DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are pending in this application and have been considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to JAPAN application No. 2024-042456, filed March 18, 2024. A certified copy of the foreign priority application has been received. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is accordingly March 18, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS(s) submitted on March 17, 2025 has/have been considered and placed in the application file.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging unit … that generates” in claim(s) 7.
The corresponding structure is the dermoscopic imaging device 30, with the polarizing filter 31 and the imaging element 32, and equivalents (SPEC ¶ 7: “The dermoscopic imaging device 30 is an example of an imaging unit that images a subject (skin) including a region of interest (a mole, a wart, etc.), and generates a dermoscopic image of the subject. The dermoscopic imaging device 30 includes a polarizing filter 31 and an imaging element 32”).
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is/are objected to because of informalities. The examiner recommends the following changes.
Claim 4, line(s) 6, should be “a background region” for antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houjou et al. (US 2018/0279942 A 1, hereinafter “Houjou”) in view of Patwardhan (US 2021/0059533 A 1, hereinafter “Patwardhan”).
Claims 1, 8, and 9.
Houjou teaches an information processing apparatus comprising (Houjou ¶ 84: “The controller 222 includes a body 222A, a circuit substrate 2228, and a display 222C.”; controller 222 is the information processing apparatus.):
acquire a first image including a region of interest which is irradiated with first illumination light and imaged by an imaging element via a polarizing filter (Houjou ¶ 86: “makes contact with the skin lesion that is an object during dermoscopic capturing”; ¶ 89: “reflected light that has entered the lens unit 221A passes through the light transmission hole 281a and reaches the imaging element 260”; ¶ 90: “The second rotator 285 changes between a first state shown in FIG. 13 and a second state in which the polarizing filter 284 covers the light transmission hole 281a after rotating in the arrowed direction Y2 from the first state.”; ¶ 97: “an image in a condition enabling observation of the skin surface under emission of the unpolarized LEDs 212, an image in a condition enabling observation of the inner skin part under emission of the polarized LEDs 211”), and
a second image including the region of interest which is irradiated with second illumination light and imaged by the imaging element without using the polarizing filter (Houjou ¶ 92: “it is possible to easily switch to a different capturing state by controlling the rotative operation of the first rotator 283, the second rotator 285, and the third rotator 287 according to the above turn-on patterns”; the light of unpolarized LEDs 212 (¶ 97) is the second illumination light. In the first state (FIG. 13), filter 284 does not cover hole 281a (¶ 90). In that state, imaging element 260 images the second image without filter 284. Patwardhan ¶ 72: “including whether or not to use polarization and with which polarization angle.”), and
(Houjou ¶ 93: “It is also possible to conduct capturing in the above different capturing states at a time with a single shutter operation.”; ¶ 100: “since capturing with the same field angle and the same magnification under genuine, polarized/unpolarized light is possible, the diagnosis time can be reduced and
captured images that are easy to compare are obtainable”; the camera rests on the lesion (¶ 86). So the lesion is at substantially the same position in both images.).
Houjou does not teach the processor(s), the preamble of claims 8 and 9, and causing a display to switch between the first image and the second image; however, Patwardhan in the same field of endeavor, polarization imaging of skin, teaches the claimed one or more processors [claim 1], computer [claim 8], and information processing apparatus [claim 9] (Patwardhan ¶ 74: “input/output devices 760, such as a display device … may be implemented, for example, with one or more computers, workstations, processors, or the like, operating in accordance with one or more programs 745”) that cause a display to switch
between the first image and the second image (Patwardhan ¶ 42: “the series of images as captured or as processed can be displayed such as in an animation or under user control, such as a slider or other suitable widget, to provide a moving presentation of information from different depths”; the animation switches the display among images of the same skin area with different polarization.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the display of Houjou between the first image and the second image, with processors that execute programs, as Patwardhan does, because it helps the clinician see the inner skin part and the skin surface of the lesion at the same place on the screen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Houjou already captures both images at the same field angle and the same magnification. Houjou already has a display. Patwardhan changes only which stored image the display shows. Patwardhan does not change how Houjou captures the images. A processor that executes a program can show stored images one after the other. KSR lnt'I Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claim 2.
Houjou and Patwardhan teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors correct luminance of at least one of the first image and the second image in such a way as to bring luminance of background regions of the first image and the second image close to each other (Patwardhan ¶ 35: “intensity levels of the images to ensure that they are similar in color and intensity”; the skin around the lesion is the background region. Similar intensity in both images brings its luminance close.).
Claim 3.
