DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed with the written response received on 24 June 2026 have been considered and an action on the merits follows. As directed by the amendment, claim(s) 1-2, 13, and 17-19 has/have been amended and claim(s) 3 & 5 is/are canceled. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-19 is/are pending in this application with an action on the merits to follow.
Because of the applicant's amendment, the following in the office action filed 06 April 2026, are hereby withdrawn:
Objections to the Drawings
Previous Objections to the Claims
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 18-19, line 18 each, should recite, “a set of loops of [[a]] the hook and loop coupling system”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the mounting patch has a radial maximum dimension larger than a radial maximum dimension of the second maximum dimension of the mounting patch and the maximum dimension of the second shoulder are radial maximum dimensions”. It is unclear if all the maximum dimensions are radial or just the second shoulder. Further, it is unclear if the radial maximum dimension is the same as the maximum dimension of the second shoulder, and it is unclear if the mounting patch maximum dimension is included in this. Further, there is a lack of antecedence in the claims for “the second maximum dimension of the mounting patch” as there is no “a second maximum dimension of the mounting patch” previously recited. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the mounting patch has a radial maximum dimension larger than a radial maximum dimension of the , and the maximum dimension of the mounting patch and the maximum dimension of the second shoulder are both radial maximum dimensions”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmelzer US 20080060110 in view of Tobias US 7237347.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Schmelzer discloses a system (Figs. 1-2F #200) for attaching a personal item to a shoe (Abstract), the system comprising: a shoe (Figs. 1-2A #100), wherein the shoe is a molded shoe made from a stretchable material (¶0004), the shoe having a plurality of expandable holes in an upper portion of the shoe (Figs. 1-2 #105; ¶0005); a shaft (Figs. 1-2F #210) having first and second ends (Figs. 1-2F #210 top/bottom); a first shoulder secured to the first end of the shaft (Figs. 1-2F #215), the first shoulder being configured for insertion through a first expandable hole of the plurality of expandable holes and configured to engage an inner surface of the upper portion of the shoe (¶0040); a second shoulder secured to the second end of the shaft (Figs. 1-2F #220); a mounting patch coupled to the second shoulder (Figs. 1-2F #225), the mounting patch comprising a receiving surface (¶0042) that extends at least to a second expandable hole of the plurality of expandable holes (Figs. 1-2A #205, the second expandable hole is adjacent to the first expandable hole, the receiving surface covering at least a portion of the adjacent second expandable hole (Fig. 2A shows #200 covers at least a portion of other holes #105), and wherein the mounting patch has a maximum dimension larger than a maximum dimension of the second shoulder (Figs. 2B-2C show #225 is larger than #220); a personal item (Figs. 1-2A show an ornament #205) comprising an attachment surface (Figs. 1-2F #205 surface; ¶0042), the attachment surface comprising a coupling system, (Figs. 1-2F; ¶0044 notes, “having a removably-attached shoulder, the removable shoulder can be attached to shaft 210 by a snap fastener, adjustable barrel nut, bayonet fastener, or other suitable fastener”), the attachment surface configured to securely yet releasably couple to the receiving surface via the coupling system when the attachment surface is placed into contact with the receiving surface (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056), the personal item being manually attachable to and detachable from the mounting patch via contact between the attachment surface and the receiving surface while the mounting remains coupled to the second shoulder (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056).
Schmelzer does not expressly disclose that the personal item is specifically plush, that the receiving surface specifically comprising hooks of a hook and loop coupling system, the attachment surface specifically comprising loops of the hook and loop coupling system, the personal item specifically being plush, and the attachment surface configured to couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system when the attachment surface is placed into contact with the receiving surface.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with a plush accessory attachment (Figs. 10A-B #42; Abstract) wherein the receiving surface specifically comprising hooks of a hook and loop coupling system (Figs. 10A-B #46), the attachment surface specifically comprising loops of a hook and loop coupling system (Figs. 10A-B #44), the personal item being plush (Col. 1:21-27), and the attachment surface configured to couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system when the attachment surface is placed into contact with the receiving surface (Col. 5:11-30).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the personal item is plush as “Children enjoy novelty items and accessories that they can wear, particularly plush items that resemble cute animals or popular characters” (Tobias Col. 1:13-15), and the receiving surface would have hooks and the attachment surface would have loops of a hook and loop coupling system, and the attachment surface configured to couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system when the attachment surface is placed into contact with the receiving surface since hook and loop material is inexpensive and easy for users to manipulate. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07. And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the toy would be in the form of an animal since, “Children enjoy novelty items and accessories that they can wear, particularly plush items that resemble cute animals or popular characters,” (Tobias Col. 1:17-21). Further, the Examiner notes that the ornament #205 is in the shape of a flower and thus it would be reasonable for the ornament to also be made in the shape of an animal since flora and fauna are common designs in the art for ornamentation.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plush personal item is a toy (Figs. 1-2A show an ornament #205, which is classically considered a toy).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, wherein a maximum dimension of the toy is less than twice a width of the shoe (Figs. 1-2F).
