DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al (US 2022/0375390) in view of CHEN et al (US 11,183,096).
Regarding claim 1, LIN discloses an image processing device 100 (abstract), comprising: a touch circuit 120 configured to obtain a plurality of touch signals in a plurality of touch frames (paragraph 20-25); and a driving circuit 130 coupled to the touch circuit to obtain the plurality of touch signals, and coupled to a display panel 110 through a plurality of scan lines G1-Gn, wherein the driving circuit is configured to scan a first part of the plurality of scan lines in a first display frame according to the plurality of touch signals to update a first image in a first area R1-R4 of the display panel (paragraph 20-25); wherein the driving circuit is configured to scan a second part of the plurality of scan lines in a second display frame according to the plurality of touch signals to update the first image in a second area R1-R4 of the display panel, wherein the first part and the second part of the plurality of scan lines are arranged alternately (Figure 2,3; paragraph 25, 27-30; After updating the current image, in a new frame period, the display device 100 determines whether the touch signal is received again (i.e., returns to step S301), so as to determine the scanning mode in the new frame period. For example, if the touch signal is received during a first frame period, the display device 100 will only update a part of the scan areas corresponding to position of the touch signal (i.e., update a part of the screen)). However, LIN does not expressly disclose wherein the first image in the first area of the display panel corresponds to a first one of the touch frames and a first one of the touch signals, and the first image in the second area of the display panel corresponds to a second one of the touch frames and the first one of the touch signals. In a similar field of endeavor, CHEN discloses wherein the first image in the first area of the display panel corresponds to a first one of the touch frames and a first one of the touch signals, and the first image in the second area of the display panel corresponds to a second one of the touch frames and the first one of the touch signals (col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 20; col. 2, line 56-col. 3, line 23); wherein the first part and the second part of the plurality of scan lines are arranged alternately (col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 20; col. 2, line 56-col. 3, line 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify LIN to include the teachings of CHEN, since CHEN states that such a modification would provide a display panel capable of avoiding mara caused by gaps in a touch electrode layout.
Regarding claim 2, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. LIN further discloses wherein when scanning the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame, the driving circuit is further configured to update a second image in the second area of the display panel (Figure 2; paragraph 27-30; corresponding to touch detection between areas R1-R4).
Regarding claim 3, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. LIN further discloses wherein the driving circuit is configured to scan the first part of the plurality of scan lines in a third display frame to update the second image and a third image in the first area of the display panel (Figure 2; paragraph 27-30; corresponding to touch detection between areas R1-R4, including moving back and forth between areas).
Regarding claim 7, LIN discloses an image display method (abstract), comprising: obtaining, by a touch circuit 120, a plurality of touch signals in a plurality of touch frames (paragraph 27-30); scanning, by a driving circuit 130, a first part of a plurality of scan lines G1-Gn of a display panel 110 in a first display frame according to the plurality of touch signals to update a first image in a first area of the display panel (paragraph 20-25); and scanning, by the driving circuit, a second part of the plurality of scan lines in a second display frame according to the plurality of touch signals to update the first image in a second area of the display panel, wherein the first part and the second part of the plurality of scan lines are arranged alternately (Figure 2, 3; paragraph 25, 27-30; After updating the current image, in a new frame period, the display device 100 determines whether the touch signal is received again (i.e., returns to step S301), so as to determine the scanning mode in the new frame period. For example, if the touch signal is received during a first frame period, the display device 100 will only update a part of the scan areas corresponding to position of the touch signal (i.e., update a part of the screen)). However, LIN does not expressly disclose wherein the first image in the first area of the display panel corresponds to a first one of the touch frames and a first one of the touch signals, and the first image in the second area of the display panel corresponds to a second one of the touch frames and the first one of the touch signals. In a similar field of endeavor, CHEN discloses wherein the first image in the first area of the display panel corresponds to a first one of the touch frames and a first one of the touch signals, and the first image in the second area of the display panel corresponds to a second one of the touch frames and the first one of the touch signals (col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 20; col. 2, line 56-col. 3, line 23); wherein the first part and the second part of the plurality of scan lines are arranged alternately (col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 20; col. 2, line 56-col. 3, line 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify LIN to include the teachings of CHEN, since CHEN states that such a modification would provide a display panel capable of avoiding mara caused by gaps in a touch electrode layout.
Regarding claim 8, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. LIN further discloses wherein when scanning the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame, the driving circuit is further configured to update a second image in the second area of the display panel (Figure 2; paragraph 27-30; corresponding to touch detection between areas R1-R4).
Regarding claim 9, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. LIN further discloses further comprising: scanning the first part of the plurality of scan lines in a third display frame to update the second image and a third image in the first area of the display panel (Figure 2; paragraph 27-30; corresponding to touch detection between areas R1-R4, including moving back and forth between areas).
