Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 4 and 6-20 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dirauf et al. (US 20190343701 A1, hereinafter known as Dirauf).
Regarding claim 3, Dirauf teaches A method for transporting patient apparatus, including stretchers, hospital beds, gurneys, and other patient transport apparatuses, comprising: engaging, lifting, guiding, caging, steering, or pulling by an autonomous robotic system, wheels of the patient apparatuses for autonomous movement.
{Para [0045] “The transport device (or trolley or cart) is mainly designed for the transport of sick beds. Empty sick beds can be autonomously transported throughout the hospital with the help of a fully automatic control system with sensors and navigation function. When a patient is lying in the sick bed, the transport device is accompanied by a nurse, who is mainly concerned with the patient.”
Para [0053-0056] “Furthermore, at least one embodiment of the invention is directed to a method for automatically operating a transport device according to an embodiment of the invention, comprising:
driving the transport device to the object,
lifting the object and
transporting the object to a destination.”
}
Regarding claim 4, Dirauf teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising moving the patient apparatus from one location to another.
{Para [0053-0056] “Furthermore, at least one embodiment of the invention is directed to a method for automatically operating a transport device according to an embodiment of the invention, comprising:
driving the transport device to the object,
lifting the object and
transporting the object to a destination.”
}
Regarding claim 6, Dirauf teaches An autonomous mobile robot system for in-hospital patient transport apparatus, comprising:
a steering assembly;
a drive motor;
{Para [0061] “Preferably, the omnidirectional wheels 3 are of the Mecanum type. The base body 2 can comprise a control unit for autonomous movement of the transport device and batteries for sup-plying the motor-driven omnidirectional wheels 3 with electrical power.”
}
a plurality of extendable arms; and
{Para [0060] “Each prong 4 comprises a first linear guiding sleeve 5 and a first extension 7, which can be pulled into and moved out of the first linear guiding sleeve 5 by movement of the motor-driven omnidirectional wheel 3. Thus, the wheelbase of the chassis 1 can be varied. For variation of the track gauge, the chassis 1 comprises a second linear guiding sleeve 6, rectangular arranged to the prongs 4, and a second extension 8, which can be pulled into and moved out of the second linear guiding sleeve 6 causing the variation of the track gauge due to movement of the omnidirectional wheel 3.”
}
a wheel engagement module configured to engage with wheels of the transport apparatuses.
{Para [0064] “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a lifting device 11 of the transport device in a spatial view. The lifting device 11 is inwardly mounted on the first extraction 7 of a prong 4. The omnidirectional wheel 3 is mounted outwardly. The lifting device 11 comprises two rollers 13 and blade 12 both mounted on a base plate. Rollers 13 and blade 12 form a curved structure, which can easily slip under a wheel 18 of a sick bed 17 or any other object with wheels. By slipping the rollers 13 and the blade 12 under the wheel 18 the wheel 18 is lifted. Slipping is induced by a movement of the first extraction 7 due to a movement of the omnidirectional wheel 3. Since the rollers 13 are able to rotate along their axis blocked or locked wheels 18 are able to glide onto the lifting device 11.”
}
Regarding claim 8, Dirauf teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the steering assembly is a spinning platform.
{Para [0061] “Preferably, the omnidirectional wheels 3 are of the Mecanum type. The base body 2 can comprise a control unit for autonomous movement of the transport device and batteries for sup-plying the motor-driven omnidirectional wheels 3 with electrical power.”
The chassis itself can be considered the spinning platform that are spun by the omnidirectional wheels.
}
Regarding claim 9, Dirauf teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the drive motor is configured to propel the robot system in various directions.
{ Para [0061] “Preferably, the omnidirectional wheels 3 are of the Mecanum type. The base body 2 can comprise a control unit for autonomous movement of the transport device and batteries for sup-plying the motor-driven omnidirectional wheels 3 with electrical power.”
}
Regarding claim 10, Dirauf teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of extendable arms are configured to adjust according to widths of wheelbases of the in-hospital patient transport apparatus.
