DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention lacks patentable utility. Please note that claims 1 recites a system that concludes with sending to a host device, the public identifier and the public key, which appears to be an intermediate step. Claims 6 recite similar limitations. Sending information to a host device without any disclosure of what that information is being used lacks patentable utility. Claims 4 and 5 appears to provide the utility by using the public identifier and the public key to verify an identity. Similarly claims 15 concludes with just generating a public key and a private key without establishing any utility. Dependent claims 2-3, 7, 9-11 and 19-20 also do not establish any utility and just further limit independent claims without establishing the utility. Correction/Clarification is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first asymmetric generator”, “a second asymmetric generator”, “an encryptor”, “first decryptor”, “second decryptor” and “a merging component”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le Saint (US 2018/0205539 A1), hereinafter, “Le Saint”.
Regarding Claim 1, Le Saint discloses a system comprising:
a first asymmetric generator configured to generate a public identifier and a private identifier (See, Paragraph 0005, “A blinded user device public key may be generated from a user device public key stored on the portable user device and a cryptographic nonce (e.g., a random value). Similarly, a blinded user device private key may be generated from a user device private key corresponding the user device public key and the cryptographic nonce”);
a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key (See, Paragraph 0046, “At step 201, access device 102 generates an ephemeral public/private key pair. The public/private key pair may be generated in any suitable manner, such as through the use of a random or pseudo-random number generator. In addition, the key pair may be generated in any suitable key format, such as RSA or elliptic curve cryptography (ECC). In some embodiments, the ephemeral key pair may be generated before portable user device 101 enters the contactless field of access device 102”); and
at least one processor configured to send, to a host device, the public identifier and the public key (See, Paragraph 0082, “In some embodiments, user device data may include other data, such as a user device identifier and/or the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key” and Paragraph 0063, “At step 303, encrypted user device data and a blinded user device public key are received from portable user device 101. A “blinded user device public key” may be generated from a user device public key. For example, the blinded user device public key may be a combination of the user device public key and a cryptographic nonce. The “encrypted user device data” may include any data or information associated with a user device. For example, in some embodiments, the encrypted user device data may include an encrypted user device certificate and the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key”.
Regarding Claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a random number; wherein the random number is used an input to the second asymmetric generator to generate the public key and the private key (See, Paragraphs 0005 and 0046).
Regarding Claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses comprising an encryptor configured to generate a certificate, wherein the processor is further configured to send, to the host device, the certificate (See, Paragraphs 0005 and 0063, Note: examiner is interpreting the encrypted used device data as a certificate).
Regarding Claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the host device is configured to verify an identity using the public identifier, the certificate, and the public key (See, Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the host device is configured to verify an identity using the public identifier and the public key (See, Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 6, Le Saint discloses a method comprising:
generating a public identifier and a private identifier (See, Paragraph 0005, “A blinded user device public key may be generated from a user device public key stored on the portable user device and a cryptographic nonce (e.g., a random value). Similarly, a blinded user device private key may be generated from a user device private key corresponding the user device public key and the cryptographic nonce.”), wherein the public identifier is generated using a device secret (See, Paragraph 0082, “In some embodiments, user device data may include other data, such as a user device identifier and/or the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key”);
generating a public key and a private key (See, Paragraph 0046, “At step 201, access device 102 generates an ephemeral public/private key pair. The public/private key pair may be generated in any suitable manner, such as through the use of a random or pseudo-random number generator. In addition, the key pair may be generated in any suitable key format, such as RSA or elliptic curve cryptography (ECC). In some embodiments, the ephemeral key pair may be generated before portable user device 101 enters the contactless field of access device 102”); and
sending, to a host device, a certificate generated using a message from the host device (See, Paragraph 0005, “a shared secret may be generated using the blinded user device private key and the ephemeral public key. The shared secret may be used derive a session key, and the session key may be used to encrypt user device data such as a user device certificate” and Paragraph 0063, “At step 303, encrypted user device data and a blinded user device public key are received from portable user device 101. A “blinded user device public key” may be generated from a user device public key. For example, the blinded user device public key may be a combination of the user device public key and a cryptographic nonce. The “encrypted user device data” may include any data or information associated with a user device. For example, in some embodiments, the encrypted user device data may include an encrypted user device certificate and the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key”, Note: examiner is interpreting the encrypted used device data as a certificate)), the public identifier (See, Paragraph 0082, “In some embodiments, user device data may include other data, such as a user device identifier and/or the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key”), and the public key (See, Paragraph 0063, “At step 303, encrypted user device data and a blinded user device public key are received from portable user device 101. A “blinded user device public key” may be generated from a user device public key. For example, the blinded user device public key may be a combination of the user device public key and a cryptographic nonce. The “encrypted user device data” may include any data or information associated with a user device. For example, in some embodiments, the encrypted user device data may include an encrypted user device certificate and the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key).
