DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 55 cites “a first of the second door”. It appears that “a first end of the second door” was intended.
Line 60 cites “screen accommodating space”. It appears that “a screen accommodating space” was intended.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 3-10 cites “a first end of the first connecting rod”, “a second end of the first connecting rod”, “a first end of the second connecting rod”, “a second end of the second connecting rod”. It appears each instance of “a” should be “the”.
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 8 cites “at least a portion of base”. It appears that “at least a portion of the base” was intended.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 15-16 cites “a first housing support”. It appears this should be “the first housing support”.
Line 35 cites “a second housing support”. It appears this should be “the second housing support”.
Line 62 cites “us”. It appears this should be “is”.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 5 cites “is provided has”. It appears this should be “is provided with”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 13-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao et al (US 20210181808; “Liao” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses: a hinge mechanism (10), comprising:
a first rotation module (12, fig. 7);
a second rotation module (13, fig. 7); and
a module bracket (112, figs. 11-13, ¶[0074]), wherein the first rotation module and the second rotation module are respectively disposed on two sides of the module bracket (figs. 7-11);
wherein the first rotation module comprises a first swing arm (122, fig. 7), a first support arm (123, fig. 7), a first housing support (121, fig. 7), a first door plate (124, fig. 10), and a first connecting rod (151, fig. 14, ¶[0098]), wherein the first door plate is configured to support a flexible display (23, fig. 19, ¶[0065]) in a first region (B1, C, B2, fig. 19, (the curvilinear portion of the flexible display), ¶[0068], [0125]-[0126]) at a first side (side facing the flexible display, figs. 9 and 20) of the first door plate, wherein at least a part of the first swing arm and at least a part of the first support arm are disposed on a first surface that is of the first door plate (surface from opposite side to the first side, figs. 9-10) and that is separated by at least a portion (thickness portion) of the first door plate from the first side (figs. 9-10), wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are disposed along a length direction of the hinge mechanism (fig. 7), wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (¶[0064]), and wherein a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other (fig. 8, ¶[0066]) and parallel to each other (¶[0064]);
wherein at least a part of the first housing support (121) is disposed on a second surface that is of the first swing arm (see annotated fig. 11 below, and fig. 10) and that is separated by at least a portion (1221 and adjacent connection portion of 122) of the first swing arm (122) from the first door plate (figs. 10-11) and a third surface (stepped inner surface of 123, that contacts inner surface of 121, see annotated fig. 7 below) that is of the first support arm (figs. 7, 10-11) and that is spaced apart from the first door plate (see figs. 10-11), wherein the first swing arm is rotatably connected to the first housing support (¶[0064]), wherein the first support arm is slidably connected to the first housing support (¶[0064]), and wherein the first door plate is rotatably connected to the first housing support (“first support plate 124 is rotatably connected to the first swing link 121”, ¶[0065]);
wherein a first end of the first connecting rod is rotatably connected to the first swing arm (fig. 14), and wherein a second end of the first connecting rod is rotatably connected to the first door plate (through 1242, fig. 12, where 151 is rotatably connected to 124 after first sliding to push the side wall of 1242, “the positioning shaft 151 located on the first driven arm 123 pushes against a side wall of the third sliding groove 1242 to rotate the first support plate 124 around the first swing link 121”, ¶[0095], see also ¶[0065]);
wherein the second rotation module comprises a second swing arm (132, fig. 10), a second support arm (133, fig. 10), a second housing support (131, fig. 10), a second door plate (134, fig. 7), and a second connecting rod (152, fig. 10), wherein the second door plate is configured to support the flexible display in the first region (B1, C, B2, fig. 19, ¶0125]-[0126]) at a second side (side facing the flexible display, figs. 9 and 20) of the second door plate, wherein at least a part of the second swing arm and at least a part of the second support arm are disposed on a fourth surface that is of the second door plate (opposite side to the second side, figs. 7-9) and that is separated by at least a portion (thickness portion) of the second door plate from the second side (figs. 7-9), wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are disposed along the length direction of the hinge mechanism (fig. 10), wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (¶[0069]), and wherein a rotation axis center of the second support arm and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other (same symmetrical arrangement for 122 and 123 as disclosed in fig. 8, ¶[0066], [0069], but for 132 and 133);
wherein at least a part of the second housing support (131) is disposed on a fifth surface that is of the second swing arm (figures 10 and 11 discloses this limitationsee annotated fig. 11 below, and fig. 7) and that is separated by at least a portion (1321 and adjacent connection portion of 132, fig. 11) of the second swing arm (132) from the second door plate (figs. 7, 11) and a sixth surface (stepped inner surface of 133, that contacts inner surface of 131, see annotated fig. 10 below) that is of the second support arm (figs. 7 and 10) and that is separated by at least a portion of the second support arm from the second door plate (see figs. 10-11), wherein the second swing arm is rotatably connected to the second housing support (¶[0069]), wherein the second support arm is slidably connected to the second housing support (¶[0069]), and wherein the second door plate is rotatably connected to the second housing support (see at least ¶[0065] and [0093]);
wherein a first end of the second connecting rod is rotatably connected to the second swing arm (same symmetrical arrangement as in fig. 14 but for 152), and wherein a second end of the second connecting rod is rotatably connected to the second door plate (through 1342, fig. 13, same symmetrical arrangement for 151 and 124, but for 152 and 134, see at least ¶[0100]); and
wherein the first housing support and the second housing support are configured to rotate relative to each other, such that the first housing support drives the first support arm and the first swing arm to rotate around the module bracket (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 7, 10, 12, 17, through gears 161, 162, 163, 164, ¶[0104]) and such that the first connecting rod (151) drives the first door plate to rotate relative to the first housing support (figs. 12-13 discloses this limitation, ¶[0095]-[0097]), causing a first end of the first door plate adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (examination of the connecting rod 151 location in figs. 12-13 discloses this limitation, ¶[0095]-[0097]);
wherein the second housing support (131) is configured to drive the second support arm (133) and the second swing arm (132) to rotate around the module bracket (figs. 8, 12-13), and wherein the second connecting rod (152) is configured to drive the second door plate to rotate relative to the second housing support (figs. 12-13, ¶[0100]), causing a first of the second door plate adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (examination of the connecting rod 152 location in figs. 12-13 discloses this limitation, ¶[0095]-[0097], [0100]); and
wherein the first door plate is configured to rotate to a first position (figs. 9 and 19) and the second door plate is configured to rotate to a second position (figs. 9 and 20) such that, after rotation of the first door plate and the second door plate (figs. 9 and 20), the first door plate and the second door plate form an included angle (the acute angle shown in figs. 9, 12, and 20), and jointly enclose, with the module bracket, screen accommodating space configured to accommodates the flexible display in the first region (see at least ¶[0065], [0068], [0070], [0097], [0125]).