{Fig. 1 and Para [0059-0060] “The chassis 1 has the shape of a two-pronged fork comprising two parallel oriented prongs 4 which can be elongated and laterally moved. Therefore, the wheelbase (direction 9) and the track gauge (direction 10) of the chassis can be varied and adapted to the size of an object to be transported. Responsible for this variation are four individually motor-driven omnidirectional wheels 3 arranged on the prongs 4, two on each prong 4. Preferably, the motorized omnidirectional wheel 3 uses an electrical motor for driving.
Each prong 4 comprises a first linear guiding sleeve 5 and a first extension 7, which can be pulled into and moved out of the first linear guiding sleeve 5 by movement of the motor-driven omnidirectional wheel 3. Thus, the wheelbase of the chassis 1 can be varied. For variation of the track gauge, the chassis 1 comprises a second linear guiding sleeve 6, rectangular arranged to the prongs 4, and a second extension 8, which can be pulled into and moved out of the second linear guiding sleeve 6 causing the variation of the track gauge due to movement of the omnidirectional wheel 3.”
}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirauf et al. (US 20190343701 A1, hereinafter known as Dirauf) in view of Raun (EP 2039336 A2).
Regarding Claim 7, Dirauf teaches The system of claim 6.
Dirauf does not explicitly teach, further comprising: a battery compartment; and an electronics compartment for holding electrical and computer components for autonomous actions.
However, Raun teaches further comprising: a battery compartment; and an electronics compartment for holding electrical and computer components for autonomous actions.
{Para [0041] “In Fig. 7, details of a drive unit 2 as shown in Fig. 6 are shown. Among others is seen that between the drive wheels 20 there is a guard 21 under which an electric motor and the necessary control electronics are disposed. Above this guard 21 is arranged an accumulator pack 11 which may easily be replaced when required. In front of the transverse part 5, the combined wheel fixing and lifting means 18 are arranged. In this variant also, rotating the transverse bar 23 is effected by actuators 24 which are here fastened to a fixed point under the accumulator pack 11 and to arms 25 on the transverse bar 23. By activating the mounted actuator or actuators, the wheel fixing brackets 27 may be lowered and elevated according to need. Operation of the actuators may advantageously be effected by an electric switch on the control handle 6, but other methods may of course be used for rotating the transverse bar 23.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirauf to incorporate the teachings of Raun to have compartments for electronics and the battery because as is well known within the art placing the battery and electronics in a compartment improves reliability as it reduces the chances of accidental damage.
Regarding Claim 11, Dirauf teaches The system of claim 6. Dirauf a front lifting device configured to lift the wheels to complete the engagement; and
{Para [0064] “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a lifting device 11 of the transport device in a spatial view. The lifting device 11 is inwardly mounted on the first extraction 7 of a prong 4. The omnidirectional wheel 3 is mounted outwardly. The lifting device 11 comprises two rollers 13 and blade 12 both mounted on a base plate. Rollers 13 and blade 12 form a curved structure, which can easily slip under a wheel 18 of a sick bed 17 or any other object with wheels. By slipping the rollers 13 and the blade 12 under the wheel 18 the wheel 18 is lifted. Slipping is induced by a movement of the first extraction 7 due to a movement of the omnidirectional wheel 3. Since the rollers 13 are able to rotate along their axis blocked or locked wheels 18 are able to glide onto the lifting device 11.”
}
a capture cage configured to align the wheels during engagement for proper fit.
{fig. 7 which shows the wheel is aligned because pressure is applied on two sides
}
Dirauf does not explicitly teach, wherein the wheel engagement module comprises: a rear gate configured to rotate to capture the wheels once in position;
However, Raun teaches wherein the wheel engagement module comprises: a rear gate configured to rotate to capture the wheels once in position;
{Para [0036] “In Fig. 3, the wheel fixing bracket is shown in lowered position, and it appears that the front part 32 of the wheel fixing bracket 27 is designed flat in order that the wheel 31 may more easily be pulled over this front edge 32. The wheel fixing bracket is lowered in that the actuators 24 are activated and perform a turning movement of the transverse bar 23. During transport of the drive unit 2, as a rule the transverse bar and thereby the wheel fixing brackets 27 are always lifted off the base.”
Para [0038] “In Fig. 5, the wheel lifter is seen in operation, where the wheel 31 is fixed in the wheel fixing bracket 27, clamped between the stop plate 29 and the front part 32 of the bracket 27, and lifted off the base in that the actuator 24 is activated, thereby having performed a rotating movement of the transverse bar 23.”
