DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Priority
The present application claims foreign priority benefits from JP2024-057305 filed on 03/29/2024. The certified copy of the priority document was electronically retrieved on 04/15/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2025 is considered and attached.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim no.
112(f) elements
Corresponding structure (PGPub)
Associated algorithm (PGPub)
1
1
6
9
1
2
10
an obtaining unit configured to obtain
a calculation unit configured to calculate
the calculation unit starts to calculate
the calculation unit increases
a determination unit configured to determine
the determination unit determines
the determination unit determines
FIG. 1-2; para. [0019] central processing unit (CPU)
FIG. 3; para. [0014], [0023]-[0024]
FIG. 5-6; [0014], [0023]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]
3
7
an image formation unit … configured to form
the image formation unit forms the mark
FIG. 1-2; para. [0019] central processing unit (CPU)
Para. [0015]-[0016], [0019], [0021], [0031]-[0032]
4
an image formation unit … configured to form
FIG. 1-2; para. [0019] central processing unit (CPU)
Para. [0015]-[0016], [0019], [0021], [0031]-[0032]
8
a detection unit … configured to obtain
FIG. 1-2; para. [0019] central processing unit (CPU)
Para. [0036]
11
12
13
the downstream image formation unit forms an image
the downstream image formation unit identifies
the downstream image formation unit starts to form
FIG. 1-2; para. [0019] central processing unit (CPU)
Para. [0039]-[0041]
1
is conveyed by a conveyance unit
FIG. 1-2; para. [0016]-[0017], [0019]
5
the conveyance unit conveys roll paper
14
is conveyed by a conveyance unit
15
is conveyed by a conveyance unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 14-15
Analysis for claim 14 is provided in the following. Claim 14 is reproduced in the following (annotation added):
14. An image processing method comprising:
(a) obtaining a luminance value obtained by reading a transparent substrate which is conveyed by a conveyance unit included in a printing apparatus configured to print an image on each page, and on which a mark indicating a leading position of the page is already printed;
(b) calculating a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the luminance value obtained in the obtaining is being kept within a certain range; and
(c) determining a position of the mark on the transparent substrate based on the distance calculated in the calculating.
Step 1: Evaluating whether the claim belongs to one of the statutory categories.
Claim 14 recites a plurality of acts. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One: Evaluating whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If no exception is recited, the claim is eligible. This concludes the eligibility analysis. If the claim recites an exception, go to Step 2A Prong Two.
Claim 14 step (b) recites mathematical calculation. Step (c), under broadest reasonable interpretation, can be practically performed in the human mind and therefore recites mental processes. (Step 2A Prong One YES)
Step 2A Prong Two: Evaluating whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. If the answer to (a) is YES and (b) is NO, go to Step 2B; if the answer to (a) and (b) is YES, go to PATHWAY B, i.e., the claim is not directed to a judicial exception and the claim is eligible.
In claim 14, step (a) recites data acquisition and gathering, an insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (Step 2A Prong Two NO).
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim.
In claim 14, step (a) recites data acquisition and gathering, an insignificant extra-solution activity, elements that should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Step a) recites data acquisition in a high level of generality, which is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. These additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim, as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05. (Step 2B: NO). Claim 14 is not eligible.
Claim 15, a computer-readable medium claim, recites similar steps as recited in claim 14 and similarly recites mathematical calculation and mental processes. Similar to claim 14 step (a), claim 15 recites data acquisition and gathering, an insignificant extra-solution activity that is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. The recited computer components, such as computer and computer-readable storage medium and stored program, are recited in high level of generality, and merely add generic computer components to perform the acts and therefore fail to provide an improvement to the technology or technical field. Claim 15 is not eligible.
Claim 1
Claim 1 is reproduced in the following (Annotation added).
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain a luminance value obtained by reading a transparent substrate which is conveyed by a conveyance unit included in a printing apparatus configured to print an image on each page, and on which a mark indicating a leading position of the page is already printed;
a calculation unit configured to calculate a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the luminance value obtained by the obtaining unit is being kept within a certain range; and
a determination unit configured to determine a position of the mark on the transparent substrate based on the distance calculated by the calculation unit.
Claim 1 recites similar steps as in method claim 14. Note above recited units, and associated function, when interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation, recite mathematical calculation and mental processes without significantly more. However, under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation, the corresponding algorithm of the above identified an obtaining unit, a calculation unit and a determination unit is being read into the units respectively. As described in the specification, the following algorithm is related to the above units: FIG. 3, 5-6; para. [0014], [0023]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]. These figures and paragraphs describe a specific manner of obtaining luminance value, calculating a distance and determining a position of the mark. Therefore these limitations provide improvements to the functioning of a computer, and apply or use the judicial exception in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Claim 1 is eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEGAWA (JP 2019117319 A, published 2019-07-18), in view of Moriyama (US 20150034715 A1).
As per claim 14, SEGAWA teaches an image processing method (Abstract) comprising:
obtaining a of the leading position of each label 46 in the direction of arrow A, which indicates the transport direction (para. [0030]); FIG. 6(c) shows the voltage detected by first black mark detection sensor 37 (Fig. 1; Fig. 8; para. [0044]-[0046]));
calculating a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the
determining a position of the mark on the transparent substrate based on the distance calculated in the calculating (SEGAWA not only determines a position of the mark on the transparent substrate based on the distance calculated in the calculating (FIG. 6(c)), but also corrects the position of the mark. SEGAWA further mentions that label pitch does not coincide with the label image pitch and there is a deviation (Fig. 11; para. [0084]-[0086]). Accordingly, SEGAWA aligns the positions of each label 46 and the corresponding toner image transferred to the label 46 (para. [0099]). That is to say SEGAWA determines the corrected position of the black mark based on the calculated label pitch and label image pitch.)
