Specification
The specification filed on March 18, 2025 is accepted.
Drawings
The drawings filed on March 18, 2025 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites the term “a state of machine” the examiner suggests to clarify the term.
Claim 14 recites “calculating fourth device value” the examiner suggests to clarify the purpose of generating the fourth device value.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12284275 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious
over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. The claims in the instant application are merely subset of the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 12284275. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896,225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY VBARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ONPETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC(DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1, 12 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites receiving message, calculating first value corresponding to product of first secret value and first prime number, deriving key corresponding to remainder of message divided by first value.
The limitations receiving message, calculating first value corresponding to product of first secret value and first prime number, deriving key corresponding to remainder of message divided by first value is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind mentally or physically nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind or using paper and pencil. Receiving message, calculating first value corresponding to product of first secret value and first prime number, deriving key corresponding to remainder of message divided by first value as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and mathematical calculation but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” and “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim recites additional element such as group of devices comprising first and second device. These elements in the claim are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of devices for receiving message, calculating first value corresponding to product of first secret value and first prime number, deriving key corresponding to remainder of message divided by first value, steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component see spec para of instant application [0097, 0100-0101 and 0104-0105]. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Further recited elements within dependent claims 2-11 and 13-19 taken individually do not amount to “significantly more” than just the abstract idea as previously identified above. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the previously defined abstract idea. Some of the evidences of “significantly more” are a) improvement to another technology or field; b) applying judicial exception with or by a “particular machine’; c) transforming particular article/data into different state or thing; d) adding unconventional or non-routine steps, producing useful application; and e) other meaningful limitations beyond generic link to particular technological environment.
As a result, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Also Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2360. Under Alice, that is not sufficient "to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention." See Alice Corporation v. CLS Bank International, (S.Ct.2014) and Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC. (Fed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “calculating a second value corresponding to a product of: the first secret value assigned to the first device; and the first prime number assigned to the first device” First, it appears that the first value in claim 1 is same as second value in claim 3 because both of these values are product of first secret value and first prime number. It is unclear why there is need to calculate the same value twice. Second, it is unclear whether the second value is calculated by the first device, the second device or the key server.
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “associating the second cryptographic key with communication among the second group of devices comprising the first device” and claim 1 recites “associating the first cryptographic key with communication among a first group of devices comprising the first device” it appears that the first group of devices and the second group of devices both include the first device and both the first cryptographic key and the second cryptographic key is being associated with first device. However, the purpose of deriving the second cryptographic key is unclear because the second cryptographic key is not utilized by the first device to perform any operation.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the group of devices". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “calculating a third value corresponding to a product of: the first secret value assigned to the first device; and the first prime number assigned to the first device” First, it appears that the first value in claim 12 is same as third value in claim 13 because both of these values are product of first secret value and first prime number. It is unclear why there is need to calculate the same value twice. Second, it is unclear whether the third value is calculated by the first device, the second device or the key server.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “calculating a first value corresponding to a product of the first secret value and the first prime number” and claim 12 recites “calculating a first device value, in a first set of device values, corresponding to a product of: a first secret value assigned to the first device; and a first prime number assigned to the first device” First, it appears that the first device value in claim 12 is same as first value in claim 15 because both of these values are product of first secret value and first prime number. It is unclear why there is need to calculate the same value twice. Second, it is unclear whether the first value is calculated by the first device, the second device or the key server.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhakar et al (hereinafter Sudhakar) (US 20080152148) in view of YANAGIMOTO (JP 2005094349) (attached English translation is used for examination).
Regarding claim 1 Sudhakar teaches a method comprising, at a first device: (Sudhakar on [0009] teaches method for generating and distributing a secure communication key);
receiving a first message comprising a first message value (Sudhakar on [0023 and 0029] teaches receiving a broadcast value);
calculating a first value corresponding to a product of: a (Sudhakar on [0026] each party having can have its own unique N (i.e., secret value) and unique prime number. See on [0021] teaches multiplying prime sum against another number);
deriving a first cryptographic key corresponding to a remainder of the first message value divided by the first value; (Sudhakar on [0023-0024] teaches once the broadcast value is known it can be communicated to the proper parties over the network. Each party receives the broadcast value and divides it by that party's unique prime number. Each party is unaware of the remaining prime numbers associated with the remaining parties; but, each party is aware of its own unique prime number. The remainder of a division calculation by each participating party results in reproduction of the secure communication key. When 1,157 is divided by 3 the result is 385 with a remainder of 2 and 2 is the original secure communication key); and
associating the first cryptographic key with communication among a first group of devices comprising the first device (Sudhakar on [0017 and 0026] teaches the secure communication keys are used by receiving parties or participants to encrypt and decrypt communications associated with a broadcast or multicast communication).
