DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are teaching a substrate with a first and second pixel group arranged in three rows and three columns, first to nine transfer transistors comprising a gate and a floating diffusion, a selection transistor in at least one of the fourth to sixth pixels in each of the groups, source follower transistors respectively disposed in at least two pixels of the first to third pixels and the seventh to ninth pixels in each of the first and second pixel groups; and a dummy transistor, which is disposed in at least one pixel of the first to third pixels and the seventh to ninth pixels in each of the first and second pixel groups, wherein source follower gates of the source follower transistors are connected to each other and the floating diffusion region of each of the first to ninth transfer transistors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0343404 ("Hwang") in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0321367 ("Kobayashi") further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0171488 ("Oike") further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0182465 ("Okita").
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses an image sensor, comprising:
a substrate (inherent, Fig. 3A, see paragraph [0048] photodiodes are disposed in a substrate) including a first pixel group (SP4, Fig. 3A) and a second pixel group (SP0, Fig. 3A), which are directly adjacent to each other in a first direction (for example, vertical direction, Fig. 3A), each of the first and second pixel groups (SP4, SP0, Fig. 3A) comprising first to ninth pixels (each group has nine sub-pixels, Fig. 3A), which are arranged to form three rows in the first direction (three rows, Fig. 3A) and three columns in a second direction (three columns, Fig. 3A), the first to third pixels constituting a first column (first column has three sub-pixels, Fig. 3A), the fourth to sixth pixels constituting a second column (second column has three sub-pixels, Fig. 3A), and the seventh to ninth pixels constituting a third column (third column has three sub-pixels, Fig. 3A).
Hwang does not explicitly disclose the transistor details within the specific pixel arrangement in Fig. 3A.
However, Kobayashi discloses first to ninth transfer transistors (80, 91, Fig. 4), each of the first to ninth transfer transistors comprising a transfer gate (TG, Fig. 4, paragraph [0097]) and a floating diffusion region (FD, Fig. 4, paragraph [0097]);
a selection transistor (94, Fig. 4) disposed in at least one of the fourth to sixth pixels (all pixels, including the fourth to sixth pixels, include a selection transistor, see Fig. 4); and
source follower transistors (93, Fig. 4, paragraph [0101]) respectively disposed in at least two pixels of the first to third pixels and the seventh to ninth pixels (all pixels, including the first to third pixels and the seventh to ninth pixels, include a source follower transistor, see Fig. 4), wherein source follower gates of the source follower transistors (gate of 93, Fig. 4, see circuit in Fig. 5, paragraph [0096]) are connected to the floating diffusion region of each of the first to ninth transfer transistors (91, Fig. 4).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select specific sub-pixels for placement of the transfer, source follower, and select transistors, as disclosed by Kobayashi as an example, in the device of Hwang in order to optimize the space and function of the pixels.
Hwang in view of Kobayashi does not disclose a dummy transistor, which is disposed in at least one pixel of the first to third pixels and the seventh to ninth pixels in each of the first and second pixel groups, nor that the source follower transistors are connected to each other.
However, Oike discloses a dummy transistor (DMT, Fig. 17, are arranged in almost every pixel within the 4x4), which is disposed in at least one pixel of the first to third pixels (see Fig. 17, selecting a 3x3 area within the 4x4 array, there is at least one dummy pixel in the first column) and the seventh to ninth pixels in each of the first and second pixel groups (see Fig. 17, selecting a 3x3 area within the 4x4 array, there is at least one dummy pixel in the third column).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add dummy transistors as disclosed by Oike in the device of Hwang in view of Kobayashi in order to hold periodicity and suppress fixed-pattern noise.
Hwang in view of Kobayashi and Oike does not disclose that the gates of the source follower transistors are connected to each other.
However, Okita discloses the gates of the source follower transistors are connected to each other (see Figs. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to connect the source followers to each other as disclosed by Okita in the device of Hwang in view of Kobayashi and Oike in order to enable the ability to change the type of addition/binning and readout of specific pixels within a group.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita discloses the image sensor of claim 1, and Hwang further discloses that the ninth pixel of the first pixel group (bottom rightmost pixel in group SP4, Fig. 3A) and the seventh pixel of the second pixel group (top rightmost pixel in SP0, Fig. 3A) are adjacent to each other in the first direction (vertical direction, Fig. 3A). Further, Oike disclose that the dummy transistor comprises:
in each of the first and second pixel groups (see groups in Fig. 13), a first dummy transistor disposed in the second pixel (see Fig. 17, selecting a 3x3 group, for example, the first three rows of the second to fourth columns, within the 4x4 array, a second pixel would include a dummy transistor DMT shown in a dark shade);
a second dummy transistor disposed in the seventh pixel (top right corner pixel has DMT, Fig. 17); and
a third dummy transistor disposed in the ninth pixel (ninth pixel has a DMT, Fig. 17).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add dummy transistors in specific pixels as disclosed by Oike in the device of Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita in order to hold periodicity and suppress fixed-pattern noise.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita discloses the image sensor of claim 2, and Oike further discloses that, in each of the first and second pixel groups, the second dummy transistor and the third dummy transistor are respectively arranged on an active region on the substrate (see Fig. 17), and wherein the active region in which the second dummy transistor is arranged and the active region in which the third dummy transistor is arranged have a mirror-symmetrical shape along the first direction in a planar view (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein the third pixel, the sixth pixel, and the ninth pixel of the first pixel group (see last row of SP4, Fig. 3A) are respectively adjacent to the first pixel, the fourth pixel, and the seventh pixel of the second pixel group in the first direction (see top row of SP0, Fig. 3A), and in each of the first and second pixel groups, the dummy transistor is arranged in the second pixel (dummy transistor in second pixel is taught by Oike in Fig. 17), and the selection transistor comprises:
a first selection transistor (SEL, Fig. 17 of Oike) arranged in the fourth pixel of the second pixel group (see Oike, Fig. 17); and a second selection transistor arranged in the sixth pixel of the first pixel group (all pixels have a SEL, Fig. 17 of Oike), and further comprising an output line connecting a source/drain region of the first selection transistor and a source/drain region of the second selection transistor (see Fig. 17, paragraph [0203]).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita discloses the image sensor of claim 1, and Hwang further discloses that the ninth pixel of the first pixel group is adjacent to the ninth pixel of the second pixel group in the first direction (Fig. 3A, specific numbering of pixels is not limiting), and in each of the first and second pixel group, the dummy transistor is arranged in the ninth pixel (see Fig. 17 of Oike, dummy pixel in most pixels, including the ninth pixel).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein the seventh pixel of the first pixel group is adjacent to the ninth pixel of the second pixel group in the first direction (Fig. 3A, specific numbering of pixels is not limiting), and in each of the first and second pixel group, the dummy transistor is arranged in the ninth pixel (see Fig. 17 of Oike, dummy pixel in most pixels, including the ninth pixel).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang in view of Kobayashi, Oike, and Okita discloses the image sensor of claim 1, and Oike further discloses that the dummy transistor comprises a dummy gate and source/drain regions at both sides thereof (paragraph [0199]), and a power voltage is applied to all of the dummy gate and the source/drain regions at both sides thereof (paragraph [0203]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: a dual conversion transistor arranged in at least one of the third pixel, the sixth pixel and the ninth pixel in each of the first and second pixel groups, and forming a mirror symmetry along the first direction, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878