Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (EP 4292737), in view of Chen (CN 116619073, herein referenced by the EPO English Machine Translation).
Re Claims 1 and 19, Zhou discloses a machine (1) for machining the bore of a hub of a railway wheel (Par. 0001), the machine comprising: a rotatory boring bar (602) configured to machine the bore of the hub; a non-rotatory clamping plate (2) for arranging the railway wheel in the machine; and a clamping unit for fixing and centering the railway wheel on the non-rotatory clamping plate (2), the clamping unit including first, second and third jaws (202) that respectively move along first, second and third straight paths that converge at a center or center portion of the non-rotatory clamping plate (2) (Par. 0026), each of the first, second and third jaws being configured to clamp the railway wheel (Pars. 0023-0030, Figs. 1-4). Zhou does not explicitly disclose each of the first, second and third jaws being respectively attached to first, second and third transmission rods, the first transmission rod having a first end attached to the first jaw and a second end attached to a slewing ring, the second transmission rod having a first end attached to the second jaw and a second end attached to the slewing ring, the third transmission rod having a first end attached to the third jaw and a second end attached to the slewing ring, the slewing ring being rotatable to drive the first, second and third transmission rods to respectively move the first, second and third jaws respectively along the first, second and third straight paths.
Chen discloses a machine comprising: a clamping unit for fixing and centering workpieces on a clamping plate (8), the clamping unit including first, second and third jaws (2, 3) that respectively move along first, second and third straight paths that converge at a center or center portion of the clamping plate (8); each of the first, second and third jaws (2, 3) being respectively attached to first, second and third transmission rods (4), the first, second and third transmission rods (4) each having a first end attached to a respective first jaw (2, 3) and a respective second end attached to a slewing ring (6), the slewing ring (6) being rotatable to drive the first, second and third transmission rods (4) to respectively move the first, second and third jaws (2, 3) respectively along the first, second and third straight paths (Pars. 0041-0043, Figs. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhou to include jaws that are attached to transmission rods, said transmission rods being attached to a slew ring and capable of being driven by the slew ring as disclosed by Chen, as a known alternative of clamping the railway wheel.
Re Claim 2, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses the clamping unit (2) is configured to align a center of the wheel with a longitudinal axis of the rotatory boring bar (602) when the wheel is fixed on the non-rotatory clamping plate (2) (See figures 1 and 3).
Re Claim 3, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses a base; a column (301) fixed to the base vertically protruding upwards from the base (See figure 1); and a work head (5) attached to the column (301) and vertically slidably on the column (301), the rotatory boring bar (602) being arranged in the work head (5) (Pars. 0027-0029, Fig. 1).
Re Claim 4, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. The combination discloses the clamping unit includes first, second and third actuators (7, 5) that are mechanically coupled to the slewing ring (6) and configured to cause a rotation of the slewing ring (6) when activated (See Chen, Par. 0041, Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Claim 5, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. The combination does not explicitly disclose the first, second and third actuators respectively act on first, second and third angular positions of the slewing ring which are 120° out of phase with each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the invention of the combination with first, second and third actuators respectively acting on first, second and third angular positions of the slewing ring which are 120° out of phase with each other as claimed, as one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solution with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Re Claim 6, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. The combination discloses the first, second and third actuators (5) are attached to the second end of the respective first, second and third transmission rods (4) (See Chen, Par. 0041, Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Claim 11, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses each of the first, second and third jaws (202) has a contact surface that is configured to contact a tread of the wheel (See figure 1).
Re Claim 12, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses the non-rotatory clamping plate (2) has a central hole for chip evacuation which is connected to the bore of the hub of the railway wheel when the wheel is fixed on the non-rotatory clamping plate (2) (Par. 0033).
Re Claim 13, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses the central hole has a diameter greater than a diameter of the bore (See figure 1).
Re Claim 14, the combination as applied to claim 1 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses a base (See figure 1); a column (301) fixed to the base vertically protruding upwards from the base; and a work-head (5) attached to the column (301) and vertically slidably on the column, the rotatory boring bar (602) being arranged in the work-head (5); the rotatory boring bar (602) has a cover (9) vertically movable with respect to the work-head (5) to contact the wheel and isolate the bore of the hub (Par. 0041, Fig. 1).
Re Claim 16, the combination as applied to claim 4 remains as previously applied. Zhou discloses each of the first, second and third actuators is connected to a hydraulic fluid supply unit having a flow divider that is configured to supply an equal amount of a hydraulic fluid to each of the first, second and third actuators (Par. 0025, Fig. 2).
Claim Objections
Claims 7-10, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BAYAN SALONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722