Regarding Claim 6, Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the toy has a coupling system (Figs. 1-2F; ¶0044, “having a removably-attached shoulder, the removable shoulder can be attached to shaft 210 by a snap fastener, adjustable barrel nut, bayonet fastener, or other suitable fastener”), but does not expressly disclose wherein the toy has at least one separate pair of hooks and loops of a hook and loop coupling system.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with an accessory attachment (Figs. 10A-B #42) that includes a toy (Figs. 10A-B #10) wherein the toy has at least one separate pair of hooks and loops (Figs. 10A-B #46/44) of a hook and loop coupling system (Fig. 10A).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the personal item would be a toy containing at least one separate pair of hooks and loops of a hook and loop coupling system since hook and loop material is inexpensive and easy for users to manipulate. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 7, Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the toy has a coupling system (Figs. 1-2F; ¶0044, “having a removably-attached shoulder, the removable shoulder can be attached to shaft 210 by a snap fastener, adjustable barrel nut, bayonet fastener, or other suitable fastener”), but does not expressly disclose wherein the toy has at least two separate pairs of hooks and loops of a hook and loop coupling system.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with an accessory attachment (Figs. 10A-B #42) that includes a toy (Figs. 10A-B #10) wherein the toy has at least two separate pairs of hooks and loops (Figs. 10A-B #46/44 show multiple hooks and loops on the material) of a hook and loop coupling system (Fig. 10A).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the personal item would be a toy containing at least two separate pair of hooks and loops of a hook and loop coupling system since hook and loop material is inexpensive and easy for users to manipulate. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 8, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, but does not expressly disclose wherein the toy's outer surface is made entirely of textile material.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with an accessory attachment (Figs. 4-5 #26) that includes a toy (Figs. 4-5 #10) wherein the toy’s outer surface is made entirely of textile material (Tobias Col. 3:5-15).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the personal item would be a toy because textiles used for toys are generally light weight and easy to clean. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 9, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the mounting patch extends above the surface of the first expandable hole by no more than one inch (Fig. 2C).
Regarding Claim 10, Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, but does not expressly disclose wherein the toy is in the form of an animal.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with an accessory attachment (Figs. 4-5 #26) that includes a toy (Figs. 4-5 #10) wherein the toy is in the form of an animal (Figs. 3-4).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the toy would be in the form of an animal since, “Children enjoy novelty items and accessories that they can wear, particularly plush items that resemble cute animals or popular characters,” (Tobias Col. 1:17-21). Further, the Examiner notes that the ornament #205 is in the shape of a flower and thus it would be reasonable for the ornament to also be made in the shape of an animal since flora and fauna are common designs in the art for ornamentation. Examiner notes a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04. A change in aesthetic (ornamental) design generally will not support patentability. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 11, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second shoulder is configured to engage an outer surface of the upper portion of the shoe (Fig. 2C).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the mounting patch and attachment surface are large enough to enable the toy to be securely attached at any rotational orientation of the toy to the mounting patch (Figs. 1-2C).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the mounting patch has a radial maximum dimension larger than a radial maximum dimension of the , and the maximum dimension of the mounting patch and the maximum dimension of the second shoulder are both radial maximum dimensions (Figs. 1-2B).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the shoe and the mounting patch are coupled together only via the first shoulder, the shaft, and the second shoulder (Figs. 1-2F).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the toy and the mounting patch are coupled together only via the receiving surface and the attachment surface (Figs. 1-2F; ¶0042).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the receiving surface has a maximum dimension larger than a maximum dimension of the second shoulder (Figs. 1-2F).
Regarding Claim 17, the modified system of Schmelzer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plush personal item is a tool (Figs. 1-2A show a portable ornament which could be a tool), a memento (Figs. 1-2A show a portable ornament which could be a momento), a portable item (Figs. 1-2A show a portable ornament), or a movable item (Figs. 1-2A show a portable ornament which is moveable in so much as it can be moved in the hole #105).
