DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are present. As a result, claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings received on 18 March 2025 are accepted by the Examiner
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Abstract Objection
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception of an abstract idea, as a mental process, without significantly more.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 7, 14 and 17, the claims recite performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database and performing a search of a geographical name database.
Step 1 (All Claims)
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, claims 1-13 are directed to a method, claims 15-20 are directed to a program product comprising memory and a processor. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1 (Claims 1 and 14)
Regarding claims 1 and 14 the following limitation is an abstract idea:
“determining a current location of the search request;
performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database to
determine one or more category-specific locations within a specified distance of the current location; performing a search of a geographical name database to identify a geographical name associated with the category-specific location”. The limitation is merely comparing portions of data for matches, which can be mentally performed.
Step 2A Prong 2 (1 and 14)
“receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of meteorological or terrain information that is stored in a category-specific geographic database"; retrieve category-specific geographic information corresponding to the one or more category-specific locations having the particular category of meteorological or terrain information; displaying the geographical name with the corresponding category specific geographic information” are additional elements and are insignificant extra-solution activity as retrieval/receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' and displaying data (i.e. outputting data) as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and do not provide integration into a practical application.
Furthermore, Claims 1 and 14, recite further additional elements of one or more processors of a mobile device. These are high-level recitation of a generic computer components and represents mere instructions to apply on a computer as in MPEP 2106.05(f), which does not provide integration into a practical application.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
Regarding claims 2 and 15
The further step includes displaying the geographical name comprises one or more indications of distance between each category-specific location and location of the geographical name associated with the category-specific location, is insignificant extra-solution activity as retrieval/receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' and displaying data (i.e. outputting data) as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and do not provide integration into a practical application.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 16
The dependent claims 3-5 and 16 recite mental steps and thus are not eligible under 101. The 101 analysis of claim 1 fully applicable.
Regarding claims 6 and 13
The further steps include “receiving a selection of a geographical name for one of the corresponding category-specific locations; and adding the selected geographical name to a list of category-specific locations” are insignificant extra-solution activity as retrieval/receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' and displaying data (i.e. outputting data) as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and do not provide integration into a practical application.
Step 2A, Prong 1 (Claim 7 and 17)
Regarding claims 7 and 17 the following limitation is an abstract idea:
“determining a current location of the search request;
performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database to
determine one or more category-specific locations within a specified distance of the current location; performing a search of a geographical name database to identify a geographical name associated with the category-specific location”. The limitation is merely comparing portions of data for matches, which can be mentally performed.
Step 2A Prong 2 (1 and 14)
“receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of meteorological or terrain information that is stored in a category-specific geographic database"; retrieve category-specific geographic information corresponding to the one or more category-specific locations having the particular category of meteorological or terrain information; displaying the geographical name with the corresponding category specific geographic information” are additional elements and are insignificant extra-solution activity as retrieval/receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' and displaying data (i.e. outputting data) as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and do not provide integration into a practical application.
The limitation of a category-specific geographic database is an additional element and insignificantly more because it is merely storing and retrieving information in memory MPEP 2106.05(d).
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
Regarding claims 8-11 and 18-20
The dependent claims 8-11 and 18-20 recite mental steps and thus are not eligible under 101. The 101 analysis of claim 7 fully applicable.
