DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification makes several references to "oxidation saturation" when it appears that the parameter being discussed should be "oxygen saturation". See paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0043, 0053, 0059, 0102,, and 0125.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 11-12 “is remaining portion of the light” should be “is a remaining portion of the light”.
Claim 2, line 9 and line 11 “an inside of the finger” should be “the inside of the finger”.
Claim 4, line 8 “an inside of the finger” should be “the inside of the finger”.
Claim 4, line 9 “an inside the finger” should be “the inside of the finger”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: light-emitting unit in claim 1-5, 7, 11, 13-18, and 20; and light-receiving unit in claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 14, 16-17, and 19-20.
The light-emitting unit is interpreted according to paragraph 0028 of the specification as “may include a laser, a light emitting diode (LED), and an organic light emitting diode (OLED)” or a light of a PPG sensor as described by “a light-emitting unit 121 and light-receiving units 126 and 127 of the optical sensor 120 are disposed. The optical sensor 120 may be a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor”.
The light-receiving unit is interpreted according to paragraph 0060 of the specification as “a photodiode” or as a receiver of a PPG sensor as described by “a light-emitting unit 121 and light-receiving units 126 and 127 of the optical sensor 120 are disposed. The optical sensor 120 may be a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor” in paragraph 0028 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “an oxidation saturation of the user”. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to an oxygen saturation of the user, as described in claim 19 and generally known to be a property which may be measured via optical sensors, or if this limitation is intended to refer to some other property of “oxidation saturation”. The limitation is interpreted as referring to oxygen saturation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wasson (US 20210169345 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wasson teaches an electronic device comprising:
a ring-shaped housing having an inner surface into which a finger of a user is inserted (Ring 104);
a light-emitting unit (Light sources 204; paragraph 0026—a light source 204 such as a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode…emits a certain primary wavelength of light…) configured to emit a light to the inner surface of the housing through a first region of the inner surface of the housing within the housing (Light path 304a/304b, Fig. 3);
a light-receiving unit configured to receive a first light, which is a portion of the light reflected from an inside of the finger of the user, through a second region of the inner surface of the housing within the housing (Photodetector 202 which receives the light paths, Fig. 3; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…); and
a coating layer, disposed between the first region and the second region, configured to reflect a second light, which is distinct from the first light and is remaining portion of the light, to the finger of the user to transmit the second light to the light- receiving unit (Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; It is noted that because the housing forms a ring, a reflective material positioned near the light source would necessarily be disposed between the first region and the second region).
Regarding claim 4, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches an additional light-emitting unit distinct from the light-emitting unit (Paragraph 0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0053-0054--multiple light sources 204…multiple light sources 204 are used with corresponding wavelengths…; Figs. 2A-2E, 3),
wherein the light-emitting unit includes a first light source emitting a light of a first wavelength (Paragraph 0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0053-0054-- multiple light sources 204 are used with corresponding wavelengths… Various light sources can be configured to emit different wavelengths of light),
wherein the additional light-emitting unit includes a second light source emitting a light of a second wavelength shorter than the first wavelength (Paragraph 0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0053-0054-- The LEDs can emit light with red wavelengths as well as infrared wavelengths…), and
wherein the light-receiving unit is configured to receive a portion of the light of the first wavelength reflected from an inside of the finger and a portion of the light of the second wavelength reflected from an inside the finger (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…).
Regarding claim 5, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 4. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the coating layer is disposed between the light-emitting unit and the additional light-emitting unit (Figs. 2A-2E demonstrate various configurations of light-receiving and light-emitting units which would dictate the location of corresponding light guides/reflective materials; Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; paragraph 0026, 0035--a light guide can enable light from a single light source to emit light at different parts of the ring 104. Similarly, a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202…).
Regarding claim 6, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 4. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the light-receiving unit is configured to obtain data related to an oxidation saturation of the user using the light of the first wavelength and obtain data related to a heart rate of the user using the light of the second wavelength (Paragraph 0024-0027, 0047-0048, 0053-- By comparing the absorption of red to infrared light, a system can determine the SpO2 in the user's body… the system can identify a pulse in the data and use that as a baseline to compare for oxygen saturation calculations…The system can analyze data from the photodetectors to determine or predict various health parameters for the user or other interested an authorized parties. The user can see live data as to the user's current heart rate and oxygen saturation…).
