CTNF 19/082,866 CTNF 99123 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2025 and 02/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 5, 6 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 (line 3): a comma should be inserted after “the third conductive pattern” for clarification purposes. Claim 6 (line 3): a comma should be inserted after “the third conductive pattern” for clarification purposes. Claim 6 (line 5): “Wherein” should read “wherein”. Claim 15 (line 3): a comma should be inserted after “the third conductive pattern” for clarification purposes . Appropriate correction is required. 07-05-06 Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 14 . When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 12, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by IDS document Jeon et al. (US 2018/0288203; “Jeon”) . Claim 12 : Jeon discloses (figs. 3 & 6, and annotated fig. 7 below) An electronic device (electronic device 300) comprising: a housing (3001) including a conductive portion (¶130, “second side surface 512 of a conductive material”) ; a substrate (PCB 520) including a ground area (¶124, the PCB 520 may include a ground plane 521) , a first conductive pattern (¶131, conductive path 550) electrically connected to the conductive portion (512) (¶131, via access member 541) , a second conductive pattern (¶128, second conductive pattern 540) electrically connected to the ground area (521) (see fig. 7) , and another conductive pattern (fourth conductive pattern 640) configured to diverge and extend from the first conductive pattern (550) (¶131, “the conductive path 550 may have the other end electrically connected to the second access member 541”; ¶134, via fourth access member 641 which is electrically connected with second access member 541; ¶130, “second access member 541 may be electrically connected with a second side surface 512 of a conductive material”) ; and a wireless communication circuit (¶125, 560) configured to supply power to the conductive portion (512) through the first conductive pattern (550) (¶131, “conductive path 550 to electrically connect to second access member 541 of the second antenna region A2”; ¶129, “The second side surface 512 electrically connected with the second access member 541 may operate in the first frequency band.”) , wherein the second conductive pattern (540) includes a closed loop shape (L1) , wherein the another conductive pattern (640) includes a loop pattern (¶134, “may be formed in the shape of an antenna radiator such as a loop type”, L2) , and wherein the second conductive pattern (540) is at least partially located within the loop pattern of the another conductive pattern (640) (shown in fig. 7, ¶139, “at least a portion of the fourth conductive pattern 640 is disposed to overlap the second conductive pattern 540”) . PNG media_image1.png 321 515 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 417 605 media_image2.png Greyscale Claim 14 : Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein an area (L1) defined by the closed loop shape of the second conductive pattern (540) is smaller than area (L2) defined by the loop pattern of the another conductive pattern (640) . Claim 17 : Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the electronic device comprises: a first loop area (L2) defined by the loop pattern (640) and a second loop area (L1) defined by the closed loop shape of the second conductive pattern (540) , and wherein the second loop area (L1) has a smaller area than the first loop area (L2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2019/0081386; “Edwards”) in view of Piao et al. (CN111370869A; “Piao”) . Claim 1 : Edwards discloses (fig. 5 and fig. 7 below) An electronic device (electronic device 10) comprising: a housing (¶30, conductive housing structures 16) including a conductive portion (¶55, main resonating element arm 108) ; a substrate (¶56, "antenna ground 104 may be formed from housing structures such as conductive support plate, printed circuit traces, ....") including a ground area (ground 104) , a first conductive pattern (¶50, transmission line conductor 94) electrically connected to the conductive portion, a second conductive pattern (¶82, antenna resonating element 242) electrically connected to the ground area (¶82, via return path 244) , and a third conductive pattern (connection between 204 and 206) configured to electrically connect the conductive portion (108) to the ground area (104) ; and a wireless communication circuit (¶63, remote wireless transceiver circuitry 38) configured to supply power to the conductive portion (108) through at least the first conductive pattern (94) (¶63) , wherein the second conductive pattern (242) includes a loop shape and is at least partially located between at least the first conductive pattern (94) and the third conductive pattern (204-206) . Edwards does not explicitly disclose “a closed loop shape”. However, Edwards does disclose (¶64) “antenna 40W/242 may include an inverted-F antenna resonating element or other suitable antenna resonating element ”. Edwards also discloses (¶20) “The antennas of the wireless