Claim(s) 1 - 11 is pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the function received from the central computer" in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear which function of the multiple functions that have been recited corresponds with "the function received from the central computer"
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al. (US 20240208517 A1, hereinafter known as Kono) in view of Nakano (US 20050182497 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kono teaches A control system of a device having mobility, the control system comprising: standard controllers, each configured to be installed in one of a plurality of areas in the device, detect a signal related to a component connected to each of the standard controllers based on a signal database which stores or defines the signal related to the component, generate an input control signal including a signal Identifier (ID) and a state value according to the detected signal,
{Para [0055-0056] “Functional configurations of the device ECU 200, the zone ECU 300, and the central ECU 400 will be described below. In the following description, the device ECUs and the zone ECUs are generically referred to as a “device ECU 200” and a “zone ECU 300.” FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an example of the functional configuration of the device ECU 200. The device ECU 200 includes, for example, a first information acquirer 202 and a storage 204. The first information acquirer 202 acquires first information output from a device electrically connected thereto. The first information is, for example, an electrical signal. The first information includes, for example, detection results from the sensors in the devices, amounts of driving of actuators, whether there is an abnormality, and various types of other information. The storage 204 is, for example, a nonvolatile memory such as an electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM) or a flash memory. Software (programs) installed in the device ECU 200, configuration information on the device ECU 200, process results in the device ECU 200, and the like are stored in the storage 204. The configuration information includes, for example, hardware identification information and software identification information. The hardware identification information includes, for example, component numbers (hardware numbers) and unique IDs (serial numbers) of devices. The software identification information includes identification information (a software number) and version information of each module of software. The hardware number or the software number may include, for example, function types, configuration types, component types, variation information, and other supplementary information (for example, maker numbers).
FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of the functional configuration of the zone ECU 300. The zone ECU 300 includes, for example, a signal information extractor 302, a zone-side function controller 304, and a storage 306. The zone-side function controller 304 is an example of a “second function controller.” The signal information extractor 302 extracts signal information from the first information acquired by the first information acquirer 202 as the first process. For example, the signal information extractor 302 performs a filtering process of dividing the first information into signal information and noise information and outputs signal information acquired through the filtering process (noise-removed) to the central ECU 400.”
Para [0083-0085] “Instead of (or in addition to) switching the process details between the zone ECU 300 and the central ECU 400, details of signals to be transmitted or a transmission period may differ according to the communication band or the like. In this case, the central ECU 400 adjusts a traffic volume on the basis of a communication signal table stored in the storage 408.”
}
transmit the generated input control signal or detect an output control signal related to the component, and perform control related to the detected output control signal;
{Para [0073] “For example, when a lock instruction is input to the control application, the central ECU 400 (the central-side function controller 402) determines an operation of changing the door unit to a locked state as the first output process. The zone ECU 300 (the zone-side function controller 304) generates an operation command for turning on forward rotation of a mechanism locking the door unit for a predetermined time as the second output process and controls the actuator for performing an output operation (ON output) of switching a relay element rotating forward on as the third process.”
Para [0075] “When middle-speed driving with air-conditioning controller is performed, the central ECU 400 determines an operation of outputting a predetermined wind volume corresponding to middle-speed driving as the first output process. The zone ECU 300 generates an operation command for performing pulse width modulation (PWM) output with a first frequency and a fixed duty as the second output process and issues an ON/OFF instruction to the FET element as the third output process. When fade-in control with lighting control is performed, the central ECU 400 determines an operation of increasing illuminance by 1% to a predetermined illuminance in a predetermined time as the first output process and generates an operation command for performing PWM control with a second frequency and a variable duty as the second output process. The zone ECU 300 issues an ON/OFF instruction to the FET element as the third output process.”
}
a central computer configured to determine a first individual function serving as an input for a function from the input control signal, determine a second individual function corresponding to the first individual function according to a function database which defines the second individual function to be outputted in response to an input of the first individual function, and transmit an output control signal corresponding to the second individual function; and
{Para [0059] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the functional configuration of the central ECU 400. The central ECU 400 includes, for example, a central-side function controller 402, a communication condition detector 404, a switcher 406, and a storage 408. The central-side function controller 402 is an example of a “first function controller.” The central-side function controller 402 performs control for realizing a predetermined function of the vehicle M on the basis of the signal information extracted by the signal information extractor 302 as the second process. The central-side function controller 402 may perform various output processes on the basis of input information in accordance with a control application (software). For example, the central-side function controller 402 may perform a process (moving average filtering or the like) for ascertaining discrete signals as a continuous signal or a process for extracting meaning information (for example, increasing a wiper speed when an automatic wiper function is used and it starts to rain suddenly) required for a function side (application) from data and determining operation details for the corresponding device on the basis of the meaning information.”