Houjou and Patwardhan teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors process at least one of the first image and the second image in such a way as to bring the positions of the region of interest in the first image and the second image close to each other (Patwardhan ¶ 35: “performing registration of the images for further processing”; registration brings the position of the lesion close in both images.).
Claim 5.
Houjou and Patwardhan teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors process at least one of the first image and the second image in such a way as to emphasize a difference in the region of interest between the first image and the second image (Patwardhan ¶ 39: “Operations may also include image blending to highlight the differences and/or similarities between images.”; ¶ 40: “detect feature(s) of interest, such as wrinkles or pigmented lesions”; the pigmented lesion is the region of interest).
Claim 7.
Houjou and Patwardhan teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an imaging unit that includes the polarizing filter (Houjou ¶ 88: “A circuit wiring substrate 250 and an imaging element 260 are housed in the back of the lens unit
221A”; ¶ 89: “a second rotator 285 that has a polarizing filter 284”; camera body 221 holds filter 284 in front of imaging element 260.) and that generates the first image and the second image by continuously imaging the region of interest while inserting and removing the polarizing filter into and from an optical path (Houjou ¶ 100: “since successive capturing while switching to different capturing states is possible”; light passes through hole 281a to imaging
element 260 (11 89). Rotator 285 moves filter 284 over hole 281 a and away from it (1190). So the rotation inserts the filter into the optical path and removes it.); and the display (Houjou ¶ 84: “The controller 222 includes a body 222A, a circuit substrate 2228, and a display 222C.”).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houjou in view of Patwardhan, and further in view of Kunuki (JP 2009-226072 A, hereinafter “Kunuki”).
Claim 4.
Houjou and Patwardhan teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Houjou and Patwardhan do not teach wherein the one or more processors process at least one of the first image and the second image such that the region of interest in the first image or the second image and the background region in the other of the first image and the second image are combined together.
However, Kunuki in the same field of endeavor, medical imaging of tissue under two illumination lights, teaches that “the one or more processors process at least one of the first image and the second image such that the region of interest in the first image or the second image and the background region in the other of the first image and the second image are combined together” (Kunuki ¶ 37: “the subject is alternately and repeatedly photographed to acquire a fluorescence image and a normal image”; ¶ 100: “a blood vessel image is key-synthesized with a normal image using a binary image corresponding to the blood vessel image (a binary signal indicating a blood vessel image and its background) as a key signal … only the blood vessel image is pasted on the normal image, and the image is synthesized so that the normal image can be seen in the portion without the blood vessel”; the blood vessel region of the fluorescence image is the region of interest. The normal image in the portion without the blood vessel is the background region of the other image.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to paste the les ion of one Houjou image onto the background region of the other, as Kunuki pastes its blood vessel region onto the normal image, to help the clinician see, in one image, the skin surface around the lesion together with the inner skin structures of the lesion that only the polarized image shows (Kunuki ¶ 52: “it is possible to display a normal image that allows good observation of the surface of the living tissue.”) KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houjou in view of Patwardhan, and further in view of Patriarche et al. (US 2019/0206036 A1, hereinafter “Patriarche”)
Claim 6.
Houjou and Patwardhan teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors:
cause the display to switch between the first image and the second image (Patwardhan
¶ 42: “the series of images as captured or as processed can be displayed such as in an animation or under user control, such as a slider or other suitable widget, to provide a moving presentation of information from different depths.”)
Houjou and Patwardhan do not teach the strikethrough portions; however, Patriarche in the same field of endeavor, display of registered medical images for comparison, teaches to “generate a moving image file that alternately and repeatedly plays back the first image and the second image” and to “repeatedly display the first image and the second image by
playing back the moving image file” (Patriarche ¶ 11: “involves placing two images to be compared in the same location and rapidly alternating between them … image 1, image 2, image 1, images 2, etc., as shown in FIG. 1”; ¶ 13: “those images must be spatially registered, in order to ensure that the subregion that is actually changing, occupies the same region of the viewer's visual field in both images”; ¶ 43: “On first glance, it would appear that such a movie file would be extremely large; however, since the entire movie simply alternates between two different frames, the movie is massively compressible … the user can select the
slice(s) of interest, and then play the slice through”; the movie file alternates between the two frames. Playing it in a viewer displays the two images in turn, again and again.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the first image and the second image of Houjou as a movie file that alternates them, and to play it back, as Patriarche does, to help draw the attention of the clinician to structures of the lesion that show in only one of the first image and the second image, and to let an ordinary viewer play the file (Patriarche ¶ 43: “a user might want to review flicker data using a viewer that does not support flicker viewing mode.”). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
Conclusion
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674