Regarding Independent Claim 18, Schmelzer discloses a system (Figs. 1-2F #200) for attaching a personal item to a shoe (Abstract), the system comprising: a shoe (Figs. 1-2A #100), wherein the shoe is a molded shoe made from a stretchable material (¶0004), the shoe having a plurality of expandable holes in an upper portion of the shoe (Figs. 1-2 #105; ¶0005); a shaft (Figs. 1-2F #210) having first and second ends (Figs. 1-2F #210 top/bottom); a first shoulder secured to the first end of the shaft (Figs. 1-2F #215), the first shoulder being configured for insertion through a first expandable hole of the plurality of expandable holes (Figs. 1-2F #105 (in which #200 is through; ¶0004-0005, 0038, 0040) and configured to engage an inner surface of the upper portion of the shoe (¶0040); a second shoulder secured to the second end of the shaft (Figs. 1-2F #220); a mounting patch coupled to the second shoulder (Figs. 1-2F #225), the mounting patch comprising a receiving surface (¶0042) that extends at least to a second expandable hole of the plurality of expandable holes (Fig. 2A shows #200 covers at least a portion of other holes #105), the second expandable hole is adjacent to the first expandable hole (Fig. 2A), the receiving surface covering at least a portion of the adjacent second expandable hole (Fig. 2A), the receiving surface comprising a coupling system (Figs. 1-2F; ¶0044, “having a removably-attached shoulder, the removable shoulder can be attached to shaft 210 by a snap fastener, adjustable barrel nut, bayonet fastener, or other suitable fastener”), and wherein the mounting patch has a maximum dimension larger than a maximum dimension of the second shoulder (Figs. 2B-2C show #225 is larger than #220); and a personal item comprising an attachment surface (Figs. 1-2F #205 surface; ¶0042), the attachment surface comprising the coupling system (¶0044), the attachment surface configured to securely yet releasably couple to the receiving surface (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056) when the attachment surface is placed into contact with the receiving surface (Figs. 1-2F), the personal item being manually attachable to and detachable from the mounting patch via contact between the attachment surface and the receiving surface (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056) while the mounting patch remains coupled to the second shoulder (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056), wherein a maximum dimension of the personal item is less than twice a width of the shoe (Figs. 1-2F).
Schmelzer does not expressly disclose that the personal item is specifically plush, the receiving surface comprising at least one of a set of hooks of a hook and loop coupling system; the attachment surface comprising at least a set of loops of a hook and loop coupling system, the attachment surface configured to securely yet releasably couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with a plush accessory attachment (Figs. 10A-B #42; Abstract) that includes a set of hooks (Figs. 10A-B #46/44) of a hook and loop coupling system (Fig. 10A); the attachment surface comprising a set of loops (Figs. 10A-B #46/44 show multiple hooks and loops on the material) of a hook and loop coupling system (Fig. 10A), the attachment surface configured to securely yet releasably couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system (Col. 5:11-30).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the personal item is plush as “Children enjoy novelty items and accessories that they can wear, particularly plush items that resemble cute animals or popular characters” (Tobias Col. 1:13-15), and such that the receiving surface would have hooks and loops and the attachment surface would contain multiple sets of hooks and loops of a hook and loop coupling system since hook and loop material is inexpensive and easy for users to manipulate. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Schmelzer discloses a system (Figs. 1-2F #200) for attaching a personal item to a shoe (Abstract), the system comprising: a shoe (Figs. 1-2A #100), wherein the shoe is a molded shoe made from a stretchable material (¶0004), the shoe having a plurality of expandable holes in an upper portion of the shoe (Figs. 1-2 #105; ¶0005); a shaft (Figs. 1-2F #210) having first and second ends (Figs. 1-2F #210 top/bottom); a first shoulder secured to the first end of the shaft (Figs. 1-2F #215), the first shoulder being configured for insertion through a first expandable hole of the plurality of expandable holes (Figs. 1-2F #105 (in which #200 is through; ¶0004-0005, 0038, 0040) and configured to engage an inner surface of the upper portion of the shoe (¶0040); a second shoulder secured to the second end of the shaft (Figs. 1-2F #220); a mounting patch coupled to the second shoulder (Figs. 1-2F #225), the mounting patch comprising a receiving surface (¶0042) that extends at least to a second expandable hole of the plurality of expandable holes (Fig. 2A shows #200 covers at least a portion of other holes #105), the second expandable hole is adjacent to the first expandable hole (Fig. 2A), the receiving surface covering at least a portion of the adjacent second expandable hole (Fig. 2A), the receiving surface comprising a coupling system (Figs. 1-2F; ¶0044, “having a removably-attached shoulder, the removable shoulder can be attached to shaft 210 by a snap fastener, adjustable barrel nut, bayonet fastener, or other suitable fastener”), and wherein the mounting patch has a maximum dimension larger than a maximum dimension of the second shoulder (Figs. 2B-2C show #225 is larger than #220); and a personal item comprising an attachment surface (Figs. 1-2F #205 surface; ¶0042), the attachment surface comprising the coupling system (¶0044), the attachment surface configured to securely and releasably couple to the receiving surface (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056) when the attachment surface is placed into contact with the receiving surface (Figs. 1-2F), the personal item being manually attachable to and detachable from the mounting patch via contact between the attachment surface and the receiving surface (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056) while the mounting patch remains coupled to the second shoulder (¶0038, 0042-0044, 0049-0056), wherein a maximum dimension of the personal item is less than twice a width of the shoe (Figs. 1-2F).
