Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 8/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
“Cutting means” invokes 112(f) and is described in the instant specification as a “band saw” and thus is interpreted to be similar moving blade cutting devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duffy (US 6,926,781).
Examiner submits any air filter system having the recited elements is a system for forming a custom air filter as claimed. The Examiner note a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). The instant claims recite nothing more than a cutting means and a supply of frame material with a given structure. The air filter itself is not claimed at all as part of the system and any system having the cutting means and supply of frame material satisfies the claim. Examiner notes many claims are essentially directed to function and intended use and have minimal effect in limiting system structure.
Regarding Claims 1-3, Duffy system for forming a custom air filter comprising (See col. 1, lines 6-12 and col. 2, lines 1-6, and note it is clear the filters discussed and formed are air filters):
a cutting means [40] for cutting a at least one frame member of an outer frame on an air filter to form cut frame member and filter (See col. 8, lines 5-19, wherein the intermediate air filter including both the frame [12] and filter material [14] are cut by a cutting means to form an intermediate filer [38]; teaching a cutting device such as a rotary blade, which is a moving blade cutting means).
Duffy teaches a supply roll [24], i.e. a supply of strip framing material [12], i.e. a length of frame material (See col. 6, lines 22-39). Examiner notes cutting and folding are intend use of the frame material that only define the structure, thusframe material must have the characteristics of the substitute frame material, which comprises a substrate comprising a carboard base foldable to form two flanges, a pressure sensitive adhesive on the substrate, and a removable release layer on the base and area to become flanges (See col. 6, lines 55-58, col. 7, lines 20-30, col. 8, lines 34-46, col. 9, lines 37-60, col. 12, lines 16-35, and Figs. 2-4, wherein support material strip [12] has adhesive on the framing material strips, i.e. paperboard substrate, that is a pressure sensitive adhesive covered with a release layer that is removed prior to application to the filter media [14] and is intended to folded on the edges of the filter, such as along parallel spaced-apart score lines provided in the strip [12] for said folding, to press onto an air filter to form frame edges thereof, i.e. a custom air filter; note paperboard is a type of cardboard). Examiner notes the supplying roll of strip framing material is exactly the same as the supply of framing material framed.
The process in which is the system is used is NOT part of the claimed system, and merely defines a structure for the cutting means and supply such that it must be capable of being used in such a process as recited. It is noted that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226,228-29 (CCPA 1971 ); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844,847, 120 USPQ 528,531 (CCPA 1959). "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). Further, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Examiner submits for reasons articulated above, i.e. paperboard substrate with scored fold lines for flanges with a pressure sensitive adhesive having removable release layer thereon is a roll supply, is a supply frame material have all the structure as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, the cut surface is a material worked on not claimed as part of the system. Note that “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). An apparatus need merely be capable of performing the claimed functions on the claimed material worked on. The frames as claimed can a do get applied to opposing side of a filter. Note functional limitations, as described above, only limit the system so far as they limit the structure of the system. The instant system is ONLY a cutting means and a supply of frame material, nothing more.
Claims 7-10 are almost entirely functional limitations and have minimal effect on limiting the structure of the claimed system, which as repeated numerously above, is merely a cutting means and a supply of frame material. As described above, because the cutting means can cut the frame material and filter, it has a structure capable of doing so any way the filters are fed to it, be they previously cut or not. Likewise, the strip framing material is cuttable and transversely foldable (since it is cut and folded within the process in Duffy) and theoretically capable of being applied in any desired arrangement on a filter. Applicant is attempting to claim a method in a system claim without providing structure for said method. Any operator could cut and apply the supply to a filter my hand however they like, and the frame material claimed is essentially identical to that claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Yoshii (US 2002/0064629) and Miaskoff (US 4,031,793).
Regarding Claims 4, Duffy teaches the system of Claim 1 as described above. Duffy also teaches a rotary blade as the cutting and teaches the specific cutting means for cutting a filter is not limited (See col. 8, lines 5-18),but fails to teach a band saw. However, it is well-known in cutting that both circular saw/rotary blades are a similar cutting means to band saws, each using a rapidly moving serrated blade for cutting, and each known to have similar applicability for cutting a corrugated material such as a filter (See, for example, Yoshii, page 1, paragraph [0009] and page 2, paragraph [0014], wherein circular saws and band saw are said to have similar cutting applicability for corrugated materials that may be utilized as filters). Thus, it at least would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize a band saw for cutting the filter instead of a circular saw in Duffy. Duffy indicates various cutting means are suitable for cutting filters and the prior art indicates band saws and circular saws are known alternatives for similar cutting applications. Thus, a band saw would have predictably been a suitable alternative cutting means for cutting the filter.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy and Yoshii as applied to Claim 4, and further in view of Miaskoff (US 4,031,793) and/or Athanasoulas (US 3,661,037).
Regarding Claim 5, Duffy and Yoshii teach the system of Claim 4 as described above. Although the direction of the slope of a band saw blades is not expressed explicitly in Yoshii, it would have been apparent any known band saw blades would have predictably been suitable. Examiner band saw are well known to have asymmetrical blades, i.e. a horizontal side and a sloped side, wherein the sloped side is the cutting side (See, for example, Miaskoff, col. 2, lines 28-53 and Fig. 1, teaching the sloped side [12] as the cutting side; also see Athanasoulas, Fig. 1, illustrating a clear depiction of the slope and horizontal sides meeting at a point in a band saw blade). Thus, it at least would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize asymmetrical serrated band saw blades when using a band saw as claimed. Such blades are generally known to be oriented as such in band saws for cutting, including similar shapes, and whether the sloped side cuts, and the horizontal meet as a point is largely a design choice in saw design within known suitable designs. Changes in shape are a matter of choice and are considered obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
/SCOTT W DODDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746