DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s submission filed on 5/30/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. As such, claims 1-20 have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 17/450,925. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 3 of US Application No. 17/450,925 reads on claim 1. Claims 8 and 15 are similar to claim 1, and thus claims 1 and 3 of US Application No. 17/450,925 also reads on claims 8 and 15.
US Application No. 19/081,966 Claim 1
US Application No. 17/450,925 Claims 1, 3
A system comprising: a network microphone device having one or more microphones configured to capture voice input from a first user during a communication session involving at least the first user and a plurality of other users; one or more processors; and data storage having instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to: analyze the voice input to detect keywords; monitor a plurality of context parameters associated with each of the plurality of other users, wherein the context parameters comprise device status, user role, and participation level; determine which subset of the plurality of other users should receive a prompt based on the detected keywords and the monitored context parameters; generate customized prompts for each user in the determined subset based on their respective context parameters; and cause the customized prompts to be selectively displayed via respective display devices associated with the determined subset of users.
A network microphone device comprising: one or more microphones; a network interface; one or more processors; data storage having instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network microphone device to perform operations comprising: capturing voice input from a first user via the one or more microphones during an ongoing communication session involving at least the first user, a second user, and a third user; transmitting the voice input to one or more remote computing devices for a-the communication session involving at least the first user and a second user; analyzing the voice input to detect one or more utterances from the first user; monitoring a context parameter of the communication session; and based on the one or more utterances detected during the ongoing communication session, inferring an intent of the first user; and based on the inferred intent of the first user and the context parameter, causing a user prompt to be displayed via a first display device communicatively coupled to the network microphone device, the first display device associated with the second user, wherein the user prompt is not displayed via a second display device communicatively coupled to the network microphone device, the second display device associated with the third user.
The network microphone device of claim 1, wherein analyzing the voice input to detect one or more utterances comprises analyzing the voice input via a local natural language processing unit configured to detect keywords in the voice input.
Regarding claim 2, claim 7 of US Application No. 17/450,925 reads on claim 2. Claims 9 and 16 are similar to claim 2, and thus claim 7 of US Application No. 17/450,925 also reads on claims 9 and 16.
US Application No. 19/081,966 Claim 2
US Application No. 17/450,925 Claim 7
The system of claim 1, wherein the device status comprises one or more of: a microphone state indicating whether a user's microphone is muted or unmuted; a screen share state indicating whether a user's screen is currently being shared; or a camera state indicating whether a user's camera is active or inactive.
The network microphone device of claim 1, wherein the context parameter comprises one or more of: a microphone state of one or more users participating in the communications session; a screen share state of one or more users participating in the communications session; or a recording status of the communications session.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “(a) analyze the voice input to detect keywords”, “(b) monitor a plurality of context parameters associated with each of the plurality of other users, wherein the context parameters comprise device status, user role, and participation level”, “(c) determine which subset of the plurality of other users should receive a prompt based on the detected keywords and the monitored context parameters”, “(d) generate customized prompts for each user in the determined subset based on their respective context parameters”, and “(e) cause the customized prompts to be selectively displayed via respective display devices associated with the determined subset of users.” Limitations (a) – (e) recite mental processes that may be practically performed in the mind using pen and paper or a generic computer. For example, limitation (a) can be done by someone analyzing audio to determine a keyword. Limitation (b) can be done by someone using a generic computer to monitor another user’s device status, and determine their role and participation level. Limitation (c) can be done by someone determining a subset of users based on a keyword and context parameters. Limitation (d) can be done by someone generating a prompt for each user in a subset based on context parameters. Limitation (e) can be done by someone using a generic computer to send a custom message to other users and displaying that message using a generic computer. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the actions to “analyze,” “monitor,” “determine,” “generate,” and “cause”” encompass mental processes practically performed in the human mind by evaluation and judgement using pen and paper or a generic computer. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements of “(f) a network microphone device having one or more microphones configured to capture voice input from a first user during a communication session involving at least the first user and a plurality of other users” and “(g) one or more processors; and data storage having instructions stored therein.” The limitation, (f), is mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality, and thus is insignificant extra-solution activity. In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering, and, as such, this limitation does not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. This limitation amounts to necessary data gathering. Further, limitations (a) - (f) are recited as being performed by a computer. In limitation (f), the computer is used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving data. In limitations (a) - (e), the computer is used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The limitation (g) provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. The processor/data storage recited in limitation (g) is used to perform limitations (a) – (f) without placing any limits on how the processor/data storage functions. Rather, these components only recite the outcomes and do not include any details on how the outcomes are accomplished. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO), and the claim is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the recitation of a computer to perform limitations (a) – (f) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Also as discussed above, limitation (f) is recited at a high level of generality. This elements amount to receiving voice data, which is well understood, routine, conventional activity, as supported by paragraph [0003] of applicant’s specification. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept (Step 2B).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the claims are rejected with similar analysis to claim 1.
