DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyamoto (US 20190162956) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches A head-up display, in at least (Figs. 2-6 and tables); that projects an image ([0001]) onto an object (22) capable of at least reflecting light ([0023]), and forms a virtual image (40) that is visible to an observer (30) , in a virtual image region (40) virtually generated on one side of the object (22) relative to the observer (30) , the head-up display (10) comprising: an image ([0001]) generation device (13) that projects the image ([0001]); and a projection optical system (11, 12 and 13) that guides the image ([0001]) projected from the image ([0001]) generation device (13) to the object (22), and forms the virtual image (40) , wherein the projection optical system (11, 12 and 13) includes a first mirror (11) that has power ([0049]) and is closest to the image ([0001]) generation device (13) in order on a light path (figs. 2-4 dashed line) along which the image ([0001]) generation device (13) projects the image ([0001]), when (i) a light beam ([0023]) that passes through a center ([0071]) of the virtual image (40) region is a gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray), (ii) a point ([0006]) of reflection of the gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray) is a first origin ([0071]), (iii) a normal line of the first mirror (11) at the first origin ([0071]) is a first Z-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), (iv) an axis (Fig. 5 and 6) that is orthogonal to the first Z-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) and corresponds to a left-and-right direction of the virtual image (40) is a first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), and (v) an axis (Fig. 5 and 6) that is orthogonal to the first Z-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) and the first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) is a first Y-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), the first mirror (11) is asymmetrical ([0024]) in shape relative to the first Y-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), and a length ([0049] and [0054]) of a first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) component of a point ([0006]) A vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) and a length ([0049] and [0054]) of a first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) component of a point ([0006]) B vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) are identical or approximately identical, the point ([0006]) A vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) being a normal vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) of a length ([0049] and [0054]) L1 ([0049] and [0054]) at a point ([0006]) A that is a predetermined point ([0006]) on the first mirror (11), the point ([0006]) B vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) being a normal vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) of the length ([0049] and [0054]) L1 ([0049] and [0054]) at a point ([0006]) B that is an other point ([0006]) having a Y-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) value identical to a Y-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) value of the point ([0006]) A and an X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) value that is an inversely signed number with a magnitude identical to an X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) value of the point ([0006]) A.
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head-up device, in at least (figs. 2-6, and tables); wherein the image ([0001]) generation device (13) includes a display component that displays the image ([0001]), and when (i) a point ([0006]) at which the gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray) passes through is a second origin ([0071]), (ii) a normal line of the display component at the second origin ([0071]) is a second Z-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), (iii) an axis (Fig. 5 and 6) of the display component that is orthogonal to the second Z-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) and corresponds to the left-and-right direction of the virtual image (40) is a second X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), and (iv) an axis (Fig. 5 and 6) that is orthogonal to the second Z-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) and the second X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) is a second Y-axis (Fig. 5 and 6), in the display component, a second X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) component of a gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray) vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) is either zero or a minute value, the gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray) vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) being located on the gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray) and being of a predetermined length ([0049] and [0054]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head-up device, in at least (figs. 2-6, and tables); wherein when the first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) component of the point ([0006]) A vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) is AX and the first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6) component of the point ([0006]) B vector ([0041]: N1 and N2) is BX, Expression 1 shown below is satisfied: ||AX| -|BX|| ≤ 0.1*L1 (tables; [0041] and [0049])
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head-up device, in at least (figs. 2-6, and tables); wherein the first mirror (11) is asymmetrical ([0024]) in shape relative to the first X-axis (Fig. 5 and 6).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head-up device, in at least (figs. 2-6, and tables); wherein in the projection optical system (11, 12 and 13), only the first mirror (11) has power ([0049]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a head-up device, in at least (figs. 2-6, and tables); wherein angles ([0046]) relative to the gut ray ([0044 and 54]; light ray) of light projected from the display (13) component are bilaterally symmetrical or approximately bilaterally symmetrical ([0046-0049]) relative to the second Y-axis (Fig. 5 and 6).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a head-up device, in at least (figs. 2-6, and tables); wherein the image ([0001]) generation device (13) includes at least one lighting lens (50) that is bilaterally symmetrical in shape in a left-and-right direction that corresponds to the left-and-right direction of the virtual image (40) .
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872