wherein an upper end portion of the fin 23T4 is inclined such that a downstream side portion in the sheet feeding direction is high. See Fig. 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Partridge (US 7,967,286 B2) discloses a tray with geometric protuberances.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759