DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “each of said tube bundles having an inlet header and an outlet header” and “each of said tube bundles comprising a plurality of horizontally arranged finned tubes connected to adjacent tubes with tube bends” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“re circulation system” in claims 3 and 6, appears to be an error for “recirculation system”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
cooling water distribution system,
cooling water recirculation system,
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
the term “system” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “cooling water distribution”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
the term “system” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “cooling water recirculation”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification shows that the following appear to be the corresponding structures for the aforementioned 112(f) limitation(s):
The disclosure defines cooling water distribution system as comprising tubes and sprayers, nozzles and/or distribution plates or trays, see ¶ [0009]. Therefore, the cooling water distribution system will be construed as tubes and sprayers, nozzles and/or distribution plates or trays, and/or equivalents thereof.
The disclosure defines cooling water recirculation system as overflow sump or tank, pump and tubes, see ¶ [0009]. Therefore, the cooling water recirculation system will be construed as overflow sump or tank, pump and tubes, and/or equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
control system.
The aforementioned limitation does not meet the three-prong test outlined herein since:
the term “system” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “configured to selectively open and close each of said plurality of valves to selectively operate said fluid cooler in a dry mode”), and (C) the generic placeholder is modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of “ said outlet header configured and located to receive cooled process fluid from said tube bundle, said two tube bundles” is unclear since the claim recites “tube bundles”, therefore, it’s unclear as to what Applicant is referring to by “said tube bundle” and “said two tube bundles”. As a courtesy to Applicant, Examiner has attempted to apply prior art to the claims as best they could be understood as presented. Examiner notes that Applicant’s correction of the deficiencies under 35 U.S.C. 112 may necessitate new grounds of rejection.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " said evaporative cooling water recirculation system and said adiabatic cooling water re circulation system “. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as " an evaporative cooling water recirculation system and an adiabatic cooling water recirculation system “.
Claim 5-6 are rejected at least insofar as it’s dependent on rejected claim(s), and therefore includes the same error(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Yang (US20220299269A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a fluid cooler (10: see at least Figure 6), comprising:
a frame (i.e. frame assembly), one or more pairs of tube bundles (12,14, and/or 46) arranged in said frame and flanking a plenum (i.e. plenum-like space: see ¶¶ [0013,0039, and 0049]),
each of said tube bundles having an inlet header and an outlet header (see ¶¶ [0005 and 0038]), said inlet header configured and located to receive hot process fluid and to distribute it to a corresponding tube bundle and said outlet header configured and located to receive cooled process fluid from said tube bundle (see ¶¶ [0005 and 0038]),
each of said tube bundles comprising a plurality of horizontally arranged finned tubes connected to adjacent tubes with tube bends (see ¶¶ [0007, 0038, and 0039] Examiner notes that horizontal arrangement and return bends are conventional in serpentine coil designs and are within the disclosure of standard coil assemblies),
one or more fans (22) above said tube bundles configured to draw air through said tube bundles and out through a top of said one or more fans (see ¶¶ [0005, 0012, and 0039]),
one or more adiabatic pads mounted adjacent to air intake sides of said tube bundles (i.e. polymer film sheets: see ¶ [0039]),
an adiabatic cooling water distribution system (spray 16 under 18) located above said one or more adiabatic pads and configured to selectively deliver adiabatic cooling water to and saturate said one or more adiabatic pads (see abstract and ¶¶ [0012, 0037, and 0039], i.e. “The adiabatic mode of operation includes the spray system is bypassed on the indirect heat exchange section, the direct heat exchange section is configured to facilitate a passage of water therethrough”),
an adiabatic cooling water collection tray (20) located below said adiabatic pads and connected to a drain and/or to an adiabatic water recirculation system, including a sump (sump of 20), a pump (64), and pipes connecting said sump and pump to said adiabatic cooling water distribution system (see Figure 6),
an evaporative cooling water distribution system (spray 16 above 12) located above said tube bundles and configured to selectively deliver evaporative cooling water to outside surfaces to said tube bundles (see ¶¶ [0039-0041]),
an evaporative cooling water collection tray (18) located below said tube bundles and connected to a drain and/or to an evaporative cooling water recirculation system in turn connected to said evaporative cooling water distribution system (see ¶¶ [0039-0041]),
a plurality of valves (58 and 60) located and configured to selectively permit delivery of water only to said adiabatic pads, delivery of water only to said tube bundles, or to prevent delivery of water to said adiabatic pads and to said tube bundles (see ¶¶ [0051-0053]),
a control system connected to said plurality of valves and configured to selectively open and close each of said plurality of valves to selectively operate said fluid cooler in a dry mode, in which no water is delivered to said adiabatic pads or to said tube bundles, in an adiabatic mode in which water is delivered only to said adiabatic pads, or in an evaporative mode, in which water is delivered only to said tube bundles (Examiner notes that the selectable configuration of the fluid cooler 10 itself, implemented via the valve/ damper states summarize in Table I and described in paragraphs [0043] and [0052-0056] (and corresponding figures 7- 9). Dry mode deactivate the spray system and may drain the basins; adiabatic mode directs water only through 14 while bypassing the coils; evaporation mode activates the spray over 12).
