DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz (U.S. 2022/0121659 A1) in view of Bennett et al. (U.S. 11,425,892 B1), in view of Bennett et al. (U.S. 2009/0030910 A1, hereinafter Bennett2).
Claim 1, Diaz teaches:
A computer-implemented method (Diaz, Fig. 2, Paragraph [0022], Each device used by each of the pet owners 220, management system 230, and/or pet adopters 240 includes the components of Fig. 3.) for dynamically managing electronic transactions of pet homing data (Diaz, Paragraph [0017], The system is a digital pet-matching platform that matches prospective pet adopters with pets and pet owners.), the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors (Diaz, Paragraph [0028], The process, illustrated in Fig. 4, is performed by at least one processor executing computer executable instructions stored on a computer readable storage medium.), a pet selection from a user device of a user, the pet selection indicating the user’s interest in homing a pet (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The pet adopter, based on a feed of pet profiles that meet the adopters’ search criteria, indicates an interest particular pet, which is equivalent to a pet selection. The adopters interact with the system via devices (see Diaz, Paragraphs [0020] and [0022]).);
identifying, by the one or more processors, a pet owner profile stored in a data store that includes a pet owner identifier corresponding to the user of the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], The pet adopter profiles 234 and the pet owner profiles 232 are stored in external resources 250. The pet adopters and the pet owners are collectively interpreted as pet owners, because pet adopters are potential pet owners and pet owners are current pet owners. When a pet adopter searches for a pet, a pet owner profile is matched with a pet adopter (see Diaz, Paragraph [0029]).);
determining, by the one or more processors, whether at least one pet profile corresponding to at least one pet record exists in the data store (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], The pet profiles 236 are stored in external resources 250.), wherein the determining includes searching for the at least one pet profile that includes pet data of a matching pet corresponding to the pet selection received from the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0026], The management system 300 matches pet profiles 236 based on search criteria established by pet adopters. The pet profiles 236 include data regarding the pet’s breed as well as data regarding the pet’s vaccinations, i.e. pet data (see Diaz, Paragraph [0021]).);
in response to determining that the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store, associating, by the one or more processors, the at least one pet profile with the pet owner profile (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The opening of an escrow effectively associates the pet adopter, the pet owner, and the pet. The opening of the escrow is performed only after at least one pet profile that meets the pet adopters’ search criteria is met, i.e. the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store.);
transmitting, by the one or more processors, a request including the pet profile to one or more external systems (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], The management system 230 may be configured to facilitate escrow via any of various external resources 250. As indicated by the bi-directional arrows between management system 230 and network 210 and the bi-directional arrows between network 210 and external resources 250, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the management system 230 to request information to and receive information from the external resources 250 during the escrow process.);
in response to the transmitting, receiving, by the one or more processors, one or more veterinary records corresponding to the pet profile from the one or more external systems, wherein the one or more veterinary records includes medication data (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], The confirming of vaccinations via an accredited animal hospital is medication data.);
updating, by the one or more processors, the at least one pet profile with the one or more veterinary records (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for any additional vaccinations received by the pet, for the pet profile to be updated with the additional vaccination records and/or updated access to the additional vaccination records via the external resources 250. Such a modification would ensure that the invention operates for its intended function and would yield predictable results.); and
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the at least one updated pet profile to the user device via a notification (Diaz, Paragraphs [0020] and [0026], During a pet adopter’s search, the results of the search are provided on the respective device of the pet adopters. During the escrow process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the search results of the pets to include updated vaccination data for each of the pet profiles that match the pet adopter’s search.).
Diaz does not explicitly teach:
Searching one or more data stores; and
associating the at least one pet profile with the pet owner profile by including a unique pet identifier corresponding to the pet in the pet owner profile;
retrieving, by the one or more processors, a microchip identifier from the at least one pet profile.
As per searching one or more data stores, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the management system 300 to search within the various external resources 250 (see Diaz, Fig. 2: 250) in addition to pet profiles 236 (see Diaz, Fig. 2: 236, Paragraph [0021]), i.e. one or more data stores, in order to match pet profiles with pet adopter’s search criteria. Such a modification would not render the invention inoperable for its intended purpose and would yield predictable results.
Bennett teaches:
Associating the pet profile with the pet owner profile by including the unique pet identifier corresponding to the pet in the pet owner profile (Bennett, Col. 7, Lines 9-28, The new pet profile includes information about the pet as well as the user identifier (ID) of the owner of the pet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Diaz by integrating the system of Bennett.
