Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 4-11 are amended. Claims 2 and 3 are canceled. Claim 12 has been added as a new claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 recites an improved user interface and integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. Examiner disagrees. The courts have identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application, which include: merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claims recite the additional elements of: an image forming device configured to form an image, a controller and user interface, and a memory configured to store [contract] information. The additional element of the controller, user interface, and memory are a computer components recited at a high-level of generality performing the above-mentioned limitations, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. The image forming device amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (contracts for services of image forming devices). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea. The user interface as described in the claims is merely displaying data. There is no evidence of an improved user interface. Rendering or displaying data is a normal step that necessarily follows from any data processing. The claim does not improve the functioning of the display hardware, improve visual layout, solve a graphical user interface problem, but instead simply uses a display as a tool to present the data the corresponds to the judicial exception. Displaying information is a normal expected output of computing systems and does not amount to an improvement in computer functionality. Here, the claims are similar to that of Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016), in which the court found that the claims directed to the abstract idea of “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” are not patent eligible. At best, the alleged improvement is an improvement in the judicial exception itself (e.g., observation evaluation, judgment, opinion). It is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the judicial exception itself is not an improvement in technology (emphasis added). For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG LLC, the court determined that the claim simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology. Similarly, at best the applicant’s claim recitations are an improvement in the judicial exception, not an improvement in technology.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes that applicant’s argument that Shiori’s flat-rate/non-flat rate status does not relate to a delivery condition is invalid. Shiori discloses in ¶0052 that if the printing apparatus is in a flat-rate status, ink tanks dedicated to the flat-rate service are mounted in the ink tank unit for all the inks that can be used, and thereby printing can be performed; flat-rate ink tanks can be used only in a flat-rate status, in which a flat-rate service can be provided, and cannot be used in a non-flat-rate status; if the contract period passed and the contract status has changed from a flat-rate status to a non-flat-rate status, it is necessary to change all of the ink tanks mounted in the ink tank unit to one-off type general- purpose ink tanks to be used in the non-flat-rate status; in a non-flat-rate status, if even one flat-rate ink tank is mounted in the ink tank unit, printing will be restricted and become impossible; flat-rate ink tanks are prevented from improper use. This directly relates to a delivery condition on whether the consumables can be delivered at all based on the status.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recite the limitations “the controller is configured to perform the notify the user…” To correct this grammatical error, a suggestion is made that the limitation recite “the controller is configured to notify the user.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 4-10, and 12 recite a system (i.e. machine), and claim 11 recites an apparatus (i.e. machine or article of manufacture). Therefore claims 1 and 4-12 fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations: receive a user input from a user of the [image forming device]; store contract information indicating a contract to utilize the [image forming device]; receive a request to switch the contract from a first contract to a second contract different from the first contract, each of first contract information on the first contract and second contract information on the second contract including particular information defining a condition for delivering the consumable, such that the condition constitutes a delivery condition; and notify the user in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract; and wherein the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable, wherein the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold. The invention and claims are drawn towards a consumable (e.g., toner cartridge, etc.) management system allowing for the switching of contracts for consuming devices such as image forming devices (e.g., printers), and the claims recite limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial interactions, business relations, following rules or instructions; managing personal interactions, behavior or relationships) as evidenced by the limitations detailing receiving a user input from a user of the [image forming device]; storing contract information indicating a contract to utilize the [image forming device]; receiving a request to switch the contract from a first contract to a second contract different from the first contract, each of first contract information on the first contract and second contract information on the second contract including particular information defining a condition for delivering the consumable, such that the condition constitutes a delivery condition; and notifying the user in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract; and wherein the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable, wherein the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold. The claim limitations also correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), as evidenced by the limitations detailing the observation and evaluation of data in order to make a decision or determination (e.g., receiving a request to switch contracts and transmitting the notification to a user). The claims recite an abstract idea.