Fig. 4 and fig. 5 where the back part of object 27 can be considered a rear gate
}
a front lifting device configured to lift the wheels to complete the engagement; and
{Fig. 4 and fig. 5 object 29 which can be seen to lift the wheel
}
a capture cage configured to align the wheels during engagement for proper fit.
{Fig. 4 and fig. 5 the sides of object 27 which can be seen to stop the wheel from pivoting.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirauf to incorporate the teachings of Raun to have a rotatable rear gate because it allows a variety of wheel types to be used as discussed in para [0012] of Raun “These lifting mechanisms may be adapted as wheel fixing means which advantageously can be made as brackets fixed to a transverse bar on the drive unit which extends in the width of the transport unit and at least having a length corresponding to the wheel spacing on the transport unit. The wheel fixing means may each also be constituted by two arms which at one end are secured to the transverse bar and which at the other end is provided with at least one hole for receiving a through going mandrel by which the two are connected. By making several holes in the arms, adjusting options are obtained such that adaptation to different wheel sizes may readily be performed. Adjustment may also advantageously occur where bracket and arms, respectively, are fitted to the transverse bar.”
Regarding Claim 14, Dirauf in view of Raun teaches The system of claim 11. Raun teaches wherein the front lifting device comprises: a front lifting rod that is actuated via a lead screw, which is actuated by a motor via a geared assembly;
{Para [0041] “Turning the bar 23 is effected by electric actuators 24, which are shown here fixed at one10 end to the forwardly directed part 4 and at the other end to arms 25 mounted on the transverse bar 23.”
Fig. 1 label 24 where it is well known within the art that these type of actuators are driven using a lead screw and a set of gears to connect the motor to the lead screw
}
a front lifting block guided by a set of linear bushings mounted to frames of the extendable arms.
{Para [0041] “Turning the bar 23 is effected by electric actuators 24, which are shown here fixed at one10 end to the forwardly directed part 4 and at the other end to arms 25 mounted on the transverse bar 23.”
Fig. 1 label 24 where it is well known within the art that these type of actuators are driven using a lead screw. The extending portion telescopes out of the casing which in itself can be considered a bushing. The actuators are mounted to the central chassis. Dirauf already teaches the chassis consisting of extendable arms.
}
Regarding Claim 15, Dirauf in view of Raun teaches The system of claim 11. Raun teaches wherein the wheel engagement module is configured to enable the wheels to roll freely along ground while pivoting about its steering axis.
{Para [0036] “In Fig. 3, the wheel fixing bracket is shown in lowered position, and it appears that the front part 32 of the wheel fixing bracket 27 is designed flat in order that the wheel 31 may more easily be pulled over this front edge 32. The wheel fixing bracket is lowered in that the actuators 24 are activated and perform a turning movement of the transverse bar 23. During transport of the drive unit 2, as a rule the transverse bar and thereby the wheel fixing brackets 27 are always lifted off the base.”
Para [0038] “In Fig. 5, the wheel lifter is seen in operation, where the wheel 31 is fixed in the wheel fixing bracket 27, clamped between the stop plate 29 and the front part 32 of the bracket 27, and lifted off the base in that the actuator 24 is activated, thereby having performed a rotating movement of the transverse bar 23.”
Where the wheel is free to be steered in or out of the wheel fixing bracket when it is in the lowered position. The limitation has not defined when or how the wheel engagement module is configured to enable the wheels to roll freely along ground while pivoting about its steering axis.
}
Regarding Claim 16, Dirauf in view of Raun teaches The system of claim 11. Dirauf teaches wherein the wheel engagement module is either powered or passive.
{Para [0064] “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a lifting device 11 of the transport device in a spatial view. The lifting device 11 is inwardly mounted on the first extraction 7 of a prong 4. The omnidirectional wheel 3 is mounted outwardly. The lifting device 11 comprises two rollers 13 and blade 12 both mounted on a base plate. Rollers 13 and blade 12 form a curved structure, which can easily slip under a wheel 18 of a sick bed 17 or any other object with wheels. By slipping the rollers 13 and the blade 12 under the wheel 18 the wheel 18 is lifted. Slipping is induced by a movement of the first extraction 7 due to a movement of the omnidirectional wheel 3. Since the rollers 13 are able to rotate along their axis blocked or locked wheels 18 are able to glide onto the lifting device 11”
}
Regarding Claim 17, Dirauf in view of Raun teaches The system of claim 1. Raun teaches wherein when the wheel engagement module is powered, the wheels are driven to roll and steer through motorized guidance.