While Sudhakar teaches multiplying the prime numbers of each party and then calculating augment PS value by multiplying against another number (Fig 1 block 130-140), Sudhakar fails to explicitly teach multiplying the prime number with secret number before multiplying all the prime numbers together, however YANAGIMOTO from analogous art teaches
calculating a first value corresponding to a product of: a first secret value assigned to the first device; and a first prime number assigned to the first device; (YANAGIMOTO on [0035 and 0036] teaches encryption key is a value s obtained by multiplying first value prime number p with second value prime number q and the encryption key is a remainder obtained by dividing multiplication value with prime number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising: in response to receiving a first identifier assigned to the second device, accessing a policy defining a set of authorized identifiers (Sudhakar on [0018] teaches a requesting party may customize a list of identifiers for the multiple parties and submit that as a request to the server key generation and distribution service for generating and distributing a new secure communication key. See on [0032] teaches the request includes a list of participant identifiers that a trusted party service, such as the server key generation and distribution service, uses to acquire proper prime numbers and produce the broadcast value having the secure communication key that the client service may use to broadcast or multicast securely to the select parties. So, the client service may actually prompt or initiate the transmission of the broadcast value and may be actively looking for it over the network);
in response to detecting the first identifier in the set of authorized identifiers, selecting the first group of devices comprising the first device and the second device (Sudhakar on [0018] teaches a requesting party may customize a list of identifiers for the multiple parties and submit that as a request to the server key generation and distribution service for generating and distributing a new secure communication key. See on [0032] teaches the request includes a list of participant identifiers that a trusted party service, such as the server key generation and distribution service, uses to acquire proper prime numbers and produce the broadcast value having the secure communication key that the client service may use to broadcast or multicast securely to the select parties. So, the client service may actually prompt or initiate the transmission of the broadcast value and may be actively looking for it over the network. See on [claim 12] wherein receiving further includes acquiring the broadcast value in response to sending a list of participant identifiers to a trusted party service for purposes of obtaining the secure communication key via the broadcast value and to use the secure communication key to encrypt and decrypt communications that are subsequently multicast amongst participants associated with the list);
generating a second message specifying the first group of devices; and transmitting the second message to a key server (Sudhakar on [0018] teaches a requesting party may customize a list of identifiers for the multiple parties and submit that as a request to the server key generation and distribution service for generating and distributing a new secure communication key. See on [0032] teaches the request includes a list of participant identifiers that a trusted party service, such as the server key generation and distribution service, uses to acquire proper prime numbers and produce the broadcast value having the secure communication key that the client service may use to broadcast or multicast securely to the select parties. So, the client service may actually prompt or initiate the transmission of the broadcast value and may be actively looking for it over the network. i.e., request transmitted to server as a second message transmitted to server);
and wherein associating the first cryptographic key with communication among the first group of devices comprises associating the first cryptographic key, generated by the key server, with communication among the first group of devices comprising the first device and the second device (Sudhakar on [0017 and 0026] teaches the secure communication keys are used by receiving parties or participants to encrypt and decrypt communications associated with a broadcast or multicast communication).
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches receiving a second message from a second device in the first group of devices, the second message comprising an encrypted value; decrypting the encrypted value into a decrypted value based on the first cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0046] teaches that secure communication key may be subsequent used by each client service 302 to decrypt and perhaps encrypt communications occurring over the network and among the intended parties);
and validating the first cryptographic key in response to detecting correspondence between the decrypted value and a reference value (Sudhakar on [0025] teaches when this is received by a party, that party can divide by its prime number. If the remainder is 0 or some other small number such as 1 or 2 (or small range of values), which is known to all, then that party concludes its prime number is represented in the PIN and will look for the broadcast value being transmitted by the server key generation and distribution service having the embedded secure communications key. There is also another less secure mechanism that may be used. If a party obtains a remainder less than the threshold value, which is again a small number, then the party concludes its prime number is represented in the PIN and will look for the broadcast value being transmitted by the server key generation and distribution service having the embedded secure communications key i.e., validating the remainder is equivalent to validating key since remainder is the key).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches wherein associating the first cryptographic key with communication among the first group of devices comprises: encrypting the second message into an encrypted message based on the first cryptographic key; and transmitting the encrypted message to a second device in the first group of devices (Sudhakar on [0014, 0017, 0025 and 0046] teaches receiving encrypted communication encrypted using secure communication key and decrypted using the same secure communication key and validating the secure communication key by validating the remainder derived from dividing the BV by prime number).