Note: The features or elements in brackets in the above Step 2A Prong One section are inserted for reading clarity, but are analyzed as “additional elements” under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claims recite the additional elements of: an image forming device configured to form an image, a controller and user interface, and a memory configured to store [contract] information. The additional element of the controller, user interface, and memory are a computer components recited at a high-level of generality performing the above-mentioned limitations, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. The image forming device amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (contracts for services of image forming devices). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 4-10 recite additional limitations that are further directed to the abstract idea analyzed in the rejected claims above. The claims also recite additional elements that have been analyzed in the rejected claims above. Thus, claims 4-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Independent claim 11 recites the limitations: receive a request to switch the contract from a first contract to a second contract different from the first contract, each of first contract information on the first contract and second contract information on the second contract including particular information defining a condition for delivering the consumable, such that the condition constitutes a delivery condition; and transmit a notification to a user of the [image forming device] in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, wherein the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable, wherein the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein [the controller] is configured to notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold. The invention and claims are drawn towards a consumable (e.g., toner cartridge, etc.) management system allowing for the switching of contracts for consuming devices such as image forming devices (e.g., printers), and the claims recite limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial interactions, business relations, following rules or instructions; managing personal interactions, behavior or relationships) as evidenced by the limitations detailing receive a request to switch the contract from a first contract to a second contract different from the first contract, each of first contract information on the first contract and second contract information on the second contract including particular information defining a condition for delivering the consumable, such that the condition constitutes a delivery condition; and transmit a notification to a user of the [image forming device] in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, wherein the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable, wherein the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein [the controller] is configured to notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold. The claim limitations also correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), as evidenced by the limitations detailing the observation and evaluation of data in order to make a decision or determination (e.g., receiving a request to switch contracts and transmitting the notification to a user). The claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claims recite the additional elements of: an image forming device configured to form an image, a controller, a communication interface, and a memory configured to store [contract] information. The additional element of the controller, communication interface, and memory are a computer components recited at a high-level of generality performing the above-mentioned limitations, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. The image forming device amounts to generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (contracts for services of image forming devices). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiori (2023/0182481) in view of Hattori (2022/0171585).
Claim 1: Shiori discloses: A consumable management system comprising:
an image forming device configured to form an image by consuming a consumable; (Shioiri ¶0033 disclosing a printing apparatus (image forming device); ¶0095 further disclosing consumable such as toner cartridge; ¶0002 consumable part such as a toner cartridge and an ink tank filled with a printing material)
a controller; (Shiori ¶0055 disclosing the main controller)
a user interface configured to receive a user input from a user of the image forming device; and (Shiori ¶0043 disclosing receiving input via the host I/F (interface), wireless I/F, etc.; ¶0045 further discloses the operation panel being a mechanism for the user to perform and input operation for the printing apparatus)
a memory configured to store contract information indicating a contract to utilize the image forming device, (Shiori ¶0047 disclosing the non-volatile memory capable of storing a contract status or the like which is determined based on contract information transmitted from the contract server)
wherein the controller is configured to: receive, through the user interface, a request to switch the contract from a first contract to a second contract different from the first contract, each of first contract information on the first contract and second contract information on the second contract including particular information defining a condition for delivering the consumable, such that the condition constitutes a delivery condition; and (Shioiri ¶0040 disclosing the ink tank information is information indicating the type of ink tank corresponding to information related to a contract; additional information is, for example, information related to an ink color or a serial number for identifying the ink tank; ¶0051 disclosing in the printing system 310, the contract status of the printing apparatus 1 transitions between a flat-rate status and a non-flat-rate status; based on the received contract information, whether the contract status is a flat-rate status or non-flat-rate status is determined. If it is determined that the contract status is a flat-rate status, the flat-rate status is maintained. On the other hand, if it is determined that the contract status is a non-flat-rate status, shifting to the non-flat-rate status is performed; further, regarding the printing apparatus 1 in a non-flat-rate status, if it is determined that the contract status is a flat-rate status, based on the contract information obtained from the contract server 111, shifting to the flat-rate status is performed (shifting from first contract to second contract…although wither or can be the first or second contract); on the other