This action is in response to the documents received on March 18, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ARRANT et al. (US 6,941,724).
In reference to claims 1 and 2, ARRANT et al. discloses a closure head comprising: a magnetic coupling including a first magnetic ring 114 that interacts magnetically with a second magnetic ring 190; an adjusting component 106 that carries the first magnetic ring 114; a connecting component 38 adjustably holding the adjusting component 106 to facilitate adjustment of the first magnetic ring 114 relative to the second magnetic ring 190, the connecting component 38 elastically pretensioned (spring loaded) 70 to a holding position in which the connecting component 38 connects the adjusting component 106 to a holding component 42 in a rotationally fixed manner (column 4 line 55- column 5 line 8); and a locking component 74 is elastically pretensioned 70 to a locked position in which the locking component 74 blocks the connecting component 38 in the holding position (column 5 lines 51-62).
Regarding claim 6, figure 1 of ARRANT et al. further discloses a stop element 78 that limits the movability of the locking component 74.
With respect to claim 7 figure 1 of ARRANT et al. further discloses the stop element 78 having a connection mechanism 86 engaging an elongated hole 90 of the locking component 74.
In reference to claim 9, column 7 lines 26-28 of ARRANT et al. discloses magnets 194 of the second magnetic ring 190 are encapsulated.
Regarding claim 10, column 8 lines 4-25 of ARRANT et al. discloses the first magnetic ring 114 as adjustable by the adjusting device 106 to increase or decrease an overlap with the second magnetic ring 190 as claimed.
With respect to claim 11, figure 1 of ARRANT et al. discloses the first magnetic ring 114 as an outer magnetic ring relative to the second magnetic ring 190.
In reference to claim 12, column 4 lines 55-62 of ARRANT et al. discloses the connecting component 38 is mounted to the to the adjusting component 106 and axially movable per axially extending splines.
Regarding claim 13, column 5 lines 36-47 of ARRANT et al. discloses the locking component 74 as movable parallel to a central axis 14 of the closure head (figure 1).
With respect to claim 15, column 5 lines 55-62 and column 6 lines 1-3 of ARRANT et al. the adjusting component 106 is helically (threads-figure 1) rotable about a center 14 of the holding component 42 when the locking component 74 is an unlocked position.
In reference to claims 16 and 17, ARRANT et al. discloses a closure head 10 comprising: a magnetic coupling including a first magnetic ring 114 that interacts magnetically with a second magnetic ring 190; an adjusting component 38 that carries the first magnetic ring 114; a connecting component 38 adjustably holding the adjusting component 106 to facilitate adjustment of the first magnetic ring 114 relative to the second magnetic ring 190, the connecting component 38 elastically pretensioned (spring loaded) 70 to a holding position in which the connecting component 38 connects the adjusting component 106 to a holding component 42 in a rotationally fixed manner (column 5 lines 36-43); and a locking component 74 is elastically pretensioned 70 to a locked position in which the locking component 74 blocks the connecting component 38 in the holding position (column 5 lines 51-62). ARRANT et al. further discloses the outer peripheral surface of the holding component 42 having a helical groove track (threads).
Regarding claim 18, figure 1 of ARRANT et al. further discloses the locking component 74, the adjusting component 106 and the holding component arranged concentrically about a longitudinal axis 14.
With respect to claim 19, figure 1 of ARRANT et al. further discloses a drive shaft 26 connected (14) to the holding component 42.
In reference to claim 20, ARRANTE et al. further discloses a process of using the closure head of claim 1 comprising: manually (78) moving the locking component 74 against the elastic pretension of the spring 70 from a locked position (fixed axially) to an unlocked position (axial movement along 14) thereby rotating the adjusting component 106 and the first magnetic ring 114 relative to the second magnetic ring 190 (column 5 lines 44-50); wherein the connecting component 38 rotates to a released position (closure released onto container) against the elastic pretension (70) and then moves back (slips) to a holding position under the elastic pretension (column 8 line 65 – column 9 line 21)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
January 13, 2026