communications circuitry can include loop antennas”. PNG media_image3.png 589 455 media_image3.png Greyscale Piao teaches (fig. 4a below) the use of a closed loop for an antenna element that provides a decoupling function. PNG media_image4.png 275 522 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards to provide a second conductive shape having closed loop shape, as taught by Piao. The motivation to do so is to provide a compact MIMO antenna that can be used for 5G applications. Claim 2 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Edwards discloses wherein the second conductive pattern (242) does not overlap the first conductive pattern (94) and the third conductive pattern (204 to 206) , when the substrate is viewed from above (the second conductive pattern only overlaps the third conductive pattern) . Claim 5 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. The modified Edwards teaches (annotated fig. 5 below) wherein the electronic device (10) comprises a first loop area (L1) defined by the conductive portion (108) , the ground area (104) , the first conductive pattern (94) , and the third conductive pattern (204-206), and a second loop area (L2) defined by the closed loop shape of the second conductive pattern (242) , and wherein the second loop (L2) area has a smaller area than the first loop area (L1) . PNG media_image5.png 524 506 media_image5.png Greyscale Claim 7 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Edwards discloses wherein the conductive portion (108) includes a first portion (¶55, resonating arm 108) and second portions (¶57, vertical portions of 108) spaced apart from the first portion (horizontal portion of resonating arm 108) and electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit (38) (via transmission line conductor 94) , wherein the first conductive pattern (94) and the third conductive pattern (204-206) are electrically connected to the first portion (resonating arm 108) (shown in fig. 5) , and wherein the wireless communication circuit (38) is configured to transmit and receive a wireless signal using the first portion (resonating arm 108) and the second portions (vertical portions) (¶57) . Claim 8 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 7. Edwards discloses wherein the first conductive pattern (94) is electrically connected to a first point (fig. 5, at 98) of the first portion (resonating arm of 108) , wherein the third conductive pattern (204-206) is electrically connected to a second point (fig. 5, at 204) of the first portion (108) , and wherein the first point (98) is closer to an end of the first portion (108) than the second point (204) (the first point 98 is closer to terminal 210 than the second point 204) . Claim 9 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Edwards discloses wherein the substrate further includes a pattern (fig. 7, return path 244) configured to electrically connect the second conductive pattern (242) to the ground area (104) . Claim 10 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Edwards discloses further comprising: a connecting member, comprising conductive material, disposed on the substrate (¶90, “fasteners are described as being used to short conductive components to the antenna ground. In general, any desired fastener such as a bracket, clip, spring, pin, screw, solder, weld, conductive adhesive, or a combination of these may be used. Fasteners may be used to electrically connect and/or mechanically secure components within electronic device 10. Fasteners may be used at any desired terminals within electronic device 10 (e.g., terminals 224, 204, 206, 264, 98, 100, 210, and/or 212)”) , wherein the connecting member electrically connects the first conductive pattern (94) to the conductive portion (108) . Claim 11 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Edwards discloses further comprising: at least one passive element, comprising a capacitor and/or inductor (202) , interposed in at least one of: the first conductive pattern (94) , the second conductive pattern (242) , or the third conductive pattern (204-206) (¶73, “component 202 may include fixed components that are not coupled to switches. Component 202 may include any other desired components, e.g., resistors, capacitors, and/or inductors arranged in any desired manner”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2019/0081386; “Edwards”) in view of Piao et al. (CN111370869A; “Piao”), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0072031; “Chen”) . Claim 3: the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Edwards does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate includes a first layer and a second layer different from the first layer, wherein the first conductive pattern is disposed in the first layer, and wherein the second conductive pattern is disposed in the second layer. Chen teaches (fig. 3 below) an electronic device comprising a substrate (84) having multiple layers (86) including a second layer (90/92) and a first layer (lowermost of layers 86) . A second conductive pattern (antenna resonating element 90) is formed in the second layer