Regarding claim 12
The further step includes “displaying the naming location on a map on a first part of a user interface (UI); and displaying the particular category of meteorological or terrain information associated with the naming location on a second part of the UL”, is insignificant extra-solution activity as retrieval/receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' and displaying data (i.e. outputting data) as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and do not provide integration into a practical application.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
Claims rejection 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadarundalagi et al. (US 20190354345 A1) in view of Sohn et al. (KR 102656195 B1) further in view of Rauner (US 20180199179 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kadarundalagi discloses a method performed by one or more processors of a mobile device (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0030], Various types of electronic devices may include, but are not limited to, desktop computers, mobile computers (e.g., laptops, ultrabooks), mobile phones; see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0032], Voice-controlled electronic device 10 may include one or more processors 202, storage/memory), comprising:
receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of
meteorological or terrain information that is stored in a category-specific geographic database (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0015], An individual asking a question, or making a request, to a voice-controlled electronic device may be provided with one or more pieces of supplemental information based on the individual's account settings, preferences, or history, as well as the command that the individual made);
determining a current location of the search request (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0016], extracting the command from the audio data, the cloud-based information system may also extract one or more factors, such as a time/date that the audio data was received by the cloud-based information system, a time/date that the command was spoken by the individual, and/or a location of the voice-controlled electronic device that the individual spoke the command to);
performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database to
determine one or more category-specific locations within a specified distance of the current location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command. For example, the cloud-based information system may include a number of databases that each correspond to a different category. Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category);
retrieve category-specific geographic information corresponding to the one or
more category-specific locations having the particular category of meteorological or …information (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category);
for each of the one or more category-specific locations:
performing a search of a geographical name database to identify a
geographical name associated with the category-specific location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0049], if the spoken command is “What is the weather like today?”, response generation module 320 may receive the weather information for the date the command was made (e.g., “today”) from storage/memory 304 of weather category server 102, and may generate a response based on the received weather information. Continuing the example, the weather information may indicate that it is currently raining in the location that the command was made (e.g., Seattle, Wash.), and this information may be formulated into a response by response generation module 320 in textual format, and then sent to text-to-speech module 314 to be converted into an audio file); and
Sohn expressly discloses receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Rauner expressly discloses displaying the geographical name with the corresponding category specific geographic information (see Rauner paragraph [0094], graphical representations of a target geographical area (e.g., graphical maps) are uploaded into database(s) of storage device 162 and published for display to a display apparatus graphical user interface…the system administrator is prompted to give the map a name (e.g. Main Campus), which is saved and populated to a database of storage device 162).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rauner into the method of Kadarundalagi to have displaying the geographical name with the corresponding category specific geographic information. Here, combining Rauner with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to location query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved emergency messaging system (see Rauner paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Sohn expressly discloses …indications of distance between each category-specific location and location of the geographical name associated with the category-specific location (see Sohn page 9, paragraph 7, In the step of generating mountain stream address information corresponding to the point selected by the user (S200), the processor may generate mountain stream address information based on the name of at least one watershed located within a predetermined distance from the mountain stream section; see Sohn page 11, paragraph 4, When the processor 110 generates mountain range address information, it may be based on the watershed name within a predetermined distance. The processor 110 divides the mountain range section into a ridge grid, divides this grid into two directions, and assigns a unique number to each grid to generate detailed location information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have indications of distance between each category-specific location and location of the geographical name. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Rauner expressly discloses… displaying the geographical name (see Rauner paragraph [0094], graphical representations of a target geographical area (e.g., graphical maps) are uploaded into database(s) of storage device 162 and published for display to a display apparatus graphical user interface…the system administrator is prompted to give the map a name (e.g. Main Campus), which is saved and populated to a database of storage device 162).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rauner into the method of Kadarundalagi to have displaying the geographical name. Here, combining Rauner with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to location query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved emergency messaging system (see Rauner paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, discloses, see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0049]…the weather information may indicate that it is currently raining in the location that the command was made (e.g., Seattle, Wash.), and this information may be formulated into a response by response generation module 320 in textual format, and then sent to text-to-speech module 314 to be converted into an audio file.
Sohn expressly discloses wherein the particular category is tide, snow, or Wildfire (see Sohn page 14, paragraph 19, By applying the present invention, forest administration can be advanced through ultra-precision forest fire control using the mountain range address system, and the process of ignition-spread extinguishment of forest fires in mountainous terrain can be accurately explained and tracked).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have wherein the particular category is tide, snow, or Wildfire. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kadarundalagi discloses the particular category of meteorological (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category).