Regarding claim 7, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches wherein an angle between the light- receiving unit and the light-emitting unit with respect to a center of a circle formed by the inner surface of the housing is 50 to 70 degrees (Paragraph 0028-0029; Figs. 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 8, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches memory storing one or more computer programs (Paragraph 0042, 0067—memory such as flash memory for storing data…; Memory 504/804); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory (Processor 502/802; paragraph 0042, 0067), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively,
cause the electronic device to obtain a biometric signal of the user based on data related to the first light obtained through the light-receiving unit (Paragraph 0042, 0067, 0072).
Regarding claim 9, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches a noise reduction circuit electrically connected to the light-receiving unit, wherein the noise reduction circuit is configured to remove data related to an external light, distinct from the first light, transmitted from an outside of the electronic device (Paragraph 0051—processing can include filtering unreliable data or outlying data…; paragraph 0029, 0031, 0075--the system can help minimize noise in the data (e.g., from ambient light)).
Regarding claim 11, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the Light-emitting unit includes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), or a laser (Paragraph 0026-- a light source 204 such as a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode, filtered broadband light source, etc.), and wherein the light-receiving unit includes a photo diode (Paragraph 0027-- a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor).
Regarding claim 13, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches a flexible printed circuit board on which the light-emitting unit and the light- receiving unit are disposed, bent along an interior of the housing (Paragraph 0041, 0059-- The ring 104 can be rigid, flexible, or a combination of rigid and flexible. For example, the ring 104 can have a rigid area holding a printed circuit board with a flexible band completing the ring 104…).
Regarding claim 14, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the light-receiving unit includes a plurality of light sensors (Paragraph 0029-- there can be multiple photodetectors 202…), and
wherein a distance between a first light sensor, which is one of the plurality of light sensors, and the light-emitting unit is the same as a distance between a second light sensor, which is another of the plurality of light sensors, and the light-emitting unit (Fig. 4A which demonstrates a plurality of light sensors which are equidistant from the light emitting unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasson.
Regarding claim 2, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Wasson additionally teaches an additional light-receiving unit distinct from the light-receiving unit (Paragraph 0029-- there can be multiple photodetectors 202…); and
wherein the light-emitting unit includes a first light source emitting a light of a first wavelength and a second light source emitting a light of a second wavelength shorter than the first wavelength (Paragraph 0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0053-0054—a light source 204 can be used which emits light according to a wide range of wavelengths…LEDs can emit light with red wavelengths as well as infrared wavelengths…),
wherein the light-receiving unit is configured to receive a portion of the light of the first wavelength reflected from an inside of the finger (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…), and
wherein the additional light-receiving unit is configured to receive a portion of the light of the second wavelength reflected from an inside of the finger (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…).
While Wasson does not explicitly disclose an additional coating layer, different from the coating layer, disposed between the coating layer and the first region, Wasson renders the limitation obvious. In particular, Wasson describes a device which may include multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units, and additionally describes that the device may have a coating or light guide which is positioned to direct light toward the light-receiving units, such that it would motivate the use of additional coatings or light guides in embodiments having multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units and their placement (Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; paragraph 0026, 0035--a light guide can enable light from a single light source to emit light at different parts of the ring 104. Similarly, a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202), as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that in devices having multiple light-emitting and light-receiving units, it would predictably improve the device to include multiple light guiding coatings to perform the same reflecting quality toward each of the light-receiving units from each of the light-emitting units, and where positioning such a light guiding coating between the coating layer and the first region would be encompassed by the general disclosure of placing such a coating near the light source along with the disclosed positions of multiple light sources (see Figs. 2A-2E and 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 2. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the additional light-receiving unit is disposed between the light-receiving unit and the light-emitting unit (Figs. 2A-2E demonstrate various configurations of light-receiving, light-emitting, and additional light-receiving units where 2C and 2E specifically show relevant configurations).
Regarding claim 15, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 14. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the coating layer includes a first coating disposed between the first light sensor and the light-emitting unit (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…).
