Priority
The instant application claims priority for India-Application number 202441027085 with the file date of 04/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mittal (US Pub. 2020/0183951) in view of Pasupuleti (US Pub. 2012/0059963).
Regarding claim 1, Mittal discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising:
receiving a write operation directed to at least one data block in a first location of a storage device (¶ [0101], read/ write operation in a key/value store without compare and commit operations);
storing write data associated with the write operation in a key-value store associated with the first location of the storage device (¶¶ [0101]-[0102]); and
storing a first pending transaction record associated with the write operation in a pending transaction journal, wherein the pending transaction journal comprises a single storage page that further includes all other pending transaction records associated with other write operations associated with the storage device (¶ [0091], Prior to committing the uncommitted entries in the journal, the first node rejects any pending transactions corresponding to the one or more additional sequence identifiers).
Mittal does not explicitly disclose a single storage page; however, Pasupuleti discloses a single storage page (¶ [0062], single storage page).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pasupuleti into Mittal to effectively cache or buffer pages that have been read.
Regarding claim 2, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the single storage page is equivalent in size to a size of a single block of the storage device (P, ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the single storage page is four kilobytes in size (P, ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 4, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the key-value store that includes the write data is stored separately from the pending transaction journal (M, ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 4, wherein the key-value store comprises a B-tree (P, ¶ [0066], B-tree).
Regarding claim 6, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 5, wherein the B-tree comprises a plurality of nodes, wherein each of the plurality of nodes comprises metadata for a respective location of the storage device (P, ¶ [0066], B-tree).
Regarding claim 7, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of nodes is stored in a respective single block of the storage device (M, ¶ [0099], logical block).
Regarding claim 8, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the write operation stores data to the at least one data block (M, ¶ [0099]).
Regarding claim 9, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the first pending transaction record comprises an identifier of the first location of the storage device and a logical transaction sequence identifier (M, ¶ [0042], the sequence identifiers among the replica nodes.).
Regarding claim 10, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: updating the first pending transaction record via an indivisible read-modify-write memory transaction (M, ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining that the write operation is complete; and removing the first pending transaction record from the pending transaction journal (M, ¶ [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: prefetching a plurality of data blocks associated with the storage device (M, ¶ [0028]); storing, in the pending transaction journal, a number identifying how many data blocks were prefetched as a number of prefetched blocks (M, ¶ [0028], a sequence of transactions before instructing all nodes to commit the transactions); storing, in the pending transaction journal, the number identifying how many data blocks were prefetched as a number of free blocks (M, ¶ [0028]); and storing, in the pending transaction journal, a set of block identifiers, wherein each data block identifier in the set of block identifiers identifies a different data block in the plurality of data blocks (M, ¶ [0042]).
13, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: assigning a first data block to the write operation (P, ¶ [0130]); and decrementing a number of free blocks indicated by the single storage page (P, ¶ [0130].
Regarding claim 14, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: determining that the first data block should be overwritten (¶ [0077]); and incrementing the number of free blocks (P, ¶ [0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the pending transaction journal stores a mapping of a logical address in at least one data block to a physical address in the first location of the storage device (M, ¶ [0099], logical block).
Regarding claim 16, Mittal in view of Pasupuleti discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein pending transaction journal further comprises a map of free blocks of the storage device (P, ¶ [0080], mapping).
Regarding claims 17-32 and 33-48, see discussion of claims 1-16 above for the same reason of rejection.
Conclusion
/TUANKHANH D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2154