Para [0062] “The storage 408 is, for example, a nonvolatile memory such as an EEPROM or a flash memory. Software (programs) installed in the central ECU 400, configuration information on the central ECU 400, process results in the central ECU 400, and the like are stored in the storage 408. Signal list information or communication signal information for ascertaining or adjusting details of signals input and output between the ECUs may be stored in the storage 408. The functions of the constituents of the ECUs illustrated in FIGS. 2 to 4 may be realized by software corresponding to the functions.”
}
wherein the signal database or the function database is updated
{Para [0054] “The software updater 500 updates software installed in each of a plurality of ECUs that control predetermined functions of the vehicle M (functions of the devices) mounted in the vehicle M through communication with an external device via the communication device 170. Updating of software includes, for example, version-up of software stored in advance in the storage provided in the EC, installation of new software in the storage, and deletion of unnecessary software from the storage. The software updater 500 selects a target ECU corresponding to updating details out of the device ECUs 200, the zone ECUs 300, and the central ECU 400 and updates software installed in the selected ECU. For example, when process details depending on a sensor on the device side are updated, software installed in the zone ECUs 300 is updated. When process details depending on functions or operations of the vehicle M are updated, software installed in the central ECU 400 is updated. Update of the device ECU 200 or the zone ECU 300 may be performed via the central ECU 400. In this case, software of the ECUs is received from the software updater 500, and the central ECU 400 updates the ECU to be updated.”
}
Kono does not teach, a gateway controller configured to transfer the input control signal and the output control signal between the standard controllers and the central computer, wherein the signal database or the function database is updated in response to addition, deletion or in-device movement of a component connected to the device.
However, Nakano teaches a gateway controller configured to transfer the input control signal and the output control signal between the standard controllers and the central computer,
{Para [0053] “The gateway device 110 is connected between the control device 100 and the controlled device 140 so as to enable communications with both of them, and accommodates differences in environments between the control device 100 and the controlled device 140. This configuration allows information exchange between the control device 100 and the controlled device 140 that are constructed in different specifications. Specifically, information data conversion is performed between the control device 100 and the controlled device 140. With this configuration, the gateway device 110 converts the information sent from the control device 100 to data information that can be interpreted and operated by the controlled device 140, and inputs the data information to the controlled device 140. Furthermore, the gateway device 110 converts the data information sent from the controlled device 140 to data information that can be interpreted by the control device 100, and inputs the data information to the control device 100. Based on the configuration, even if the control device 100 and the controlled device 140 are constructed not in the same specifications, the gateway device 110 can accommodate the differences in the specifications. This allows information exchange between the control device 100 and the controlled device 140 and allows highly versatile control for the controlled device 140.”
}
wherein the signal database or the function database is updated in response to addition, deletion or in-device movement of a component connected to the device.
{Para [0078] “Since the gateway device 110 has the driver 116 supporting the specifications of the controlled device 140, specifically the specifications of the controller 144, the gateway device 110 can convert control instruction information in the abstract specification format transmitted from the control device 100, to a control instruction matching the specifications of the corresponding controlled device 140. This allows reliable control of the controlled device 140. If the controlled device is to be replaced, by only mounting a driver supporting a new controlled device in the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 can control the controlled device without replacement of the application. Therefore, in the manufacturing system, a greater degree of flexibility is obtained in a combination of an application and a controlled device.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kono to incorporate the teachings of Nakano to update the database when a component is changed because it provides a greater degree of flexibility as discussed in para [0078]
Regarding Claim 2, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 1. Kono further teaches wherein the central computer further comprises a signal-mapping database which indicates or stores mapping information correlating the input control signal and the first individual function and mapping information correlating the second individual function and the output control signal.
{Para [0062] “The storage 408 is, for example, a nonvolatile memory such as an EEPROM or a flash memory. Software (programs) installed in the central ECU 400, configuration information on the central ECU 400, process results in the central ECU 400, and the like are stored in the storage 408. Signal list information or communication signal information for ascertaining or adjusting details of signals input and output between the ECUs may be stored in the storage 408. The functions of the constituents of the ECUs illustrated in FIGS. 2 to 4 may be realized by software corresponding to the functions.”
}
Regarding Claim 3, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 2. Kono further teaches wherein the signal-mapping database is updated in response to addition, deletion or in-device movement of the component connected to the device.
