DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiera et al (US 2023/0101071).
Regarding claim 1, Chiera discloses an ammonia mixed combustion engine device operated by a main fuel containing ammonia and a hydrocarbon-based auxiliary fuel being combusted (Title, Fig. 1, and ¶ [0026], the primary fuel is ammonia and makes use of an auxiliary fuel of diesel for combustion initiation and enhancement)
wherein at least one of: an air excess ratio of an air-fuel mixture of the main fuel and air and an injection timing of the auxiliary fuel is controlled so that a proportion of exhausted unburned ammonia and nitrogen oxides contained in an exhaust gas achieves a predetermined proportion (¶ [0025], the system is attempting to regulate the burning of fuel to reduce NOx and unburned ammonia and wherein as per ¶ [0066] to [0067], the injection timing of the diesel fuel is altered in order to reduce the amount of NH3/NOx emissions).
Regarding claim 6, Chiera discloses the engine device according to claim 1, comprising: a selective reduction catalyst for reducing the nitrogen oxides contained in the exhaust gas by a reducing agent gas (¶ [0102], the system contains a catalyst to reduce NOx); and an ammonia adsorption catalyst for absorbing the unburned ammonia contained in the exhaust gas (¶ [0103], the system contains an ammonia slip catalyst).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiera in view of Schiltz et al (US 2008/0308056).
Regarding claims 2-5, Chiera discloses the ammonia mixed combustion engine device operated by a main fuel containing ammonia and a hydrocarbon-based auxiliary fuel being combusted, but fails to disclose wherein hydrogen is mixed with the ammonia to create the main fuel, and a proportion of the mixed ammonia and hydrogen in the main fuel is controlled so that a proportion of exhausted unburned ammonia and nitrogen oxides contained in an exhaust gas achieves a predetermined proportion.
Chiera, for its part, discloses that Hydrogen may be used as a fuel in its system (¶ [0035], the system may use ammonia, hydrogen, methane, or any other gaseous fuel) and wherein the fuel systems injection timings are optimized (¶ [0066] and [0067]), but fails to disclose the fuel being a mixture of both ammonia and hydrogen, wherein the system modifies the proportion of the two gasses to alter the unburned ammonia and NOx emissions.
Schiltz discloses a hydrogen and ammonia fueled engine (title), wherein the system is attempting to eliminate unwanted emissions such as CO2 (¶ [0002]) and NOx (¶ [0013]), wherein the proportion NH3/H2 ratio is optimized based on engine temperature to reduce the unwanted emissions (¶ [0013]). The addition of hydrogen mixture with ammonia aiding in engine start and emission reductions (¶ [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Chiera such that its fuel system includes an ammonia and hydrogen mixture because this would have allowed for an improvement in engine start procedures and emissions reduction, wherein the ratio of the mixture is optimized to reduce unwanted emissions – already being contemplated and achieved in Chiera to reduce NOx and unburned NH3.
Regarding claim 7, Chiera discloses the engine device according to claim 2, wherein the ammonia is reformed to create the hydrogen (¶ [0103], the catalyst produces reformed hydrogen gas as a product).
Regarding claims 8-9, Chiera discloses the engine device according to claim 3, wherein a proportion of the exhausted nitrogen oxides and a proportion of the exhausted unburned ammonia is controlled to achieve the predetermined proportion by performing at least one of increasing an EGR ratio (Chiera discloses making use of EGR gasses within its system (¶ [0083] and wherein the EGR gas ratio is used to modify the emissions of the engine (the emissions, as previously discussed, being NOx and unburned NH3) as per ¶ [0092] to [0093]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/081,546 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim scope of claim 1 of the copending application entirely encompasses that of claim 1 of the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KEVIN A LATHERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747