DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osada et al. (Osada) (Patent/Publication Number US 2019/0120110).
Regarding claim 13, Osada discloses a decomposition chamber (13) for an aftertreatment system (20, 21, 22, 40, 41, 42), the decomposition chamber comprising: a conduit (12, 13, 14) having an inlet (12), an outlet (14), and a conduit wall extending between the inlet and the outlet (e.g. See Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018, 0023]), the conduit wall centered on a conduit axis extending in a reference plane that bisects the conduit wall (e.g. See Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018, 0023]); a doser (30, 33) mount coupled with the conduit wall (13A) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024, 0032]); and a mixing plate (50) disposed in the conduit (12, 13, 14) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0029-0032]), the mixing plate comprising: a plate wall (51) comprising an upstream edge (e.g. See Paragraphs [0029-0030]); a plurality of lateral crossmembers (53A, 53B) interfacing with the plate wall, a plurality of transverse crossmembers (53A, 53B) interfacing with the plate wall, and a plurality of deflectors (54A, 54B), each of the deflectors coupled to one of the lateral crossmembers or one of the transverse crossmembers (53A, 53B) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0029] As shown in FIG. 2, configuration of the mixer member 50 includes an elliptic annular shaped ring member 51, a plurality of plate members 53A, 53B that are arranged in a grid shape inside the ring member 51 so as to form an exhaust gas passage, and a plurality of fins 54A, 54B that are formed integrally with the plate members 53A and protrude toward the exhaust downstream side. Each of the fins 54A, 54B is formed by making a V-shaped notch on the plate member 53A and bending a left portion in a trapezoid shape at a predetermined angle. Further, each of the fins 54A, 54B is formed such that fins 54A bent in one direction (direction A as shown) and fins 54B bent in another direction (direction B as shown) are alternately arranged in parallel.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0029-0032]); wherein: a first portion (as such, the top part of the mixer 50) of the upstream edge is positioned at a first location along the conduit axis (X) and opposite the doser mount, and a second portion (as such, the bottom part of the mixer 50) of the upstream edge is positioned at a second location along the conduit axis, adjacent to and downstream from the doser mount (e.g. See Paragraphs [0032] As shown in FIG. 3, the injection nozzle 33 is fixed to a seat portion 13A of the linear piping 13 by a bolt or the like (not shown) such that an injection axis Y of the injection nozzle 33 is inclined with respect to a pipe axial direction X of the linear piping 13 at a predetermined angle. In the mixer member 50, an outer periphery of the ring member 51 is fixed to an inner periphery of the linear piping 13 by welding or the like, such that an upstream side surface 50A (a side surface on an opposite side of fins 54A, 54B) of the mixer member 50 is inclined with respect to the pipe axial direction X and is perpendicular to the injection axis Y. Incidentally, the upstream side surface 50A of the mixer member 50 is not necessarily completely perpendicular to the injection axis Y of the injection nozzle 33 and may incline ±5 degrees.) (e.g. See Figures 2-4; Paragraphs [0029-0032, 0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Osada further discloses wherein: the conduit comprises a locating element (13A) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0032] As shown in FIG. 3, the injection nozzle 33 is fixed to a seat portion 13A of the linear piping 13 by a bolt or the like (not shown) such that an injection axis Y of the injection nozzle 33 is inclined with respect to a pipe axial direction X of the linear piping 13 at a predetermined angle. In the mixer member 50, an outer periphery of the ring member 51 is fixed to an inner periphery of the linear piping 13 by welding or the like, such that an upstream side surface 50A (a side surface on an opposite side of fins 54A, 54B) of the mixer member 50 is inclined with respect to the pipe axial direction X and is perpendicular to the injection axis Y. ….) (e.g. See Figures 1-4; Paragraphs [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Osada further discloses wherein: the doser mount (33) comprises a connection port defining an injection opening (33A) centered on an injection axis (Y), the injection axis extending in the reference plane (X) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0032]); the mixing plate defines a plate plane (e.g. See Figures 3-4; Paragraphs [0032]); and in the reference plane, the injection axis is oriented at a deflection angle between 10 and 120 degrees, inclusive, relative to the plate plane (e.g. See Paragraphs [0037] For example, as shown in FIG. 4, an inclination angle of the mixer member 50 may be set gentler than that in the above embodiment. For example, the mixer member 50 may be arranged inside the exhaust pipe in an inclined manner such that the upstream side surface 50A of the mixer member 50 is about 60 degrees to about 85 degrees with respect to the injection axis Y of the injection nozzle 33. In this case, by setting a bending angle of each of the fins 54A, 54B to an acute angle as separating from the injection nozzle 33, attachment of the urea water to the fins 54A, 54B can be promoted effectively.) (e.g. See Figures 1-4; Paragraphs [0032, 0037]).
