DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arensmeier et al. (US 2014/0266755).
Regarding claims 1 and 8: Arensmeier discloses a remote monitoring of equipment in order to predict parts failures, repair scheduling, safety, operational efficiency comprising:
monitoring signals created by a PLC associated with a piece of equipment using a monitoring device (316, 322) comprising hardware communicatively coupled to a PLC and operative to transmit information over a communications network (334);
transmitting signals from the monitoring device over the communications network to one or more databases (330, 372) stored on a server system comprising hardware and software communicatively coupled to the network;
a processor analyzing signals created by the PLC to determine the nature of the signals; and
the processor using the analyzed signals to send alerts to one or more mobile service devices operated by technicians when emergency maintenance is required for the piece of equipment [0072, 0073, 0085, 0087].
Regarding claims 2 and 9: Arensmeier discloses monitoring the piece of equipment with a pressure sensor [0071].
Regarding claims 4 and 11: Arensmeier discloses monitoring the piece of equipment with a temperature sensor [0084, 0110-0112].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-7, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arensmeier et al. (US 2014/0266755) in view of Leblond (US 2009/0289788).
Regarding claims 3, 5-7, 10 and 12-14: Arensmeier does not disclose the motion sensor, light sensor or camera. Leblond discloses a remote monitoring system comprising the utilization of motion sensor, light sensor and cameras [0066, 0058, 0061, 0068-0070]. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to utilize different type of sensor to effectively monitor a particular environment condition from the plurality of environmental conditions associated with the equipment being monitored.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Furem et al. (US 7,689,394) discloses system and method for remotely analyzing machine performance.
-O’Neal et al. (US 2009/0140872) discloses system and method for maintaining machine operation.
-Furem et al. (US 7,406,399) discloses system and method for distributed reportingof machine performance.
-Thouin et al. (US2006/0132321) disclose a universal equipment process monitor.
-Miyasaka et al. (US 2007/0118333) discloses a machinery facility condition monitoring method and system and abnormality diagnosis system.
-Twerdochlib et al. (US 2007/0063859) discloses a power generator and power generator auxiliary monitoring.
/TOAN N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2684 5/1/26