YANAGIMOTO teaches generating a second message comprising a set of data representing a state of a machine associated with first device (YANAGIMOTO on [0117- 0118 and 0153] the transmission completion of the WEP key is notified to the user by displaying the message of completion of transmission of the WEP key on the display unit 23 and the display unit 33, but transmission completion of the WEP key may be notified to the user by, for example, lighting of an LED (Light Emitting Diode)).
The motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, YANAGIMOTO further teaches wherein receiving the first message comprises receiving the first message from a key server via a first communication link characterized by a first network type; and " further comprising transmitting the first message to a second device in the group of devices via a second communication link characterized by a second network type different from the first network type (YAMAOKA Fig 1 and text on [0041] teaches the application server 101 requests the distribution server 103 to transmit a notification to the part of the radio terminals 107 via the first network. The distribution server 103 is connected to a communication interface device 105 via a second network. i.e., transmitting message between devices using different networks).
The motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches wherein receiving the first message comprises receiving the first message from a second device in the first group of devices (Sudhakar on [0023 and 0029] teaches receiving a broadcast value).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above, Sudhakar further teaches wherein receiving the first message comprises receiving the first message from the second device via a first communication link between the first device and the second device in response to absence of a second communication link between the first device and a key server (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0024] teaches each of the subsequent parties can reacquire or derive the secure communication key from the broadcast value. Further teaches Once the broadcast value is known it can be communicated to the proper parties over the network (i.e., communication link). Each party receives the broadcast value and divides it by that party's unique prime number. Each party is unaware of the remaining prime numbers associated with the remaining parties; but each party is aware of its own unique prime number. The remainder of a division calculation by each participating party results in reproduction of the secure communication key. See on [0026] teaches the server key generation and distribution service may send the broadcast value or even the secure communication key to trusted third parties for subsequent distribution to the parties involved in the secure communication request. The trusted third party then uses the derived secure communication key to produce its own broadcast value that it sends to selective ones of the parties. This assumes the trusted third party is aware of the prime numbers of the parties it services, which could have been communicated prior to the request from the server key generation and distribution service to assist. See also Fig 2 block 210, 220, 230 and text on [0029 and 0034-0035] receive the message, derive the secure communication key and associate the secure communication key with communicating with other parties).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising, at the first device: storing the first secret value and the first prime number assigned to the first device (Sudhakar on [0026] teaches each party can have its own unique N (i.e., N secret value) and unique prime number. See on [0013] teaches a "party" and "participant" may be used synonymously and interchangeably. A party or participant is a resource, such as a user, an automated service or application, and/or a device that engages in secure communications i.e., first time when a party is assigned a unique prime number and integer N);
in response to storing the first secret value and the first prime number, generating a second message representing a request to join a second group of devices comprising the second device and excluding the first device; and transmitting the second message to the second device (Sudhakar on [0045-0046] teaches the communication key distribution service 301 may also first communicate membership limitations for subsequent communications or for the transmission of the broadcast value. This may be done by communicating a party identifying number (PIN). Each client service 302 inspects this PIN received over the network to determine if that particular client service 302 is to be expecting a broadcast value, is to communicate in a desired secure communication session, and is to be included in membership for subsequent communications. i.e., second message containing identifier of the requesting party to join the group of communication);
and wherein receiving the first message comprises receiving the first message for the first cryptographic key for communication among the first group of devices, the first group of devices comprising the second group of devices and the first device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0024] teaches each of the subsequent parties can reacquire or derive the secure communication key from the broadcast value. Further teaches Once the broadcast value is known it can be communicated to the proper parties over the network. Each party receives the broadcast value and divides it by that party's unique prime number. Each party is unaware of the remaining prime numbers associated with the remaining parties; but each party is aware of its own unique prime number. The remainder of a division calculation by each participating party results in reproduction of the secure communication key. See on [0026] teaches the server key generation and distribution service may send the broadcast value or even the secure communication key to trusted third parties for subsequent distribution to the parties involved in the secure communication request. The trusted third party then uses the derived secure communication key to produce its own broadcast value that it sends to selective ones of the parties. This assumes the trusted third party is aware of the prime numbers of the parties it services, which could have been communicated prior to the request from the server key generation and distribution service to assist. See also Fig 2 block 210, 220, 230 and text on [0029 and 0034-0035] receive the message, derive the secure communication key and associate the secure communication key with other parties).
