DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/10/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,403,015 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities and Lines 1-4 should be amended as follows: “1. (Currently Amended) A method of using an expandable intervertebral device having a body, an endplate, and a shaft, comprising: providing the expandable intervertebral device; rotating [[a]] the shaft in a first rotational direction within the body to translate [[an]] the end plate in a first axial direction;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities and Line 1 should be amended as follows: “wherein the expandable intervertebral device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities and Line 3 should be amended as follows: “the expandable intervertebral device further comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities and should be amended as follows:
“15. (Currently Amended) A method of using an expandable intervertebral device having a body, an endplate, a shaft, and a first gear sleeve, comprising: providing the expandable intervertebral device; rotating [[a]] the shaft within the body in a first rotational direction about a longitudinal axis of the shaft so as to rotate [[a]] the first gear sleeve about an axis extending in a first axial direction transverse to the longitudinal axis, the rotation of the first gear sleeve causing a post connected to [[an]] the end plate
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 at Lines 3-4 recites “wherein locking the end plate includes the resistance force being applied from the taper of the shaft being received in the opening of the locking mechanism.” and Claim 4 recites “unlocking the end plate by applying a pushing force to the shaft to separate the taper of the shaft and the opening of the locking mechanism.” which renders the claim indefinite as it appears from the specification that the shaft taper and tapered opening locking mechanism is disclosed as an alternative embodiment of locking mechanism and there are no embodiments which contain both a locking mechanism with ratchet teeth and a tapered shaft/opening locking mechanism together in the same embodiment. Thus, it appears that claims 3-4 are drawn to a separate embodiment and it is unclear if both locking mechanisms are being recited in the same device or otherwise. If this is the case, it is suggested that claim 1 be amended to recite both locking mechanisms in the alternate so that Claims 3-4 can remain drawn to and further clarify the specific tapered locking mechanism. If not, claims 3-4 must be amended to remove the tapered limitations or canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 17-20, & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jimenez et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2011/0160861).
Regarding Claim 15, Jimenez et al. discloses a method of using (Figs. 10A-10D, Paragraph [0086]) an expandable device (fusion device 500, Fig. 10A) having a body (550, Fig. 10A), comprising: rotating a shaft (worm 540, Fig. 10A) within the body (Fig. 10B) in a first rotational direction (clockwise or counter clockwise) about a longitudinal axis of the shaft (central axis running through entire length of 540) so as to rotate a first gear sleeve (right geared sleeve 520, Fig. 10A) about an axis (vertical axis running centrally through height of right 520, Fig. 10D) extending in a first axial direction (vertical direction) transverse to the longitudinal axis, the rotation of the first gear sleeve causing a post (right threaded post 511, Fig. 10A, Paragraph [0086]) connected to an end plate (upper endplate 510, Figs. 10A, 10D) of the expandable device to translate (upwardly downwardly in the vertical direction) with respect to the first gear sleeve along the first axial direction (Paragraph [0086]), the first gear sleeve defining a channel (central opening extending vertically through right 520, Fig. 10A) receiving the post of the end plate therein (Fig. 10D), wherein the post connected to the end plate translates (in the vertical direction via 520) from a first position (partially expanded position as seen in Fig. 10D) in which a stop plate (uppermost helical thread of 511, See examiner annotated Fig. 10D below) coupled to the post is spaced from a stopping surface of the first gear sleeve (uppermost portion of internal threading within 520, See examiner annotated Fig. 10D below); and stopping the translation of the post connected to the end plate at a second position (fully compressed position as seen in Fig. 1A & 5A for example of related embodiment) in which the stop plate abuts the stopping surface, thereby defining a limit of translation of the end plate.
Regarding Claim 17, Jimenez et al. discloses wherein rotating the shaft includes axially fixing the shaft with a pin (570, Fig. 10A) received in an indent of the shaft (Fig. 10C) while the shaft rotates (Paragraph [0086]).
Regarding Claim 18, Jimenez et al. discloses inserting an actuating mechanism (547, Fig. 10A) within an opening (hole formed through tip of 548 for 547, Fig. 10A) of the shaft.
Regarding Claim 19, Jimenez et al. discloses wherein the shaft has a first threaded section (543, Fig. 10A) and the first gear sleeve has gear teeth (Fig. 10A) engaged with the first threaded section (Paragraph [0086]), and wherein rotating the shaft further rotates the first gear sleeve due to engagement between the first threaded section of the shaft and the gear teeth of the first gear sleeve (Paragraph [0086]).
Regarding Claim 20, Jimenez et al. discloses wherein: rotating the shaft within the body in the first rotational direction drives a second gear sleeve (left geared sleeve 520, Fig. 10A) to rotate about a second axis (vertical axis running centrally through height of left 520, Fig. 10D) extending in the first axial direction (vertical direction), the rotation of the second gear sleeve causing a second post (left threaded post 511, Fig. 10A, Paragraph [0086]) connected to the end plate to translate along the first axial direction within a channel of the second gear sleeve (central opening extending vertically through left 520, Fig. 10A).