{Para [0036] “In Fig. 3, the wheel fixing bracket is shown in lowered position, and it appears that the front part 32 of the wheel fixing bracket 27 is designed flat in order that the wheel 31 may more easily be pulled over this front edge 32. The wheel fixing bracket is lowered in that the actuators 24 are activated and perform a turning movement of the transverse bar 23. During transport of the drive unit 2, as a rule the transverse bar and thereby the wheel fixing brackets 27 are always lifted off the base.”
Para [0038] “In Fig. 5, the wheel lifter is seen in operation, where the wheel 31 is fixed in the wheel fixing bracket 27, clamped between the stop plate 29 and the front part 32 of the bracket 27, and lifted off the base in that the actuator 24 is activated, thereby having performed a rotating movement of the transverse bar 23.”
Where since the wheel is being aligned and lifted through the force of the motor it can be said that the wheels are driven to roll and steer through motorized guidance.
}
Regarding Claim 18, Dirauf in view of Raun teaches The system of claim 11. Dirauf teaches wherein when the wheel engagement module is passive, the wheels move freely, allowing for regular motions.
{Para [0064] “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a lifting device 11 of the transport device in a spatial view. The lifting device 11 is inwardly mounted on the first extraction 7 of a prong 4. The omnidirectional wheel 3 is mounted outwardly. The lifting device 11 comprises two rollers 13 and blade 12 both mounted on a base plate. Rollers 13 and blade 12 form a curved structure, which can easily slip under a wheel 18 of a sick bed 17 or any other object with wheels. By slipping the rollers 13 and the blade 12 under the wheel 18 the wheel 18 is lifted. Slipping is induced by a movement of the first extraction 7 due to a movement of the omnidirectional wheel 3. Since the rollers 13 are able to rotate along their axis blocked or locked wheels 18 are able to glide onto the lifting device 11”
It should be noted that applicant has not defined what constitutes the wheel engagement module being powered or passive. As the wheel is rolled into the wheel engagement module on rollers and sits on rollers it can be said the wheels are allowed to move freely.
}
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirauf et al. (US 20190343701 A1, hereinafter known as Dirauf) in view of Ota et al. (US 20120029697 A1, hereinafter known as Ota).
Regarding Claim 12, Dirauf teaches The system of claim 6.
Dirauf does not explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of extendable arms comprise: a motor configured to drive a pair of opposite hand threaded lead screws, wherein the lead screws allow for translation of an arms mount through engagement with a lead screw nut.
However, Ota teaches wherein the plurality of extendable arms comprise: a motor configured to drive a pair of opposite hand threaded lead screws, wherein the lead screws allow for translation of an arms mount through engagement with a lead screw nut.
{fig. 3 Para [0025] “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the docking arms 120 may be slidably adjusted closer and further away from one another in a first direction A. As described in more detail below, a position of the docking arms 120 may be varied along first direction A to be aligned with the target wheels of a target device when the robotic transportation device 100 approaches the target device. One end of the first portion 122 of each docking arm 120 is positioned within the body housing 111 of the device body 110. Further, a docking arm actuator 154 may be disposed within the body housing 111 of the device body 110. The docking arm actuator 154 may be mechanically coupled to the first portion 122 of each docking arm 120. The docking arm actuator 154 may be a linear motor having two members extending toward and coupled to the docking arms 120 in a direction parallel with first direction A. Actuation of the docking arm actuator 154 causes the docking arms 120 to move closer to one another or further apart from one another along first direction A such that a distance between the two docking arms 120 may be varied. Alternatively, the docking arm actuator 154 may be a pneumatic or hydraulic piston, or other similar device.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirauf to incorporate the teachings of Ota to use a linear actuator with opposing leadscrews because it would be obvious to try. There are a limited number of mechanisms that can cause symmetric opposing motion and thus a linear actuator with opposing leadscrews could be implemented without excessive experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668 /JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668