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising, at a key server: generating the first cryptographic key for communication among the first group of devices (Sudhakar on [0022 and 0038] teaches the server key generation and distribution service randomly generated secure communication key);
calculating a first group value corresponding to a product of the first set of device values (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 130, 140 and text on [0020-0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service calculates a prime sum (i.e., group value). The prime sum is the product found by multiplying the prime numbers together (i.e., prime number assigned to each device). So, if there are 10 parties then the prime sum is the product of 10 prime numbers multiplied together. The server key generation and distribution service augments the prime sum by multiplying it against another number (N), where N is an integer value i.e., calculating device value as group value of all parties participating in group communication sum);
calculating the first message value corresponding to a sum of the first group value and the first cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service takes the augmented prime sum (prime sum.times.N) and adds to it a secure communication key that the server key generation and distribution service generates or obtains in some other manner. The augmented prime sum with the added secure communication key represents a broadcast value (i.e., first message value));
generating the first message comprising the first message value (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 150 and text on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK);
and transmitting the first message to the first device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a first device value, in a first set of device values, corresponding to a product of: the first secret value assigned to the first device; and the first prime number assigned to the first device; (YANAGIMOTO on [0035-0036, 0100 and 0111] teaches encryption key is a value s obtained by multiplying first value prime number p with second value prime number q and the encryption key is a remainder obtained by dividing multiplication value with prime number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Regarding claim 12 Sudhakar teaches a method comprising: (Sudhakar on [0009] teaches method for generating and distributing a secure communication key);
identifying a first group of devices comprising a first device and a second device (Sudhakar on [0020] teaches the server key generation and distribution service acquires the prime numbers for each of the
identified parties i.e., identifying group of parties. See on [0024] identifying large groups of parties);
generating a first cryptographic key for communication among the first group of devices (Sudhakar on [0022 and 0038] teaches the server key generation and distribution service randomly generated secure communication key);
calculating a first device value, in a first set of device values, corresponding to a product of:
a (Sudhakar on [0026] each party having can have its own unique N (i.e., secret value) and unique prime number. See on [0021] teaches multiplying prime sum against another number);
calculating a second device value, in the first set of device values, corresponding to a product of: a (Sudhakar on [0026] each party having can have its own unique N (i.e., secret value) and unique prime number. See on [0021] teaches multiplying prime sum against another number);
calculating a first group value corresponding to a product of the first set of device values (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 130, 140 and text on [0020-0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service calculates a prime sum (i.e., group value). The prime sum is the product found by multiplying the prime numbers together (i.e., prime number assigned to each device). So, if there are 10 parties then the prime sum is the product of 10 prime numbers multiplied together. The server key generation and distribution service augments the prime sum by multiplying it against another number (N), where N is an integer value i.e., calculating device value as group value of all parties participating in group communication sum);
calculating a first message value corresponding to a sum of the first group value and the first cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service takes the augmented prime sum (prime sum.times.N) and adds to it a secure communication key that the server key generation and distribution service generates or obtains in some other manner. The augmented prime sum with the added secure communication key represents a broadcast value (i.e., first message value));
generating a first message comprising the first message value (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 150 and text on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK);
transmitting the first message to the first device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
While, Sudhakar teaches multiplying the prime numbers of each party and then calculating augment PS value by multiplying against another number (Fig 1 block 130-140), Sudhakar fails to explicitly teach multiplying the prime number with secret number before multiplying all the prime numbers together, however YANAGIMOTO from analogous art teaches
calculating a first device value, in a first set of device values, corresponding to a product of:
a first secret value assigned to the first device; and a first prime number assigned to the first device (YANAGIMOTO on [0035-0036, 0100 and 0111] teaches encryption key is a value s obtained by multiplying first value prime number p with second value prime number q and the encryption key is a remainder obtained by dividing multiplication value with prime number);