Sohn expressly discloses wherein the particular category of terrain information is tide-related information (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have wherein the particular category of terrain information is tide-related information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 5, Shon expressly discloses wherein the category-specific geographic information comprises latitude and longitude coordinates (see Sohn page 12, paragraph 4, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have the category-specific geographic information comprises latitude and longitude coordinate. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2)
Regarding claim 6, Rauneri expressly discloses receiving a selection of a geographical name for one of the corresponding category-specific locations( see Rauneri paragraph [0094], mapping module 158 provides for integration location names as follows: graphical representations of a target geographical area (e.g., graphical maps) are uploaded into database(s) of storage device 162 and published for display to a display apparatus graphical user interface; the system administrator is prompted to give the map a name (e.g. Main Campus), which is saved and populated to a database of storage device 162); and adding the selected geographical name to a list of category-specific locations (see Rauneri paragraph [0094], once the system administrator identifies a structure or feature and provides a name, mapping module 158 populates the name to a list of locations associated with that map; mapping module 158 calculates a coordinate range for the space inside the map building/feature and associates that coord0inate range with that map building/feature (within a predefined coordinate tolerance range).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rauneri into the method of Kadarundalagi to have selecting and adding the selected geographical name to a list of category-specific locations. Here, combining Rauneri with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to location query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved emergency messaging system (see Rauneri paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Kadarundalagi discloses method comprising:
receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of
meteorological or terrain information that is stored in a category-specific geographic database (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0015], An individual asking a question, or making a request, to a voice-controlled electronic device may be provided with one or more pieces of supplemental information based on the individual's account settings, preferences, or history, as well as the command that the individual made);
determining a first location based on the search request (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0016], extracting the command from the audio data, the cloud-based information system may also extract one or more factors, such as a time/date that the audio data was received by the cloud-based information system, a time/date that the command was spoken by the individual, and/or a location of the voice-controlled electronic device that the individual spoke the command to);
performing a category search of a geographical name database to identify one or more naming locations that are associated with the particular category of meteorological (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command. For example, the cloud-based information system may include a number of databases that each correspond to a different category. Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category)
or
…information and that are within a first specified distance of the first location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0049], if the spoken command is “What is the weather like today?”, response generation module 320 may receive the weather information for the date the command was made (e.g., “today”) from storage/memory 304 of weather category server 102, and may generate a response based on the received weather information. Continuing the example, the weather information may indicate that it is currently raining in the location that the command was made (e.g., Seattle, Wash.), and this information may be formulated into a response by response generation module 320 in textual format, and then sent to text-to-speech module 314 to be converted into an audio file);
for each of the one or more naming locations:
performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database to
determine one or more category-specific locations within a second specified distance of
the naming location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command. For example, the cloud-based information system may include a number of databases that each correspond to a different category. Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category);
retrieving category-specific geographic information corresponding to each
naming location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command); and
displaying the naming location with the corresponding category-specific
geographic information (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0049], if the spoken command is “What is the weather like today?”, response generation module 320 may receive the weather information for the date the command was made (e.g., “today”) from storage/memory 304 of weather category server 102, and may generate a response based on the received weather information).
Sohn expressly discloses identify one or more naming locations that are associated with the particular category of terrain information (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have identify one or more naming locations that are associated with the particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kadarundalagi discloses wherein the first location is a current location of the search request (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0016], extracting the command from the audio data, the cloud-based information system may also extract one or more factors, such as a time/date that the audio data was received by the cloud-based information system, a time/date that the command was spoken by the individual, and/or a location of the voice-controlled electronic device that the individual spoke the command to).
Regarding claim 9, Kadarundalagi discloses wherein the first location is a naming location associated with the received search request other than a current location of the search request (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0016], extracting the command from the audio data, the cloud-based information system may also extract one or more factors, such as a time/date that the audio data was received by the cloud-based information system, a time/date that the command was spoken by the individual, and/or a location of the voice-controlled electronic device that the individual spoke the command to).