Similarly, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 include additional steps that are considered abstract ideas because they fail to provide meaningful significance that goes beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and using the computer to perform an abstract idea.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 read on someone determining whether a user is muted, sharing their screen, or has their camera turned on.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 read on someone determining whether a participant in a meeting is a host or regular participant.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 read on someone determining whether someone is speaking in a meeting, whether someone is present on an imaging device, or whether someone is engaged based on an image of their behavior.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 read on someone determining a subset of users to receive a prompt by excluding users who are muted or are host users.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 read on someone generating customized prompts based on determining whether a user is currently muted or currently unmuted.
Claims 7 and 14 recites using a generic computer to send and display custom messages to different users of a subset of users in a video conference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adlersberg et al. (US 20200279567 A1; hereinafter referred to as Adlersberg) in view of Wadhwa (US 20200084057 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adlersberg discloses: a system comprising: a network microphone device having one or more microphones ([0021] an acoustic microphone 102 may capture audio of a meeting; and optionally, a video camera 103 or imager may capture video or audio-and-video of a meeting or an audio conferencing or video conferencing) configured to capture voice input from a first user during a communication session involving at least the first user and a plurality of other users ([0019] The terms “meeting” or “discussion” as used herein may include, for example, a face-to-face meeting, a telephonic meeting, a telephone conference call, a video meeting, a video conference call, a hybrid or mixed meeting in which one or more users participate in person and/or one or more other users participate via telephone and/or one or more other users participate via video conferencing);
one or more processors ([0132] The present invention may be implemented by using hardware units, software units, processors);
and data storage having instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to: analyze the voice input to detect keywords ([0121] the triggering key-phrases or vocal command or vocal cues, may be defined in the system as Speaker Dependent, and/or may be associated with priority orders that are based on pre-defined roles in the organization (e.g., C-Level executives having higher priority than other participants) and/or based on meeting roles (e.g., meeting Leader/Organizer has higher priority than other participants));
monitor a plurality of context parameters associated with each of the plurality of other users ([0066] system 100 may obtain and/or may deduce and/or may determine autonomously, information about the corporate role of each participant in the meeting, and/or other information relevant to the process of assigning differential weight to participants' inputs), wherein the context parameters comprise… participation level… ([0089] determining that a particular participant in the meeting has a particular organizational title; allocating a pre-defined weight to utterances of said particular participant in said meeting; dynamically modifying said pre-defined weight, by taking into account a level of activity or passiveness of said particular participant in said meeting);
determine which subset of the plurality of other users should receive a prompt ([0096] may utilize such content in order to advise, in real time, via a textual notification and/or via audio notifications, which may be conveyed to all the participants in the meeting or selectively only to one participant or to several particular participants, such notifications conveying real-time advice or guidelines, as well as real-time steering or guidance of the meeting and/or of particular participants to a particular direction) based on the detected keywords ([0116] For example, meeting participant Adam says during the meeting: “Action Item, send out budget proposal to the customer, End of Action Item”. The Moderator Bot unit is pre-configured to monitor the triggering phrase “Action Item” and the triggering phrase “End of Action Item”; and to extract the text (converted from speech) that was uttered by that speaker between those two triggers; and to add that particular extracted speech to an automatically-generated and dynamically-updated list of Action Items; and/or such list may be presented and/or sent to one or more pre-defined participants (e.g., the meeting organizer, the meeting owner, one or more particular participants, or all the participants) and the monitored context parameters ([0097-0098] the Audio Monitoring Unit 161 may trigger a Selective Per-Participant Notification Unit 162 to selectively generate a particular notification message (e.g., verbal and/or textual), that is then conveyed selectively and only to Participant Adam, indicating to that participant that “You have talked only 4 seconds in the past 10 minutes, please consider to contribute more to this meeting”… the pre-defined rules may also take into account the Role that was defined and/or identified for each participant in the meeting, in order to allow and enforce a differential weight or a differential time-allocation to the participation of different users);