Regarding claim 18, Osada further discloses wherein an upstream portion of the plurality of deflectors defines a deflector plane, wherein, in the reference plane, the deflector plane is parallel to the conduit axis (e.g. See Paragraphs [0029-0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada et al. (Osada) (Patent/Publication Number US 2019/0120110) in view of Cho et al. (Cho) (Patent/Publication Number US 2013/0104531).
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Osada discloses all the claimed limitation as discussed above except that the conduit wall comprises an inner surface; the locating element is a projection that extends into the conduit from the inner surface of the conduit wall; and the locating feature is a recess in the plate wall configured to receive the projection.
Cho teaches that it is conventional in the art, to use the conduit wall (2) comprises an inner surface (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038]); the locating element (3a) is a projection that extends into the conduit from the inner surface of the conduit wall (e.g. See Figures 1-3; Paragraphs [0037]); and the locating feature is a recess in the plate wall configured to receive the projection (e.g. See Paragraphs [0044] As an exemplary embodiment, the internal tube 3 may be provided in a form having at least one or more protrusions 3a at an outer peripheral portion so as to maintain a constant gap from the external tube 2. The protrusion 3a may be formed at one point, two points, three points, or more points than three points in the external surface of the internal tube 3 while having a predetermined interval therebetween. The gap between the internal tube 3 and the external tube 2 may be conveniently formed by a structure of the protrusion of the internal tube. The gap between the internal tube 3 and the external tube 2 may be formed by interposing a separate insulating spacer (not illustrated).) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0037, 0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to use the conduit wall comprises an inner surface; the locating element is a projection that extends into the conduit from the inner surface of the conduit wall; and the locating feature is a recess in the plate wall configured to receive the projection of Osada, as taught by Cho for the purpose of connecting the reducing mixer to the exhaust gas pipe system, so as to mix the reductant with exhaust gas to reduce amount of nitrogen oxides in the exhaust gas of the lean-burn engine, and further improve the performance of the engine and the efficiency of the emission system, since the use thereof would have been routinely practiced by those with ordinary skill in the art to maintain high purification efficiency of a catalyst system.
Regarding claim 20, Osada further discloses wherein: the doser mount (33) comprises a connection port defining an injection opening (33A) centered on an injection axis (Y), the injection axis extending in the reference plane (X) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0032]); the mixing plate defines a plate plane (e.g. See Figures 3-4; Paragraphs [0032]); and in the reference plane, the injection axis is oriented at a deflection angle between 10 and 120 degrees, inclusive, relative to the plate plane (e.g. See Paragraphs [0037] For example, as shown in FIG. 4, an inclination angle of the mixer member 50 may be set gentler than that in the above embodiment. For example, the mixer member 50 may be arranged inside the exhaust pipe in an inclined manner such that the upstream side surface 50A of the mixer member 50 is about 60 degrees to about 85 degrees with respect to the injection axis Y of the injection nozzle 33. In this case, by setting a bending angle of each of the fins 54A, 54B to an acute angle as separating from the injection nozzle 33, attachment of the urea water to the fins 54A, 54B can be promoted effectively.) (e.g. See Figures 1-4; Paragraphs [0032, 0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and also to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action, such as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, and 112 2nd paragraph.
Since allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant is encouraged to submit Final Formal Drawings (If Needed) in response to this Office action. The early submission of formal drawings will permit the Office to review the drawings for acceptability and to resolve any informalities remaining therein before the application is passed to issue. This will avoid possible delays in the issue process.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed combination including a decomposition chamber for an aftertreatment system comprising: a doser mount coupled to the conduit wall, the doser mount comprising an injection opening centered on an injection axis, the injection axis extending in the reference plane, wherein, in the reference plane, the injection axis is oriented at an injection angle between 100 degrees and 170 degrees, inclusive, relative to the conduit axis; a mixing plate disposed in the conduit, the mixing plate comprising: a plurality of lateral crossmembers, a plurality of transverse crossmembers, each of the transverse crossmembers coupled to at least one of the lateral crossmembers, and a plurality of deflectors, each of the deflectors coupled to one of the lateral crossmembers or one of the transverse crossmembers, wherein: in the reference plane, an orientation of a plate plane in which the plurality of lateral crossmembers extend is at a plate angle between 10 and 80 degrees, inclusive, relative to the conduit axis; a vane mixer disposed in the conduit downstream of the mixing plate, the vane mixer comprising a plurality of vanes, the vanes defining a plurality of vane apertures therebetween; and a baffle coupled to the conduit wall and comprising a portion having a partial annular shape.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of seven patents:
Gavin et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2017/0342886), Schellin et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2016/0312679), Harmon et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2016/0175784), Bays et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2014/0260202), Liu et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2011/0094206), Levin et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2010/0107614), and Kim et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2017/0361287), all discloses an exhaust gas purification for use with an internal combustion engine.
Conclusion
Binh Q. Tran
/BINH Q TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3748
February 05, 2026