DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peters (US 3596794)
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a water tank (see abstract) comprising:
Reference fig. 3 and 5, a tank body 11 having a tank body space therein
A tank cover 12, that covers the tank body space and is coupled to the tank body
a reinforcing member (21 and 31 combine and interconnected, fig. 3 and 5) that is at least partially accommodated in the tank body space and is respectively coupled to the tank body and the tank cover to reinforce rigidity of the tank body or the tank cover, see abstract end of page 3, last paragraph, page 4, first paragraph; and
a fastening part, connecting portion 213, fig. 6, configured to couple the reinforcing member and the tank cover, wherein as seen in fig. 3 and 5, the tank body and the tank cover are each formed in a polygonal plate shape, in which a length in a first direction and a width in a second direction are each greater than a thickness in a third direction and a tank body having a tank body space formed therein.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses that the tank body has a surface opposite the tank cover and the reinforcing member extends between the surface and cover along the third direction and is coupled to the body and cover, fig. 5.
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses that the ends of the reinforcing members are fixedly coupled to the tank body surface and inner surface of the cover via flanges at 213 that are welded see translation and fig. 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benninger (DE 20311784 U1) in view of Russell (US 1757923).
Regarding claims 1 -3, Benninger discloses a water tank, comprising:
a tank body 12 having a tank body 18 space formed therein;
a tank cover 14 configured to cover the tank body space and be coupled to the tank body;
wherein the tank body and the tank cover are each formed in a polygonal plate shape in which a length in a first direction and a width in a second direction are each greater than a thickness in a third direction (depth), fig. 8.
Benninger does not teach a reinforcing member.
Russell is analogous art in regard to a polygonal shaped tank and teaches a reinforcing member 8, fig. 2, at least partially accommodated in a space formed within a tank body 1, fig. 1, and is respectively coupled to opposing sides of the tank body through wall perforations at 1a, fig. 2, to reinforce rigidity of the tank body or the tank cover, col. 1: 20-30; and
a fastening part 9 configured to couple the reinforcing member and the tank cover at opposing ends of the reinforcing member such that the reinforcing member, spanning the tank in the third direction is fixedly coupled to the tank body surface and tank cover.
Russell further teaches that an end of the reinforcing member is fixedly coupled to the tank body surface via welds at 6, fig. 2 for the purpose of forming a leak proof joint, col. 3: 15-25.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tank of Benninger to have a reinforcing rod secured to opposing sides of the tank through the cover and opposing body wall via fasteners and welds in order to reinforce the rigidity of the tank as per the teaching of Russell while simultaneously providing additional cover securement.
Regarding claim 4, the reinforcing member comprises of Benninger as modified above comprises a reinforcing body 8 accommodated in the tank body space, one end of which in the third direction is coupled to the tank body surface (via threads, a nut and welds, as applied above); and
a reinforcing head – the head is the opposing threaded end of the reinforcing body extending through the cover, the threaded ends are continuous the reinforcing body, and is exposed to the outside (threaded end at opposing side of the reinforcing body) of the tank body space and is arranged to face the tank body space with the tank cover interposed therebetween, reference fig. 1 of Russel; Benninger as modified above by Russell to have the reinforcing rod extend through the cover and opposite wall of the body.
Claim 5, the tank cover of Benninger comprises: a tank cover surface defined as one surface of the tank cover facing the tank body space; and
as modified above a tank cover penetration hole at 1a, fig. 2 of Russell formed through the tank cover surface in the third direction, through which the reinforcing member is penetrated and coupled, reference fig. 2 of Russell.
Claim 6, as seen in fig. 3, Benninger further discloses that the tank cover has a recessed part toward the body (around the circumference within the peripheral edge at 24 and an embossed central part within the recessed part that protrudes away from the tank body space.
Claim(s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benninger and Russell as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Compagnie des Produits Chimiques et Raffineries de Berre (GB 1072502), hereinafter Berre.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the references applied above teach all of claim 4, as applied above.
The references applied above do not teach an O-ring member coupling part.
Berre is analogous art in regard to fluid containers (at 42) having an internal reinforcing member at 12 (pg. 2:47), fig. 3, between a cover 42 and a body 42’, and teaches an O-ring coupling part at 14 to the threaded end of the internal reinforcing member that includes an O-ring at 50 and a nut at 44 (collar), a nut member (threaded section) coupling part that is continuous with the O-ring member coupling part and is coupled to the fastening part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reinforcing member of Benninger as modified above to have an O-ring seating member (14 of Berre) and an O-ring adjacent to the inner surface through which the reinforcing member extends in order to provide a liquid tight seal at the through hole of the cover.
Regarding claim 9, Benninger as modified above by Russell teaches a washer member 7 and a nut 9, fig. 2 of Russell at each end of the reinforcing member body and on an outer side of the cover such that the washer and nut are located on an exterior of the cover and are “through coupled” (threaded or placed onto/around) to the end of the “head” and O-ring member coupling member at each end of Benninger as modified above.
Regarding claim 10, the references applied above teach all of claim 9, as applied above. The references applied above do not disclose a hard lock nut. A hard lock nut is known to be less likely to loosen inadvertently.
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Benninger as modified above by Russell to substitute a hard lock nut in place of the nut that is not hard lock and requires welding to lock the nut wherever it is critical that the nut maintains its tightness in order to avoid an additional welding step during manufacture.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benninger, Russell, and Berre as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Grussenmeyer (US 2012/0009032).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the references applied above teach all of claim 7, as applied above. The references applied above do not teach a snap ring for secured outside the nut.
Grussenmeyer discloses a fastening assembly, fig. 4, that includes the use of a snap ring 132 secured within a snap ring groove 132a, the groove positioned above a retaining nut 126 for the purpose of securing the retaining nut on the threads even when the nut is not fully tightened [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threaded end of the retaining member of Benninger as modified by Russell to include a reduced diameter groove and a snap ring secured within the groove in order to ensure that a nut will be retained even if not fully tightened (or if it inadvertently loosens) as per the teaching of Grussenmeyer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference or combinations thereof applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Szopo (US 3552593), fig. 5.
Peters (US 3596794) discloses a tank, intended for gasoline, col. 2: 65-70 but fully capable of holding water, comprising:
a reinforcing member at 16, fig. 1, at 18, fig. 2, and with bolt and nut at 26, fig. 3, col. 2: 35-40 that is at least partially accommodated in the tank body space (the recess enters into the space of the tank body) and is respectively coupled to the tank body and the tank cover to reinforce rigidity of the tank body or the tank cover; and
a fastening part, nut, fig. 3, configured to couple the reinforcing member and the tank cover, wherein as seen in fig. 1 and 3, the tank body and the tank cover are each formed in a polygonal plate shape, in which a length in a first direction and a width in a second direction are each greater than a thickness in a third direction and a tank body having a tank body space formed therein at 6.
Peters does not teach a separate tank body and tank cover; the tank of Peters is blow molded in one piece.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOLLIE LLEWELLYN IMPINK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/MOLLIE IMPINK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799