DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asami et al (US 2010/0300386)
Regarding claim 1, Asami discloses an engine device that supplies a fuel to drive an engine 1 (Fig. 1, shown), the engine device comprising:
an intake path 11 through which an intake flows to the engine (Fig. 1, shown);
an intake system component provided inside the intake path (Fig. 1, shown intake path having components therein); and
a fuel injection unit 2 that injects the fuel (¶ [0052]), which is in a liquid state or a mixed state containing a liquid and a gas (¶ [0114], the engine injects gasoline, a liquid fuel), inside the intake path toward a wall surface of the intake path or the intake system component (Fig. 2, shown injector angled within a port);
wherein:
the wall surface of the intake path is a wall surface of an intake manifold or a wall surface of an intake port, and the intake system component is an intake valve (Fig. 2, the injector 2 is shown spraying fuel toward both a wall surface of an intake port and toward an intake valve 13).
Regarding claim 2, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, wherein the fuel injection unit causes the fuel to collide with a wall surface of the intake path or the intake system component by injecting the fuel along an intake direction of the intake path (Fig. 2, the injector 2 is angled to inject along a flow path of the intake 11 and impacting both the port wall and intake valve).
Regarding claim 3, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface of the intake path or the intake system component is heated to an intake temperature or higher (Fig. 1, the intake component, being an intake valve 13, is inherently heated via combustion within the combustion chamber to a temperature much higher than an intake temperature (i.e. temperature of the air)).
Regarding claim 5, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 3, wherein a wall surface of the intake path is heated by utilizing waste heat from the engine (Fig. 1, the engine produces heat in the combustion chamber, waste heat is emitted from it and would heat the surrounding components (and any cooling fluid if present) including the intake wall of the intake path 11).
Regarding claim 8, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface of the intake manifold is a wall surface of a branched flow path of the intake manifold (¶ [0042], the system is a multi-cylinder gasoline engine wherein the injector is in an intake port and thus injecting toward a wall surface of an intake manifold that is after a branch flow path to the cylinder).
Regarding claim 9, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, wherein the fuel injection unit is configured to direct the fuel to the wall surface of the intake path or the intake system component such that the fuel collides therewith (Fig. 1, the fuel injection would cause at least some fuel to impact to the valve or wall).
Regarding claim 10, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, wherein the fuel is injected toward the wall surface of the intake path (Fig. 1, shown).
Regarding claim 11, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, wherein the fuel is injected toward the wall surface of the intake system component (Fig. 1, shown injection being toward an intake flow path which impacts both the intake manifold wall and into the port 11a and 13 where fuel would contact them).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asami in view of Wang (Chongming Wang et al, Methanol as an octane booster for gasoline fuels, Fuel, Volume 248, 2019, Pages 76-84, ISSN 0016-2361, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0016236119303552)
Regarding claim 7, Asami discloses the engine device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the fuel is ammonia or methanol.
Asami, for its part, discloses the fuel being gasoline. However, Wang discloses making use of methanol within gasoline as part of its fuel because it is an effective octane booster adds a cooling effect.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the fuel of Asami to include methanol as a fuel because it would have boosted the octane rating of Asami’s fuel and improved the thermal efficiency through its cooling effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art fails to disclose the wall surface of the intake path of an engine intake which is heated specifically by heat emitted from the engine cooling water or exhaust gas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Leone et al (US 2007/0119410) shows a system including a fuel injector 66b which sprays liquid fuel toward an intake wall and valve and may include methanol (¶ [0076] and Fig. 2, shown).
/KEVIN A LATHERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747