DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) with reference to Provisional Application Number: 63/566,756 filed on 3/18/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/12/25 & 10/2/25 was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Sheets 1-9 of the figures are objected to because the drawing sheets are numbered improperly. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(t), which requires the drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion.
Figure(s) 3 and 10 is/are objected to because they contain cross-sectional views without indicating the plane upon which the sectional views are taken as required by 37 CFR 1.84 (h)(3).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “capture angle” of claim 2; “intrinsic capture angle” of claims 8 and 10-11; “capture angle” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17: line 2, replace “replaceable” with ---replace-ably---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2 and 8-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 2 and 9: recites “a capture angle of less than twenty degrees”; however, the term “capture angle” is undefined by the figures and the claims so it is unclear what angle this is referencing and claiming. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim(s) 8 and 10-11: recites “an intrinsic capture angle”; however, the term “capture angle” is undefined by the figures and the claims so it is unclear what angle this is referencing and claiming. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim 15: recites “the applicator includes at least one of a brush and a swab”; however, as best understood this is the “applicator tip” required by claim 8 and not some other structure, yet no structural relationship is set forth between them. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “the applicator tip is one of a brush and a swab”. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Volatier (US 20250031831).
Claim 1: Volatier discloses a dispenser (see Fig 1) including: a liquid lipstick or mascara [0001] which are both know fluid pigment cosmetics; a tube (2) with an interior reservoir containing the mascara or liquid lipstick; a first end of the dispenser includes an opening to the reservoir forming a threaded end portion (2b) [0039] and an opposite end including a series of stems (protrusions formed between grooves (2d) + bottom clipping member (2c)) [0053-0056] that extend along axes parallel and coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the dispenser and the stems in combination have a non-circular cross-sectional shape (see Figs 5-8). An applicator (3) includes a top for the dispenser (3a+7), the top including a threaded top portion (31 inside 3a, see Fig 4) complementary to the threaded end portion of the dispenser. The top couples to the dispenser with the threading of the top portion to the threaded end portion to enclose the cosmetic within the reservoir of the dispenser (see Figs 1-8). A wand (3b) extends from the top into the reservoir when the top is closed on the dispenser (see Figs 1-8); and an applicator tip (3c) on the wand (see Figs 1-8).
Claims 3-5: the cosmetic is described as mascara or liquid lipstick [0001] and liquid lipstick colors the nails and cuticles as does mascara when accidentally applied thereto. Mascara and liquid lipstick can be used as eyeliner too if a user so chooses. So Volatier teaches these limitations.
Claim 6: all cosmetics are known to include preservatives, so since Volatier teaches the cosmetic being lipstick or mascara, the office interprets this to constitute the cosmetic including a preservative.
Claim 16: Volatier discloses a dispenser (see Fig 1) including: a liquid lipstick or mascara [0001] which are both know fluid pigment cosmetics; a tube (2) with an interior reservoir containing the mascara or liquid lipstick; a first end of the dispenser includes an opening to the reservoir forming a threaded end portion (2b) [0039] and an opposite end including a series of stems (protrusions formed between grooves (2d) + bottom clipping member (2c)) [0053-0056] that extend along axes parallel and coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the dispenser and the stems in combination have a radially repeating cross-sectional shape (see Figs 5-8). An applicator (3) includes a top for the dispenser (3a+7), the top including a threaded top portion (31 inside 3a, see Fig 4) complementary to the threaded end portion of the dispenser. The top couples to the dispenser with the threading of the top portion to the threaded end portion to enclose the cosmetic within the reservoir of the dispenser (see Figs 1-8). A wand (3b) extends from the top into the reservoir when the top is closed on the dispenser (see Figs 1-8); and an applicator tip (3c) on the wand (see Figs 1-8).
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin-126 (US 20200268126).