generate customized prompts for each user in the determined subset based on their respective context parameters ([0099] the MMB 160 may monitor the audio stream(s) and may determine that Participant Adam was talking for 30 seconds; and that within those 30 seconds, Participant Bob started talking at 23 seconds and stopped talking at 28 seconds, such that Participant Bob spoke over and concurrently with the already-speaking Participant Adam for an overlapping time-period of 5 seconds. Accordingly, the MMB 160 determines that Participant Bob should be considered or tagged as the “interfering” or “intervening” participant; and the MMB 160 may selectively generate and convey a notification (e.g., verbal, textual) that would be conveyed or shown only by Participant Bob, indicating to him that “Attention, you have spoken concurrently with other participants for K times already and/or for T seconds already, please refrain from doing so again”);
and cause the customized prompts to be selectively displayed via respective display devices associated with the determined subset of users ([0103] For example, users Adam, Bob, Carla, David and Eve participate in a phone-based conference call. User Adam is detected to have the role of CEO; user Bob is the organizer of the meeting. The MMB 160 detects that User Carla has spoken too little so far in this meeting; and sends to User Carla a textual notification that is displayed only to her, on the screen of her electronic device (e.g., smartphone, tablet, laptop computer, desktop computer), urging her to participate more in this meeting).
Adlersberg does not explicitly, but Wadhwa teaches: wherein the context parameters comprise device status ([0047] the server determines that particular devices in a conference session are in the passive mode, e.g., based on the status indicator), user role… ([0044] User identifiers may include, for example, conference host status, security status, employee status, participant affiliation, etc. The user identifiers and the device identifiers may be obtained as part of the credential).
Adlersberg and Wadhwa are considered analogous in the field of communication session management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Adlersberg to combine the teachings of Wadhwa because doing so would allow for more different context parameters to be analyzed to determine a subset of meeting participants to send a specific notification to, leading to improved flexibility and accuracy in selecting a specific portion of participants to receive a custom message within a communication session (Wadhwa [0060] user identifiers associated with the user devices that are stored in the conference session server may be analyzed by the conference session server to detect voice and other commands. For example, in some implementations, user devices operated by a conference host may be configured with a capability to switch a mode of various other participants from passive to active (and vice-versa). In some implementations, any participating user device may be configured with the capability to switch its own mode from passive to active (and vice-versa) and to provide input indicative of an instruction for another participant device to change mode).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa teaches: the system of claim 1. Wadhwa further teaches: wherein the user role comprises one or more of: host status indicating whether a user has host privileges in the communication session; or participant status indicating whether a user is a regular participant without host privileges ([0044] User identifiers may include, for example, conference host status, security status, employee status, participant affiliation, etc. The user identifiers and the device identifiers may be obtained as part of the credential).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa teaches: the system of claim 1. Adlersberg further teaches: wherein the participation level comprises one or more of: an indication of whether a user is actively speaking ([0097] the Audio Monitoring Unit 161 may monitor how many seconds each participant speaks, and may also determine its participation percentage relative to other participants; may detect that Participant Adam has spoken for a cumulative time of 4 seconds in the past 10 minutes, whereas Participant Bob has spoken for a cumulative time of 400 seconds in the past 10 minutes); an indication of whether a user is present in a field of view of an imaging device; or an indication of user engagement based on image analysis of the user's behavior.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa teaches: the system of claim 1. Adlersberg further teaches: wherein the communication session comprises a videoconference… ([0019] The terms “meeting” or “discussion” as used herein may include, for example, a face-to-face meeting, a telephonic meeting, a telephone conference call, a video meeting, a video conference call, a hybrid or mixed meeting in which one or more users participate in person and/or one or more other users participate via telephone and/or one or more other users participate via video conferencing).