hand, if it is determined that the contract status is a non-flat-rate status, the non-flat-rate status is maintained; ¶0052 if the printing apparatus 1 is in a flat-rate status, ink tanks dedicated to the flat-rate service are mounted in the ink tank unit 14 for all the inks that can be used, and thereby printing can be performed; flat-rate ink tanks can be used only in a flat-rate status, in which a flat-rate service can be provided, and cannot be used in a non-flat-rate status; if the contract period passed and the contract status has changed from a flat-rate status to a non-flat-rate status, it is necessary to change all of the ink tanks mounted in the ink tank unit to one-off type general- purpose ink tanks to be used in the non-flat-rate status; in a non-flat-rate status, if even one flat-rate ink tank is mounted in the ink tank unit, printing will be restricted and become impossible; flat-rate ink tanks are prevented from improper use; ¶0053 in the printing apparatus of the printing system, printing is allowed or restricted based on the contract status of the printing apparatus , the color mode which is set in the print job, and the mounted ink tanks; ¶0055 the main controller 101 firstly requests the contract server 111 to transmit contract information of the printing apparatus 1. Based on this request, the contract server 111 transmits the requested contract information of the printing apparatus 1 to the printing apparatus 1. The printing apparatus 1 receives the contract information transmitted from the contract server 111 via the server I/F 110; ¶0057 if it is determined in S504 that the obtainment of the contract information is successful, the main controller 101 determines, based on the contract information, whether or not the printing apparatus 1 is within a flat-rate period during which a flat-rate service is provided (S506); ¶0062 disclosing shifting from the flat-rate to non-flat rate as needed or indicated by the contract based from the request; ¶0064; note that the user performs input or output operations of the printing apparatus (¶0045))
notify the user through the user interface in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information
Shiori in view of Hattori discloses:
wherein the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable,
Shiori discloses notifying the user in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, but does not explicitly disclose that the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable. Hattori suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Hattori ¶0089 the server controller obtains the ink remaining-amount information of the contracted cartridge mounted on the pre-switched image forming apparatus from the image forming apparatus , and may determine whether the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge is equal to or less than a predetermined amount or not; the ink remaining amount threshold determines the condition for delivering the consumable (see ¶0088, ¶0092… the server controller 81 executes the cancelling procedure for the pre-switched image forming apparatus based on… the fact that the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge is equal to or less than the predetermined amount;, and ¶0093 disclosing server controller transmits the contract-switching-instruction to the post-switched image forming apparatus see also ¶0098, ¶0100; Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shioiri to include that the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable as taught by Hattori. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Shioiri in order to associate the contracted consumables with the contracted device such that the contracted consumables are used for the identified contacted device (see ¶0005 of Hattori).
wherein the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein the controller is configured to perform the notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold.
Shiori discloses notifying the user in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, but does not explicitly disclose that the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein the controller is configured to perform the notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold. Hattori suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Hattori Fig. 6 and ¶0098 determine whether the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge mounted on the pre-switched image forming apparatus is equal to or less than the predetermined amount or not; server controller can perform the determination of the remaining amount of ink by receiving the ink remaining-amount information of the contracted cartridge from the pre-switched image forming apparatus; server controller may determine that the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge “is equal to or equal to or less than the predetermined amount” in a case where the contracted cartridge is empty (threshold); ¶0101 the server controller 81 may re-propose the switching plan to the user; the server controller may transmit a message for the re-proposal to the post-switched image forming apparatus or the user terminal; see also ¶0113; ¶0079 also discloses that notification of the ink remaining amounts for the cartridges may include words of “FULL” to “EMPTY” to the user, may be notified by numerals of “100%” to “0%” to the user, and may be notified by expressions combining the words and the numerals to the user, also ¶0031 discloses a current/contracted device or pre-switched, and the post-switched one which is a second separate contract apparatus that the user switches to, as explained earlier in above citations, once the remaining ink amount is equal to or below a threshold (e.g. empty); thus, since the switching occurs from the first/current contract when the ink is on empty, it is inferred that the second contract to which the user switches to after accepting a proposal to switch, is not empty; plus the citation in 0079 indicates that the notification of the remaining ink for the consumables may range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shioiri to include that the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein the controller is configured to perform the notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold as taught by Hattori. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Shioiri in order to associate the contracted consumables with the contracted device such that the contracted consumables are used for the identified contacted device (see ¶0005 of Hattori).
Claim 4: The consumable management system according to claim 1,
wherein the controller is configured to perform the notify the user, through the user interface, in response to the second threshold being greater than the first threshold.