SEGAWA however, does not teach obtaining a luminance value, and calculating a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the luminance value obtained in the obtaining unit is being kept within a certain range.
Moriyama in the same field of endeavor discloses a method for detecting marks in a print tape (Abstract). The reverse surface of a print tape includes a reference portion and a non-reference portion. The reference portion is configured to identify a position of a print area. The non-reference portion includes a plurality of through holes. The reference portion includes a barcode that includes a first mark and a second mark. The first mark is a portion of a first color that is one of black and white. The second mark is a portion of a second color that is one of black and white and is different to the first color (FIG. 6 #91 (31A) and #92(31B) being 2 marks; para. [0008]). FIG. 12-13 show the luminance values captured by a reflective sensor (para. [0006]). In FIG. 12-13, the threshold values T1 and T2 are within an allowable threshold range (para. [0088]). The distance L11 and L12 are calculated by using the threshold T1 or T2 (para. [0091]-[0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventor to modify the teaching of SEGAWA to incorporate the teaching of Moriyama to obtain a luminance value, and calculate a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the luminance value obtained in the obtaining unit is being kept within a certain range. Doing so would accurately detect a reference portion that is used to identify a position of a print area, while suppressing an increase in complexity of a structure of the tape printer as recognized by Moriyama (para. [0007]).
Claim 15, an independent medium claim, recites steps corresponding to method claim 14. Therefore the recited steps of 15 are mapped to SEGAWA in view of Moriyama in the same manner as corresponding steps in claim 14. Further the rationale by combining SEGAWA and Moriyama as applied to claim 14 is also applicable here. Moriyama additionally teaches computer system elements, such as non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a computer (FIG. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventor to modify the teaching of SEGAWA to incorporate the teaching of Moriyama to include computer system elements, such as computer and storage medium. By including such elements, one can implement the steps in claim 15 by using a computer system (Moriyama FIG. 4, para. [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
The following is Examiner’s reasons for identification of allowable subject matter.
In independent claim 1, “an obtaining unit configured to obtain”, “a calculation unit configured to calculate” and “a determination unit configured to determine “are interpreted as invoking 35 USC 112 (f) claim interpretation. Since these units are computer-implemented elements, the corresponding algorithms in the specification are being read into the elements interpreted under 112(f) as identified above. Specifically, at least FIG. 3, 5-6; para. [0014], [0023]-[0040], [0042]-[0043] of the instant specification contains allowable subject matter when taken in combination with the entirety of the claim.
The following prior art is considered closest to the current application.
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, as per claim 1, SEGAWA (JP 2019117319 A, published 2019-07-18) teaches an image processing apparatus (Abstract; FIG. 1-2) comprising:
an obtaining unit (FIG. 1-2) configured to obtain a [0030]); FIG. 6(c) shows the voltage detected by first black mark detection sensor 37 (Fig. 1; Fig. 8; para. [0044]-[0046]));
a calculation unit (FIG. 1-2) configured to calculate a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the
a determination unit (FIG. 1-2) configured to determine a position of the mark on the transparent substrate based on the distance calculated in the calculating (SEGAWA not only determines a position of the mark on the transparent substrate based on the distance calculated in the calculating (FIG. 6(c)), but also corrects the position of the mark. SEGAWA further mentions that label pitch does not coincide with the label image pitch and there is a deviation (Fig. 11; para. [0084]-[0086]). Accordingly, SEGAWA aligns the positions of each label 46 and the corresponding toner image transferred to the label 46 (para. [0099]). That is to say SEGAWA determines the real position of the black mark based on the calculated label pitch and label image pitch.)
SEGAWA however, does not teach obtaining a luminance value, and calculating a distance by which the transparent substrate is conveyed by the conveyance unit while the luminance value obtained in the obtaining unit is being kept within a certain range.
Moriyama in the same field of endeavor discloses a method for detecting marks in a print tape (Abstract). The reverse surface of a print tape includes a reference portion and a non-reference portion. The reference portion is configured to identify a position of a print area. The non-reference portion includes a plurality of through holes. The reference portion includes a barcode that includes a first mark and a second mark. The first mark is a portion of a first color that is one of black and white. The second mark is a portion of a second color that is one of black and white and is different to the first color (FIG. 6 #91 (31A) and #92(31B) being 2 marks; para. [0008]). FIG. 12-13 show the luminance values captured by a reflective sensor (para. [0006]). In FIG. 12-13, the threshold values T1 and T2 are within an allowable threshold range (para. [0088]). The distance L11 and L12 are calculated by using the threshold T1 or T2 (para. [0091]-[0093]).
Prior art, either applied alone, or in combination with, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations as recited in claim 1 in view of 35 USC 112(f) claim interpretation.
Conclusion
Prior art searched but not cited is recorded in PTO-892.
Additional prior art Osakama (US 20060044381 A1) discloses a printer including a first sensor and a second sensor disposed, respectively, upstream and downstream of a print head in the feeding direction of a roll of paper. The size of printing media is detected based on the distance between two consecutive detection marks sensed by the first sensor, and leading edges of the printing media sensed by the first sensor are detected by the second sensor (Abstract; FIG. 2; para. [0024])
Contact
/XUEMEI G CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661