{Para [0054] “he software updater 500 updates software installed in each of a plurality of ECUs that control predetermined functions of the vehicle M (functions of the devices) mounted in the vehicle M through communication with an external device via the communication device 170. Updating of software includes, for example, version-up of software stored in advance in the storage provided in the EC, installation of new software in the storage, and deletion of unnecessary software from the storage. The software updater 500 selects a target ECU corresponding to updating details out of the device ECUs 200, the zone ECUs 300, and the central ECU 400 and updates software installed in the selected ECU. For example, when process details depending on a sensor on the device side are updated, software installed in the zone ECUs 300 is updated. When process details depending on functions or operations of the vehicle M are updated, software installed in the central ECU 400 is updated. Update of the device ECU 200 or the zone ECU 300 may be performed via the central ECU 400. In this case, software of the ECUs is received from the software updater 500, and the central ECU 400 updates the ECU to be updated.”
}
Regarding Claim 4, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 1. Nakano further teaches wherein when the component connected to the device is moved within the device, only a signal corresponding to the moved component is updated and wherein for a signal having a signal ID associated with the moved component in the signal database, i) standard controller information or an area information, ii) information of a driver or a switch detector to which the moved component is connected, and iii) pin information of the driver or the switch detector to which the moved component is connected are changed in accordance with the movement.
{Para [0078] “Since the gateway device 110 has the driver 116 supporting the specifications of the controlled device 140, specifically the specifications of the controller 144, the gateway device 110 can convert control instruction information in the abstract specification format transmitted from the control device 100, to a control instruction matching the specifications of the corresponding controlled device 140. This allows reliable control of the controlled device 140. If the controlled device is to be replaced, by only mounting a driver supporting a new controlled device in the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 can control the controlled device without replacement of the application. Therefore, in the manufacturing system, a greater degree of flexibility is obtained in a combination of an application and a controlled device.”
Para [0059-0060] “The database 118 is a storage unit that stores various data files. For example, if the database 118 stores a correspondence information list file that describes correspondence between the control request information and the driver control information, the server entity converts the control request information to the driver control information based on the data file stored in the database 118. If the database 118 stores a correspondence information list file that describes correspondence between the driver control information and the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command), the driver 116 converts the driver control information to the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) based on the data file stored in the database 118.
The database 118 stores a resource-name conversion file 126. The resource-name conversion file 126 is a correspondence information list that describes correspondence between a mounting address with particular bits and an attribute-value name (logical name) with particular bits that corresponds to the mounting address. The mounting address is provided in each interface of the controlled device 140 and the components thereof in capability description format. In the controlled device 140 and the components thereof, particular bits in a particular hardware register (word register, byte register) are often designated. The designation is performed with the mounting address in the conventional technology. However, the mounting address becomes a long description, which causes a mistake in designation to easily occur, and the specifications of the mounting address or the like are difficult to understand.”
}
Regarding Claim 5, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 1. Nakano further teaches wherein in response to addition or removal of the component connected to the device, a signal and an individual function related to the added or the removed component are updated in the signal database and the function database, wherein the signal corresponding to the added component is newly added to the signal database, wherein the individual function associated with the added component is newly added to the function database or added to an existing function, or the signal related to the removed component is deleted from the signal database, and the individual function associated with the removed component is deleted from the function database.
{Para [0078] “Since the gateway device 110 has the driver 116 supporting the specifications of the controlled device 140, specifically the specifications of the controller 144, the gateway device 110 can convert control instruction information in the abstract specification format transmitted from the control device 100, to a control instruction matching the specifications of the corresponding controlled device 140. This allows reliable control of the controlled device 140. If the controlled device is to be replaced, by only mounting a driver supporting a new controlled device in the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 can control the controlled device without replacement of the application. Therefore, in the manufacturing system, a greater degree of flexibility is obtained in a combination of an application and a controlled device.”
Para [0059-0060] “The database 118 is a storage unit that stores various data files. For example, if the database 118 stores a correspondence information list file that describes correspondence between the control request information and the driver control information, the server entity converts the control request information to the driver control information based on the data file stored in the database 118. If the database 118 stores a correspondence information list file that describes correspondence between the driver control information and the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command), the driver 116 converts the driver control information to the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) based on the data file stored in the database 118.
The database 118 stores a resource-name conversion file 126. The resource-name conversion file 126 is a correspondence information list that describes correspondence between a mounting address with particular bits and an attribute-value name (logical name) with particular bits that corresponds to the mounting address. The mounting address is provided in each interface of the controlled device 140 and the components thereof in capability description format. In the controlled device 140 and the components thereof, particular bits in a particular hardware register (word register, byte register) are often designated. The designation is performed with the mounting address in the conventional technology. However, the mounting address becomes a long description, which causes a mistake in designation to easily occur, and the specifications of the mounting address or the like are difficult to understand.”
