DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “the ramp the ramp” should read --the ramp--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Embleton et al. (US patent application publication 2018/0127147) (hereinafter Embleton)
Regarding claim 1, Embleton discloses a pallet, comprising: an upper frame (104); a lower frame (108) opposite the upper frame; a first suspension system (905) disposed between the upper frame and the lower frame and configured to provide dampening between the upper frame and the lower frame; and a first spring shock rod assembly (903) located alongside the first suspension system (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Embleton discloses a pallet further comprising: a second suspension system (905) disposed between the upper frame and the lower frame and configured to provide dampening between the upper frame and the lower frame; a second spring shock rod assembly (903) located alongside the second suspension system; a third suspension system (905) disposed between the upper frame and the lower frame and configured to provide dampening between the upper frame and the lower frame; a third spring shock rod assembly (903) located alongside the third suspension system; a fourth suspension system (905) disposed between the upper frame and the lower frame and configured to provide dampening between the upper frame and the lower frame; a fourth spring shock rod assembly (903) located alongside the fourth suspension system; wherein the first, second, third and fourth suspension systems are located at respective first, second, third and fourth corner regions of the pallet (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Embleton discloses a pallet wherein the first spring shock rod assembly comprises a first spring (903) that compresses during a movement of the upper frame away from the lower frame to provide a force, between the upper frame and the lower frame, and which opposes the movement.
Regarding claim 15, Embleton discloses a pallet system, comprising: the pallet of claim 1; and a ramp (2016) removably connected to a side region of the pallet by at least one fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Embleton.
Regarding claim 12, Embleton discloses the pallet as claimed. Embleton does not disclose a pallet further comprising: a plurality of stacking features. The examiner is taking OFFICIAL NOTICE that pallets with stacking features are common and well known in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to modify Embleton to include stacking features, because this arrangement would have facilitate stacking of the pallets allowing them to take up less space when in a stacked configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-11, 13, 14 & 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637