Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re claim 15, applicant argues that “Correnti does not teach or suggest every element of the amended claims, particularly the following added limitations:
(1) Classification using both audio data AND visual data captured by the indoor
camera to confirm the nature of the event and reduce false positives” (Remarks p7).
Claim 15 does not contain the amendment. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Classification using both audio data AND visual data captured by the indoor camera to confirm the nature of the event and reduce false positives) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The rejection of claim 15 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Correnti et al. (US 2025/0119697, hereinafter Correnti).
Re claim 15, Correnti discloses, a method, comprising: detecting, by a processor of an indoor camera, an audio event by analyzing audio data captured by the indoor camera from an indoor environment corresponding to the indoor camera (pars [0038], [0041], and [0059]); classify, by the processor, the audio event into a type of audio event (pars [0066], [0070], and [0072]); and transmit, by the processor, a message to control panel in communication with the indoor camera, wherein the message indicates a type of the audio event (pars [0078]-[0081] and [0090]), wherein the control panel is configured to activate an alarm upon receiving the message having a particular type of audio event (pars [0089]-[0090]).
Re claim 16, Correnti discloses the limitations of claim 15 including further comprising recording, the by the indoor camera, a video that captures the detected audio event and transmit the video to the control panel (par [0129]).
Re claim 18, Correnti discloses the limitations of claim 15 including wherein the audio event comprises at least one of a breaking object sound, water flow sound, carbon monoxide alarm audio signal, or smoke alarm audio signal (par [0059]).
Re claim 19, Correnti discloses the limitations of claim 15 including wherein activating the alarm comprises alerting a first responder based on the classified type of the detected audio event (pars [0089]-[0090]).
Re claim 20, Correnti discloses the limitations of claim 15 including wherein activating the alarm comprises starting a siren or turning on lights, depending on the classified type of the detected audio event (pars [0046]-[0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/JOEL W FOSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639