and a first conductive pattern (¶51, “signal paths 104 may form transmission line structures”) is formed in the first layer (lowermost of layers 86) . PNG media_image6.png 350 441 media_image6.png Greyscale Claim 4 : the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the substrate includes a plurality of layers (90/92, 94, 86) including the first layer (lowermost of layers 86) and the second layer (90/92) , wherein the first layer is located in the uppermost layer among the plurality of layers, and wherein the second layer (90/92) is located in the lowermost layer among the plurality of layers (uppermost and lowermost are relative terms and are interpreted in relation to the radio component 88 shown in fig. 3) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2019/0081386; “Edwards”) in view of Piao et al. (US 2023/0072031; “Piao”) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2025/0183518; “Wang”) . Claim 6: the modified Edwards teaches the electronic device of claim 1. The modified Edwards teaches wherein the electronic device (10) comprises a first loop area (L1) defined by the conductive portion (108) , the ground area (104) , the first conductive pattern (94) , and the third conductive pattern (204-206), and a second loop area (L2) defined by the closed loop shape of the second conductive pattern (242) . Edwards does not explicitly disclose and wherein the first loop area is configured for a differential mode current to flow in the first loop area (L1) and the second loop area (L2). Wang teaches (fig. 3) a MIMO system that includes a parasitic radiation branch (303) that is used to form differential-mode currents on first (301) and second (302) radiation branches. In this manner currents flowing in the first and second branches are reduced (through partial current cancellation) which reduces mutual coupling therebetween which improves performance of the whole antenna system (¶66). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Edwards in view of Piao, wherein the first antenna loop area is configured for a different mode current to flow in the first loop area and the second loop area, as taught by Wang. Doing so reduces antenna coupling and improves performance of the whole antenna system (¶66 of Wang) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Jeon et al. (US 2018/0288203; “Jeon”) in view of Wang et al. (US 2025/0183518; “Wang”) . Claim 18 : Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the electronic device comprises: a first loop area (L2) defined by the loop pattern (640) ; and a second loop area (L1) defined by the closed loop shape of the second conductive pattern (540) . Jeon does not explicitly disclose and wherein the first loop area is configured for a differential mode current to flow in the first loop area and the second loop area. Wang teaches (fig. 3) a MIMO system that includes a parasitic radiation branch (303) that is used to form differential-mode currents on first (301) and second (302) radiation branches. In this manner currents flowing in the first and second branches are reduced (through partial current cancellation) which reduces mutual coupling therebetween which improves performance of the whole antenna system (¶66). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Jeon wherein the first loop area is configured for a differential mode current to flow in the first loop area and the second loop area, as taught by Wang. Doing so reduces antenna coupling and improves performance of the whole antenna system (¶66 of Wang) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piao et al. (CN111370869A; “Piao”) in view of Wu et al. (US 2014/0313089; “Wu”), and further in view of Edwards et al. (US 2019/0081386; “Edwards”) . Claim 19 : Piao discloses (fig. 4a above) An electronic device (¶2, “compact MIMO antenna system”) comprising: an antenna structure (¶70, inverted F-antennas 410a & 410b) ; a substrate (¶49, PCB) ; wherein the antenna structure includes: a radiating arm (¶71, seventh resonant line 413a; ¶72, eighth resonant line 413b) ; a feed line (¶71, 412a, 412b) , the feed line being electrically connected between at least the wireless communication circuit and the radiating arm (413a, 413b) ; a shorting line (vertical portions of 413a & 413b) , the shorting line (vertical portions of 413a & 413b) being configured to ground the radiating arm (¶71, one end of the seventh resonance line 413a is connected to the ground plane 102; ¶72, one end of the eighth resonant line 413b is connected to the ground plane 102) ; and a decoupling pattern (¶70, ring decoupling structure 120) , and wherein the decoupling pattern (120) includes a closed loop shape and is at least partially located between at least the feed line (412a, 412b) and the shorting line (vertical portions of 413a & 413b) . Piao does not explicitly disclose a wireless communication circuit disposed on the substrate, the feed line at least partially including a conductive pattern of the substrate, the shorting line at least partially including a conductive pattern of the substrate; and the decoupling pattern including a conductive pattern of the substrate. Wu teaches (fig. 5 below) an electronic device (multi-antenna system 10) with a decoupling pattern (¶27, “the interference energy between the two antenna elements 130 and 140 can be decreased through the decoupling element 150, so as to improve isolation between the two antenna elements 130 and 140”) on a substrate (110) . Wu also teaches a feed line (feeding portions 142, 132) , a shorting line (ground portions 143, 133) , and a decoupling pattern (150) which include a conductive pattern of the substrate (110) (¶23, “The first feeding portion 132 and the first ground portion 133 are electrically connected to the first radiation portion 131.”) . PNG media_image7.png 353 462 media_image7.