Shiori discloses the system providing notifications to the regarding contract status, but does not explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to perform the notify the user, through the user interface, in response to the second threshold being greater than the first threshold. Hattori suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Hattori Fig. 6 and ¶0098 determine whether the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge mounted on the pre-switched (first contract) image forming apparatus is equal to or less than the predetermined amount or not (first threshold associated with first contract); server controller can perform the determination of the remaining amount of ink by receiving the ink remaining-amount information of the contracted cartridge from the pre-switched image forming apparatus; server controller may determine that the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge “is equal to or equal to or less than the predetermined amount” in a case where the contracted cartridge is empty (threshold); ¶0101 the server controller 81 may re-propose the switching plan to the user; the server controller may transmit a message for the re-proposal to the post-switched (second contract/agreement) image forming apparatus or the user terminal; see also ¶0113; ¶0079 also discloses that notification of the ink remaining amounts for the cartridges may include words of “FULL” to “EMPTY” to the user, may be notified by numerals of “100%” to “0%” to the user, and may be notified by expressions combining the words and the numerals to the user, also ¶0031 discloses a current/contracted device or pre-switched, and the post-switched (second contract or agreement) one which is a second separate contract apparatus that the user switches to, as explained earlier in above citations, once the remaining ink amount is equal to or below a threshold (e.g. empty); thus, since the switching occurs from the first/current contract when the ink is on empty, it is inferred that the second contract to which the user switches to after accepting a proposal to switch, is not empty (and thus greater than the first empty threshold); plus the citation in 0079 indicates that the notification of the remaining ink for the consumables may range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shioiri to include that the controller is configured to perform the notify the user, through the user interface, in response to the second threshold being greater than the first threshold as taught by Hattori. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Shioiri in order to associate the contracted consumables with the contracted device such that the contracted consumables are used for the identified contacted device (see ¶0005 of Hattori).
Claim 11: Shiori discloses: A consumable management apparatus configured to manage an image forming device configured to form an image by consuming a consumable, wherein the consumable management apparatus comprises; (Shioiri ¶0033 disclosing a printing apparatus (image forming device); ¶0095 further disclosing consumable such as toner cartridge; ¶0002 consumable part such as a toner cartridge and an ink tank filled with a printing material)
a controller; (Shiori ¶0055 disclosing the main controller)
a communication interface configured to communicate with an external device; and (Shiori ¶0043 disclosing receiving input via the host I/F (interface), wireless I/F, etc.; ¶0045 further discloses the operation panel being a mechanism for the user to perform and input operation for the printing apparatus; ¶0044 printing apparatus 1 may obtain image data from the host apparatus via a wireless communication or a wired communication or may obtain image data from an external storage (such as a USB memory) connected to the printing apparatus)
a memory configured to store contract information indicating a contract to utilize the image forming device, and (Shiori ¶0047 disclosing the non-volatile memory capable of storing a contract status or the like which is determined based on contract information transmitted from the contract server)
wherein the controller is configured to: receive, through the communication interface, a request to switch the contract from a first contract to a second contract different from the first contract, each of first contract information on the first contract and second contract information on the second contract including particular information defining a condition for delivering the consumable, such that the condition constitutes a delivery condition; and (Shioiri ¶0040 disclosing the ink tank information is information indicating the type of ink tank corresponding to information related to a contract; additional information is, for example, information related to an ink color or a serial number for identifying the ink tank; ¶0051 disclosing in the printing system 310, the contract status of the printing apparatus 1 transitions between a flat-rate status and a non-flat-rate status; based on the received contract information, whether the contract status is a flat-rate status or non-flat-rate status is determined. If it is determined that the contract status is a flat-rate status, the flat-rate status is maintained. On the other hand, if it is determined that the contract status is a non-flat-rate status, shifting to the non-flat-rate status is performed; further, regarding the printing apparatus 1 in a non-flat-rate status, if it is determined that the contract status is a flat-rate status, based on the contract information obtained from the contract server 111, shifting to the flat-rate status is performed (shifting from first contract to second contract…although wither or can be the first or second contract); on the other hand, if it is determined that the contract status is a non-flat-rate status, the non-flat-rate status is maintained; ¶0052 if the printing apparatus 1 is in a flat-rate status, ink tanks dedicated to the flat-rate service are mounted in the ink tank unit 14 for all the inks that can be used, and thereby printing can be performed; flat-rate ink tanks can be used only in a flat-rate status, in which a flat-rate service can be provided, and cannot be used in a non-flat-rate status; if the contract period passed and the contract status has changed from a flat-rate status to a non-flat-rate status, it is necessary to change all of the ink tanks mounted in the ink tank unit to one-off type general- purpose ink tanks