Regarding claim 4, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 1, and Liao further discloses: wherein a first module bracket side of the two sides of the module bracket has a first arc-shaped groove (112a, fig. 11) and a second module bracket side of the two sides of the module bracket has a second arc-shaped groove (112b, fig. 11), wherein the first swing arm has a first arc-shaped rotation block (1221, fig. 11), and wherein the first arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the first arc-shaped groove (¶[0074]); and
wherein the second swing arm has a second arc-shaped rotation block (1321, fig. 11), and wherein the second arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the second arc-shaped groove (¶[0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 1, and Liao further discloses: wherein the first housing support has a first sliding groove (1212, fig. 13), and wherein the first support arm is slidably disposed in the first sliding groove (¶[0085]); and
wherein the second housing support has a second sliding groove (1312, fig. 13), and wherein the second support arm is slidably disposed in the second sliding groove (¶[0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 1, and Liao further discloses: wherein the first housing support has a third arc-shaped rotation block (1213, fig. 13), wherein the first door plate is provided with a third arc-shaped groove (1241, fig. 13), and wherein the third arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the third arc-shaped groove (¶[0090]); and
wherein the second housing support has a fourth arc-shaped rotation block, wherein the second door plate has a fourth arc-shaped groove, and wherein the fourth arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the fourth arc-shaped groove (see ¶[0093]).
Regarding claim 13, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 1, and Liao further discloses: wherein the first door plate comprises a first door plate body (see ‘FDPB’ in annotated fig. 13 below) and a first door plate support (structure that comprises groove 1242, see ‘FDPS’ in annotated fig. 13 below), and wherein the first door plate body is disposed on a surface that is of the first door plate support and that faces the first region (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 12 and 19);
wherein the second door plate comprises a second door plate body (see ‘SDPB’ in annotated fig. 13 below) and a second door plate support (structure that comprises groove 1342, see ‘SDPS’ in annotated fig. 13 below), and wherein the second door plate body is disposed on a surface that is of the second door plate support and that faces the first region (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 12 and 19);
wherein the first door plate body is one of fastened to the first door plate support, or forms an integrated structure with the first door plate support (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 12-14, ¶[0097]); and
wherein the second door plate body is one of fastened to the second door plate support, or forms an integrated structure with the second door plate support (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 12-14, ¶[0100]).
Regarding claim 14, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 1, and Liao further discloses:
wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises a base (111, fig. 13), and wherein the module bracket is fastened to the base (¶[0074]);
wherein the base is supported on an eleventh surface that is of the module bracket (upper surface of 112, fig. 11) and that is separated by at least a portion of the module bracket from the first door plate and the second door plate (fig. 6 discloses this limitation, and the portion containing 112a and 112b, fig. 11) wherein the base is disposed between the first door plate and the second door plate (fig. 13); and
wherein the hinge mechanism is configured to be moved to an unfolded state (fig. 13) such that a surface that is of the base (surface facing the flexible display, fig. 9) and that is separated by at least a portion of base from the module bracket (portion that comprises 11a, fig. 13) is coplanar with a surface that is of the first door plate (surface facing the flexible display, figs. 9 and 13) and that is separated by at least a portion of the first door plate (see ‘portion’ in annotated fig. 10 below) from the first swing arm and is further coplanar with a surface that is of the second door plate (fig. 13) and that is separated by at least a portion of the second door plate from the second swing arm (as disclosed by the symmetrical arrangement for the second door plate 134 in fig. 7).
