DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues “Synard, Koenig, and Ikeda … “neither a disclosure nor a suggestion regarding the acquisition of information ‘during automatic operation of the robot’”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. On page 5 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant acknowledges that Synard teaches the machine may be taken offline to perform update operations ([0040]), meaning that while the machine is performing its automated operations, the machine is commanded to go offline, or stop its automated operations. Therefore, it should be clear for one of ordinary skill in the art that at least Synard teaches that the software update operations is to be executed that causes the robot to terminate operations during its automatic operation. Even so, the Examiner found a prior art that discloses the conventional method for updating software that is known to take robotic equipment offline.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Synard et al. (US 2007/0118699 A1), Koenig et al. (US 2018/0079090 A1) and Chavez et al. (10,037,203).
For claim 1, Synard discloses a controller for controlling a machine, comprising:
at least one memory capable of storing system software (Para. 0001, 0004, 0013, 0014, 0017, where the controller and memory storing system software); and
at least one processor executable to add or delete a function to and from the system software based on an additional function file (Para. 0024-0026, where system software update from a file is known),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: when acquiring acquire information that enables adding and deleting the function to and from the system software, based on an additional function file (Para. 0026, where the software update allows for software updates to enhance operation, adds new features or remove errors from the system); and
stop automatic operation of the machine (Para. 0015, 0040, where the software updates may stop the operation of the machine for performing the updates), but does not explicitly disclose the machine is a robot. Koenig in the same field of the art discloses a robot software update system (Abstract, para. 0126, 0131). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Synard and Koenig to perform software updates for a robot to maintain the robot to be up to date.
Synard does not explicitly disclose when acquiring the information, from a teach pendant during automatic operation of the robot, stop automatic operation of the robot. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art Synard teaches software update may require stopping the operation of the machine that is performing its automatic operation (Para. 0040), that the user input device is instructing command or information to the robot to stop its automatic operation. Even so, Chavez in the same field of the art teaches that it is typical in the field of the art to take the robotic system off-line to update software (Col. 1, ln 23-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art the concept of stopping the robot during its automatic operation when acquired information from user interface for performing software update is well-known and not novel.
For claim 2, Synard, as modified, discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor adds and deletes a function to and from the system software based on the additional function file stored in an external memory device (Koenig – para. 0126, 0131, where software updates may be from files from various types of storages including external memory devices).
For claim 3, Synard, as modified, discloses the controller according to claim 2, wherein the additional function file constitutes an archive file that is a single file containing a plurality of programs and a plurality of data files (Para. 0022, where the update files may be in a software packaged).
For claim 5, Synard discloses a controller for control a machine, comprising:
at least one memory capable of storing system software (Para. 0001, 0004, 0013, 0014, 0017, where the controller and memory storing system software); and
at least one processor executable to add or delete a function to and from the system software based on an additional function file (Para. 0024-0026, where system software update from a file is known),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: when acquiring information that enables adding and deleting the function to and from the system software, based on an additional function file (Para. 0026, where the software update allows for software updates to enhance operation, adds new features or remove errors from the system); and
if an additional function file is stored in a memory device, store the additional function file to the at least one memory (Para. 0022, where the update files may be in a software packaged), but does not specifically disclose the machine is a robot and the additional function file is stored in an external memory device. Koenig in the same field of the art discloses a robot software update system (Abstract, para. 0126, 0131) and the additional function file is stored in an external memory device (Para. 0126, 0131, where software updates may be from files from various types of storages including external memory devices). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Synard and Koenig to perform software updates for a robot to maintain the robot to be up to date and stored the updated software files in various types of memory storage.
Synard does not explicitly disclose when acquiring the information, from a teach pendant during automatic operation of the robot, stop automatic operation of the robot. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art Synard teaches software update may require stopping the operation of the machine that is performing its automatic operation (Para. 0040), that the user input device is instructing command or information to the robot to stop its automatic operation. Even so, Chavez in the same field of the art teaches that it is typical in the field of the art to take the robotic system off-line to update software (Col. 1, ln 23-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art the concept of stopping the robot during its automatic operation when acquired information from user interface for performing software update is well-known and not novel.
For claim 6, Synard, as modified, discloses the controller according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor adds a function to the system software based on the additional function file (Para. 0026, where the software update allows for software updates to enhance operation, adds new features or remove errors from the system).
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Synard et al. (US 2007/0118699 A1), Koenig et al. (US 2018/0079090 A1) and Chavez et al. (10,037,203) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Ikeda (US 2010/0325623 A1).
For claim 4, Synard, as modified, discloses the controller according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, when acquiring the information, enables an operation on the user interface for adding or deleting the function to and from the system software (Para. 0021, 0023, where the user interface enables the adding or deleting of the function to and from the system software based on selected updates or execution of the software updates), but does not specifically disclose the operation is enabled on a teach pendant. Ikeda in the same field of the art discloses update software operations are enabled and displayed on a robot teach pendant (Abstract, para. 0033, 0034, 0042). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Synard and Ikeda to display and enable the teach pendant to provide a convenient way for operator to configure and maintain the robot operations.
For claim 7, Synard, as modified, discloses the controller according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor causes a user interface to display execution information for executing addition of a function to the system software (Para. 0021, 0023, where the user interface enables the adding or deleting of the function to and from the system software based on selected updates or execution of the software updates), but does not specifically disclose the operation is displayed on a teach pendant. Ikeda in the same field of the art discloses update software operations are enabled and displayed on a robot teach pendant (Abstract, para. 0033, 0034, 0042). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Synard and Ikeda to display and enable the teach pendant to provide a convenient way for operator to configure and maintain the robot operations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2018/0339456 A1) Czinger et al. discloses a robotic system providing automated operations and software update to the robots.
(US 2017/0060567 A1) Kim et al. discloses a software updating method for devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657