DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 9/28/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10, 13, 15 and 17-19 have been indicated as drawn toward the election species. Claims 11, 12, 14, 16 and 20 have been withdrawn.
Additionally, claims 2, 4, 6 and 8 are also withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 2, 4, 6 and 8 are drawn to the asymmetrical shape shown in at least the non-elected species of Fig. 9 having a width of the heater wire on a side opposite the seat back (on the outer side of a center) which is different in the first and second region (front and back).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the heater connection wire portion is arranged on a side opposite to a center side of the seat back from the heater forming wire portion in the second direction.” It is unclear what location of the heater connection wire portion is being described by this limitation, as the “second direction” of claim 1 must be transverse to the longitudinal direction as shown in fig. 6. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that Applicant is attempting to claim the heater connection wire portion being offset to one or more sides of the center axes of the armrest.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamiya et al. (US 12426715) (“Kamiya”). Kamiya discloses an armrest heater provided on an armrest of a seat having a seat back (fig. 1), the armrest heater comprising: a sheet-like base material that is arranged in the armrest (fig. 3: 3); and a heater wire (fig. 1, 3: 5) that is wired along a main surface of the base material, the armrest heater including a first region on one end side in a first direction (front/rear) of the armrest (fig. 2: front region) and a second region on another end side in the first direction of the armrest (fig. 2: rrea region), and the heater wire including a heater forming wire portion, the heater forming wire portion having a heater pattern in which a width of the first region in a second direction intersecting with the first direction is larger than a width of the second region in the second direction (fig. 2: the width of the front region wire portion is greater than that of the rear).
As concerns claim 3, Kamiya discloses wherein the heater forming wire portion forms a heating region having a tapered shape from the one end side toward the other end side in the first direction (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claims 5 and 7, Kamiya discloses wherein the heater pattern formed in the heater forming wire portion includes a main wire portion extending in the second direction of the armrest, and a length of the main wire portion in the second region is shorter than a length of the main wire portion in the first region (as shown in fig. 2: the length of the wire in the rear region is shorter than the front).
As concerns claims 9 and 10, Kamiya discloses wherein the armrest heater further includes a third region arranged between the first region and the second region in the first direction, and in the heater pattern formed in the heater forming wire portion, a width of the third region in the second direction is less than a width of the first region in the second direction and more than a width of the second region in the second direction.
As concerns claim 15, Kamiya discloses wherein the heater pattern formed in the heater forming wire portion includes a main wire portion extending in the second direction of the armrest, and a wiring interval of the main wire portion in the first region is identical to a wiring interval of the main wire portion in the second region (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claims 17 and 18, Kamiya discloses wherein in the armrest provided with a skin layer (fig. 3: 4) that covers a surface side of the armrest to which a load is applied by an arm of an occupant, the armrest heater is arranged on a back side of the skin layer.
As concerns claim 19, Kamiya discloses wherein in the armrest provided with a skin layer (fig. 3: 4) that covers a surface side of the armrest to which a load is applied by an arm of an occupant, and a cushion layer (fig. 3: 3) that is arranged on a back side of the skin layer ,the armrest heater is arranged to face the skin layer via the cushion layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US 11707909) in view of Kamiya. Spillner teaches an armrest heater comprising: a sheet-like base material that is arranged in the armrest (fig. 5: 34); and a heater wire (figs. 5, 6: 40, 42) that is wired along a main surface of the base material, the armrest heater including a first region on one end side in a first direction (front/rear) of the armrest (fig. 6: rear region) and a second region on another end side in the first direction of the armrest (fig. 7: front region), and the heater wire including a heater forming wire portion, the heater forming wire portion having a heater pattern in which a width of the first region in a second direction intersecting with the first direction is larger than a width of the second region in the second direction (fig. 6: the width of the rear region wire portion is greater than that of the front).
Spillner does not teach wherein the armrest heater is provided on the armrest of a seat back. However, Kamiya teaches providing a heater on the armrest of a seatback. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the heater of Spillner on a vehicle seat armrest, as taught by Kamiya, in order to provide the same heater system on a vehicle seat armrest.
As concerns claim 13, Spillner, as modified, teaches wherein the heater wire further includes a heater connection wire portion (fig. 5: 44a,b) that is electrically connected to a control unit that controls generation of heat of the heater wire (44a,b receive current from the switch which turns the heater/heater wires on and off), one end of the heater connection wire portion is electrically connected to the control unit, and another end thereof is electrically connected to the control unit via the heater pattern formed in the heater forming wire portion, and when the armrest is being used by an occupant seated on the seat, the heater connection wire portion is arranged on a side opposite to a center side of the seat back from the heater forming wire portion in the second direction (as shown in fig. 5, 44a,b are offset to one or more sides of the center axes of the armrest).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636