}
Regarding Claim 6, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 2. Nakano further teaches wherein the central computer includes a connection software and at least one function software, wherein the connection software is configured to map the input or the output control signal and an individual function according to the signal-mapping database, and
{Para [0057] “The driver 116 converts driver control information to controlled-device control information (device correspondence command corresponding to each of the controlled devices 140). The driver control information is converted in the server entity 114 that is the converter, and is used to operate the driver 116. The controlled-device control information, to be transmitted to the controlled device 140, corresponds to the specifications of the controlled device and the components thereof. The controlled-device control information also corresponds to communication environment to be connected. The driver 116 converts the driver control information to the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) based on a correspondence information list that is stored in a memory 124 of the driver 116. The correspondence information list describes correspondence between the driver control information and the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command). It is noted that the correspondence information list is also possibly changed to a format in which it is stored in the database 118. The correspondence information list also includes reverse-conversion correspondence information used to convert a return value to data information that can be interpreted by the server entity 114 as a higher-order device. The return value is returned from the controlled device 140 to the gateway device 110 as data information that can be interpreted by the controlled device 140. It is noted that the reverse-conversion correspondence information may be stored discretely as a reverse-conversion correspondence information list. The return value mentioned here includes various pieces of information transmitted from a low-order device, such as abnormal value information, error value information, and operation confirmation information.”
Para [0076] “In the controlled device 140, the communicator 142 receives the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) from the driver 116 of the gateway device 110. The controller 144 controls the controlled device 140 and the components thereof according to the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) (step S14). The above-mentioned flow allows the control device 100 to control the controlled device 140. If there is any return value to be returned from the controlled device to the control device, the above process is reversely processed. More specifically, when a return value is to be sent from the controlled device 140 to the gateway device 110, the driver 116 performs reverse conversion so that the return value is converted to data information that the server entity 114 can interpret. The return value converted is transmitted to the server entity 114 and is reversely converted to return value information for transmission, to the control device, that the control device can interpret. The return value information converted is transmitted to the control device 100. The control device 100 receives the return value information and performs a predetermined process thereon.”
}
Kono further teaches wherein the function software is configured to determine the second individual function corresponding to the first individual function according to the function database.
{Para [0059] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the functional configuration of the central ECU 400. The central ECU 400 includes, for example, a central-side function controller 402, a communication condition detector 404, a switcher 406, and a storage 408. The central-side function controller 402 is an example of a “first function controller.” The central-side function controller 402 performs control for realizing a predetermined function of the vehicle M on the basis of the signal information extracted by the signal information extractor 302 as the second process. The central-side function controller 402 may perform various output processes on the basis of input information in accordance with a control application (software). For example, the central-side function controller 402 may perform a process (moving average filtering or the like) for ascertaining discrete signals as a continuous signal or a process for extracting meaning information (for example, increasing a wiper speed when an automatic wiper function is used and it starts to rain suddenly) required for a function side (application) from data and determining operation details for the corresponding device on the basis of the meaning information.”
}
Regarding Claim 7, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 6. Kono further teaches wherein the connection software is configured to transfer the first individual function or a response request for the first individual function to all function software modules associated with the first individual function, and the first individual function is mapped to the input control signal received from the standard controllers.
{Para [0059] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the functional configuration of the central ECU 400. The central ECU 400 includes, for example, a central-side function controller 402, a communication condition detector 404, a switcher 406, and a storage 408. The central-side function controller 402 is an example of a “first function controller.” The central-side function controller 402 performs control for realizing a predetermined function of the vehicle M on the basis of the signal information extracted by the signal information extractor 302 as the second process. The central-side function controller 402 may perform various output processes on the basis of input information in accordance with a control application (software). For example, the central-side function controller 402 may perform a process (moving average filtering or the like) for ascertaining discrete signals as a continuous signal or a process for extracting meaning information (for example, increasing a wiper speed when an automatic wiper function is used and it starts to rain suddenly) required for a function side (application) from data and determining operation details for the corresponding device on the basis of the meaning information.”
}
Regarding Claim 9, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 1. Kono further teaches wherein the signal related to the component is generated according to a standard signal structure, and wherein the standard signal structure comprises a signal identifier (ID), an indicator indicating whether a signal is an input signal or an output signal, activation state information of the signal represented as Active High or Active Low, standard controller or area information in the device to which the component is connected, information of a driver or a switch detector to which the component is connected, and pin information of the driver or the switch detector.