The motivation would be to utilize an improved method of reuniting lost pets with their owners (see Bennett, Col. 3, Lines 1-12).
Diaz in view of Bennett does not specifically teach:
Retrieving, by the one or more processors, a microchip identifier from the at least one pet profile.
Bennett2 teaches:
Retrieving, by the one or more processors, ID chip details from the at least one pet profile (Bennett2, Fig. 7: 706, Paragraph [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Diaz in view of Bennett by integrating the teaching of information storage and management system of Bennett2.
The motivation would be to utilize a convenient method of organizing user data (see Bennett2, Paragraph [0054]).
Claim 2, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer-implemented method further comprising:
in response to receiving the pet selection, displaying, by the one or more processors, one or more prompts on one or more user interfaces of the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], Once a pet adopter matches with a pet and pet owner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pet adopter device to include additional prompts. For example, the pet adopter has access to owner profiles and pet profiles via external resources 250. The additional prompts, e.g. through a social media account link, enables the pet adopter to access the additional information stored in the external resources.).
Claim 3, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the at least one pet profile corresponding to the at least one pet record exists in the data store comprises:
analyzing, by the one or more processors, the pet owner profile to determine that the pet owner profile does include a pet profile that matches data in the at least one pet record (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The opening of an escrow effectively associates the pet adopter, the pet owner, and the pet. The opening of the escrow is performed only after at least one pet profile that meets the pet adopters’ search criteria is met, i.e. the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store. During the escrow process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pet adopter, pet owner, and the pet profile to match in order to effectively transfer the ownership of the pet from the original pet owner to the future pet owner, i.e. the pet adopter.).
Claim 4, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer-implemented method further comprising:
utilizing, by the one or more processors, data in at least one of the pet owner profile or the at least one pet profile for interactions with one or more external systems (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], External resources 250 provides information, e.g. social media links, to the pet owners, the pets, and pet adopters. The accessible data, e.g. the social media links, are included in the owner profiles 232, pet profiles 236, and/or adopter profiles 234.).
Claim 5, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the one or more external systems includes at least one of a wellness system, a diagnostic system, a homing system, a content management system, a genetics system, or a third party services system (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], External resources 250 are functionally equivalent to a content management system, e.g. social media links.).
Claim 7, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the at least one pet profile corresponding to the at least one pet record exists in the data store comprises:
searching, by the one or more processors, the one or more data stores for the at least one pet profile that includes data of the at least one pet record (Diaz, Paragraph [0026], The management system 300 matches pet profiles 236 based on search criteria established by pet adopters. The pet profiles 236 include data regarding the pet’s breed as well as data regarding the pet’s vaccinations, i.e. pet data (see Diaz, Paragraph [0021]).).
Claim 8, Diaz teaches:
A computer system (Diaz, Fig. 2, Paragraph [0022], Each device used by each of the pet owners 220, management system 230, and/or pet adopters 240 includes the components of Fig. 3.) for dynamically managing electronic transactions of pet homing data (Diaz, Paragraph [0017], The system is a digital pet-matching platform that matches prospective pet adopters with pets and pet owners.), the computer system comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (Diaz, Paragraphs [0023-0024]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations (Diaz, Paragraphs [0023-0024]) comprising:
receiving (Diaz, Paragraph [0028], The process, illustrated in Fig. 4, is performed by at least one processor executing computer executable instructions stored on a computer readable storage medium.) a pet selection from a user device of a user, the pet selection indicating the user’s interest in homing a pet (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The pet adopter, based on a feed of pet profiles that meet the adopters’ search criteria, indicates an interest particular pet, which is equivalent to a pet selection. The adopters interact with the system via devices (see Diaz, Paragraphs [0020] and [0022]).);
identifying a pet owner profile stored in a data store that includes a pet owner identifier corresponding to the user of the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], The pet adopter profiles 234 and the pet owner profiles 232 are stored in external resources 250. The pet adopters and the pet owners are collectively interpreted as pet owners, because pet adopters are potential pet owners and pet owners are current pet owners. When a pet adopter searches for a pet, a pet owner profile is matched with a pet adopter (see Diaz, Paragraph [0029]).);
determining whether at least one pet profile corresponding to at least one pet record exists in the data store (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], The pet profiles 236 are stored in external resources 250.), wherein the determining includes searching for the at least one pet profile that includes pet data of a matching pet corresponding to the pet selection received from the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0026], The management system 300 matches pet profiles 236 based on search criteria established by pet adopters. The pet profiles 236 include data regarding the pet’s breed as well as data regarding the pet’s vaccinations, i.e. pet data (see Diaz, Paragraph [0021]).); and