Regarding claim 10, Sohn expressly discloses wherein the category search comprises searching naming locations belonging to the particular category in the geographical name database (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
.
Regarding claim 11, Sohn expressly discloses wherein the particular category is tide (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have wherein the particular category is tide. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sohn with Kadarundalagi discloses the particular category of meteorological or terrain information associated with the naming location.
Rauner expressly discloses wherein the displaying further comprising: displaying the naming location on a map on a first part of a user interface (see Rauner paragraph [0094], graphical representations of a target geographical area (e.g., graphical maps) are uploaded into database(s) of storage device 162 and published for display to a display apparatus graphical user interface…the system administrator is prompted to give the map a name (e.g. Main Campus), which is saved and populated to a database of storage device 162);
displaying the particular category of … information associated with the naming location on a second part of the UL (see Rauner paragraph [0094], graphical representations of a target geographical area (e.g., graphical maps) are uploaded into database(s) of storage device 162 and published for display to a display apparatus graphical user interface…the system administrator is prompted to give the map a name (e.g. Main Campus), which is saved and populated to a database of storage device 16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rauner Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Rauner with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved improved emergency messaging system (see Rauner paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Rauneri expressly discloses r receiving a selection of a geographical name for one of the corresponding category-specific locations ( see Rauneri paragraph [0094], mapping module 158 provides for integration location names as follows: graphical representations of a target geographical area (e.g., graphical maps) are uploaded into database(s) of storage device 162 and published for display to a display apparatus graphical user interface; the system administrator is prompted to give the map a name (e.g. Main Campus), which is saved and populated to a database of storage device 162); and adding the selected geographical name to a list of category-specific locations (see Rauneri paragraph [0094], once the system administrator identifies a structure or feature and provides a name, mapping module 158 populates the name to a list of locations associated with that map; mapping module 158 calculates a coordinate range for the space inside the map building/feature and associates that coord0inate range with that map building/feature (within a predefined coordinate tolerance range).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rauneri into the method of Kadarundalagi to have selecting and adding the selected geographical name to a list of category-specific locations. Here, combining Rauneri with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to location query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved emergency messaging system (see Rauneri paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Kadarundalagi discloses mobile device, comprising:
one or more processors (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0030], Various types of electronic devices may include, but are not limited to, desktop computers, mobile computers (e.g., laptops, ultrabooks), mobile phones; see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0032], Voice-controlled electronic device 10 may include one or more processors 202, storage/memory); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that cause the one or more processors to perform any one or more of operations (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0030], Various types of electronic devices may include, but are not limited to, desktop computers, mobile computers (e.g., laptops, ultrabooks), mobile phones; see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0032], Voice-controlled electronic device 10 may include one or more processors 202, storage/memory) comprising:
receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of
meteorological or terrain information that is stored in a category-specific geographic database (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0015], An individual asking a question, or making a request, to a voice-controlled electronic device may be provided with one or more pieces of supplemental information based on the individual's account settings, preferences, or history, as well as the command that the individual made);
determining a current location of the search request (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0016], extracting the command from the audio data, the cloud-based information system may also extract one or more factors, such as a time/date that the audio data was received by the cloud-based information system, a time/date that the command was spoken by the individual, and/or a location of the voice-controlled electronic device that the individual spoke the command to);
performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database to
determine one or more category-specific locations within a specified distance of the current location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command. For example, the cloud-based information system may include a number of databases that each correspond to a different category. Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category);
retrieve category-specific geographic information corresponding to the one or
more category-specific locations having the particular category of meteorological or … information (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category);
for each of the one or more category-specific locations:
performing a search of a geographical name database to identify a
geographical name associated with the category-specific location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0049], if the spoken command is “What is the weather like today?”, response generation module 320 may receive the weather information for the date the command was made (e.g., “today”) from storage/memory 304 of weather category server 102, and may generate a response based on the received weather information. Continuing the example, the weather information may indicate that it is currently raining in the location that the command was made (e.g., Seattle, Wash.), and this information may be formulated into a response by response generation module 320 in textual format, and then sent to text-to-speech module 314 to be converted into an audio file); and
displaying the geographical name with the corresponding category-specific
geographic information (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0049], if the spoken command is “What is the weather like today?”, response generation module 320 may receive the weather information for the date the command was made (e.g., “today”) from storage/memory 304 of weather category server 102, and may generate a response based on the received weather information).
