DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 17 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are independent.
This office action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 7- 12, and 15- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diab et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0235093 A1, hereinafter “Diab”).
As per claim 1, Diab teaches s power supply system, comprising:
a power supply device; and
a controller electrically connected to said power supply device [fig.3, 0029: a PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment) acting as a power supply device, which includes a microcontroller 311 and power controller 313], and configured to
allow said power supply device to detect whether a power-receiving device is electrically connected to said power supply device [fig.3, 0030 – 0032: detecting whether a PD (Powered Device) is connected/disconnected via sensing module 314 using AC or DC disconnect methods],
in response to determining that said power supply device is electrically connected to the power-receiving device, start to count a count value [0031: time/duration tracking for disconnect or transient conditioned (e.g., detecting DC current falling below threshold for a given time], and
in response to determining that the count value is less than a threshold value, reset the count value, where the count value is for confirming whether the power-receiving device is still being electrically connected to said power supply device [0031: maintain power signature (MPS) monitoring over continuous time periods (e.g., 60 ms every period of 300-400 ms) to confirm PD connection].
As per claim 2, Diab teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said controller is further configured to, in response to determining that the count value is less than the threshold value, wait for a predetermined delay time, and then determine whether said power supply device is still being electrically connected to the power-receiving device [0031: waiting or sampling within fixed periodic time frames (e.g., every 300-400ms)].
As per claim 3, Diab teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said controller is further configured to, after determining that said power supply device is electrically connected to the power-receiving device, continuously determine whether said power supply device is still being electrically connected to the power-receiving device, and in response to determining that said power supply device is not electrically connected to the power-receiving device, increment the count value, and wherein, in response to determining that the count value is not less than the threshold value, said controller determines that the power-receiving device is not electrically connected to said power supply device [0031, 0033: continuous determination of connection state and tracking current/transient duration relative to dl/dt or dV/dt time limits before power shut down].
As per claim 4, Diab teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 3, wherein said controller is further configured to, in response to the condition where the power-receiving device is not electrically connected to said power supply device, wait for a predetermined reset time, and then allow said power supply device to detect again whether the power-receiving device is electrically connected to said power supply device [0031, 0033: continuous determination of connection state and tracking current/transient duration relative to dl/dt or dV/dt time limits before power shut down].
As per claim 7, Diab teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 3, wherein said power supply device includes a first register and a second register, wherein said power supply device is configured to detect a result of whether the power-receiving device is electrically connected to said power supply device, and to store a first parameter in said first register indicating the result, and wherein said power supply device is further configured to detect another result of whether said power supply device is providing electrical power to the power-receiving device, and to store a second parameter in said second register indicating said another result [fig. 3, 0029, 0032: memory 312 for storing parameters/thresholds for detection and classification].
As per claim 8, Diab teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a switch circuit that is electrically connected to said controller and that includes a first end electrically connected to a power source, and a second end electrically connected to said power supply device, wherein said controller is further configured to control said switch circuit to enable an electrical connection between said power source and said power supply device so as to activate said power supply device, and to control said switch circuit to disable the electrical connection between said power source and said power supply device so as to deactivate said power supply device [0029: power controller 313 turning on a power FET (power switch) to enable/disable power supply output].
As per claim 17, it is directed to the computer readable storage medium to implement the system of claim 1. Diab teaches the claimed system. Therefore, Diab teaches the computer readable storage medium to implement on the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Diab et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0235093 A1, hereinafter “Diab”). In view of Yu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0104586 A1, hereinafter “Yu”).
As per claim 5, Diab teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 3. However, Diab does not explicitly teach “… further comprising an indicator that is electrically connected to said controller, wherein said controller is further configured to control operation of said indicator based on whether said power supply device is providing electrical power to the power-receiving device…”.
Yu is cited to teach systems and methods for controlling a power adaptor Light-Emitting Diode (LED) indicator. Both Yu and Diab are directed to power delivery management and intelligent power supply control.
As per claim 5, Yu teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 3, further comprising an indicator that is electrically connected to said controller, wherein said controller is further configured to control operation of said indicator based on whether said power supply device is providing electrical power to the power-receiving device [fig.6 – fig. 9, 0046 – 0050: LED indicator 604 and Smart LED driver 704 controlled to turn on/off based on whether power is being provided].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the LED driver and indicator teachings of Yu with the detection algorithm of Diab to provide real-time visual status of attachment and power delivery states.
As per claim 6, Yu teaches the power supply system as claimed in claim 5, wherein said controller is configured to, in response to determining that said power supply device is providing electrical power to the power-receiving device, turn on said indicator [fig.6 – fig. 9, 0046 – 0050: LED indicator 604 and Smart LED driver 704 controlled to turn on/off based on whether power is being provided].
As per claims 9 - 16, it is directed to the method of steps to implement on the system as set forth in claims 1-8. Diab, in view of Yu, teaches the claimed system. Therefore, Diab, in view of Yu, teaches the method to implement the claims steps.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu; Yun-Ping et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0110724) “USB Detecting Method and USB Expansion Device Using Same” is cited to teach a USB detecting method for use with a controlling and processing unit, a USB input/output port, at least one switch and at least one USB peripheral device is provided. The at least one switch is arranged between the controlling and processing unit and the USB input/output port and/or arranged between the USB input/output port and the at least one USB peripheral device that is electrically connected with the USB input/output port.
Zhuang; Yan et al. (US Patent No. 10,951,425) “Power Supply Method, Device, And Power Supply System” is cited to teach power over Ethernet method includes performing, by power sourcing equipment, a plurality of detections by using an Ethernet port, connected to an intermediate device, of the power sourcing equipment, where a quantity of detections performed by the power sourcing equipment is equal to a quantity of power supply ports of the intermediate device; and if at least one detection result of the plurality of detections is effective, sending, by the power sourcing equipment, a power supply indication to the intermediate device, and supplying power to the connection port. In this way, the power sourcing equipment can supply power across the intermediate device to a powered device connected to the intermediate device, and a power loss caused by voltage conversion is avoided.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176