DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0050, lines 11-12, reference numeral “264” should read —268--. Paragraph 0064, line 2 reference numeral “240” should read —268--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: On Claim 1 the first time an abbreviation appears its definition should follow, see for example, DCSTATCOM (Static Synchronous compensator) and IT (Information Technology), PCC (point of common coupling). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FENG et al. (US 2008/0062724).
With respect to claim 1, FENG discloses a transformerless DCSTATCOM for an IT electrical load, comprising: an energy storage device (battery unit 2, figure 4); a two-stage bi-directional DC-DC converter (bidirectional DC/DC power converter 11); a multi-level inverter outputting a medium AC inverter voltage (DC/AC inverter 12, figure 3 shows inverter 12 having multi levels); and a controller configured to control the magnitude of the medium AC inverter voltage of the multi-level inverter to generate or absorb reactive power to achieve a power factor equal to or approximately equal to unity at PCC (paragraph 0031 discloses controlling power conditioner 1 for the purpose of power factor correction at a point between load 3, AC side 13 and switch 5), the controller further configured to charge or discharge the energy storage device by adjusting the angle of the medium AC inverter voltage with respect to a medium AC grid voltage (paragraphs 0032-0036 discloses controlling the charge /discharge of the battery), wherein a negative terminal of the energy storage device, a negative terminal of the two-stage DC-DC converter, and a negative terminal of the multi-level inverter are electrically coupled to a common negative bus (figure 4 discloses a negative side of the battery is connected to a negative terminal of the DC/DC converter 11 and Inverter 12).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,774,190. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,774,190 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,255,458. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,255,458 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836