DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “A vehicle comprising [[a]] the door handle system of claim 1.” Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartels (US-10563437-B2).
With regards to claim 1, Bartels discloses a door handle system (10 Figure 3a) for a vehicle door (70 Figure 7), the door handle system comprising:
a handle (20 Figure 3a);
a handle driving device configured to drive the handle to deploy or retract relative to the vehicle door (electric motor 19, Col. 11 Lines 37-58); and
a projection device (26 Figure 3a) arranged in the handle and having an obscured position (Figure 3a) and one or more projection position (Figure 3b), the projection device being configured to, as the handle is deployed relative to the vehicle door (50, Figures 3a, 3b), move from the obscured position to the one or more projection position so that the projection device projects an image (26.1 Figure 3b) to a projection surface (Col. 7 Lines 12-21, Col. 12 Lines 18-27).
With regards to claim 17, Bartels discloses a vehicle (100 Figure 7) comprising a door handle system (10 Figure 3a, Figure 7) of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant's device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the claimed invention. With regards to claim 2, Bartels discloses the door handle system according to claim 1. However, Bartels does not disclose wherein the door handle system further comprises: a projection driving device connected to the projection device and configured to drive the projection device to move relative to the handle. Although the cited prior art teaches numerous door handle systems comprising projection/illumination units, the prior art fails to teach a system comprising both a handle driving device for driving a handle and an independent projection driving device for driving a projection device to move relative to the handle. Therefore, such an arrangement is not taught by the prior art, nor can the Examiner can find teaching or motivation to suggest such a modification to one of ordinary skill in the art without fundamentally altering the principles of operation of the device or otherwise relying upon the benefit of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-12655661-B2: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-20250137303-A1: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-12203299-B2: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-11951936-B2: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-11591831-B2: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-20210071450-A1: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-10533353-B2: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-20160222703-A1: A related vehicle door handle system.
US-8807807-B2: A related vehicle door handle system.
Conclusion
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675