While Wasson does not explicitly disclose a second coating disposed between the second light sensor and the light-emitting unit, Wasson renders the limitation obvious. In particular, Wasson describes a device which may include multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units, and additionally describes that the device may have a coating or light guide which is positioned to direct light toward the light-receiving units, such that it would motivate the use of additional coatings or light guides in embodiments having multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units and their placement (Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; paragraph 0026, 0035--a light guide can enable light from a single light source to emit light at different parts of the ring 104. Similarly, a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202), as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that in devices having multiple light-emitting and light-receiving units, it would predictably improve the device to include multiple light guiding coatings to perform the same reflecting quality toward each of the light-receiving units from each of the light-emitting units, and where positioning such a light guiding coating the second light sensor and the light-emitting unit would be encompassed by the general disclosure of placing such a coating near the light source along with the disclosed positions of multiple light sources (see Figs. 2A-2E and 4A).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasson in view of McRae (US 20140316292 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 9. However, Wasson fails to explicitly disclose the noise reduction circuit includes a high pass filter.
McRae, in the same field of endeavor of a finger-worn electronic device for optical monitoring of biometrics, discloses a system which includes a noise reduction circuit configured to remove data related to an external light transmitted from an outside of the electronic device, wherein the noise reduction circuit include a high pass filter (Paragraph 0066-- removing the low-frequency components of the signal via a variety of detrending methods including: high-pass filtering… That is, respiration, involuntary movements, and ambient light changes may be essentially removed from the signal as a preprocessing step).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Wasson, including a noise reduction circuit, to include a high pass filter as described by McRae in order to predictably improve the accuracy of measurements made by the system by reducing the effect of signals outside of a frequency range of interest, where a high-pass filter would enable removal of ambient light which may otherwise impact the measured light at the light-detecting unit.
Claim(s) 12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasson in view of Freschl (US 9743849 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 1. However, Wasson does not explicitly disclose wherein the first region and the second region include a transparent portion.
Freschl, in the same field of endeavor of a ring-shaped electronic device for optically monitoring biometric parameters, discloses an electronic device including photo-emitters and sensors, wherein each of these is positioned at a region including a transparent portion (Col. 8, line 41-45--the subsection 101 may include a portion of a device housing 102, as well as a window 104. The window 104 may be made from a material that is optically transparent, or that is at least optically transparent to the wavelengths of light used in the optical heart rate sensor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Wasson to include transparent portions as described by Flesch in order to predictably improve the device by providing protection from damage and debris to the light emitters and detectors by covering them while maintaining the function of the device by making the cover transparent so that the wavelengths of interest may still pass through the cover and be utilized for measuring biometric parameters.
Regarding claim 16, Wasson teaches an electronic device comprising:
a ring-shaped housing having an inner surface into which a finger of a user is inserted (Ring 104);
a light-emitting unit (Light sources 204; paragraph 0026—a light source 204 such as a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode…emits a certain primary wavelength of light…) configured to emit a light to the inner surface of the housing through a first region of the inner surface of the housing within the housing (Light path 304a/304b, Fig. 3);
a light-receiving unit configured to receive a first light, which is a portion of the light reflected from an inside of the finger of the user, through a second region of the inner surface of the housing within the housing (Photodetector 202 which receives the light paths, Fig. 3; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…);
an additional light-receiving unit distinct from the light-receiving unit (Paragraph 0029-- there can be multiple photodetectors 202…), disposed between the light-receiving unit and the light-emitting unit (Figs. 2A-2E demonstrate various configurations of light-receiving, light-emitting, and additional light-receiving units where 2C and 2E specifically show relevant configurations), configured to receive a second light, which is distinct from the first light and is reflected from inside of the finger of the user, through a third region of the housing (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…); and
a coating layer, disposed on the cover and between the first region and the second region, configured to reflect a third light, which is distinct from the first light and the second light and is reflected from inside of the finger of the user, to the finger of the user to transmit the third light to the light-receiving unit (Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; It is noted that because the housing forms a ring, a reflective material positioned near the light source would necessarily be disposed between the first region and the second region).
While Wasson does not explicitly disclose another coating layer, different from the coating layer, disposed between the coating layer and the first region, Wasson renders the limitation obvious. In particular, Wasson describes a device which may include multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units, and additionally describes that the device may have a coating or light guide which is positioned to direct light toward the light-receiving units, such that it would motivate the use of additional coatings or light guides in embodiments having multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units and their placement (Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; paragraph 0026, 0035--a light guide can enable light from a single light source to emit light at different parts of the ring 104. Similarly, a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202), as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that in devices having multiple light-emitting and light-receiving units, it would predictably improve the device to include multiple light guiding coatings to perform the same reflecting quality toward each of the light-receiving units from each of the light-emitting units, and where positioning such a light guiding coating between the coating layer and the first region would be encompassed by the general disclosure of placing such a coating near the light source along with the disclosed positions of multiple light sources (see Figs. 2A-2E and 4A).