in response to determining that the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store, associating the at least one pet profile with the pet owner profile (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The opening of an escrow effectively associates the pet adopter, the pet owner, and the pet. The opening of the escrow is performed only after at least one pet profile that meets the pet adopters’ search criteria is met, i.e. the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store.);
transmitting a request including the pet profile to one or more external systems (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], The management system 230 may be configured to facilitate escrow via any of various external resources 250. As indicated by the bi-directional arrows between management system 230 and network 210 and the bi-directional arrows between network 210 and external resources 250, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the management system 230 to request information to and receive information from the external resources 250 during the escrow process.);
in response to the transmitting, receiving one or more veterinary records corresponding to the pet profile from the one or more external systems, wherein the one or more veterinary records includes medication data (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], The confirming of vaccinations via an accredited animal hospital is medication data.);
updating the at least one pet profile with the one or more veterinary records (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for any additional vaccinations received by the pet, for the pet profile to be updated with the additional vaccination records and/or updated access to the additional vaccination records via the external resources 250. Such a modification would ensure that the invention operates for its intended function and would yield predictable results.);
transmitting the at least one updated pet profile to the user device via a notification (Diaz, Paragraphs [0020] and [0026], During a pet adopter’s search, the results of the search are provided on the respective device of the pet adopters. During the escrow process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the search results of the pets to include updated vaccination data for each of the pet profiles that match the pet adopter’s search.).
Diaz does not explicitly teach:
Searching one or more data stores; and
associating the at least one pet profile with the pet owner profile by including a unique pet identifier corresponding to the pet in the pet owner profile;
retrieving a microchip identifier from the at least one pet profile.
As per searching one or more data stores, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the management system 300 to search within the various external resources 250 (see Diaz, Fig. 2: 250) in addition to pet profiles 236 (see Diaz, Fig. 2: 236, Paragraph [0021]), i.e. one or more data stores, in order to match pet profiles with pet adopter’s search criteria. Such a modification would not render the invention inoperable for its intended purpose and would yield predictable results.
Bennett teaches:
Associating the pet profile with the pet owner profile by including the unique pet identifier corresponding to the pet in the pet owner profile (Bennett, Col. 7, Lines 9-28, The new pet profile includes information about the pet as well as the user identifier (ID) of the owner of the pet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Diaz by integrating the system of Bennett.
The motivation would be to utilize an improved method of reuniting lost pets with their owners (see Bennett, Col. 3, Lines 1-12).
Diaz in view of Bennett does not specifically teach:
Retrieving a microchip identifier from the at least one pet profile.
Bennett2 teaches:
Retrieving ID chip details from the at least one pet profile (Bennett2, Fig. 7: 706, Paragraph [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Diaz in view of Bennett by integrating the teaching of information storage and management system of Bennett2.
The motivation would be to utilize a convenient method of organizing user data (see Bennett2, Paragraph [0054]).
Claim 9, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer system of claim 8, the operations further comprising:
in response to receiving the pet selection, displaying one or more prompts on one or more user interfaces of the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], Once a pet adopter matches with a pet and pet owner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pet adopter device to include additional prompts. For example, the pet adopter has access to owner profiles and pet profiles via external resources 250. The additional prompts, e.g. through a social media account link, enables the pet adopter to access the additional information stored in the external resources.).
Claim 10, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer system of claim 8, wherein determining whether the at least one pet profile corresponding to the at least one pet record exists in the data store comprises:
analyzing the pet owner profile to determine that the pet owner profile does include a pet profile that matches data in the at least one pet record (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The opening of an escrow effectively associates the pet adopter, the pet owner, and the pet. The opening of the escrow is performed only after at least one pet profile that meets the pet adopters’ search criteria is met, i.e. the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store. During the escrow process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pet adopter, pet owner, and the pet profile to match in order to effectively transfer the ownership of the pet from the original pet owner to the future pet owner, i.e. the pet adopter.).
Claim 11, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer system of claim 8, the operations further comprising:
utilizing data in at least one of the pet owner profile or the at least one pet profile for interactions with the one or more external systems (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], External resources 250 provides information, e.g. social media links, to the pet owners, the pets, and pet adopters. The accessible data, e.g. the social media links, are included in the owner profiles 232, pet profiles 236, and/or adopter profiles 234.).
