This action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/27/2025. Claims 1-12, 14-16, and 18-21 are pending. Claims 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are withdrawn. Claims 13 and 17 are canceled. Claim 21 is newly added.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Hood (US Pat. No.: 5,695,510).
Regarding claim 21, Hood discloses an apparatus (24, Fig. 1), comprising: an ultrasonic surgical blade (26, Fig. 1) for cutting tissue, wherein the ultrasonic surgical blade comprises: a body (body of 26, Figs. 1-3) having a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface (proximal end, distal end and outer surface of 26, Figs. 1-3) comprising a tissue treatment region (cutting section 34 with the teeth), wherein the distal end is movable relative to a longitudinal axis in accordance with ultrasonic vibrations applied to the proximal end (Col. 1, lines 30-35, Col. 2, lines 27-31, and Col. 3, lines 29-45); and a lubricious coating (Col. 7, lines 30-57, ceramic coating, such as aluminum oxide) for contacting tissue, wherein the lubricious coating comprises a coefficient of friction that is less than the coefficient of friction of the outer surface of the body (Col. 7, lines 30-57, ceramic coating, such as aluminum oxide or chrome oxide, either of which has a coefficient of friction less than the coefficient of friction of the outer surface of the body formed of high carbon stainless steel), wherein the lubricious coating is formed by a surface treatment to at least a portion of the tissue treatment region (Col. 7, 51-57), wherein the lubricious coating comprises a metal oxide (Col. 7, lines 30-57, such as aluminum oxide or chrome oxide); and wherein the lubricious coating is coated on a distal-facing surface on the ultrasonic blade (Fig. 2 and Col. 7, lines 30-57, the lubricious coating is also coated on a distal-facing surface on the ultrasonic blade because the lubricious coating is applied on the teeth for cutting. As shown in Fig. 2, some of the teeth are facing distally).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 4-9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (US Pat. No.: 6,129,735) in view of Hood (US Pat. No.: 5,695,510).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses an apparatus (1, Figs. 1), comprising: an ultrasonic surgical blade (29, Figs. 1 and 8) for at least one of cutting and or coagulating tissue (Col. 8, lines 27-47), wherein the ultrasonic surgical blade comprises: a body (body of 29, Fig. 4B) having a proximal end (proximal end of 29, Fig. 4C), a distal end (distal end of 29, Fig. 4B), and an outer surface (outer surface of 19, Fig. 8) comprising a tissue treatment region (region of 29 facing 40, Fig. 8), wherein the distal end is movable relative to a longitudinal axis in accordance with ultrasonic vibrations applied to the proximal end (Col. 11, lines 39-48 and Fig. 4C); and a lubricious coating (Col. 11, lines 11-18 and Col. 17, lines 10-65 and Fig. 24, the ceramic coating is a lubricious coating since it improves smoothness; such as coating 110 having three layers 111, 112, and 113) for contacting tissue, wherein the lubricious coating comprises a coefficient of friction that is less than the coefficient of friction of the outer surface of the body (Col. 11, lines 11-18, the ceramic coating has a coefficient of friction that is less than the coefficient of friction of the outer surface of the body because it improves smoothness to the outer surface of the body of 29), wherein the lubricious coating is formed by a surface treatment to at least a portion of the tissue treatment region (Col. 11, lines 11-18 and Col. 17, lines 10-65 and Fig. 24, lubricious coating is formed by laying the coating to at least a portion of the tissue treatment region), and wherein the lubricious coating comprises a ceramic (Col. 11, lines 11-18). However, Okada does not disclose that the ceramic is a metal oxide.
Hood teaches, in the same field of endeavor (ultrasonic surgical blade), an ultrasonic surgical blade having a ceramic coating comprising metal oxide (e.g. aluminum oxide, Col. 7, lines 30-57).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the ceramic coating of Okada to be formed of metal oxide, such aluminum oxide, as taught by Hood, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding claim 4, Okada in view of Hood discloses that the metal oxide comprises a metal oxide of a blade material (Okada, Col. 8, lines 24-27 and Hood, Col. 7, lines 30-57. Okada discloses the base metal to be aluminum whereas Hood discloses that the metal oxide of the coating is aluminum oxide and the base metal is an aluminum material). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the ceramic coating of Okada to be formed of metal oxide, such aluminum oxide which is a metal oxide of blade material, aluminum, as taught by Hood, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding claim 5, Hood discloses that the metal oxide comprises a ceramic material (Hood, Col. 7, lines 30-57).