calculating a second device value, in the first set of device values, corresponding to a product of: a second secret value assigned to the second device; and a second prime number assigned to the second device (YANAGIMOTO on [0245] teaches multiplies the prime number t and the WEP key v. See on [0255] teaches the CPU 91 multiplies the prime number t by the WEP key v, and supplies the remainder w obtained by dividing the multiplication value by the prime number u).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above, Sudhakar further teaches validating the first cryptographic key by detecting correspondence between the second value and the first cryptographic key and transmitting the first message to the second device in response to validating the first cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0025] teaches when this is received by a party, that party can divide by its prime number. If the remainder is 0 or some other small number such as 1 or 2 (or small range of values), which is known to all, then that party concludes its prime number is represented in the PIN and will look for the broadcast value being transmitted by the server key generation and distribution service having the embedded secure communications key. There is also another less secure mechanism that may be used. If a party obtains a remainder less than the threshold value, which is again a small number, then the party concludes its prime number is represented in the PIN and will look for the broadcast value being transmitted by the server key generation and distribution service having the embedded secure communications key i.e., validating the remainder is equivalent to validating key since remainder is the key).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a first value corresponding to a product of the first secret value and the first prime number; calculating a second value corresponding to a remainder of the first message value divided by the first value (YANAGIMOTO on [0035-0036, 0100 and 0111] teaches encryption key is a value s obtained by multiplying first value prime number p with second value prime number q and the encryption key is a remainder obtained by dividing multiplication value with prime number. See on [0245] teaches multiplies the prime number t and the WEP key v. See on [0255] teaches the CPU 91 multiplies the prime number t by the WEP key v, and supplies the remainder w obtained by dividing the multiplication value by the prime number u).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising: identifying a first subgroup of devices in the first group of devices, the first subgroup of devices comprising the first device and the second device; identifying a second subgroup of devices in the first group of devices, the second subgroup of devices comprising a third device (Sudhakar on [0058-0061] teaches he centralized communication key service 401 may instruct each distributed communication key service 402 to produce a version of the broadcast value by identifying of causing to be identified a subset of participants that each distributed communication key service 402 is to handle and by identifying or causing to be identified the secure communication key. Additionally, the prime numbers for subsets of the participants may be known in advance by a particular distributed communication key service 402 or may be dynamically acquired via an on-demand basis. Each distributed communication key service 402 is pre- configured or dynamically configured by the centralized communication key service 401 to assist with communicating a version of the broadcast value to a particular subset of the intended participants. Any version of a broadcast value can be handled by just the participants to whom it relates. It may also be the case that the centralized communication key service 401 uses a third party, such as a policy or identity service, to dynamically configure each distributed communication key service 402 for a particular subset of the intended participants);
calculating a second group value corresponding to a product of the second set of device values (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 130, 140 and text on [0020-0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service calculates a prime sum (i.e., group value). The prime sum is the product found by multiplying the prime numbers together (i.e., prime number assigned to each device). So, if there are 10 parties then the prime sum is the product of 10 prime numbers multiplied together. The server key generation and distribution service augments the prime sum by multiplying it against another number (N), where N is an integer value i.e., calculating device value as group value of all parties participating in group communication sum);
calculating a second message value corresponding to a sum of the second group value and the first cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service takes the augmented prime sum (prime sum.times.N) and adds to it a secure communication key that the server key generation and distribution service generates or obtains in some other manner. The augmented prime sum with the added secure communication key represents a broadcast value (i.e., first message value));
generating a second message comprising the second message value; and transmitting the second message to the third device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 150 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK. Further teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a third device value, in a second set of device values, corresponding to a product of: a third secret value assigned to the third device; and a third prime number assigned to the third device (YANAGIMOTO on [0245] teaches multiplies the prime number t and the WEP key v. See on [0255] teaches the CPU 91 multiplies the prime number t by the WEP key v, and supplies the remainder w obtained by dividing the multiplication value by the prime number u).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising: accessing a first keying material value for the first device; and deriving the first secret value based on a deterministic function according to the first keying material value (Sudhakar on [0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service augments the prime sum by multiplying it against another number (N), where N is an integer value. N can be selected in a variety of manners. For example, at 141, N may be selected as yet another unique prime number. Alternatively, at 141, N may be selected as some combination of available prime numbers. That is, a list of available prime numbers for use as N may be pre- established and a certain number of these may be selected, such as half of them, and then combined in some manner to generate N. This latter approach for selecting N may use nCr techniques; where n stands for any number of combinations Cand r stands for the number of things being selected (e.g., half would be denoted as n/2). ensures that parties cannot discover the prime numbers of other parties).