Regarding claim 15, Liao discloses: an electronic device, comprising:
a first housing (21, fig. 19);
a second housing (22, fig. 19);
a flexible display (23, figs. 9, 19); and
a hinge mechanism (10, fig. 19);
wherein the first housing and the second housing are respectively disposed on two sides of the hinge mechanism (figs. 19-20, ¶[0122]), wherein the first housing is connected to a first housing support (121, fig. 7, ¶[0123]), and wherein the second housing is connected to a second housing support (122, fig. 10, ¶[0123]);
wherein the flexible display contiguously covers a first door plate (124, fig. 10), a second door plate (134, fig. 7), and the hinge mechanism (fig. 19, ¶[0125]-[0126]), and wherein the flexible display is connected to the first door plate and the second door plate (¶[0126]);
wherein the hinge mechanism comprises a first rotation module (12, fig. 7), a second rotation module (13, fig. 7), and a module bracket (11, figs. 12-13, ¶[0074]), wherein the first rotation module and the second rotation module are respectively disposed on two sides of the module bracket (figs. 7-11);
wherein the first rotation module comprises a first swing arm (122, fig. 7), a first support arm (123, fig. 7), a first housing support (121, fig. 7), a first door plate (124, fig. 10), and a first connecting rod (151, fig. 14, ¶[0098]), wherein the first door plate is configured to support the flexible display (23, fig. 19, ¶[0065]), wherein at least a part of the first swing arm and at least a part of the first support arm are disposed on a surface that is of the first door plate (opposite surface to a surface facing the flexible display panel in fig. 9, see also fig. 10) and that is separated by at least a portion (thickness portion) of the first door plate from the flexible display (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 9-10), wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are distributed along a length direction of the hinge mechanism (fig. 7), wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (fig. 7, ¶[0064]), and wherein a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other (fig. 8, ¶[0066]) and parallel to each other (figs. 7-8, ¶[0066]);
wherein at least a part of the first housing support (121) is disposed on a surface that is of the first swing arm (figures 7 and 11 discloses this limitation) and that is separated by at least a portion (1221 and adjacent connection portion of 122) of the first swing arm (122) from the first door plate (figs. 10-11) and a surface (see “third surface” mapping in annotated fig. 7 above for claim 1) that is of the first support arm (figs. 7, 10-11) and that is spaced apart from the first door plate (figs. 7, 10-11), wherein the first swing arm is rotatably connected to the first housing support (¶[0064]), wherein the first support arm is slidably connected to the first housing support (¶[0064]), and wherein the first door plate is rotatably connected to the first housing support (“first support plate 124 is rotatably connected to the first swing link 121”, ¶[0065]);
wherein a first end of the first connecting rod is rotatably connected to the first swing arm (fig. 14), and wherein a second end (end engaging 1242, fig. 12, ¶[0098]-[0099]) of the first connecting rod is rotatably connected to the first door plate (through 1242, fig. 12, where 151 is rotatably connected to 124 after first sliding to push the side wall of 1242, “the positioning shaft 151 located on the first driven arm 123 pushes against a side wall of the third sliding groove 1242 to rotate the first support plate 124 around the first swing link 121”, ¶[0095], see also ¶[0065]));
wherein the second rotation module comprises a second swing arm (132, fig. 10), a second support arm (133, fig. 10), a second housing support (131, fig. 10), a second door plate (134, fig. 7), and a second connecting rod (152, fig. 10), wherein the second door plate is configured to support the flexible display (23, fig. 19, ¶[0125]-[0126), wherein at least a part of the second swing arm and at least a part of the second support arm are disposed on a surface that is of the second door plate (opposite surface to a surface facing the flexible display panel in fig. 9, see also fig. 7) and that is spaced apart by at least a portion (thickness portion) of the second door plate from the flexible display (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 7, 9-10), wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are distributed along the length direction of the hinge mechanism (fig. 10), wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (¶[0069]), and wherein a rotation axis center of the second support arm and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other (same symmetrical arrangement for 122 and 123 as disclosed in fig. 8, ¶[0066], [0069], but for 132 and 133);
wherein at least a part of the second housing support (131) is disposed on a surface that is of the second swing arm (figures 10 and 11 discloses this limitation) and that is spaced apart by at least a portion (1321 and adjacent connection portion of 132) of the second swing arm (132) from the second door plate (figs. 7, 11) and a surface (see ‘sixth surface’ mapping in annotated fig. 10 above for claim 1) that is of the second support arm (figs. 7, 10-11) and that is spaced apart by at least a portion of the second swing arm from the second door plate (see at least figs. 7, 10-11), wherein the second swing arm is rotatably connected to the second housing support (¶[0069]), wherein the second support arm is slidably connected to the second housing support (¶[0069]), and wherein the second door plate is rotatably connected to the second housing support (see at least ¶[0065] and [0093]);
wherein a first end of the second connecting rod is rotatably connected to the second swing arm (same symmetrical arrangement as in fig. 14 but for 152), and wherein a second end of the second connecting rod is rotatably connected to the second door plate (through 1342, fig. 13, same symmetrical arrangement for 151 and 124, but for 152 and 134, see at least ¶[0100]); and
wherein the first housing support (121) and the second housing support are configured to rotate relative to each other such that the first housing support drives the first support arm and the first swing arm to rotate around the module bracket (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 7, 10, 12, 17, through gears 161, 162, 163, 164, ¶[0104]), and such that the first connecting rod (151) drives the first door plate to rotate relative to the first housing support (figs. 12-13 discloses this limitation, ¶[0095]-[0097]), causing a first end of the first door plate adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (examination of the connecting rod 151 location in figs. 12-13 discloses this limitation, ¶[0095]-[0097]);
wherein the second housing support (131) is configured to drive the second support arm (133) and the second swing arm (132) to rotate around the module bracket (figs. 8, 12-13), and wherein the second connecting rod (152) us configured to drive the second door plate to rotate relative to the second housing support (figs. 12-13, ¶[0100]), causing a first end of the second door plate adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (examination of the connecting rod 152 location in figs. 12-13 discloses this limitation, ¶[0095]-[0097], [0100]); and
wherein the first door plate is configured to rotate to a first position (figs. 9 and 19) and the second door plate is configure to rotate to a second position (figs. 9 and 19) such that, after rotation of the first door plate and the second door plate (figs. 9 and 19), the first door plate and the second door plate form an included angle (the acute angle shown in figs. 9, 12, and 20), and jointly enclose, with the module bracket, a screen accommodating space configured to accommodate the flexible display (see at least ¶[0065], [0068], [0070], [0097], [0125]).