to be used in the non-flat-rate status; in a non-flat-rate status, if even one flat-rate ink tank is mounted in the ink tank unit, printing will be restricted and become impossible; flat-rate ink tanks are prevented from improper use; ¶0053 in the printing apparatus of the printing system, printing is allowed or restricted based on the contract status of the printing apparatus , the color mode which is set in the print job, and the mounted ink tanks; ¶0055 the main controller 101 firstly requests the contract server 111 to transmit contract information of the printing apparatus 1. Based on this request, the contract server 111 transmits the requested contract information of the printing apparatus 1 to the printing apparatus 1. The printing apparatus 1 receives the contract information transmitted from the contract server 111 via the server I/F 110; ¶0057 if it is determined in S504 that the obtainment of the contract information is successful, the main controller 101 determines, based on the contract information, whether or not the printing apparatus 1 is within a flat-rate period during which a flat-rate service is provided (S506); ¶0062 disclosing shifting from the flat-rate to non-flat rate as needed or indicated by the contract based from the request; ¶0064; note that the user performs input or output operations of the printing apparatus (¶0045))
transmit, through the communication interface, a notification to a user of the image forming device in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, (Shiori Fig. 7B and ¶0063 disclosing the display screen (for the user) indicating the flat-rate condition being satisfied and available; see also ¶0064)
Shiori in view of Hattori discloses:
wherein the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable,
Shiori discloses notifying the user in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, but does not explicitly disclose that the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable. Hattori suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Hattori ¶0089 the server controller obtains the ink remaining-amount information of the contracted cartridge mounted on the pre-switched image forming apparatus from the image forming apparatus , and may determine whether the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge is equal to or less than a predetermined amount or not; the ink remaining amount threshold determines the condition for delivering the consumable (see ¶0088, ¶0092… the server controller 81 executes the cancelling procedure for the pre-switched image forming apparatus based on… the fact that the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge is equal to or less than the predetermined amount;, and ¶0093 disclosing server controller transmits the contract-switching-instruction to the post-switched image forming apparatus see also ¶0098, ¶0100; Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shioiri to include that the particular information includes threshold information of a remaining amount of the consumable as the condition for delivering the consumable as taught by Hattori. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Shioiri in order to associate the contracted consumables with the contracted device such that the contracted consumables are used for the identified contacted device (see ¶0005 of Hattori).
wherein the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein the controller is configured to notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold.
Shiori discloses notifying the user in response to the condition defined by the particular information included in the second contract information being satisfied after receiving the request to switch the contract from the first contract to the second contract, but does not explicitly disclose that the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein the controller is configured to notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold. Hattori suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Hattori Fig. 6 and ¶0098 determine whether the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge mounted on the pre-switched image forming apparatus is equal to or less than the predetermined amount or not; server controller can perform the determination of the remaining amount of ink by receiving the ink remaining-amount information of the contracted cartridge from the pre-switched image forming apparatus; server controller may determine that the remaining amount of ink of the contracted cartridge “is equal to or equal to or less than the predetermined amount” in a case where the contracted cartridge is empty (threshold); ¶0101 the server controller 81 may re-propose the switching plan to the user; the server controller may transmit a message for the re-proposal to the post-switched image forming apparatus or the user terminal; see also ¶0113; ¶0079 also discloses that notification of the ink remaining amounts for the cartridges may include words of “FULL” to “EMPTY” to the user, may be notified by numerals of “100%” to “0%” to the user, and may be notified by expressions combining the words and the numerals to the user, also ¶0031 discloses a current/contracted device or pre-switched, and the post-switched one which is a second separate contract apparatus that the user switches to, as explained earlier in above citations, once the remaining ink amount is equal to or below a threshold (e.g. empty); thus, since the switching occurs from the first/current contract when the ink is on empty, it is inferred that the second contract to which the user switches to after accepting a proposal to switch, is not empty; plus the citation in 0079 indicates that the notification of the remaining ink for the consumables may range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shioiri to include that the first contract information includes a first threshold as the threshold information for the first contract, wherein the second contract information includes a second threshold as the threshold information for the second contract, and wherein the controller is configured to notify the user in response to the first threshold being different from the second threshold as taught by Hattori. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Shioiri in order to associate the contracted consumables with the contracted device such that the contracted consumables are used for the identified contacted device (see ¶0005 of Hattori).