Wadhwa further teaches: and wherein causing the customized prompts to be selectively displayed comprises transmitting control signals to a communications platform provider ([0051] a signaling channel between the user device 130 and the conference session server 110 is established. The signaling channel is used for sending notifications and/or short text messages to the user device 130. For example, the user device 130 can receive a light notification to inform the user that his participation is required), which in turn causes the customized prompts to be displayed via the respective display devices ([0051] a ticker-like information display may be utilized as a user interface for display on a user device that participates in the conference session. The ticker-like interface may be utilized to communicate highlights from the conference session, without obstructing a main user interface being displayed on the user device in passive mode. The ticker-like user interface allows the user to focus on a current task while also receiving updates from the conference session, while the user device is in the conference session in the passive mode) of the determined subset of users ([0058] the voice command is analyzed by the conference session server and sends a notification to the passive participant ‘A’ to become active. The notification could be a push message which the participant ‘A’ can accept or deny).
Adlersberg and Wadhwa are considered analogous in the field of communication session management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Adlersberg and Wadhwa to further combine the teachings of Wadhwa because doing so would allow for the use of a communications server to relay customized prompts to many different user devices, improving the efficiency of handling and communicating with each participant in a communication session (Wadhwa [0046] The signaling channel may be utilized to transmit notifications and other metadata between the conference session server and the user device, and may be used for conference session management. For example, the signaling channel may be used for communication session parameters such as audio/video bitrate, audio/video codec to user, error rates, etc. Notifications sent via the signaling channel may include, for example, status changes such as users switching between passive and active modes, users joining or leaving the conference session, etc.).
Regrading claim 8, it recites similar limitations as claim 1 and therefore is rejected similarly.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, they recite similar limitations as claim 3 and therefore are rejected similarly.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, they recite similar limitations as claim 4 and therefore are rejected similarly.
Regarding claim 14, it recites similar limitations as claim 7 and therefore is rejected similarly.
Regarding claim 15, Adlersberg discloses: a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors… ([0085] FIG. 6 is a diagram of an example computing device 600 in accordance with at least one implementation. The computing device 600 includes one or more processors 602, a non-transitory computer readable medium 606 and a network interface 608). The rest of the claim recites similar limitations as claim 1 and therefore is rejected similarly.
Claims 2, 5-6, 9, 12-13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adlersberg in view of Wadhwa, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 14-15, and 17-18 above, and further in view of McDysan et al. (US 20130051543 A1; hereinafter referred to as McDysan).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa teaches: the system of claim 1. The combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa does not explicitly, but McDysan teaches: wherein the device status comprises one or more of: a microphone state indicating whether a user's microphone is muted or unmuted; a screen share state indicating whether a user's screen is currently being shared ([0050] process 500 may include identifying participants of a conference call (block 510), retrieving profiles of the participants (block 520), and determining states of user devices of the participants (block 530)… A state of user device 110 may indicate whether user device 110 is muted or not muted);
or a camera state indicating whether a user's camera is active or inactive ([0035] conference management system 120 may provide options to prompt muting and/or un-muting of user device 110 when particular conditions are met. Conference management system 120 may provide a list of the options based on capabilities of user device 110 (e.g., whether user device 110 includes or is connected to a video camera)).