However, Wasson does not explicitly disclose a cover, forming at least a portion of the inner surface of the housing, including a transparent portion.
Freschl, in the same field of endeavor of a ring-shaped electronic device for optically monitoring biometric parameters, discloses an electronic device including photo-emitters having a cover, forming at least a portion of the inner surface of the housing, including a transparent portion (Col. 8, line 41-45--the subsection 101 may include a portion of a device housing 102, as well as a window 104. The window 104 may be made from a material that is optically transparent, or that is at least optically transparent to the wavelengths of light used in the optical heart rate sensor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Wasson to include a transparent cover portion as described by Flesch in order to predictably improve the device by providing protection from damage and debris to the light emitters and detectors by covering them while maintaining the function of the device by making the cover transparent so that the wavelengths of interest may still pass through the cover and be utilized for measuring biometric parameters.
Regarding claim 17, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 16. Wasson additionally teaches an additional light-receiving unit distinct from the light-receiving unit (Paragraph 0029-- there can be multiple photodetectors 202…); and
wherein the light-emitting unit includes a first light source emitting a light of a first wavelength and a second light source emitting a light of a second wavelength shorter than the first wavelength (Paragraph 0026-0027, 0029-0030, 0053-0054—a light source 204 can be used which emits light according to a wide range of wavelengths…LEDs can emit light with red wavelengths as well as infrared wavelengths…),
wherein the light-receiving unit is configured to receive a portion of the light of the first wavelength reflected from an inside of the finger (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…), and
wherein the additional light-receiving unit is configured to receive a portion of the light of the second wavelength reflected from an inside of the finger (paragraph 0026, 0035-- a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202; paragraph 0027, 0036--The ring 104 can utilize a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor to detect the amount of light that passes through a finger of a user from the light source 204. The photodetector 202 can detect light reflected within the finger and/or transmitted through the finger.…).
While Wasson does not explicitly disclose an additional coating layer, different from the coating layer, disposed between the coating layer and the first region, Wasson renders the limitation obvious. In particular, Wasson describes a device which may include multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units, and additionally describes that the device may have a coating or light guide which is positioned to direct light toward the light-receiving units, such that it would motivate the use of additional coatings or light guides in embodiments having multiple light-emitting units and light-receiving units and their placement (Paragraph 0040-- the ring 104 can include a reflective material on parts of the ring's 104 interior to reflect some light back through the finger towards the photodetector 202. This reflective material can be placed near the light source 204…; paragraph 0026, 0035--a light guide can enable light from a single light source to emit light at different parts of the ring 104. Similarly, a light guide can direct light from different parts of the ring 104 to a single photodetector 202), as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that in devices having multiple light-emitting and light-receiving units, it would predictably improve the device to include multiple light guiding coatings to perform the same reflecting quality toward each of the light-receiving units from each of the light-emitting units, and where positioning such a light guiding coating between the coating layer and the first region would be encompassed by the general disclosure of placing such a coating near the light source along with the disclosed positions of multiple light sources (see Figs. 2A-2E and 4A).
Regarding claim 18, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 16. Wasson additionally teaches wherein an angle between the light- receiving unit and the light-emitting unit with respect to a center of a circle formed by the inner surface of the housing is 50 to 70 degrees (Paragraph 0028-0029; Figs. 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 19, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 16. Wasson additionally teaches memory storing one or more computer programs (Paragraph 0042, 0067—memory such as flash memory for storing data…; Memory 504/804); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory (Processor 502/802; paragraph 0042, 0067), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively,
cause the electronic device to obtain a biometric signal of the user based on data related to the first light obtained through the light-receiving unit (Paragraph 0042, 0067, 0072).
Regarding claim 20, Wasson teaches the electronic device of claim 16. Wasson additionally teaches wherein the Light-emitting unit includes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), or a laser (Paragraph 0026-- a light source 204 such as a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode, filtered broadband light source, etc.), and wherein the light-receiving unit includes a photo diode (Paragraph 0027-- a photodetector 202 such as a photodiode and/or phototransistor).
Conclusion
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791