Regarding claim 18, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 15, and Liao further discloses:
wherein a first module bracket side of the two sides of the module bracket has a first arc-shaped groove (113, fig. 11) and a second module bracket side of the two sides of the module bracket has a second arc-shaped groove (114, fig. 11);
wherein the first swing arm has a first arc-shaped rotation block (1221, fig. 11), and wherein the first arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the first arc-shaped groove (¶[0074]); and
wherein the second swing arm has a second arc-shaped rotation block (1321, fig. 11), and wherein the second arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the second arc-shaped groove (¶[0074]).
Regarding claim 19, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 15, and Liao further discloses: wherein the first housing support has a first sliding groove (1212, fig. 13), and wherein the first support arm is slidably disposed in the first sliding groove (¶[0085]); and
wherein the second housing support is provided with a second sliding groove (1312, fig. 13), and wherein the second support arm is slidably disposed in the second sliding groove (¶[0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Liao discloses the limitation of claim 15, and Liao further discloses: wherein the first housing support has a third arc-shaped rotation block (1213, fig. 13), wherein the first door plate is provided with a third arc-shaped groove (1241, fig. 13), and wherein the third arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the third arc-shaped groove (¶[0090]); and
wherein the second housing support is provided has a fourth arc-shaped rotation block, wherein the second door plate has a fourth arc-shaped groove, and wherein the fourth arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the fourth arc-shaped groove (see ¶[0093]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 13-16, 18-20 are alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20230050832; “Yang” hereinafter), in view of Liao et al (US 20210181808; “Liao” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a hinge mechanism, comprising:
a first rotation module (1, 4-7, see annotated figs. 1-3 below);
a second rotation module (second instance of 1, 4-7, see annotated figs. 1-3); and
a module bracket (32, fig. 3), wherein the first rotation module and the second rotation module are respectively disposed on two sides of the module bracket (fig. 2);
wherein the first rotation module comprises a first swing arm (5, fig. 3), a first support arm (1, fig. 1), a first housing support (4, fig. 3), a first door plate (6), and a first connecting rod (7, figs. 3 and 10), wherein the first door plate is configured to support a flexible display (202, figs. 8, 12-13) in a first region (the curvilinear portion of the flexible display, fig. 12) at a first side (side facing the flexible display, fig. 12) of the first door plate, wherein at least a part of the first swing arm (see ‘P5’ in annotated fig. 1 below) and at least a part of the first support arm (see ‘P1’ in annotated fig. 1 below) are disposed on a first surface (surface from the opposite side to the first side) that is of the first door plate and that is separated by at least a portion of the first door plate (notch portion, see annotated figs. 3 and 9 below) from the first side, wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are disposed along a length direction of the hinge mechanism (see ‘LD’ in annotated fig. 2 below), wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (figs. 2 and 6, ¶[0038]), and,
wherein at least a part of the first housing support is disposed on a second surface that is of the first swing arm (see annotated fig. 3 below) and that is separated by at least a portion of the first swing arm (53) from the first door plate (fig. 11) and a third surface (see annotated fig. 3 below) that is of the first support arm and that is spaced apart from the first door plate (fig. 11), wherein the first swing arm is rotatably connected to the first housing support (¶[0034]), wherein the first support arm is slidably connected to the first housing support (¶[0037]), and wherein the first door plate (6) is rotatably connected to the first housing support (through engagement between 64 and 41, figs. 3 and 9, ¶[0042]-[0043]);
wherein a first end of the first connecting rod (72) is rotatably connected to the first swing arm (fig. 11, ¶[0041]), and wherein a second end of the first connecting rod (71) is rotatably connected to the first door plate (fig. 11, ¶[0041]);
wherein the second rotation module comprises a second swing arm (second instance of 5, see annotated figs. 1-2 below), a second support arm (second instance of 1, see annotated figs. 1-2 below), a second housing support (second instance of 4, see annotated figs. 1-2 below), a second door plate (second instance of 6, see annotated fig. 1 below), and a second connecting rod (second instance of 7, see annotated fig. 8 below), wherein the second door plate is configured to support the flexible display (202, figs. 8, 12-13) in the first region at a second side of the second door plate (side facing the flexible display, fig. 12), wherein at least a part of the second swing arm (see ‘2P5’ in annotated fig. 1 below) and at least a part of the second support arm (see ‘2P1’ in annotated fig. 1 below) are disposed on a fourth surface (surface from the opposite side to the second side) that is of the second door plate and that is separated by at least a portion (same notch portion but for the second door plate, see annotated figs. 3 and 9 below) of the second door plate from the second side, wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are disposed along the length direction of the hinge mechanism (see ‘LD’ in annotated fig. 2 below), wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (figs. 2 and 6, ¶[0038]), and