Regarding claim 6, Okada discloses that the lubricious coating has a thickness of about 0.0001 to about 0.0005 inches (Col. 17, line 11-15, 9 microns is 0.000354 inches).
Regarding claim 7, Okada discloses that the lubricious coating is a first lubricious coating layer, and wherein the ultrasonic surgical blade further comprises a second lubricious coating layer (layer 112, Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 8, Okada discloses a clamp arm (41, Fig. 8), wherein the clamp arm and the ultrasonic surgical blade form an end effector (26, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Okada discloses an ultrasonic transducer (Col. 8, lines 13-17); and a waveguide (25, Figs. 2 and 4B and Col. 8, lines 13-19) operably coupled to the ultrasonic transducer, wherein the waveguide extends from the longitudinal axis of the ultrasonic surgical blade (Fig. 4B).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (US Pat. No.: 6,129,735) in view of Hood (US Pat. No.: 5,695,510) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (US Pub. No.: 2008/0069854).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Okada in view of Hood discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but fails to disclose that the surface treatment is an electrochemical treatment, wherein the electrochemical treatment is an anodizing treatment. The combination of the claimed phrases “wherein the lubricious coating is formed by a surface treatment,” “wherein the surface treatment is an electrochemical treatment,” and “wherein the electrochemical treatment is an anodizing treatment” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is, that the lubricious coating (such as the metal oxide coating) is made by an electrochemical treatment which is an anodizing treatment. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
Nevertheless, Xiao teaches, in the same field of endeavor (ceramic coating on a medical device), a ceramic / metal oxide coating (e.g. aluminum oxide, Para. [0022]) is formed on a medical device by an electrochemical treatment which is an anodizing treatment, which was a known method of forming a ceramic coating (Para. [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention form the ceramic / metal oxide coating by an electrochemical treatment which is an anodizing treatment as taught by Xiao which discloses that anodizing treatment was a known useful technique for forming a ceramic or metal oxide coating on a medical device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly added claim 21 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the argument on page 6 of the remarks, the rejection of claim 7 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 has been withdrawn in light of the amendment.
In response to the argument(s) on the art rejections on pages 6-11 of the remarks, Okada discloses an apparatus (1, Figs. 1), comprising: an ultrasonic surgical blade (29, Figs. 1 and 8) for at least one of cutting and or coagulating tissue (Col. 8, lines 27-47), wherein the ultrasonic surgical blade comprises: a body (body of 29, Fig. 4B) having a proximal end (proximal end of 29, Fig. 4C), a distal end (distal end of 29, Fig. 4B), and an outer surface (outer surface of 19, Fig. 8) comprising a tissue treatment region (region of 29 facing 40, Fig. 8), wherein the distal end is movable relative to a longitudinal axis in accordance with ultrasonic vibrations applied to the proximal end (Col. 11, lines 39-48 and Fig. 4C); and a lubricious coating (Col. 11, lines 11-18 and Col. 17, lines 10-65 and Fig. 24, the ceramic coating is a lubricious coating since it improves smoothness; such as coating 110 having three layers 111, 112, and 113) for contacting tissue, wherein the lubricious coating comprises a coefficient of friction that is less than the coefficient of friction of the outer surface of the body (Col. 11, lines 11-18, the ceramic coating has a coefficient of friction that is less than the coefficient of friction of the outer surface of the body because it improves smoothness to the outer surface of the body of 29), wherein the lubricious coating is formed by a surface treatment to at least a portion of the tissue treatment region (Col. 11, lines 11-18 and Col. 17, lines 10-65 and Fig. 24, lubricious coating is formed by laying the coating to at least a portion of the tissue treatment region), and wherein the lubricious coating comprises a ceramic (Col. 11, lines 11-18). However, Okada does not disclose that the ceramic is a metal oxide.
Hood teaches, in the same field of endeavor (ultrasonic surgical blade), an ultrasonic surgical blade having a ceramic coating comprising metal oxide (e.g. aluminum oxide, Col. 7, lines 30-57).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the ceramic coating of Okada to be formed of metal oxide, such aluminum oxide, as taught by Hood, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07
The modification was merely to modify the ceramic coating of Okada to be formed of a metal-oxide ceramic material as taught by Hood. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the ceramic coating of Okada to be formed of metal oxide, such aluminum oxide, as taught by Hood, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. The modification does not involve modifying Okada’s invention to include teeth of the blade of Hood. Okada recognizes that a ceramic coating improves smoothness to the outer surface of the body of 29 (Col. 11, lines 11-18).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771