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising storing a population of secret values and a population of prime numbers, the population of secret values comprising the first secret value and the second secret value, the population of prime numbers comprising the first prime number and the second prime number (Sudhakar on [0026] the actual prime number associations may be stored in an identity vault that the server key generation and distribution service and the trusted third parties can dynamically access on demand using identifiers for the parties to acquire the prime number associations. See on [0020-0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service acquires prime number and integer value N corresponding to each party);
and wherein identifying the first group of devices comprises, in response to storing the population of secret values and the population of prime numbers (Sudhakar on [0020] teaches the server key generation and distribution service acquires the prime numbers for each of the identified parties i.e., identifying group of parties);
receiving a second message from the first device, the second message representing a request by the second device to join a second group of devices comprising the first device and excluding the second device and identifying the first group of devices comprising the second group of devices and the second device (Sudhakar on [0045-0046] teaches the communication key distribution service 301 may also first communicate membership limitations for subsequent communications or for the transmission of the broadcast value. This may be done by communicating a party identifying number (PIN). Each client service 302 inspects this PIN received over the network to determine if that particular client service 302 is to be expecting a broadcast value, is to communicate in a desired secure communication session, and is to be included in membership for subsequent communications. i.e., second message containing identifier of the requesting party to join the group of communication).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising, at the first device: receiving the first message comprising the first message value (Sudhakar on [0023 and 0029] teaches receiving a broadcast value);
calculating a (Sudhakar on [0026] each party having can have its own unique N (i.e., secret value) and unique prime number. See on [0021] teaches multiplying prime sum against another number);
deriving a first cryptographic key corresponding to a remainder of the first message value divided by the first value; (Sudhakar on [0023-0024] teaches once the broadcast value is known it can be communicated to the proper parties over the network. Each party receives the broadcast value and divides it by that party's unique prime number. Each party is unaware of the remaining prime numbers associated with the remaining parties; but, each party is aware of its own unique prime number. The remainder of a division calculation by each participating party results in reproduction of the secure communication key. When 1,157 is divided by 3 the result is 385 with a remainder of 2 and 2 is the original secure communication key); and
associating the first cryptographic key with communication among a first group of devices comprising the first device (Sudhakar on [0017 and 0026] teaches the secure communication keys are used by receiving parties or participants to encrypt and decrypt communications associated with a broadcast or multicast communication);
transmitting the first message to the second device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a first value corresponding to a product of: a first secret value assigned to the first device; and a first prime number assigned to the first device; (YANAGIMOTO on [0035 and 0036] teaches encryption key is a value s obtained by multiplying first value prime number p with second value prime number q and the encryption key is a remainder obtained by dividing multiplication value with prime number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Regarding claim 20 Sudhakar teaches a method comprising: (Sudhakar on [0009] teaches method for generating and distributing a secure communication key);
generating a cryptographic key for communication among a group of devices comprising a first device (Sudhakar on [0022 and 0038] teaches the server key generation and distribution service randomly generated secure communication key);
calculating a
a first secret value assigned to the first device; and a first prime number assigned to the first device (Sudhakar on [0026] each party having can have its own unique N (i.e., secret value) and unique prime number. See on [0021] teaches multiplying prime sum against another number);
calculating a group value corresponding to a product of the set of device values (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 130, 140 and text on [0020-0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service calculates a prime sum (i.e., group value). The prime sum is the product found by multiplying the prime numbers together (i.e., prime number assigned to each device). So, if there are 10 parties then the prime sum is the product of 10 prime numbers multiplied together. The server key generation and distribution service augments the prime sum by multiplying it against another number (N), where N is an integer value i.e., calculating device value as group value of all parties participating in group communication sum);
calculating a message value corresponding to a sum of the group value and the cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service takes the augmented prime sum (prime sum.times.N) and adds to it a secure communication key that the server key generation and distribution service generates or obtains in some other manner. The augmented prime sum with the added secure communication key represents a broadcast value (i.e., first message value));