wherein at least a part of the second housing support is disposed on a fifth surface (see annotated fig. 3 below) that is of the second swing arm and that is separated by at least a portion (second instance of 53) of the second swing arm from the second door plate (fig. 11) and a sixth surface that is of the second support arm (see annotated fig. 3 below) and that is separated by at least a portion of the second support arm (portion of 12, fig. 3) from the second door plate (fig. 11), wherein the second swing arm is rotatably connected to the second housing support (¶[0034]), wherein the second support arm is slidably connected to the second housing support (¶[0037]), and wherein the second door plate is rotatably connected to the second housing support (through engagement between a second instance of 64 and 41, figs. 3 and 9, ¶[0042]-[0043]);
wherein a first end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 72) is rotatably connected to the second swing arm (fig. 11, ¶[0041]), and wherein a second end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 71) is rotatably connected to the second door plate (fig. 11, ¶[0041]); and
wherein the first housing support and the second housing support are configured to rotate relative to each other (figs. 1, 6, 8, see at least ¶[0034]), such that the first housing support drives the first support arm and the first swing arm to rotate around the module bracket (see at least ¶[0034]-[0035]), and such that the first connecting rod drives the first door plate to rotate relative to the first housing support, causing a first end (see ‘first end’ in annotated fig. 9 below, but corresponding to the first door plate) of the first door plate adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (unfolding movement, fig. 8 through fig. 11, see at least ¶[0034]-[0037]);
wherein the second housing support is configured to drive the second support arm and the second swing arm to rotate around the module bracket (see at least ¶[0034]-[0035]), and wherein the second connecting rod is configured to drive the second door plate to rotate relative to the second housing support (through engagement between a second instance of 64 and 41, figs. 3 and 9, see at least ¶[0041]-[0042]), causing a first of the second door plate adjacent to the module bracket (see ‘first end’ in annotated fig. 9 below, but corresponding to the second door plate) to move in a direction away from the module bracket (unfolding movement, fig. 8 through fig. 11, see at least ¶[0034]-[0037]); and
wherein the first door plate is configured to rotate to a first position (fig. 8) and the second door plate is configured to rotate to a second position (fig. 8) such that, after rotation of the first door plate and the second door plate, the first door plate and the second door plate form an included angle (the acute angle shown in fig. 8), and jointly enclose, with the module bracket, screen accommodating space configured to accommodates the flexible display in the first region (see annotated fig. 8 below).
Yang suggests (see fig. 2 below), but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other,
wherein a rotation axis center of the second support arm and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other.
However, Liao teaches:
wherein a first swing arm (122, fig. 7) and a first support arm (123, fig. 7) are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (¶[0064]), and wherein a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other (fig. 8, ¶[0066]) and parallel to each other (¶[0064]); and
and wherein a rotation axis center of a second support arm (133, fig. 10) and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm (132, fig. 10) on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other (same symmetrical arrangement for 122 and 123 as disclosed in fig. 8, ¶[0066], [0069], but for 132 and 133);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with Liao’s teaching, such that a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other, and a rotation axis center of the second support arm and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other, in order to allow sliding of the first support arm and the second support arm, relative to the first housing support and the second housing support, and therefore causing the first rotation module and the second rotation module to expend or contract (¶[0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein a surface that is of the first swing arm (see ‘S1’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the first door plate has a first mounting groove (53), wherein a surface that is of the first door plate (see ‘D1’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the first swing arm has a second mounting groove (61), wherein a first end of the first connecting rod (72) is rotatably disposed in the first mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]), and a second end of the first connecting rod (71) is rotatably disposed in the second mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]); and
wherein a surface that is of the second swing arm (see ‘S2’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the second door plate has a third mounting groove (second instance of 53), wherein a surface that is of the second door plate (see ‘D2’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the second swing arm has a fourth mounting groove (second instance of 61), wherein a first end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 72) is rotatably disposed in the third mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]), and a second end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 71) is rotatably disposed in the fourth mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein a first module bracket side (see ‘FMS’ in annotated fig. 10 below) of the two sides of the module bracket has a first arc-shaped groove (321, fig. 12, corresponding to FMS) and a second module bracket side (see ‘SMS’ in annotated fig. 10 below) of the two sides of the module bracket has a second arc-shaped groove (second instance of 321, fig. 12, corresponding to SMS), wherein the first swing arm has a first arc-shaped rotation block (51), and wherein the first arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the first arc-shaped groove (fig. 12, ¶[0038]); and
