DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to Applicant’s claims filed 05/23/2025.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined here.
Claims 2-16 are newly added.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1 and 9, each of the claims recites multiple requests to control the article. The claims, in their final line, then recite “in response to receiving the request, remotely controlling the article.” It would be unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to which “request” is referred to by “the request” in the final line, since multiple requests are recited, and then only a single request is referred back to by the claims. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonable apprised of the scope of the claimed invention, and claims 1 and 9 are rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 2-8 and 10-16, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), because they depend from claims 1 and 9 and do not cure the above deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bucuk, Asim (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20100274859; hereinafter "Bucuk").
As per claim 1, Bucuk teaches:
A method for controlling operation of an article, the method comprising:
Bucuk teaches a system and method for controlling operations of devices (articles). (Bucuk: paragraph [0008], abstract)
receiving, from an article and over a first wireless network, a communication including at least an article identifier, wherein the article includes an antenna for communicating and a sensor for detecting at least one interaction event;
Bucuk teaches that a user device may receive, using a radio connection (a first wireless network), the identifiers of all devices (any of which may comprise the article) within range of the device. (Bucuk: paragraph [0118, 120, 122]) Bucuk teaches that each device may have the capability of detecting other devices which are determined to be within a proximity of the device (an interaction event). (Bucuk: paragraph [0118])
in response to receiving the communication, authenticating the article on a second wireless network based at least on the article identifier and a first set of credentials provided by a first device;
Bucuk teaches that the user device may send the identifier of a device within its proximity, along with an identifier of the user device (a first set of credentials) to an authentication server over a GPRS connection in order to determine whether the user device may connect to and control the device within its proximity. (Bucuk: paragraph [0122, 153, 161-171])
granting, based on a second set of credentials, authority to enable the first device to control operation of the article;
Bucuk teaches that authority to control the device may be granted based on a second set of credentials in the form of a newly re-written Bluetooth name transferred to the car to unlock it. (Bucuk: paragraph [0169])
receiving, from a second device over a third wireless network, a request to control operation of the article, the request include a third set of credentials;
Bucuk teaches that the user device may send the identifier of a device within its proximity, along with an identifier of the user device (a first set of credentials) to an authentication server over a GPRS connection in order to determine whether the user device may connect to and control the device within its proximity. (Bucuk: paragraph [0122, 153, 161-171]) Bucuk teaches that this process may be repeated for other devices, and the first connection may comprise passing the credential over a WiFi network, RFID, or NFC connection. Id.
granting, based on the third set of credentials, authority for the second device to remotely control the operation of the article;
Bucuk teaches that the user device may send the identifier of a device within its proximity, along with an identifier of the user device (a first set of credentials) to an authentication server over a GPRS connection in order to determine whether the user device may connect to and control the device within its proximity. (Bucuk: paragraph [0122, 153, 161-171]) Bucuk teaches that this process may be repeated for other devices, and the first connection may comprise passing the credential over a WiFi network, RFID, or NFC connection. Id. Bucuk teaches that authority to control the device may be granted based on a second set of credentials in the form of a newly re-written Bluetooth name transferred to the car to unlock it. (Bucuk: paragraph [0169])
receiving, from either the first device or the second device, a request to remotely control the operation of the article;
Bucuk teaches that authority to control the device may be granted based on a second set of credentials in the form of a newly re-written Bluetooth name transferred to the car to unlock it. (Bucuk: paragraph [0169])
and in response to receiving the request, remotely operating the article.
Bucuk teaches that authority to control the device may be granted based on a second set of credentials in the form of a newly re-written Bluetooth name transferred to the car to unlock it. (Bucuk: paragraph [0169])
As per claim 2, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the first wireless network is a short range wireless network.
Bucuk teaches that a user device may receive, using a radio connection (a first wireless network), the identifiers of all devices (any of which may comprise the article) within range of the device. (Bucuk: paragraph [0118, 120, 122]) Bucuk further teaches that the first network may comprise a local network or a short range wireless network in the form of Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth, lrDA RFID. (Bucuk: paragraph [0163])
As per claim 3, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the first wireless network is a local network.
Bucuk teaches that a user device may receive, using a radio connection (a first wireless network), the identifiers of all devices (any of which may comprise the article) within range of the device. (Bucuk: paragraph [0118, 120, 122]) Bucuk further teaches that the first network may comprise a local network or a short range wireless network in the form of Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth, lrDA RFID. (Bucuk: paragraph [0163])
As per claim 4, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the second wireless network is a Wi-Fi network.
Bucuk further teaches that the second wireless network may comprise WiFi. (Bucuk: paragraph [0089-90, 100])
As per claim 6, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the third wireless network is a Wi-Fi network.
Bucuk teaches that a user device may receive, using a radio connection (a first wireless network), the identifiers of all devices (any of which may comprise the article) within range of the device. (Bucuk: paragraph [0118, 120, 122]) Bucuk further teaches that the first network may comprise a local network or a short range wireless network in the form of Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth, lrDA RFID. (Bucuk: paragraph [0163])
As per claim 7, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the third wireless network is a telecommunications network.
Bucuk teaches that a user device may receive, using a radio connection (a first wireless network), the identifiers of all devices (any of which may comprise the article) within range of the device. (Bucuk: paragraph [0118, 120, 122]) Bucuk further teaches that the first network may comprise a local network or a short range wireless network in the form of Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth, lrDA RFID. (Bucuk: paragraph [0163])
As per claim 8, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the at least one interaction event comprises an increase or decrease in voltage.
Bucuk teaches that each device may have the capability of detecting other devices which are determined to be within a proximity of the device (an interaction event). (Bucuk: paragraph [0118]) In teaching a Bluetooth detection, Bucuk teaches that the interaction event may comprise a decrease in voltage. Id.
As per claim 9, Bucuk teaches the limitations of this claim which are substantially identical to those of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
A system comprising:
Bucuk teaches a system and method for controlling operations of devices (articles). (Bucuk: paragraph [0008], abstract)
at least one processor;
Bucuk teaches the implementation of the system and method on a computing device which may comprise a processor which executes code stored in memory in order to perform the functions of the system. (Bucuk: paragraph [0070, 88, 292-293])
and at least one memory, storing instructions which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
Bucuk teaches the implementation of the system and method on a computing device which may comprise a processor which executes code stored in memory in order to perform the functions of the system. (Bucuk: paragraph [0070, 88, 292-293])
As per claims 10-12 and 14-16, Bucuk teaches the limitations of these claims which are substantially identical to those of claims 2-4 and 6-8, and claims 10-12 and 14-16 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-4 and 6-8, as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucuk in view of Saylor, Michael J. (U.S. Patent No. 9,154,303; hereinafter "Saylor").
As per claim 5, Bucuk teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein the second wireless network is a local network.
Saylor, however, teaches that a server may communicate with a client device in the field of credentialing through the use of a local area network. (Saylor: col. 4 lines 34-41, col. 16 lines 5-15) It can be seen that each element is taught by either Bucuk, or by Saylor. Using the LAN to communicate with the server, as taught by Saylor does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Bucuk. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Saylor with the teachings of Bucuk, since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
As per claim 13, Bucuk in view of Saylor teaches the limitations of this claim which are substantially identical to those of claim 5, and claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5, as outlined above.
Conclusion
/EMMETT K. WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628