DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden et al. (US 2019/0357520) in view of Obuchi et al. (US 5,505,843).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 19, Redden discloses a liquid dispenser (fluid reservoir in page 3, [0027]) comprising: a sensor configured to determine a plurality of distances between a reference object at the sensor (sensor to measure distances between the boom sprayer and other objects in the field in page 6, [0054]); and a processor configured to initiate a self-learning mode (page 13, [0116); that identifies a sensing distance (page 7, [0060]).
Redden discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose based on a shortest distance from a plurality of distances for the reference object.
However, Obuchi discloses based on a shortest distance from a plurality of distances for the reference object (col. 7, lines 9-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Obuchi within the system of Redden in order to control the various settings of the liquid dispenser thereby increasing the reliability of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Redden and Obuchi disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Obuchi further discloses wherein the sensing distance is based on the shortest distance minimum a predetermined retraction distance (col. 7, lines 9-16).
Regarding claims 3, 12, Redden discloses wherein the processor configured to operate in
a sensing mode (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Redden discloses wherein the processor configured to provide a
lighting effect based on the sensing mode (graphics display) (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Redden discloses wherein the processor configured to provide a
lighting effect based on the self-learning mode (graphics display) (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Redden discloses wherein the processor is configured to
compare the sensing distance to a subsequent detected distance (page 7, [0060]; page 8, [0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Redden discloses wherein the processor receives self-learning
instructions from a cloud server (page 9, [0077-0079]; page 13, [0116]).
Regarding claim 8, Redden discloses a memory configured to store the sensing distance (distance measurement recorded in page 7, [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Redden discloses an input device, wherein the processor initiates the self-learning mode in response to the button (page 13, [0116])
Regarding claim 10, Redden discloses wherein the processor configured to operate in
a sensing mode and wherein the processor initiates the sensing in response to the button (page 7, [0060]).
Regarding claim 13, Redden discloses detecting a distance between a subsequent object and the sensing component; and comparing the detected distance with the sensing distance (page 7, [0060-0062]).
Regarding claim 14, Redden discloses providing a lighting effect in response to the comparison of the detected distance and the sensing distance (fig. 8; page 7, [0060-0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Redden discloses providing a lighting effect for the sensing mode (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Redden discloses providing a lighting effect for the self-learning mode (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Redden discloses obtaining a plurality of distances between the reference object and the sensing component in a direction perpendicular to the sensing component when the reference object is disposed within a detection range of the sensing component (page 6, [0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Redden discloses generating a table linking each of a plurality of light effects and a corresponding state of the self-learning mode (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 20, Redden discloses a countertop indicator light communicably connected to the at least one processor configured to display a first light effect, among a plurality of first light effects, in the self-learning mode (fig. 8; page 16, [0137-0138]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carro (US 2005/0138562) discloses system……documents.
Schell et al. (US 2005/0213109) discloses sensing device……sources.
Williams et al. (US 2008/0113746) discloses realistic video reels.
Se et al. (US 2021/0004606) discloses people counting….methods.
Considine et al. (US 10,803,186) discloses systems……management.
Osiroff et al. (US 2008/0161840) discloses athrectomy….apparatus.
DP
September 4, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685