wherein the second swing arm has a second arc-shaped rotation block (second instance of 51 corresponding to the second swing arm), and wherein the second arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the second arc-shaped groove (fig. 12, ¶[0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the first housing support has a first sliding groove (see annotated fig. 3 below), and wherein the first support arm is slidably disposed in the first sliding groove (¶[0034]-[0036]); and
wherein the second housing support has a second sliding groove (see annotated fig. 3 below), and wherein the second support arm is slidably disposed in the second sliding groove (¶[0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the first housing support has a third arc-shaped rotation block (first instance of 41 corresponding to the first housing support, fig. 3), wherein the first door plate is provided with a third arc-shaped groove (first instance of 64 corresponding to the first door plate), and wherein the third arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the third arc-shaped groove (¶[0042]); and
wherein the second housing support has a fourth arc-shaped rotation block (second instance of 41 corresponding to the second housing support), wherein the second door plate has a fourth arc-shaped groove (second instance of 64 corresponding to the second door plate), and wherein the fourth arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the fourth arc-shaped groove (¶[0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the first door plate comprises a first door plate body (see ‘FDPB’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and a first door plate support (see ‘FDPS’ in annotated fig. 3 below), and wherein the first door plate body is disposed on a surface that is of the first door plate support (fig. 11) and that faces the first region (see figs. 8-10);
wherein the second door plate comprises a second door plate body (see ‘SDPB’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and a second door plate support (see ‘SDPB’ in annotated fig. 3 below), and wherein the second door plate body is disposed on a surface that is of the second door plate support (fig. 11) and that faces the first region (see figs. 8-10);
wherein the first door plate body is one of fastened to the first door plate support, or forms an integrated structure with the first door plate support (figs. 3 and 9 disclose a one piece structure); and
wherein the second door plate body is one of fastened to the second door plate support, or forms an integrated structure with the second door plate support (figs. 3 and 9 disclose a one piece structure).
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises a base (33, fig. 3), and wherein the module bracket is fastened to the base (¶[0033]);
wherein the base is supported on an eleventh surface (see annotated fig. 8 below) that is of the module bracket and that is separated by at least a portion (321, 34, fig. 12) of the module bracket from the first door plate and the second door plate, and wherein the base is disposed between the first door plate and the second door plate (figs. 10-12); and
wherein the hinge mechanism is configured to be moved to an unfolded state such that a surface that is of the base (see ‘B1’ in annotated fig. 11 below) and that is separated by at least a portion of base (331, fig. 12) from the module bracket is coplanar with a surface that is of the first door plate (see ‘D1’ in annotated fig. 11 below, but corresponding to the first door plate, fig. 1) and that is separated by at least a portion (see ‘P1’ in annotated fig. 1 below) of the first door plate from the first swing arm and is further coplanar with a surface that is of the second door plate (see ‘D2’ in annotated figs. 1 and 11 below, but corresponding to the second door plate, fig. 1) and that is separated by at least a portion (see ‘P2’ in annotated fig. 1 below) of the second door plate from the second swing arm.
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a first housing (201, figs. 13-14, ¶[0046]);
a second housing (201, figs. 13-14, ¶[0046]);
a flexible display (202, figs. 12-13); and
a hinge mechanism (100);
wherein the first housing and the second housing are respectively disposed on two sides of the hinge mechanism (fig. 13, ¶[0047]), wherein the first housing is connected to a first housing support (4, ¶[0047]), and wherein the second housing is connected to a second housing support (second instance of 4, ¶[0047]);
wherein the flexible display contiguously covers a first door plate (6, fig. 1), a second door plate (second instance of 6, figs. 1 and 12), and the hinge mechanism (fig. 13), and wherein the flexible display is connected to the first door plate and the second door plate (fig. 8, ¶[0047]);
wherein the hinge mechanism comprises a first rotation module (1, 4-7, see annotated figs. 1-2 below, fig. 3), a second rotation module (second instance of 1, 4-7, see annotated figs. 1-2 below, and fig. 3), and a module bracket (32, fig. 3), wherein the first rotation module and the second rotation module are respectively disposed on two sides of the module bracket (fig. 2);