Schmelzer does not expressly disclose that the personal item is specifically plush, the receiving surface comprising one of a set of hooks of a hook and loop coupling system; the attachment surface comprising a set of loops of a hook and loop coupling system, the attachment surface configured to securely yet releasably couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system.
Tobias teaches a shoe (Fig. 3; Abstract) with a plush accessory attachment (Figs. 10A-B #42; Abstract) that includes a set of hooks (Figs. 10A-B #46/44) of a hook and loop coupling system (Fig. 10A); the attachment surface comprising a set of loops (Figs. 10A-B #46/44 show multiple hooks and loops on the material) of a hook and loop coupling system (Fig. 10A), the attachment surface configured to securely yet releasably couple to the receiving surface specifically via the hook and loop coupling system (Col. 5:11-30).
Both Schmelzer and Tobias teach analogous inventions in the art of accessories for decorating shoes. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Schmelzer with the teachings of Tobias such that the personal item is plush as “Children enjoy novelty items and accessories that they can wear, particularly plush items that resemble cute animals or popular characters” (Tobias Col. 1:13-15), and such that the receiving surface would have hooks and loops and the attachment surface would contain multiple sets of hooks and loops of a hook and loop coupling system since hook and loop material is inexpensive and easy for users to manipulate. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, the Examiner notes that the ornament #205 is in the shape of a flower and thus it would be reasonable for the ornament to also be made in the shape of an animal since flora and fauna are common designs in the art for ornamentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 24 June 2026, with respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, 9, and 11-17 and the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 3, 5-8, 10, and 18-19 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection of claim 1 and 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 18-19, Applicant argues:
Schmelzer does not disclose the amended limitations. Schmelzer is directed to a “localized, integrated ornament dash and dash shoulder assembly inserted through a single expandable hole. There is no disclosure in Schmelzer of a mounting patch having a receiving surface that covers at least a portion of an adjacent second expandable hole… Schmelzer's second shoulder is described as engaging the wearable item at the location of the single hole through which the fastener is inserted-it does not extend to, let alone cover, an adjacent hole… Schmelzer does not disclose a plush personal item that is separately and manually attachable and detachable from the mounting patch while the mounting patch remains coupled to the second shoulder. In Schmelzer, the decorative accessory is either integrally formed with the third shoulder or permanently attached (e.g., glued or mechanically fastened).” (Remarks Pg. 9-10)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 2A shows attachment device #200 covering at least part of the holes #105. Further, the size of the mounting patch is a results effective variable that would be determined by simply changing the magnitude of the mounting patch itself, which would involve only routine skill to one in the art and is a well-understood modification. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, ¶0044 of Schmelzer states, “third shoulder 225 is removably secured to second shoulder 220. In the embodiments having a removably-attached shoulder, the removable shoulder can be attached to shaft 210 by a snap fastener, adjustable barrel nut, bayonet fastener, or other suitable fastener,” which means the removable shoulder is removeable from the mounting patch (#225, which attaches to #220 as modified by Tobias via a hook and loop system so therefore has two parts; one part on the mounting patch and the other on second shoulder) while still leaving part of the mounting patch (the part of the hook and loop system) attached to the second shoulder #220. See 35 USC 103 rejection above.
Applicant submits that the dependent claims are patentable based on their dependencies from claim(s) 1 and 18-19; however, as discussed in the rejection and in the arguments above, claim(s) 1 and 18-19 are not allowable over the prior art. Therefore, these arguments have not been found convincing and the rejections of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 have been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732