Claims 1 and 4-5: Lin-126 discloses a dispenser comprising: mascara [0034] a known cosmetic with a pigment in a fluid carrier; a tube (114) with an interior reservoir containing the mascara [0034] and mascara can be used as eyeLin-126er; a first end of the dispenser includes an opening to the reservoir joined to a threaded end (1150); a second end of the dispenser having a stem (1140) extending along a longitudinal axis of the dispenser and having a rectangular cross sectional shape or a star cross-sectional shape [0036]; and an applicator (120+140) including a top for the dispenser (126+142) including a threaded portion that seals and mates with the threaded portion of the tube to enclose the cosmetic in the reservoir; a wang (122) extending from the top into the reservoir (see Fig 2) when the top is placed on the dispenser and an applicator tip (124) on an end of the wand (see Figs 2-3).
Claim 6: mascara is known to comprise preservatives and thickeners.
Claim 7: the entire tube including its stem can be transparent, which would result in these reflecting the color of the cosmetic inside of the tube or can be different colors [0039], which the office interprets as the stem is “color coded with an indicia” of a color of the cosmetic inside.
Claim 16: Lin-126 discloses a dispenser comprising: mascara [0034] a known cosmetic with a pigment in a fluid carrier; a tube (114) with an interior reservoir containing the mascara; a first end of the dispenser includes an opening to the reservoir joined to a threaded end (1150); a second end of the dispenser having a stem (1140) extending along a longitudinal axis of the dispenser and having a star cross-sectional shape [0036] and a star shape is a radially repeating cross-sectional shape. An applicator (120) including a top for the dispenser (126) including a threaded portion that seals and mates with the threaded portion of the tube to enclose the cosmetic in the reservoir; a wang (122) extending from the top into the reservoir (see Fig 2) when the top is placed on the dispenser and an applicator tip (124) on an end of the wand (see Figs 2-3).
Claim(s) 8-9, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin-191 (US 20230092191).
Claims 8 and 12-14: Lin-191 discloses a dispenser including mascara (see abstract), which is a known cosmetic that includes thickeners/emulsifiers and preservatives and is a known liquid including pigment. A tube (30) having an interior reservoir containing the mascara; a first end of the dispenser including an opening to the reservoir with a threaded end portion, and a second bottom end of the dispenser includes a stem (22) extending along a longitudinal axis of the dispenser and defining a cross-section with a radially repeating pattern (see Figs 2-4) with an angle between protrusions of this pattern being less than 45o (see Figs 2-4). An applicator (40+13) including a top (50+13) for the dispenser, the top including a threaded top portion complementary to the threaded end portion of the tube, wherein the top when coupled to the dispenser encloses and seals the reservoir (see Figs 1-4). A wand (41) extending from the top into the reservoir when placed on the dispenser and an applicator tip (43) on the wand (see Figs 1-4).
Claim 9: an exterior surface of the top portion (13) defines a second cross section with a second repeating radial pattern with the pattern segments being illustrated to take up an angle of not greater than 20o, which as best understood meets the claim.
Claim 15: the applicator is a brush (43, see Figs 1-4).
Claim 16: Lin-191 discloses a dispenser including mascara (see abstract), which is a known cosmetic that includes thickeners/emulsifiers and preservatives and is a known liquid including pigment. A tube (30) having an interior reservoir containing the mascara; a first end of the dispenser including an opening to the reservoir with a threaded end portion, and a second bottom end of the dispenser includes a stem (22) extending along a longitudinal axis of the dispenser and defining a cross-section with a radially repeating pattern or shape (see Figs 2-4). An applicator (40+13) including a top (50+13) for the dispenser, the top including a threaded top portion complementary to the threaded end portion of the tube, wherein the top when coupled to the dispenser encloses and seals the reservoir (see Figs 1-4). A wand (41) extending from the top into the reservoir when placed on the dispenser and an applicator tip (43) on the wand (see Figs 1-4).