wherein the first rotation module comprises a first swing arm (5, fig. 3), a first support arm (1, fig. 1), a first housing support (4, fig. 3), a first door plate (6), and a first connecting rod (7, figs. 3 and 10), wherein the first door plate is configured to support the flexible display (figs. 8 and 12), wherein at least a part of the first swing arm (see ‘P5’ in annotated fig. 1 below) and at least a part of the first support arm (see ‘P1’ in annotated fig. 1 below) are disposed on a surface (see ‘S1’ in annotated fig. 8 below) that is of the first door plate and that is separated by at least a portion of the first door plate (thickness portion) from the flexible display (figs. 8 and 12), wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are distributed along a length direction (A, fig. 2) of the hinge mechanism, wherein the first swing arm and the first support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (figs. 2 and 6, ¶[0038]), and
wherein at least a part of the first housing support is disposed on a surface (see ‘SS’ in annotated fig. 3 below) that is of the first swing arm and that is separated by at least a portion (53) of the first swing arm from the first door plate (fig. 11) and a surface (see ‘TS’ in annotated fig. 3 below) that is of the first support arm and that is spaced apart from the first door plate (fig. 11), wherein the first swing arm is rotatably connected to the first housing support (¶[0034]), wherein the first support arm is slidably connected to the first housing support (¶[0037]), and wherein the first door plate (6) is rotatably connected to the first housing support (through engagement between 64 and 41, figs. 3 and 9, ¶[0042]-[0043]);
wherein a first end of the first connecting rod (72) is rotatably connected to the first swing arm (fig. 11, ¶[0041]), and wherein a second end of the first connecting rod (71) is rotatably connected to the first door plate (fig. 11, ¶[0041]);
wherein the second rotation module comprises a second swing arm (second instance of 5, see annotated figs. 1-2 below), a second support arm (second instance of 1, see annotated figs. 1-2 below), a second housing support (second instance of 4, see annotated figs. 1-2 below), a second door plate (second instance of 6, see annotated fig. 1 below), and a second connecting rod (second instance of 7, see annotated fig. 8 below), wherein the second door plate is configured to support the flexible display (202, figs. 8, 12-13), wherein at least a part of the second swing arm (see ‘2P5’ in annotated fig. 1 below) and at least a part of the second support arm (see ‘2P1’ in annotated fig. 1 below) are disposed on a surface (see ‘S2’ in annotated fig. 8 below) that is of the second door plate and that is spaced apart by at least a portion of the second door plate (thickness portion) from the flexible display (figs. 8 and 12), wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are distributed along the length direction (A, fig. 2) of the hinge mechanism, wherein the second swing arm and the second support arm are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (figs. 2 and 6, ¶[0038]), and
wherein at least a part of the second housing support is disposed on a surface (see ‘FS’ in annotated fig. 3 below) that is of the second swing arm and that is spaced apart by at least a portion (second instance of 53) of the second swing arm (fig. 11) from the second door plate and a surface (see ‘RS’ in annotated fig. 3 below) that is of the second support arm and that is spaced apart by at least a portion of the second swing arm (53see at least figs. 3 and 11) from the second door plate (fig. 11), wherein the second swing arm is rotatably connected to the second housing support (¶[0034]), wherein the second support arm is slidably connected to the second housing support (¶[0037]), and wherein the second door plate is rotatably connected to the second housing support (through engagement between a second instance of 64 and 41, figs. 3 and 9, ¶[0042]-[0043]);
wherein a first end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 72) is rotatably connected to the second swing arm (fig. 11, ¶[0041]), and wherein a second end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 71) is rotatably connected to the second door plate (fig. 11, ¶[0041]); and
wherein the first housing support and the second housing support are configured to rotate relative to each other (figs. 1, 6, 8, see at least ¶[0034]) such that the first housing support drives the first support arm and the first swing arm to rotate around the module bracket (see at least ¶[0034]-[0035]), and such that the first connecting rod drives the first door plate to rotate relative to the first housing support, causing a first end of the first door plate (see ‘first end’ in annotated fig. 9 below, but corresponding to the first door plate) adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (unfolding movement, fig. 8 through fig. 11, see at least ¶[0034]-[0037]) ;
wherein the second housing support is configured to drive the second support arm and the second swing arm to rotate around the module bracket (see at least ¶[0034]-[0035]), and wherein the second connecting rod us configured to drive the second door plate to rotate relative to the second housing support (through engagement between a second instance of 64 and 41, figs. 3 and 9, see at least ¶[0041]-[0042]), causing a first end of the second door plate (see ‘first end’ in annotated fig. 9 below, but corresponding to the second door plate) adjacent to the module bracket to move in a direction away from the module bracket (unfolding movement, fig. 8 through fig. 11, see at least ¶[0034]-[0037]); and
wherein the first door plate is configured to rotate to a first position (fig. 8) and the second door plate is configure to rotate to a second position (fig. 8) such that, after rotation of the first door plate and the second door plate, the first door plate and the second door plate form an included angle (the acute angle shown in fig. 8), and jointly enclose, with the module bracket, a screen accommodating space (see annotated fig. 8 below) configured to accommodate the flexible display.
Yang suggests (see fig. 2 below), but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other,
wherein a rotation axis center of the second support arm and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other.