Claim 12: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to update the contract information stored in the memory from the first contract information to the second contract information. (Shiori ¶0062 in a case of being in a flat-rate status at the point in time in which this updating processing is being performed, the printing apparatus 1 maintains the flat-rate status, and, in a case of being in a non-flat-rate status, the printing apparatus 1 shifts to the flat-rate status; specifically, “flat-rate status” is stored in the non-volatile memory as the contract status. Further, if it is determined in S506 that the printing apparatus is not within a flat-rate period, the status shifts to the non-flat-rate status (S510), and this update processing ends; Specifically, “non-flat-rate status” is stored in the non-volatile memory 222 as the contract status; ¶0063 In the non-volatile memory 222, the stored contract status is updated to a new contract status; the contract status is periodically updated to the latest contract status)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
No prior art is applied to the following claims:
Claim 5: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to perform the notify the user, through the user interface, in response to the second threshold being greater than the first threshold and the remaining amount of the consumable being equal to or less than the second threshold.
Claim 6: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured not to perform the notify the user in response to the second threshold being smaller than the first threshold.
Claim 7: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to notify that the consumable will arrive in a case where the second threshold is smaller than the first threshold and the consumable has been delivered based on the first threshold.
Claim 8: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to notify the user regarding information used to confirm a destination of the consumable when performing the notify the user.
Claim 9: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to obtain information on a location of the image forming device and/or a destination where the consumable is to be delivered, and wherein the controller is configured to notify the user regarding the obtained information when performing the notify the user.
Claim 10: The consumable management system according to claim 1, wherein the first contract information includes location information on a location of the image forming device, wherein the controller is configured to: obtain current location information indicating a current location of the image forming device; and transmit a notification to the user in response to the particular information in the first contract information being different from the particular information in the second contract information, and the location information included in the first contract information being different from the current location information.
The closest patent or patent application prior art reference found that is relevant to the applicant’s invention is Shiori (2023/0182481) which discloses a printing apparatus to which a consumable part filled with a printing material can be detachably attached, so as to perform printing according to a color mode setting by use of the printing material filled in the consumable part whose type differs according to a contract. The reference does not appear to disclose the details of the dependent claims indicated above as allowable. The dependent claims appear to overcome the prior art.
The closest non-patent literature found that is relevant to the applicant’s invention is the publication “ Managed print service contract analysis system” (The IP.com Journal; 2012) which discloses proposing to estimate the value of the provided printing services based on the monetary gain of the customer instead of a combination of ad-hoc procedures and negotiations. The reference does not appear to disclose the details of the dependent claims indicated above as allowable. The dependent claims appear to overcome the prior art.
Additional Prior Art References
Additional prior art references found that are relevant to the applicant’s invention, but not relied upon in the prior art rejection includes:
Yamada (2022/0100440): The consumable determination process is to determine whether a particular consumable is included in one or more of consumables attached to the printing device, the particular consumable being a consumable that meets a prescribed condition required for transition to a specific printing state where specific printing under a contract with the server is allowed.
Mikami (2021/0237494): discloses ordering a consumable according to contract information is to be provided. In a printing apparatus that is connected to an ordering apparatus that orders a consumable and configured to perform printing with consumption of a consumable, a first obtaining unit obtains a degree of consumption of a consumable and information related to a consumable, and a second obtaining unit obtains information related to a contract for the printing apparatus.
Shirai (2021/0303225): discloses an information processing apparatus capable of performing appropriate processing under a predetermined usage agreement. The information processing apparatus that communicates with a server saving agreement information and obtains the agreement information in a case where the information processing apparatus is in a second state in which a predetermined service is available.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIONE N. SIMPSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/DIONE N. SIMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629