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Piao to provide the feed line at least partially including a conductive pattern of the substrate, the shorting line at least partially including a conductive pattern of the substrate; and the decoupling pattern including a conductive pattern of the substrate, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so is to provide a compact antenna structure suitable for implementing MIMO, as the antennas can be situated closer to one another due to the decoupling pattern. Wu does not explicitly teach a wireless communication circuit disposed on the substrate. Edwards teaches (fig. 5) a wireless communication circuit (cellular transceiver circuitry 38) disposed on the substrate (¶59). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Piao in view of Wu to include a wireless communication circuit on the substrate, as taught by Edwards. The motivation to do so is to provide antenna feed signals to a cellular telephone antenna (¶59). Claim 20 : the modified Piao teaches the electronic device of claim 19. Piao does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a housing including a conductive portion, where the radiating arm includes at least one of: the conductive portion; or a conductive pattern of the substrate. Edwards teaches (figs. 4-5) a housing including a conductive portion (conductive housing structures 16) , where a radiating arm (resonating arm 108) includes at least one of: the conductive portion (resonating arm 108 is part of the conductive housing structure 16) ; or a conductive pattern of the substrate. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Piao in view of Wu, wherein the electronic device further comprises: a housing including a conductive portion, where the radiating arm includes at least one of: the conductive portion; or a conductive pattern of the substrate, as taught by Edwards. The motivation to do so is to form conductive structures for the antennas from conductive electronic device structures (¶20), leading to an electronic device that can have multiple antennas for use in a MIMO scheme in a compact form . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The pertinent prior art, as a whole, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention(s) as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant . For example , regarding claim 13 , Jeon (IDS document US 2018/0288203) discloses (fig. 7) wherein the substrate further includes a third conductive pattern (5121) configured to electrically connect the conductive portion (512) to the ground area (521) and a fifth conductive pattern (conductive pattern 530) electrically connected to the ground area (521). However, Jeon does not teach, or suggest, wherein the fifth conductive pattern includes a closed loop shape and is at least partially located between the first conductive pattern and the third conductive pattern. Claim 15 is dependent on claim 13 and included in the allowable subject matter. Regarding claim 16 , Jeon does not teach, or suggest, wherein the second conductive pattern does not overlap the loop pattern when the substrate is viewed from above (Jeon teaches that the second conductive pattern overlaps the loop pattern in the Z-direction, ¶115 & ¶169) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhu et al. (US 2013/0050031) – antenna isolation elements in the form of a loop. Shi et al. (US 2013/0016024) – use of a parasitic loop for reducing coupling between two antennas. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANNA N HAMADYK whose telephone number is (703)756-1672. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dimary Lopez can be reached at (571) 270-7893. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845 /DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 4 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 8 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 9 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 10 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 11 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 12 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 13 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 14 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 15 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 16 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 17 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/082,866 Page 18 Art Unit: 2845