generating a message comprising the message value (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 150 and text on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK);
transmitting the message to each device in the group of devices (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
While, Sudhakar teaches multiplying the prime numbers of each party and then calculating augment PS value by multiplying against another number (Fig 1 block 130-140), Sudhakar fails to explicitly teach multiplying the prime number with secret number before multiplying all the prime numbers together, however YANAGIMOTO from analogous art teaches
calculating a first device value, in a first set of device values, corresponding to a product of:
a first secret value assigned to the first device; and a first prime number assigned to the first device (YANAGIMOTO on [0035-0036, 0100 and 0111] teaches encryption key is a value s obtained by multiplying first value prime number p with second value prime number q and the encryption key is a remainder obtained by dividing multiplication value with prime number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhakar et al (hereinafter Sudhakar) (US 20080152148) in view of YANAGIMOTO (JP 2005094349) (attached English translation is used for examination) and further in view of RAMASAMY et al (hereinafter RAMASAMY) (US 20170064762).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sudhakar further teaches deriving the second cryptographic key corresponding to a remainder of the second value divided by the second message value (Sudhakar on [0027] teaches the server key generation and distribution service may also re-generate and re-communicate a revised secure communication key when a particular party is added, dropped, or revoked from access. All that is needed is for a new broadcast value to be broadcast over the network with a new secure communication key that excludes the compromised prime number associated with the compromised party or prime number of a dropped party or even includes the prime number of an added party);
and associating the second cryptographic key with communication among the second group of devices comprising the first device (Sudhakar on [0017 and 0026] teaches the secure communication keys are used by receiving parties or participants to encrypt and decrypt communications associated with a broadcast or multicast communication).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a second value corresponding to a product of: the first secret value assigned to the first device; and the first prime number assigned to the first device (YANAGIMOTO on [0245] teaches multiplies the prime number t and the WEP key v. See on [0255] teaches the CPU 91 multiplies the prime number t by the WEP key v, and supplies the remainder w obtained by dividing the multiplication value by the prime number u).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein receiving the first message comprises receiving the first message comprising a first sequence number; and further comprising: receiving a second message for a second cryptographic key for communication among a second group of devices, the second message comprising a second message value and a second sequence number; validating the second message by detecting the second sequence number exceeding the first sequence number, however RAMASAMY from analogous art teaches wherein receiving the first message comprises receiving the first message comprising a first sequence number; and further comprising: receiving a second message for a second cryptographic key for communication among a second group of devices, the second message comprising a second message value and a second sequence number; validating the second message by detecting the second sequence number exceeding the first sequence number (RAMASAMY on [0016-0020] teaches determine whether a first message sequence number of the new message is greater than a second message sequence number of a previous message, and validate the new message by performing a first level of integrity validation)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of RAMASAMY into the combined teaching of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO by validating the message based on the second sequence number being greater than first sequence number. One would be motivated to do so in order provide integrity protection of the message (RAMASAMY [0002-0010]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhakar et al (hereinafter Sudhakar) (US 20080152148) in view of YANAGIMOTO (JP 2005094349) (attached English translation is used for examination) and further in view of Levin et al (hereinafter Levin) (US 20210226783).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein storing the first secret value and the first prime number comprises storing the first secret value and the first prime number assigned to the first device in a hardware security module in the first device, however Levin from analogous art teaches
Sudhakar further teaches wherein storing the first secret value and the first prime number comprises storing the first secret value and the first prime number assigned to the first device in a hardware security module in the first device (Levin on [0052] storing prime number is secure memory).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Levin into the combined teaching of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO by storing secret value and prime number in HSM. One would be motivated to do so in order to protect the secret values and the prime number from unauthorized access by securely storing in secure memory (Levin [0052]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhakar et al (hereinafter Sudhakar) (US 20080152148) in view of YANAGIMOTO (JP 2005094349) (attached English translation is used for examination) and further in view of YAMAOKA (US 20170251036).