Claim 17: the dispenser includes a container (21) with an interior sized and shaped to removably receive the stem (22) of the dispenser. The receiver (interior nub(s) of 21) engage the stem against linear displacement with a force of a user’s hand and it is common knowledge the force to press a button with a human finger is 1-2N, so since the device can be separate manually, it is interpreted to be able to be separated with a draw force of 1N. The receiver has a matching interior cross section that receives the stem in a series of angles that each appear to be illustrated to take up less than 20o to rotationally fix the container to the stem when coupled thereto.
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan (US 20220071374).
Claims 1, 4-6: Chan discloses a dispenser including a mascara [0059] which is a cosmetic including a pigment in a fluid carrier housed in a tubular reservoir (110+112), a first end of the dispenser including an opening and a threaded end (112); and a second end of the dispenser can have a stem (804, Fig 8) [0066] extending along a longitudinal axis of the dispenser [0066] the stem having a non-circular cross-sectional shape (see Figs 1 & 8) and the applicator includes a top for the dispenser (118) with a wand extending therefrom (see Fig 1). The top includes a threaded top portion complementary and sealing with the threaded end portion of the dispenser and an applicator tip (116) extends from the wand (see Fig 1). Mascara can be used as eyeliner and is known to include emulsifiers/thickeners and preservatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 20220071374).
Claim 2: Chan discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for this undefined “capture angle” being less than twenty degrees. Chan does state the stem can be any shape. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the dispenser of Chan by providing the shape of the stem being one with this prescribed angle, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Chan.
Claims 8-14: Chan discloses a dispenser including a mascara [0059] which is a cosmetic including a pigment in a fluid carrier housed in a tubular reservoir (110+112), a first end of the dispenser including an opening and a threaded end (112); and a second end of the dispenser can have a stem (804, Fig 8) [0066] extending along a longitudinal axis of the dispenser [0066] the stem having a non-circular cross-sectional shape (see Figs 1 & 8) of a star that is repeating radial pattern and the applicator includes a top for the dispenser (118) with a wand extending therefrom (see Fig 1). The top includes a threaded top portion complementary and sealing with the threaded end portion of the dispenser and an applicator tip (116) extends from the wand (see Fig 1). Mascara can be used as eyeliner and is known to include emulsifiers/thickeners and preservatives.
Chan discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for this undefined “capture angle” being less than 15 degrees. Chan does state the stem can be any shape. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the dispenser of Chan by providing the shape of the stem being one with this prescribed angle, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Chan.
Claim 15: modified Chan discloses the invention of claim 8 and Chan further discloses the applicator to be a brush or swab (see Fig 1-8).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin-191 (US 20230092191) in view of Guay (US20170000241).
Claim 18: Lin-191 discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the gripping region including a gripping region of a low durometer material with a thickness of at least 1mm.
Guay, however, teaches providing cosmetic applicators with their gripping region including a low durometer material with a thickness of 0.2-0.5mm on each side [0035] which is a total thickness of about 1mm (see Fig 3) in order to provide a comfortable grip in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the applicator of Lin-191 by providing it with the grip as prescribed by Guay in order to provide a more comfortable grip of the applicator in use and prevent slippage.
Claim 19: The proposed modification is to provide the prescribed grip of Guay to the applicator of Lin-191 and Guay further discloses the gripping region having a radius of 10-32mm [0002] which includes 25mm or more as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the applicator of Lin-191 by providing the grip with the prescribed dimensions of Guay in view of Guay to provide a comfortable grip to the applicator in use.
Claim 20: Lin-191 discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the gripping region including a gripping region of a low durometer material overmolded over a region of more rigidi material.
Guay, however, teaches providing cosmetic applicators with their gripping region including a cap of a rigid material (18) overmolded with a low durometer material (40) in order to provide a comfortable grip in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the applicator of Lin-191 by providing it with the grip as prescribed by Guay in order to provide a more comfortable grip of the applicator in use and prevent slippage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772