Sohn expressly discloses receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 15, Sohn expressly discloses wherein displaying the geographical name comprises one or more indications of distance between each category-specific location and location of the geographical name associated with the category-specific location (see Sohn page 9, paragraph 7, In the step of generating mountain stream address information corresponding to the point selected by the user (S200), the processor may generate mountain stream address information based on the name of at least one watershed located within a predetermined distance from the mountain stream section; see Sohn page 11, paragraph 4, When the processor 110 generates mountain range address information, it may be based on the watershed name within a predetermined distance. The processor 110 divides the mountain range section into a ridge grid, divides this grid into two directions, and assigns a unique number to each grid to generate detailed location information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 16, Sohn expressly discloses, wherein the particular category of
… terrain information is tide-related information (see Sohn page 5, paragraph 11, Geographic information that the processor acquires in response to a point selected by the user includes coordinate information including latitude, longitude, and altitude information of the point (e.g., GPS coordinate information), and digital altitude indicating the height of the ground or terrain features of the given point. Model (DEM) information, high-resolution images showing the actual appearance of the point, infrared images, satellite images, GIS data from the Geographic Information System (GIS), water-related features such as rivers, lakes, wetlands, and sources, and water flow direction and amount, etc. It may include at least one of water resource and water system information , geographical name information, or administrative district name information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sohn into the method of Kadarundalagi to have receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of terrain information. Here, combining Sohn with Kadarundalagi, which are both related to query processing, improves Kadarundalagi by providing improved a management system centered on mountain ranges or mountain range sections for various information located on mountainous areas, (see Sohn page 2).
Regarding claim 17 Kadarundalagi discloses a mobile device, comprising:
one or more processors; and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that cause the one or more processors to perform any one or more of operations (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0030], Various types of electronic devices may include, but are not limited to, desktop computers, mobile computers (e.g., laptops, ultrabooks), mobile phones; see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0032], Voice-controlled electronic device 10 may include one or more processors 202, storage/memory) comprising:
receiving a search request for information related to a particular category of
meteorological … information that is stored in a category-specific geographic database (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0015], An individual asking a question, or making a request, to a voice-controlled electronic device may be provided with one or more pieces of supplemental information based on the individual's account settings, preferences, or history, as well as the command that the individual made);
determining a first location based on the search request (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0016], extracting the command from the audio data, the cloud-based information system may also extract one or more factors, such as a time/date that the audio data was received by the cloud-based information system, a time/date that the command was spoken by the individual, and/or a location of the voice-controlled electronic device that the individual spoke the command to);
performing a category search of a geographical name database to identify one or
more naming locations that are associated with the particular category of meteorological (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command. For example, the cloud-based information system may include a number of databases that each correspond to a different category. Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category) or
… information and that are within a first specified distance of the first location;
for each of the one or more naming locations (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category):
performing a spatial search of the category-specific geographic database to
determine one or more category-specific locations within a second specified distance of
the naming location (see Kadarundalagi paragraph [0017], After the audio data representing the command is received by the cloud-based information system, data may be retrieved to generate a response to the command. In some embodiments, the data used to generate the response may be retrieved from a category that is related to a context of the command. For example, the cloud-based information system may include a number of databases that each correspond to a different category. Based on the context of the command, a category relating to that context may be selected and data may be retrieved from that category to generate a response. Continuing the aforementioned example, the selected category may be the “weather” category, and therefore weather information may be retrieved from the weather category);
retrieving category-specific geographic information corresponding to each
n