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above, Sudhakar further teaches further comprising: generating a second cryptographic key for communication among the second group of devices (Sudhakar on [0027] teaches the server key generation and distribution service may also re-generate and re-communicate a revised secure communication key when a particular party is added, dropped, or revoked from access. All that is needed is for a new broadcast value to be broadcast over the network with a new secure communication key that excludes the compromised prime number associated with the compromised party or prime number of a dropped party or even includes the prime number of an added party);
calculating a second group value corresponding to a product of the second set of device values (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 130, 140 and text on [0020-0021] teaches the server key generation and distribution service calculates a prime sum (i.e., group value). The prime sum is the product found by multiplying the prime numbers together (i.e., prime number assigned to each device). So, if there are 10 parties then the prime sum is the product of 10 prime numbers multiplied together. The server key generation and distribution service augments the prime sum by multiplying it against another number (N), where N is an integer value i.e., calculating device value as group value of all parties participating in group communication sum);
calculating a second message value corresponding to a sum of the second group value and the second cryptographic key (Sudhakar on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service takes the augmented prime sum (prime sum.times.N) and adds to it a secure communication key that the server key generation and distribution service generates or obtains in some other manner. The augmented prime sum with the added secure communication key represents a broadcast value (i.e., first message value));
generating a second message comprising the second message value (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 150 and text on [0022] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK);
and transmitting the second message to the first device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a third device value, in a second set of device values, corresponding to a product of: the first secret value assigned to the first device; and the first prime number assigned to the first device (YANAGIMOTO on [0245] teaches multiplies the prime number t and the WEP key v. See on [0255] teaches the CPU 91 multiplies the prime number t by the WEP key v, and supplies the remainder w obtained by dividing the multiplication value by the prime number u).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
The combination fails to teach identifying a second group of devices comprising the first device and excluding the second device, YAMAOKA from analogous art teaches
identifying a second group of devices comprising the first device and excluding the second device (YAMAOKA on Fig 4 and text on [0052-0053] teaches server storing list of prime value associated with each terminal ID. See on [0114-0117] teaches that the terminal IDs "Ta", "Tb", and "Tc" belong to a first group and that the terminal IDs "Td", "Te" and "Tf" belong to a second group. A product "D1" of the prime "Pa" associated with the terminal ID "Ta" included in the first group, the prime "Pb" associated with the terminal ID "Tb" included in the first group, and the prime "Pc" associated with the terminal ID "Tc" included in the first group is calculated. The product "D1" is set in a first notification message. A product "D2" of the prime "Pd" associated with the terminal ID "Td" included in the second group, the prime "Pe" associated with the terminal ID "Te" included in the second group, and the prime "Pf" associated with the terminal ID "Tf" included in the second group is calculated. The product "D2" is set in a second notification message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YAMAOKA into the combined teaching of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO by storing list of prime values and associated secret value corresponding to each device in a server. One would be motivated to do securely broadcast a message generated by server based on prime value and secret value corresponding to each device (YAMAOKA [0002 and 0006]).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Sudhakar, YANAGIMOTO and YAMAOKA teach all the limitations of claim 13 above, Sudhakar further teaches transmitting the second message to the third device (Sudhakar Fig 1 block 160 and text on [0022-0023] teaches the server key generation and distribution service generated a broadcast value BV (i.e., message) based on augmented prime sum added with secure key SCK and distribute the generated BV to each party).
YANAGIMOTO teaches calculating a fourth device value, in the second set of device values, corresponding to a product of: a third secret value assigned to the third device; and a third prime number assigned to the third device (YANAGIMOTO on [0245] teaches multiplies the prime number t and the WEP key v. See on [0255] teaches the CPU 91 multiplies the prime number t by the WEP key v, and supplies the remainder w obtained by dividing the multiplication value by the prime number u).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YANAGIMOTO into the teaching of Sudhakar by determining secure key based on remainder obtained by product of random number divided by unique value. One would be motivated to do so in order to establish secure communication between devices using secure communication key (YANAGIMOTO [0002-0005]).
YAMAOKA teaches wherein identifying the second group of devices comprises identifying the second group of devices comprising a third device (YAMAOKA on Fig 4 and text on [0052-0053] teaches server storing list of prime value associated with each terminal ID. See on [0114-0117] teaches that the terminal IDs "Ta", "Tb", and "Tc" belong to a first group and that the terminal IDs "Td", "Te" and "Tf" belong to a second group. A product "D1" of the prime "Pa" associated with the terminal ID "Ta" included in the first group, the prime "Pb" associated with the terminal ID "Tb" included in the first group, and the prime "Pc" associated with the terminal ID "Tc" included in the first group is calculated. The product "D1" is set in a first notification message. A product "D2" of the prime "Pd" associated with the terminal ID "Td" included in the second group, the prime "Pe" associated with the terminal ID "Te" included in the second group, and the prime "Pf" associated with the terminal ID "Tf" included in the second group is calculated. The product "D2" is set in a second notification message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of YAMAOKA into the combined teaching of Sudhakar and YANAGIMOTO by storing list of prime values and associated secret value corresponding to each device in a server. One would be motivated to do securely broadcast a message generated by server based on prime value and secret value corresponding to each device (YAMAOKA [0002 and 0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Slavin (US 5956407) is directed towards a method of encrypted communication including creating a message and looking up a public key of a recipient. Then, encoding the message via a first encoding process using a first portion of the public key to generated an intermediate encoded message. The intermediate encoded message is encoded via a second encoding process using a second portion of the public key to generate a final encoded message.
/MOEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436