Regarding Claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the certificate is generated by an encryptor (See, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the host device is configured to verify an identity using the public identifier, the certificate, and the public key (See, Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 9, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses generating a random number, wherein the random number is used an input to generate the public key and the private key (See, Le Saint, Paragraphs 0005 and 0046).
Regarding Claim 12, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the host device is configured to verify an identity by concatenating the message and the certificate to provide first data (See, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein verifying the identity comprises decrypting the first data using the public key to provide second data (See, Paragraphs 0029 and 0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Saint in view of Gotze et al. (US 2015/0092939 A1), hereinafter, “Gotze”.
Regarding Claim 15, Le Saint discloses a system comprising:
a first asymmetric generator configured to generate a public identifier and a private identifier (See, Paragraph 0005, “A blinded user device public key may be generated from a user device public key stored on the portable user device and a cryptographic nonce (e.g., a random value). Similarly, a blinded user device private key may be generated from a user device private key corresponding the user device public key and the cryptographic nonce.”), wherein the public identifier is generated using the device secret (See, Paragraph 0082, “In some embodiments, user device data may include other data, such as a user device identifier and/or the cryptographic nonce used to generate the blinded user device public key”); and
a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key, wherein the random number is used an input to the second asymmetric generator (See, Paragraph 0046, “At step 201, access device 102 generates an ephemeral public/private key pair. The public/private key pair may be generated in any suitable manner, such as through the use of a random or pseudo-random number generator. In addition, the key pair may be generated in any suitable key format, such as RSA or elliptic curve cryptography (ECC). In some embodiments, the ephemeral key pair may be generated before portable user device 101 enters the contactless field of access device 102” also see Paragraph 0005).
While Le Saint discloses using random number generator, Le Saint fails to discloses wherein the random number is generated using a physical unclonable function (PUF).
However, providing random numbers using PUF is well known in the art of computer security. Gotze discloses a system wherein a random number is generated using a physical unclonable function (PUF) (See, Paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate, in the system of Le Saint, a random number using physical unclonable function as taught by Gotze “because it may be used to provide a unique, repeatable, and unpredictable random value within an integrated circuit” (See, Gotze, Paragraph 0012).
Regarding Claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated and the combination of Le Saint and Gotze further discloses a first decryptor configured to provide a first result based on a certificate (See, Le Saint, Paragraph 0005); and a second decryptor configured to provide a second result based on the first result, wherein the second result is used to verify an identity (See, Le Saint, Paragraphs 0029 and 0069).
Regarding Claim 17, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated and the combination of Le Saint and Gotze further discloses wherein verifying the identity comprises concatenating a message and the certificate (See, Le Saint, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 20, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated and the combination of Le Saint and Gotze further discloses further comprising a merging component configured to concatenate a message and a certificate to provide first data, wherein the first data is used as an input to the first decryptor to provide the first result (See, Le Saint, Paragraphs 0005, 0029 and 0069).
Regarding Claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses does not explicitly disclose the random number is generated using a physical unclonable function.
However, providing random numbers using PUF is well known in the art of computer security. Gotze discloses a system wherein a random number is generated using a physical unclonable function (PUF) (See, Paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate, in the system of Le Saint, a random number using physical unclonable function as taught by Gotze “because it may be used to provide a unique, repeatable, and unpredictable random value within an integrated circuit” (See, Gotze, Paragraph 0012).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Saint in view of Jeffrey (US 2015/0256522 A1), hereinafter, “Jeffrey”.
Regarding Claim 11, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and Le Saint further discloses wherein the public identifier is generated using a derived secret as an input to the first asymmetric generator (See, Paragraphs 0018 and 0025).
Le Saint fails to disclose using the device secret as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret.
However, using the secret key as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret is well known in the art of computer security. Jeffrey disclose using a device secret as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret (See, Paragraph 0133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, in the system of Le Saint, the secret key as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret as taught by Jeffrey because it “is designed to provide a measure of message authenticity (i.e.--an attacker would need to know the secret MAC key in order to forge a message to a given recipient)” (See, Jeffrey, Paragraph 0133).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3-5 simply require additional elements of processor and encryptor. Implementing the method using processor and encryptor are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to implement the method of claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2 in view of Le Saint.