However, Liao teaches:
wherein a first swing arm (122, fig. 7) and a first support arm (123, fig. 7) are separately rotatably connected to the module bracket (¶[0064]), and wherein a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other (fig. 8, ¶[0066]) and parallel to each other (¶[0064]); and
and wherein a rotation axis center of a second support arm (133, fig. 10) and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm (132, fig. 10) on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other (same symmetrical arrangement for 122 and 123 as disclosed in fig. 8, ¶[0066], [0069], but for 132 and 133);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with Liao’s teaching, such that a rotation axis center of the first support arm and a rotation axis center of the first swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other, and a rotation axis center of the second support arm and a rotation axis center of the second swing arm on the module bracket are different from each other and parallel to each other, in order to allow sliding of the first support arm and the second support arm, relative to the first housing support and the second housing support, and therefore causing the first rotation module and the second rotation module to expend or contract (¶[0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches: wherein a surface that is of the first swing arm (see ‘S1’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the first door plate has a first mounting groove (53), wherein a surface that is of the first door plate (see ‘D1’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the first swing arm has a second mounting groove (61), wherein a first end of the first connecting rod (72) is rotatably disposed in the first mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]), and a second end of the first connecting rod (71) is rotatably disposed in the second mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]); and
wherein a surface that is of the second swing arm (see ‘S2’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the second door plate has a third mounting groove (second instance of 53), wherein a surface that is of the second door plate (see ‘D2’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and that faces the second swing arm has a fourth mounting groove (second instance of 61), wherein a first end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 72) is rotatably disposed in the third mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]), and a second end of the second connecting rod (second instance of 71) is rotatably disposed in the fourth mounting groove (fig. 11, ¶[0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 18 Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches: wherein a first module bracket side (see ‘FMS’ in annotated fig. 10 below) of the two sides of the module bracket has a first arc-shaped groove (321, fig. 12, corresponding to FMS) and a second module bracket side (see ‘SMS’ in annotated fig. 10 below) of the two sides of the module bracket has a second arc-shaped groove (second instance of 321, fig. 12, corresponding to SMS);
wherein the first swing arm has a first arc-shaped rotation block (51), and wherein the first arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the first arc-shaped groove (fig. 12, ¶[0038]); and
wherein the second swing arm has a second arc-shaped rotation block (second instance of 51 corresponding to the second swing arm), and wherein the second arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the second arc-shaped groove (fig. 12, ¶[0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches: wherein the first housing support has a first sliding groove (see annotated fig. 3 below), and wherein the first support arm is slidably disposed in the first sliding groove (¶[0034]-[0036]); and
wherein the second housing support has a second sliding groove (see annotated fig. 3 below), and wherein the second support arm is slidably disposed in the second sliding groove (¶[0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Yang in view of Liao teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Yang further teaches:
wherein the first housing support has a third arc-shaped rotation block (first instance of 41 corresponding to the first housing support, fig. 3), wherein the first door plate is provided with a third arc-shaped groove (first instance of 64 corresponding to the first door plate), and wherein the third arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the third arc-shaped groove (¶[0042]); and
wherein the second housing support has a fourth arc-shaped rotation block (second instance of 41 corresponding to the second housing support), wherein the second door plate has a fourth arc-shaped groove (second instance of 64 corresponding to the second door plate), and wherein the fourth arc-shaped rotation block is rotatably disposed in the fourth arc-shaped groove (¶[0042]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-12, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the first surface has a first bump, wherein the first bump is disposed on the first surface at a third side of the first support arm along a length direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein a side surface that is of the first bump and that faces the first support arm has a first rotary sliding groove, wherein a side surface that is of the first support arm and that faces the first bump has a first sliding shaft, and wherein the first sliding shaft is slidably disposed in the first rotary sliding groove; and wherein the second surface has a second bump, wherein the second bump is disposed on the second surface at a fourth side of the second support arm along the length direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein a side surface that is of the second bump and that faces the second support arm has a second rotary sliding groove, wherein a side surface that is of the second support arm and that faces the second bump has a second sliding shaft, and wherein the second sliding shaft is slidably disposed in the second rotary sliding groove. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the first rotation module further comprises a third door plate, wherein the third door plate is located on a side of the first door plate nearest the module bracket, and wherein the third door plate is configured to jointly support the flexible display in the first region with the first door plate via a seventh surface of the third door plate; wherein the third door plate is rotatably connected to the first door plate, wherein the third door plate is slidably connected to the module bracket, and wherein the third door plate is configured to rotate relative to the module bracket; wherein the second rotation module further comprises a fourth door plate, wherein the fourth door plate is located on a side of the second door plate nearest the module bracket, and wherein the fourth door plate is configured to jointly support the flexible display in the first region with the second door plate via an eight surface of the fourth door plate; and wherein the fourth door plate is rotatably connected to the second door plate, wherein the fourth door plate is slidably connected to the module bracket, and wherein the fourth door plate is configure to rotate relative to the module bracket. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 8-12 are objected to by virtue of dependency to claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 15, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein the surface that is of the first door plate and that is separated by at least the portion of the first door plate from the flexible display has a first bump, wherein the first bump is disposed on a side of the first support arm along the length direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein a side surface that is of the first bump and that faces the first support arm has a first rotary sliding groove, wherein a side surface that is of the first support arm and that faces the first bump has a first sliding shaft, and wherein the first sliding shaft is slidably disposed in the first rotary sliding groove; and wherein the surface that is of the second door plate and that is separated by at least the portion of the second door plate from the flexible display has a second bump, wherein the second bump is disposed on a side of the second support arm along the length direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein a side surface that is of the second bump and that faces the second support arm has a second rotary sliding groove, wherein a side surface that is of the second support arm and that faces the second bump has a second sliding shaft, and wherein the second sliding shaft is slidably disposed in the second rotary sliding groove. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 10761575 B1 Hinge Mechanism and Electronic Device Having the Same. This invention relates generally to a flexible display, a support mechanism for carrying the flexible display thereon, and two hinge mechanisms. Each of the hinge mechanisms is disposed between first and second substrate units and interconnects inboard end edges of the first and second substrate units of the support mechanism, and includes first and second linking units pivotable relative to a mounting assembly.
US 20230384839 A1 Folding Mechanism and Electronic Device. This invention generally relates to a folding mechanism, where a first housing seat is provided on a first screen supporting plate, and the first screen supporting plate is rotatably fitted with the first housing seat; a second housing seat is provided on a second screen supporting plate, and the second screen supporting plate is rotatably fitted with the second housing seat; the first housing seat and the first screen supporting plate are arranged on a first side of a base, and the second housing seat and the second screen supporting plate are arranged on a second side of the base.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841