Adlersberg, Wadhwa, and McDysan are considered analogous in the field of communication session management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Adlersberg and Wadhwa to combine the teachings of McDysan because doing so would allow for a communication session management system to determine the mute/unmute status of different participants in a meeting and send them relevant customized notifications based on different scenarios, leading to better host flexibility in managing participants and improved awareness for participants regarding microphone mute/unmute status (McDysan [0059] during a conference call, when a user of user device 110 does not recognize that the device is un-muted and user device 110 is inputting undesired sounds. Accordingly, other participants of the conference call are not distracted by the undesired sounds. Another implementation, described herein, may prompt un-muting of user device 110, during a conference call, when a user of user device 110 does not recognize that the device is muted and needs to be un-muted (e.g., when the user begins speaking). As a result, other participants of the conference call do not have to unnecessarily wait for the user to repeat what was said by that user while on mute and/or miss what the user is saying).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa teaches: the system of claim 1. Adlersberg further teaches: and wherein the excluding is based on one or more of: excluding users whose microphones are already muted ([0105] the system may even be configured to allow the MMB 160 to automatically and selectively mute a participant if one or more pre-defined conditions hold true; for example, to automatically mute the audio of a participant, for a period of T seconds (e.g., for 15 seconds), if that participant has interfered with speech uttered by other participants for at least P times) when the detected keywords relate to muting ([0115] Moderator Bot unit would monitor, detect and/or recognize one or more particular pre-defined phrases or terms or word-combinations, that speakers say or utter during the meeting; and would automatically and/or autonomously perform one or more pre-defined operations or actions that are triggered by such recognition or detection).
or excluding host users when the detected keywords relate to operations restricted to non- host participants ([0122] the lookup table or database may further indicate that only speech from particular participant(s), such as the meeting organizer or the meeting owner or the CEO of the organization, would be recognized and acted upon with regard to the above-mentioned actions).
The combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa does not explicitly, but McDysan teaches: wherein determining which subset of the plurality of other users should receive a prompt comprises excluding users whose context parameters indicate they should not receive the prompt… ([0058] conference management system 120 may recognize that participant 610-2 and participant 610-3 are speaking simultaneously. Conference management system 120 may determine that participant 610-2 is ranked higher than participant 610-3 (e.g., because participant 610-2 is a supervisor of participant 610-3). Conference management system 120 may transmit a mute instruction to user device 110-3 for user device 110-3 to mute user device 110-3).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa teaches: the system of claim 1. The combination of Adlersberg and Wadhwa does not explicitly, but McDysan teaches: wherein generating customized prompts comprises creating different prompt content for different users based on their respective device status ([0035] Process 300 may also include requesting and receiving selection of other options to prompt muting and/or un-muting of user device 110 (block 360). For example, conference management system 120 may provide options to prompt muting and/or un-muting of user device 110 when particular conditions are met), such that users with unmuted microphones receive prompts asking whether to mute their microphones ([0059] One implementation, described herein, may prompt muting of user device 110, during a conference call, when a user of user device 110 does not recognize that the device is un-muted and user device 110 is inputting undesired sounds), while users with muted microphones receive prompts asking whether to unmute their microphones ([0052] conference management system 120 may receive a sound from user device 110-1. Conference management system 120 may determine to prompt un-muting of user device 110-1 when user device 110-1 is muted and the sound matches a user vocal pattern specified by the profile associated with user device 110-1).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, they recite similar limitations as claim 2 and therefore are rejected similarly.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, they recite similar limitations as claim 5 and therefore are rejected similarly.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, they recite similar limitations as claim 6 and therefore are rejected similarly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mai et al. (US 20130329866 A1) – discloses a system for sending an alert to a group of meeting participants in a breakout session to return to a main meeting using predefined keywords.
/NATHAN TENGBUMROONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654