Claims 2 and 9 require following additional limitation: generate a random number; wherein the random number is used an input to the second asymmetric generator to generate the public key and the private key.
Le Saint discloses generating a random number; wherein the random number is used an input to the second asymmetric generator to generate the public key and the private key (See, Paragraphs 0005 and 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a random number; wherein the random number is used an input to the second asymmetric generator to generate the public key and the private key as taught by Le Saint so that public key and private key to create unpredictable values for securing data.
Claims 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2 in view of Le Saint.
Claims 12-14 requires following additional limitation: a first asymmetric generator configured to generate a public identifier and a private identifier and a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key.
La Saint discloses a first asymmetric generator configured to generate the first public identifier and private identifier (See, Paragraphs 0005) and a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key (See, Paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate have a first asymmetric generator configured to generate the first public identifier and private identifier and a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key as taught by La Saint in order to generate blinded public adj private keys which are used to verify the user device certificate without the certificate being transmitted in cleartext.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2 in view of Le Saint and further in view of Gotze.
Claim 10 requires following additional limitation: the random number is generated using a physical unclonable function.
Gotze discloses a system wherein a random number is generated using a physical unclonable function (PUF) (See, Paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a random number using physical unclonable function as taught by Gotze “because it may be used to provide a unique, repeatable, and unpredictable random value within an integrated circuit” (See, Gotze, Paragraph 0012).
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2 in view of Le Saint and further in view of Jeffrey.
Claim 11 requires following additional limitation: wherein the public identifier is generated using a derived secret as an input to the first asymmetric generator (See, Paragraphs 0018 and 0025).
Le Saint fails to disclose using the device secret as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret.
Jeffrey disclose using a device secret as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret (See, Paragraph 0133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the secret key as an input to a message authentication code to generate a derived secret as taught by Jeffrey because it “is designed to provide a measure of message authenticity (i.e.--an attacker would need to know the secret MAC key in order to forge a message to a given recipient)” (See, Jeffrey, Paragraph 0133).
Claims 15, 18 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2 in view of Gotze.
Claims 15, 18 and 19 requires following additional limitation: a physical unclonable function configured to generate a random number.
Gotze discloses a system wherein a random number is generated using a physical unclonable function (PUF) (See, Paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a random number using physical unclonable function as taught by Gotze “because it may be used to provide a unique, repeatable, and unpredictable random value within an integrated circuit” (See, Gotze, Paragraph 0012).
Claims 16, 17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,275 B2 in view of Gotze and Le Saint.
Claims 16 and 17 require following additional limitations: a physical unclonable function configured to generate a random number; a first asymmetric generator configured to generate a public identifier and a private identifier and a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key.
Gotze discloses a system wherein a random number is generated using a physical unclonable function (PUF) (See, Paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a random number using physical unclonable function as taught by Gotze “because it may be used to provide a unique, repeatable, and unpredictable random value within an integrated circuit” (See, Gotze, Paragraph 0012).
La Saint discloses a first asymmetric generator configured to generate the first public identifier and private identifier (See, Paragraphs 0005) and a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key (See, Paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate have a first asymmetric generator configured to generate the first public identifier and private identifier and a second asymmetric generator configured to generate a public key and a private key as taught by La Saint in order to generate blinded public adj private keys which are used to verify the user device certificate without the certificate being transmitted in cleartext.
Claim 20 requires following additional limitation: a merging component configured to concatenate a message and a certificate to provide first data, wherein the first data is used as an input to the first decryptor to provide the first result.
Le Saint discloses further comprising a merging component configured to concatenate a message and a certificate to provide first data, wherein the first data is used as an input to the first decryptor to provide the first result (See, Le Saint, Paragraphs 0005, 0029 and 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to concatenate a message and a certificate to provide first data, wherein the first data is used as an input to the first decryptor to provide the first result in order to generate blinded public adj private keys which are used to verify the user device certificate without the certificate being transmitted in cleartext.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,292 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,292 B2 teaches most limitations of claims 1-20 and other limitation such as providing encryptors and decryptors are just names of the function performing the steps that are already taught by claims 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,292 B2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 would be allowable by filing a terminal disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 and by filing a terminal disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YOGESH PALIWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435