Regarding claim 2, Yang further teaches wherein said control system is further configured to open and close each of said plurality of valves to selectively operate in a combined adiabatic and evaporative mode in which water is delivered both to said adiabatic pads and to said tube bundles (see Figure 11 and ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang further teaches wherein said evaporative cooling water recirculation system and said adiabatic cooling water recirculation system are integrated with one-another (see Figure 1 where the system comprises two water recirculation systems (18, 20, and 64) that are integrated with one-another).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Yang (US20220299269A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches a method for operating a fluid cooler (see ¶ [0002]) having tube bundles (i.e. coil/tube sections: see ¶ [0012]) arranged in a frame (i.e. frame assembly) and flanking a plenum (i.e. plenum-like space: see ¶¶ [0037-0039]), said tube bundles each having an inlet header and an outlet header (see ¶¶ [0005 and 0038]), said inlet header configured and located to receive hot process fluid and to distribute it to a corresponding tube bundle and said outlet header configured and located to receive cooled process fluid from said tube bundle (see ¶¶ [0005 and 0038]), said two tube bundles each comprising a plurality of horizontally arranged finned tubes connected to adjacent tubes with tube bends (see ¶¶ [0007, 0038, and 0039] Examiner notes that horizontal arrangement and return bends are conventional in serpentine coil designs and are within the disclosure of standard coil assemblies ), one or more fans (22) above said tube bundles configured to draw air through said tube bundles and out through a top of said one or more fans (see ¶¶ [0005, 0012, and 0039]), one or more adiabatic pads (i.e. polymer film sheets: see ¶ [0039]) mounted adjacent to air intake sides of said tube bundles (see ¶¶ [0012 and 0037]), a first water distribution system located and configured to selectively deliver adiabatic water to said one or more adiabatic pads (see abstract and ¶ [0012], i.e. “The adiabatic mode of operation includes the spray system is bypassed on the indirect heat exchange section, the direct heat exchange section is configured to facilitate a passage of water therethrough”), and a second water distribution located and configured to selectively deliver evaporative cooling water to said tube bundles (see abstract and ¶ [0040], i.e. “The evaporative mode of operation includes activation of the spray system over the indirect heat exchange section, air enters the vertical passage through the direct heat exchange section, and the airflow also passes through the indirect heat exchange section”),
said method comprising selectively operating said fluid cooler in any one of a plurality of modes, depending on environmental conditions, including: in a dry mode, in which no water is delivered to said one or more adiabatic pads or to said tube bundles, in an adiabatic mode in which water is delivered only to said one or more adiabatic pads, or in an evaporative mode, in which water is delivered only to said tube bundles (see abstract and ¶ [0012], i.e. “The multiple mode hybrid heat exchanger is selectably configured to operate in an evaporative mode, a dry mode, and an adiabatic mode. The evaporative mode of operation includes activation of the spray system over the indirect heat exchange section, air enters the vertical passage through the direct heat exchange section, and the airflow also passes through the indirect heat exchange section. The dry mode of operation includes deactivation of the spray system, air enters the vertical passage through the direct heat exchange section, and the airflow then passes through the indirect heat exchange section. The adiabatic mode of operation includes the spray system is bypassed on the indirect heat exchange section, the direct heat exchange section is configured to facilitate a passage of water therethrough. The air enters the vertical passage through the direct heat exchange section, the air passing horizontally across a flow of water to directly cool the water. The water is collected in the cold water collection basin. The airflow then passes through the indirect heat exchange section”).
Regarding claim 5, Yang further teaches further comprising selectively operating said fluid cooler in a combined adiabatic and evaporative mode in which water is delivered both to said one or more adiabatic pads and said tube bundles (see Figure 11 and ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang further teaches wherein said evaporative cooling water recirculation system and said adiabatic cooling water recirculation system are integrated with one-another (see Figure 1 where the system comprises two water recirculation systems (18, 20, and 64) that are integrated with one-another).
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763