Claim 12, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer system of claim 11, wherein the one or more external systems includes at least one of a wellness system, a diagnostic system, a homing system, a content management system, a genetics system, or a third party services system (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], External resources 250 are functionally equivalent to a content management system, e.g. social media links.).
Claim 14, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer system of claim 8, wherein determining whether the at least one pet profile corresponding to the at least one pet record exists in the data store comprises:
searching the one or more data stores for the at least one pet profile that includes data of the at least one pet record (Diaz, Paragraph [0026], The management system 300 matches pet profiles 236 based on search criteria established by pet adopters. The pet profiles 236 include data regarding the pet’s breed as well as data regarding the pet’s vaccinations, i.e. pet data (see Diaz, Paragraph [0021]).).
Claim 15, Diaz teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Diaz, Paragraphs [0023-0024]), cause the at least one processor to perform operations for dynamically managing electronic transactions of pet homing data (Diaz, Paragraph [0017], The system is a digital pet-matching platform that matches prospective pet adopters with pets and pet owners.), the operations comprising:
receiving (Diaz, Paragraph [0028], The process, illustrated in Fig. 4, is performed by at least one processor executing computer executable instructions stored on a computer readable storage medium.) a pet selection from a user device of a user, the pet selection indicating the user’s interest in homing a pet (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The pet adopter, based on a feed of pet profiles that meet the adopters’ search criteria, indicates an interest particular pet, which is equivalent to a pet selection. The adopters interact with the system via devices (see Diaz, Paragraphs [0020] and [0022]).);
identifying a pet owner profile stored in a data store that includes a pet owner identifier corresponding to the user of the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], The pet adopter profiles 234 and the pet owner profiles 232 are stored in external resources 250. The pet adopters and the pet owners are collectively interpreted as pet owners, because pet adopters are potential pet owners and pet owners are current pet owners. When a pet adopter searches for a pet, a pet owner profile is matched with a pet adopter (see Diaz, Paragraph [0029]).);
determining whether at least one pet profile corresponding to at least one pet record exists in the data store (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], The pet profiles 236 are stored in external resources 250.), wherein the determining includes searching for the at least one pet profile that includes pet data of a matching pet corresponding to the pet selection received from the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0026], The management system 300 matches pet profiles 236 based on search criteria established by pet adopters. The pet profiles 236 include data regarding the pet’s breed as well as data regarding the pet’s vaccinations, i.e. pet data (see Diaz, Paragraph [0021]).);
in response to determining that the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store, associating the at least one pet profile with the pet owner profile (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The opening of an escrow effectively associates the pet adopter, the pet owner, and the pet. The opening of the escrow is performed only after at least one pet profile that meets the pet adopters’ search criteria is met, i.e. the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store.);
transmitting a request including the pet profile to one or more external systems (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], The management system 230 may be configured to facilitate escrow via any of various external resources 250. As indicated by the bi-directional arrows between management system 230 and network 210 and the bi-directional arrows between network 210 and external resources 250, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the management system 230 to request information to and receive information from the external resources 250 during the escrow process.);
in response to the transmitting. receiving one or more veterinary records corresponding to the pet profile from the one or more external systems, wherein the one or more veterinary records includes medication data (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], The confirming of vaccinations via an accredited animal hospital is medication data.);
updating the at least one pet profile with the one or more veterinary records (Diaz, Fig. 1: 250, Paragraph [0021], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for any additional vaccinations received by the pet, for the pet profile to be updated with the additional vaccination records and/or updated access to the additional vaccination records via the external resources 250. Such a modification would ensure that the invention operates for its intended function and would yield predictable results.); and
transmitting the at least one updated pet profile to the user device via a notification (Diaz, Paragraphs [0020] and [0026], During a pet adopter’s search, the results of the search are provided on the respective device of the pet adopters. During the escrow process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the search results of the pets to include updated vaccination data for each of the pet profiles that match the pet adopter’s search.).
Diaz does not explicitly teach:
Searching one or more data stores; and
associating the at least one pet profile with the pet owner profile by including a unique pet identifier corresponding to the pet in the pet owner profile;
retrieving a microchip identifier from the at least one pet profile.
As per searching one or more data stores, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the management system 300 to search within the various external resources 250 (see Diaz, Fig. 2: 250) in addition to pet profiles 236 (see Diaz, Fig. 2: 236, Paragraph [0021]), i.e. one or more data stores, in order to match pet profiles with pet adopter’s search criteria. Such a modification would not render the invention inoperable for its intended purpose and would yield predictable results.