Regarding Claim 22, Jimenez et al. discloses a method of using (Figs. 10A-10D, Paragraph [0086]) an expandable device (fusion device 500, Fig. 10A) having a body (550, Fig. 10A), comprising: rotating a shaft (worm 540, Fig. 10A) in a first rotational direction (clockwise or counterclockwise) within the body to translate an end plate (upper endplate 510, Figs. 10A, 10D) in a first axial direction (vertical direction); locking the end plate in a first position along the first axial direction by engaging the shaft with a locking mechanism (threaded section 543 of worm 540 engage exterior threads with gear teeth of 520, Fig. 10A, Paragraph [0086]) applying a resistance force to the shaft to resist the shaft from rotating in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (“Once distracted, device 100 does not require a locking mechanism to maintain the desired height within the body. This is because, when driven backwards, the device exhibits a very high gear ratio which causes even the slightest friction in the system to overwhelm any amount of compression, torsion, or shear loading that might be applied to the device.”, Paragraph [0073]. Pin 570 further prevents the pin from sliding out of the body during distraction while the threaded interaction provides a counter resistance force in the opposite rotation direction of the worm 540.); and rotating a first gear sleeve (right geared sleeve 520, Fig. 10A) within a first opening of the body (internally threaded right opening through 550 for right 520/511, Fig. 10D) and about a first post (right threaded post 511, Fig. 10A, Paragraph [0086]) of the end plate, the first gear sleeve defining a channel (internally threaded lumen through right 520 for 511, Figs. 10A & 10D) threadably receiving the first post (Paragraph [0086]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glerum et al. (US PG Pub No. 2011/0319997).
Regarding Claim 21, Glerum et al. discloses a method of using an expandable device (10, Figs. 1-6, Paragraphs [0035-0051]) having a body (12, Fig. 2), comprising: rotating a shaft (actuation member 20, Fig. 2, Paragraph [0047]) in a first rotational direction (clockwise or counter clockwise, Paragraph [0049]) within the body to translate an end plate (upper endplate 14, Fig. 2) in a first axial direction (vertical direction); locking the end plate in a first position along the first axial direction by engaging the shaft with a locking mechanism (inserts 22 received in slits 88 of 20, Fig. 2) applying a resistance force to the shaft to resist the shaft from rotating in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (Paragraphs [0047, 0049]); and after locking the end plate, further rotating the shaft in the second rotational direction by applying a rotation force greater than the resistance force (when the device needs adjustment or replacement and the device is moved from the expanded configuration towards the unexpanded configuration, i.e. if the device is expanded by clockwise rotation of the actuation member 20, and the inserts resist 20 from rotating counterclockwise once the device has reached a desired expanded configuration, when the device needs to be adjusted or replaced and moved into an unexpanded configuration, the actuation member would be turned counterclockwise to move the endplates into a unexpanded configuration, Paragraphs [0006, 0060]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-2 & 7-14 are allowed.
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The previously indicated allowability of claims 2 & 12 are withdrawn in view of the new rejections above. See the rejections above for Claims 21 & 22 based on the newly cited reference(s).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s amendments, filed 09/10/26, have overcome the objection to claim 15.
The Applicant’s amendments, filed 09/10/26, have overcome the 112(b) rejection for claims 2, 15 & 16.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/10/26, with respect to the Jimenez 102(a)(1) rejection of independent claim 15: The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection using a new interpretation of Jimenez based on the newly added limitations to claim 15 which changed the scope of the claims. As seen in the office action above, Jimenez et al. discloses a method of using (Figs. 10A-10D, Paragraph [0086]) an expandable device (fusion device 500, Fig. 10A) having a body (550, Fig. 10A), comprising: rotating a shaft (worm 540, Fig. 10A) within the body (Fig. 10B) in a first rotational direction (clockwise or counter clockwise) about a longitudinal axis of the shaft (central axis running through entire length of 540) so as to rotate a first gear sleeve (right geared sleeve 520, Fig. 10A) about an axis (vertical axis running centrally through height of right 520, Fig. 10D) extending in a first axial direction (vertical direction) transverse to the longitudinal axis, the rotation of the first gear sleeve causing a post (right threaded post 511, Fig. 10A, Paragraph [0086]) connected to an end plate (upper endplate 510, Figs. 10A, 10D) of the expandable device to translate (upwardly downwardly in the vertical direction) with respect to the first gear sleeve along the first axial direction (Paragraph [0086]), the first gear sleeve defining a channel (central opening extending vertically through right 520, Fig. 10A) receiving the post of the end plate therein (Fig. 10D), wherein the post connected to the end plate translates (in the vertical direction via 520) from a first position (partially expanded position as seen in Fig. 10D) in which a stop plate (uppermost helical thread of 511, See examiner annotated Fig. 10D below) coupled to the post is spaced from a stopping surface of the first gear sleeve (uppermost portion of internal threading within 520, See examiner annotated Fig. 10D below); and stopping the translation of the post connected to the end plate at a second position (fully compressed position as seen in Fig. 1A & 5A for example of related embodiment) in which the stop plate abuts the stopping surface, thereby defining a limit of translation of the end plate. Thus, Jimenez discloses the claimed invention as stated in newly amended Claim 15 and the Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA WEISS whose telephone number is (571) 270-5597. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please contact the examiner’s supervisor, KEVIN T. TRUONG, at 571-272-4705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JESSICA WEISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775