Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 17 March 2025.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites “wherein the channels comprise a channel running a long a diameter of the body at a top end”. There appears to be a typographical error. It appears that Applicant intended to claim “along” and not “a long”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Dependent claims inherit the deficiency of the parent.
Claim 1 recites “a body with one or more multiple channels”. The scope of the claim is unclear because it is unclear if the applicant intents to include just one channel, or one or more channels, or more than one channels, or multiple channels. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret the claim to mean one or more channels.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the channels comprise a channel running a long a diameter of the body at a top end.” Here, the claim has the channels but then refers to a channel which causes confusion in the dependent claims (which is compounding the clarity issue of claim 1). Claim 4 recites “wherein the channels are in communication with one another”. Here there appears to have to be at least two channels yet in claims 1 and 3 it seems possible to have only one channel. It is unclear which channels the claim is referring to. Claim 6 recites wherein the cut-away portion includes a slit communicating with at least one of the channels. Again, there appears to have to be at least two channels yet in claims 1 and 3 it seems possible to have only one channel. It is unclear which channels the claim is referring to. Claim 11 recites “wherein the channels include a channel extending along an entire length of the body.” Similar to claim 3, the claim has the channels but then refers to a channel which causes confusion in the dependent claims (which is compounding the clarity issue of claim 1). Claim 12 recites “further comprising ribs extending from the channel”. The scope of the claim is again unclear because it is unclear which channel is being referred back to. Claim 13 recites “wherein the channel comprises a tapered profile.” The deficiency of the claim is similar to claim 12 because the scope of the claim is again unclear because it is unclear which channel is being referred back to. Claim 15 recites “the channels hold the string through friction between the string and the string plug”. The deficiency of the claim is similar to claim 12 and 13 because the scope of the claim is again unclear because it is unclear which channel is being referred back to. Examiner suggests the Applicant amend the claims clarify the number of channels in claim 1 and then distinguish between the channels, a channel and the channel in the dependent claims to further clarify the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by “TMS Pinsetter Owner’s Manual” herein “Pinsetter Manual”.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim 1:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the following limitations:
A structure comprising a string plug comprising a body with one or more multiple channels configured to accommodate a string along its circumference and length. (Pinsetter Manual in at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text discloses a string plug comprising a body and channels that accommodate a string.)
Claim 2:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Further, Pinsetter Manual, discloses the following limitations:
wherein the body is cylindrical. (Pinsetter Manual in at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text discloses that the body is cylindrical.)
Claim 3:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Further, Warren, discloses the following limitations:
wherein the channels comprise a channel running a long a diameter of the body at a top end. (Pinsetter Manual in at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text discloses a channel running a long a diameter of the body at a top end.)
Claim 5:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Further, Pinsetter Manual, discloses the following limitations:
wherein the body includes a cut-away portion with a flat surface. (Pinsetter Manual in at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text discloses that the body includes a cut-away portion with a flat surface.)
Claim 14:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Further, Pinsetter Manual, discloses the following limitations:
wherein the string plug is placed within a hole of a bowling pin. (Pinsetter Manual in at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text discloses that the string plug is placed within a hole of a bowling pin.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 4:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses channels in communication with one another.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the channels are in communication with one another. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text and [5:38-46] discloses that the channels are in communication with one another.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the string plug wherein the channels are in communication with one another of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 6:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the cut-away portion includes a slit communicating with at least one of the channels.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the cut-away portion includes a slit communicating with at least one of the channels. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the cut-away portion includes a slit communicating with at least one of the channels.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the cut-away portion includes a slit communicating with at least one of the channels of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 7:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses a slit that has a tapered cross-section.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the slit has a tapered cross-section. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the slit has a tapered cross-section.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the slit having a tapered cross-section of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 8:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the tapered cross-section becomes narrower along a length of the body.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the tapered cross-section becomes narrower along a length of the body. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the tapered cross-section becomes narrower along a length of the body.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the tapered cross-section becomes narrower along a length of the body of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 9:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 10:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the slit includes surfaces with a convex profile.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the slit includes surfaces with a convex profile. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 11:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the channels include a channel extending along an entire length of the body.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the channels include a channel extending along an entire length of the body. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the portion with a flat surface is at an end of the body, adjacent to a slit within the body.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the channels include a channel extending along an entire length of the body of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 12:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the ribs extending from the channel.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
further comprising ribs extending from the channel. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the ribs extending from the channel.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the ribs extending from the channel of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 13:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the channel comprises a tapered profile.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the channel comprises a tapered profile. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the channel comprises a tapered profile.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the channel comprises a tapered profile of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 15:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the channels hold the string through friction between the string and the string plug.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the channels hold the string through friction between the string and the string plug. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the string through friction between the string and the string plug.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the string through friction between the string and the string plug of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 16:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the friction is accomplished by the material of the pin plug as well as a groove or series of grooves in the pin plug.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the friction is accomplished by the material of the pin plug as well as a groove or series of grooves in the pin plug. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the string through friction between the string and the string plug.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the friction is accomplished by the material of the pin plug as well as a groove or series of grooves in the pin plug of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Claim 17:
Pinsetter Manual discloses the limitation as shown in the rejection above.
Although Pinsetter Manual discloses a string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string (see at least the figure on pages 50-51 and related text), Pinsetter Manual does not specifically discloses that the string plug comprises plastic, wood, carbon fiber, or metal.
However, Takahashi discloses the following limitations:
wherein the string plug comprises plastic, wood, carbon fiber, or metal. (Takahashi in at least the figures 1, 6-7 and 11 and related text discloses that the string through friction between the string and the string plug.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the string plug comprising a body with channels configured to accommodate a string of Pinsetter Manual with the string plug comprises plastic, wood, carbon fiber, or metal of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that strings are also used in a variety of different circumferences such as in connecting items to each other or fixing cargos (see [0005]) and Takahashi teaches that the main body includes a substantially cylindrical socket and a plug to be inserted into the socket (see [1:63-67]) and Takahashi discloses that the string will be firmly fixed in the assembly (see [8:15-25]).
Conclusion
/PATRICIA H MUNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3624