Bennett teaches:
Associating the pet profile with the pet owner profile by including the unique pet identifier corresponding to the pet in the pet owner profile (Bennett, Col. 7, Lines 9-28, The new pet profile includes information about the pet as well as the user identifier (ID) of the owner of the pet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Diaz by integrating the system of Bennett.
The motivation would be to utilize an improved method of reuniting lost pets with their owners (see Bennett, Col. 3, Lines 1-12).
Diaz in view of Bennett does not specifically teach:
Retrieving a microchip identifier from the at least one pet profile.
Bennett2 teaches:
Retrieving ID chip details from the at least one pet profile (Bennett2, Fig. 7: 706, Paragraph [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Diaz in view of Bennett by integrating the teaching of information storage and management system of Bennett2.
The motivation would be to utilize a convenient method of organizing user data (see Bennett2, Paragraph [0054]).
Claim 16, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, the operations further comprising:
in response to receiving the pet selection, displaying one or more prompts on one or more user interfaces of the user device (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], Once a pet adopter matches with a pet and pet owner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pet adopter device to include additional prompts. For example, the pet adopter has access to owner profiles and pet profiles via external resources 250. The additional prompts, e.g. through a social media account link, enables the pet adopter to access the additional information stored in the external resources.).
Claim 17, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein determining whether the at least one pet profile corresponding to the at least one pet record exists in the data store comprises:
analyzing the pet owner profile to determine that the pet owner profile does include a pet profile that matches data in the at least one pet record (Diaz, Paragraph [0029], The opening of an escrow effectively associates the pet adopter, the pet owner, and the pet. The opening of the escrow is performed only after at least one pet profile that meets the pet adopters’ search criteria is met, i.e. the at least one pet profile does exist in the data store. During the escrow process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pet adopter, pet owner, and the pet profile to match in order to effectively transfer the ownership of the pet from the original pet owner to the future pet owner, i.e. the pet adopter.).
Claim 18, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, the operations further comprising:
utilizing data in at least one of the pet owner profile or the at least one pet profile for interactions with the one or more external systems (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], External resources 250 provides information, e.g. social media links, to the pet owners, the pets, and pet adopters. The accessible data, e.g. the social media links, are included in the owner profiles 232, pet profiles 236, and/or adopter profiles 234.).
Claim 19, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more external systems includes at least one of a wellness system, a diagnostic system, a homing system, a content management system, a genetics system, or a third party services system (Diaz, Paragraph [0021], External resources 250 are functionally equivalent to a content management system, e.g. social media links.).
Claim 21, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer-implemented method further comprising:
updating, by the one or more processors, a status corresponding to the at least one pet record from an available status to an unavailable status (Diaz, Paragraph [0027], Once all escrow conditions are met, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the pet owner of a specific pet profile to no longer be the pet owner, and for the pet adopter of the specific pet profile to become the pet owner, thereby the previous pet owner’s “status” corresponding to the pet profile would be unavailable. Such a modification would ensure that the pet profile does not mistakenly match a previous pet owner with a future pet adopter and would enable the system to operate for its intended purpose.).
Claim 22, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The computer system of claim 8, the operations further comprising:
updating a status corresponding to the at least one pet record from an available status to an unavailable status (Diaz, Paragraph [0027], Once all escrow conditions are met, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the pet owner of a specific pet profile to no longer be the pet owner, and for the pet adopter of the specific pet profile to become the pet owner, thereby the previous pet owner’s “status” corresponding to the pet profile would be unavailable. Such a modification would ensure that the pet profile does not mistakenly match a previous pet owner with a future pet adopter and would enable the system to operate for its intended purpose.).
Claim 23, Diaz in view of Bennett, in view of Bennett2 further teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, the operations further comprising:
updating a status corresponding to the at least one pet record from an available status to an unavailable status (Diaz, Paragraph [0027], Once all escrow conditions are met, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the pet owner of a specific pet profile to no longer be the pet owner, and for the pet adopter of the specific pet profile to become the pet owner, thereby the previous pet owner’s “status” corresponding to the pet profile would be unavailable. Such a modification would ensure that the pet profile does not mistakenly match a previous pet owner with a future pet adopter and would enable the system to operate for its intended purpose.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment.
The Examiner further notes that the Non-Final Rejection dated 05/04/2026 disclosed that the claims of the present invention were not rejected under double patenting due to the diverging subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686