{Para [0084-0085] “FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of signal list information. The signal list information illustrated in FIG. 11 is, for example, information in which signal identification information, a transmitting-side EC, a receiving-side ECU, message information, a communication period, and bit arrangement information are correlated. The message includes specific data details included in a signal. The bit arrangement information includes information indicating what bit of the signal or information indicating in what place of the communication signal information the signal is arranged.
FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating communication signal information. In the communication signal information illustrated in FIG. 12, 30 types of signals (Signal A to Signal AD) and information for detecting a device (ECU) for transmission or reception or a data state (for example, detecting an abnormality or an error) such as alive counter or checksum are arranged in bits (0 to 7 bits) of 8 bytes (Byte 0 to Byte 7). In transmitting and receiving data, basic information may be transmitted to a transmission destination (a receiving side) in advance before a signal is transmitted, and information of a transmission source may be included in the basic information or information of a transmission source may be included in the header of the signal to be transmitted.”
}
Regarding Claim 10, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 1. Nakano further teaches wherein the gateway controller is configured to transfer the output control signal for the function received from the central computer to all of the standard controllers.
{Para [0076] “In the controlled device 140, the communicator 142 receives the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) from the driver 116 of the gateway device 110. The controller 144 controls the controlled device 140 and the components thereof according to the controlled-device control information (device correspondence command) (step S14). The above-mentioned flow allows the control device 100 to control the controlled device 140. If there is any return value to be returned from the controlled device to the control device, the above process is reversely processed. More specifically, when a return value is to be sent from the controlled device 140 to the gateway device 110, the driver 116 performs reverse conversion so that the return value is converted to data information that the server entity 114 can interpret. The return value converted is transmitted to the server entity 114 and is reversely converted to return value information for transmission, to the control device, that the control device can interpret. The return value information converted is transmitted to the control device 100. The control device 100 receives the return value information and performs a predetermined process thereon.”
}
Regarding claim 11, it recites a Standard controller device having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Additionally Nakano teaches a transceiver configured to transceiver a signal with a gateway controller or a central computer; and a controller configured to process the transceiver signal
{ Para [0054] “The gateway device 110 includes a first communicator 112, a server entity 114, a driver 116, a database 118, and a second communicator 120.”
Para [0055] “The first communicator 112 is a communication unit that communicates with the control device 100, and exchanges various information data therewith. When the control device 100 is to control the controlled device 140, the first communicator 112 receives the control request information transmitted from the control device 100. When various pieces of information are to be returned from the controlled device 140 and the gateway device 110 to the control device 100, the first communicator 112 transmits these pieces of information thereto.”
Para [0067] “The second communicator 120 is a communication unit that communicates with the controlled device 140, and exchanges various information data therewith. When the controlled device 140 is to be controlled, the second communicator 120 transmits the controlled-device control information (command) converted in the driver 116 to the controlled device 140. When various pieces of information are to be returned from the controlled device 140 and the components thereof, the second communicator 120 receives these pieces of information. Although the first communicator 112 and the second communicator 120 are separately explained here, the functions of the first communicator 112 and the second communicator 120 can be executed by one communicator.”
}
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al. (US 20240208517 A1, hereinafter known as Kono) in view of Nakano (US 20050182497 A1) and Nakaya (US 20210269047 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kono in view of Nakano teaches The control system of claim 7.
Kono in view Nakano does not teach, wherein the connection software is configured to include a database storing information on the individual function supported by each of the at least all function software modules.
However, Nakaya teaches wherein the connection software is configured to include a database storing information on the individual function supported by each of the at least all function software modules.
{Para [0010-0011] “To solve the above problems, according to the technology disclosed herein, there is provided an in-vehicle equipment control device for a vehicle having a plurality of sensors and a plurality of devices, the in-vehicle equipment control device including a control unit configured to receive outputs from the sensors and output control signals based on the outputs from the sensors to the devices, in which the control unit includes, as software components, a device driver layer having a hardware abstraction function and a device driver thereof, and a middleware layer provided above the device driver layer, in which the middleware layer includes a routing module that selects whether communication data output from the sensors is output as is or the communication data is subjected to predetermined processing and then output according to a type of the communication data, and a treatment module that performs the predetermined processing on the communication data, and in which the routing module has a function of outputting the communication data to the device driver.
According to the aspect, the routing module and the treatment module that centrally define the treatment and exchange of the data of the sensors are provided in the middleware layer. Accordingly, the API function program for data exchange does not need to be provided for each application and the man-hours of software development can be significantly reduced.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kono in view Nakano to incorporate the teachings of Nakaya to have a middleware layer interacting with all function software modules because because it reduces the man hours required for software development as discussed in para [0011]
Conclusion
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668