Regarding claim 15, LIN discloses a display device 100 (abstract), comprising: a display panel 110 (Figure 1); and a driving circuit 130 coupled to a touch circuit 120 to obtain a plurality of touch signals, and coupled to a display panel through a plurality of scan lines G1-Gn (Figure 1, 2); wherein the driving circuit is configured to scan a first part of the plurality of scan lines in a first display frame according to the plurality of touch signals to update a first image in a first area of the display panel (paragraph 20-25); wherein the driving circuit is configured to scan a second part of the plurality of scan lines in a second display frame according to the plurality of touch signals to update the first image in a second area of the display panel, wherein the first part and the second part of the plurality of scan lines are arranged alternately (Figure 2, 3; paragraph 25, 27-30; After updating the current image, in a new frame period, the display device 100 determines whether the touch signal is received again (i.e., returns to step S301), so as to determine the scanning mode in the new frame period. For example, if the touch signal is received during a first frame period, the display device 100 will only update a part of the scan areas corresponding to position of the touch signal (i.e., update a part of the screen)). However, LIN does not expressly disclose wherein the first image in the first area of the display panel corresponds to a first one of the touch frames and a first one of the touch signals, and the first image in the second area of the display panel corresponds to a second one of the touch frames and the first one of the touch signals. In a similar field of endeavor, CHEN discloses wherein the first image in the first area of the display panel corresponds to a first one of the touch frames and a first one of the touch signals, and the first image in the second area of the display panel corresponds to a second one of the touch frames and the first one of the touch signals (col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 20; col. 2, line 56-col. 3, line 23); wherein the first part and the second part of the plurality of scan lines are arranged alternately (col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 20; col. 2, line 56-col. 3, line 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify LIN to include the teachings of CHEN, since CHEN states that such a modification would provide a display panel capable of avoiding mara caused by gaps in a touch electrode layout.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. LIN further discloses wherein when scanning the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame, the driving circuit is further configured to update a second image in the second area of the display panel (Figure 2; paragraph 27-30; corresponding to touch detection between areas R1-R4).
Claim(s) 5,11,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al (US 2022/0375390) in view of CHEN et al (US 11,183,096) and further in view of LEE et al (US 2014/0320427).
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of LIN and CHEN does not expressly disclose wherein the first part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of odd-numbered rows, and the second part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of even-numbered rows. In a similar field of endeavor, LEE discloses wherein the first part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of odd-numbered rows, and the second part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of even-numbered rows (Figure 3, 4; paragraph 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of LIN and CHEN to include the teachings of LEE, since LEE states that such a modification would increase performance of a touch display by providing a higher display rate. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional display driving means based on those disclosed by LEE.
Regarding claim 11, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of LIN and CHEN does not expressly disclose wherein the first part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of odd-numbered rows, and the second part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of even-numbered rows. In a similar field of endeavor, LEE discloses wherein the first part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of odd-numbered rows, and the second part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of even-numbered rows (Figure 3, 4; paragraph 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of LIN and CHEN to include the teachings of LEE, since LEE states that such a modification would increase performance of a touch display by providing a higher display rate. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional display driving means based on those disclosed by LEE.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of LIN and CHEN does not expressly disclose wherein the first part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of odd-numbered rows, and the second part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of even-numbered rows. In a similar field of endeavor, LEE discloses wherein the first part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of odd-numbered rows, and the second part of the plurality of scan lines is a plurality of even-numbered rows (Figure 3, 4; paragraph 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of LIN and CHEN to include the teachings of LEE, since LEE states that such a modification would increase performance of a touch display by providing a higher display rate. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional display driving means based on those disclosed by LEE.
Claim(s) 6, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al (US 2022/0375390) in view of CHEN et al (US 11,183,096) and further in view of TARK et al (US 2024/0144854).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of LIN and CHEN does not expressly disclose wherein the driving circuit comprises a first buffer and a second buffer, the driving circuit is configured to generate a first update signal and a second update signal according to one of the plurality of touch signals, store the first update signal into the first buffer, and store the second update signal into the second buffer; wherein the driving circuit is configured to read the first update signal in the first buffer to scan the first part of the plurality of scan lines in the first display frame, and read the second update signal in the second buffer to scan the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame. In a similar field of endeavor, TARK discloses wherein the driving circuit comprises a first buffer and a second buffer, the driving circuit is configured to generate a first update signal and a second update signal according to one of the plurality of touch signals, store the first update signal into the first buffer, and store the second update signal into the second buffer; wherein the driving circuit is configured to read the first update signal in the first buffer to scan the first part of the plurality of scan lines in the first display frame, and read the second update signal in the second buffer to scan the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame (paragraph 119-121). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of LIN and CHEN to include the teachings of TARK, since the use of buffers to update a display is well known and conventional in the art and allows a voltage to be stored within a driving circuit. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide touch display driving means based on those disclosed by TARK.
Regarding claim 12, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, the combination of LIN and CHEN does not expressly disclose wherein the driving circuit comprises a first buffer and a second buffer, and the image display method further comprises: generating a first update signal and a second update signal according to one of the plurality of touch signals; and storing the first update signal into the first buffer, and storing the second update signal into the second buffer. In a similar field of endeavor, TARK discloses wherein the driving circuit comprises a first buffer and a second buffer, and the image display method further comprises: generating a first update signal and a second update signal according to one of the plurality of touch signals; and storing the first update signal into the first buffer, and storing the second update signal into the second buffer (paragraph 119-121). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of LIN and CHEN to include the teachings of TARK, since the use of buffers to update a display is well known and conventional in the art and allows a voltage to be stored within a driving circuit. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide touch display driving means based on those disclosed by TARK.
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combinate of LIN, CHEN, and TARK further discloses wherein scanning the first part of the plurality of scan lines in the first display frame comprises: reading the first update signal in the first buffer to scan the first part of the plurality of scan lines in the first display frame (TARK – paragraph 119-121).
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combinate of LIN, CHEN, and TARK further discloses wherein scanning the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame comprises: reading the second update signal in the second buffer to scan the second part of the plurality of scan lines in the second display frame (TARK – paragraph 119-121).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL A BALAOING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624