DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 11/7/2016, the requirements 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) are met.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited on a Form PTO 1449 have been considered.
Specification
The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, Claim 2 recites, inter alia, “second control different from the first control so as to generate the first recorded item and the second recorded item” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as “first recorded item” is only defined in Claim 1 for the first control rather than the second control.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayakawa (U.S. 2023/0191808 A1).
Hayakawa discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, a recording apparatus (11A, §§0114-0134 and Figs. 7-9) comprising:
a recorder (22, §§0041, 0114-0134 and Figs. 7-9) configured to record an image on a recording medium;
a cutter (110, §§0041, 0114 and Figs. 7-9) configured to cut the recording medium at a cutting position so as to divide the recording medium into a first medium and a second medium;
a conveyor (31, §§0047-0060, 0114 and Figs. 7-9) configured to convey the recording medium toward the recorder along a first conveyance route (e.g. 30c, §§0045-0048, 0061-0062, 0114, 0117 and Figs. 7-9)
a controller (58, §§0064, 0073, 0117-0129 and Fig. 4), wherein:
the cutting position is located upstream of the recorder in the first conveyance route (Fig. 7);
the controller is configured to execute first control so as to generate a first recorded item being the first medium on which a first image is recorded and a second recorded item being the second medium on which a second image is recorded; and
the first control includes:
a first recording process of causing the recorder to record the first image and the second image on a first objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the first control (§0120, 0124-0134);
a first conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the first objective recording medium so that a cutting planned position of the first objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the first recording process (§0121, 0133-0134); and
a first cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the first objective recording medium after the first conveying process (§0121, 0133-0134).
Regarding Claim 3, wherein:
the recording medium has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (§0127;
the conveyor is configured to perform:
first conveyance of conveying the recording medium along the first conveyance route so that the first surface faces the recorder (§§0116-0123 and Figs. 8A-D); and
second conveyance of conveying the recording medium from the first conveyance route to the first conveyance route via a second conveyance route so that a state that the first surface faces the recorder is changed to a state that the second surface faces the recorder, the second conveyance route branching from the first conveyance route at a branching point in the first conveyance route and joining the first conveyance route at a joining point which is located upstream of the branching point and the cutting position in the first conveyance route (§§0124-0134 and Figs. 9A-D); and
in the first conveying process, the controller is configured to cause the conveyor to perform the second conveyance (§§0124-0134 and Figs. 9A-D).
Regarding Claim 6, wherein the branching point is located upstream of the recorder in the first conveyance route (Figs. 7-9).
Regarding Claim 7, wherein the branching point is located downstream of the cutting position in the first conveyance route (Figs. 7-9).
Regarding Claim 8, wherein the branching point is located upstream of the cutting position in the first conveyance route (Figs. 7-9; please note that the medium passes the cutting position twice, both before and after passing the branching point, when double-sided printing is executed).
Regarding Claim 9, wherein the branching point is located downstream of the recorder in the first conveyance route (Figs. 7-9; please note that the medium passes the cutting position twice, both before and after passing the branching point, when double-sided printing is executed).
Regarding Claim 10, wherein the first conveying process includes causing the conveyor to convey the first objective recording medium along the first conveyance route from downstream toward upstream of the first conveyance route until the cutting planned position of the first objective recording medium is located at the cutting position (§0134).
Regarding Claim 12, wherein the recording medium has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Figs. 7-9).
Regarding independent Claim 15, a control method of a recording apparatus (11A, §§0114-0134 and Figs. 7-9), the recording apparatus including:
a recorder (22, §§0041, 0114-0134 and Figs. 7-9) configured to record an image on a recording medium;
a cutter (110, §§0041, 0114 and Figs. 7-9) configured to cut the recording medium at a cutting position so as to divide the recording medium into a first medium and a second medium; and
a conveyor (31, §§0047-0060, 0114 and Figs. 7-9) configured to convey the recording medium toward the recorder along a first conveyance route (e.g. 30c, §§0045-0048, 0061-0062, 0114, 0117 and Figs. 7-9),
wherein the cutting position is located upstream of the recorder in the first conveyance route (Fig. 7),
the control method comprising executing first control so as to generate a first recorded item being the first medium on which a first image is recorded and a second recorded item being the second medium on which a second image is recorded,
wherein the first control includes:
a first recording process of causing the recorder to record the first image and the second image on a first objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the first control (§0120, 0124-0134);
a first conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the first objective recording medium so that a cutting planned position of the first objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the first recording process (§0121, 0133-0134);; and
a first cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the first objective recording medium after the first conveying process (§0121, 0133-0134).
Regarding independent Claim 16, a non-transitory and computer-readable medium (582, §§0073, 0114 and Fig. 4) storing a program executable by a controller (58, §§0064, 0073, 0117-0129 and Fig. 4) of a recording apparatus (11A, §§0114-0134 and Figs. 7-9), the recording apparatus including:
a recorder (22, §§0041, 0114-0134 and Figs. 7-9) configured to record an image on a recording medium;
a cutter (110, §§0041, 0114 and Figs. 7-9) configured to cut the recording medium at a cutting position so as to divide the recording medium into a first medium and a second medium;
a conveyor (31, §§0047-0060, 0114 and Figs. 7-9) configured to convey the recording medium toward the recorder along a first conveyance route (e.g. 30c, §§0045-0048, 0061-0062, 0114, 0117 and Figs. 7-9); and
the controller,
wherein the cutting position is located upstream of the recorder in the first conveyance route (Fig. 7),
the program is configured to cause the controller to execute first control so as to generate a first recorded item being the first medium on which a first image is recorded and a second recorded item being the second medium on which a second image is recorded (§0120-0134),
wherein the first control includes:
a first recording process of causing the recorder to record the first image and the second image on a first objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the first control (§0120, 0124-0134);
a first conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the first objective recording medium so that a cutting planned position of the first objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the first recording process (§0121, 0133-0134); and
a first cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the first objective recording medium after the first conveying process (§0121, 0133-0134).
Hayakawa does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein: the controller is configured to: determine which one of a first mode and a second mode has been selected, the second mode having a recording speed lower than a recording speed of the first mode; and in a case where the controller determines that the first mode has been selected, the controller is configured to execute second control different from the first control so as to generate the first recorded item and the second recorded item; and the second control includes: a second recording process of causing the recorder to record at least a part of the first image on a second objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the second control; a second conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium so that the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the second recording process; a second cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the second objective recording medium after the second conveying process; and a third recording process of causing the recorder to record the second image on the second medium obtained by cutting the second objective recording medium, after the second cutting process.
However, these limitations amount to a manner of operating the device. The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. Please see MPEP §2141 II.
Regarding Claim 4, wherein: the controller is configured to execute second control different from the first control so as to generate a third recorded item being the first medium on which a third image is recorded and the second medium on which no image is recorded; the second control includes:a second recording process of causing the recorder to record the third image on a second objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the second control;a second conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium so that the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the second recording process; anda second cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the second objective 2 recording medium after the second conveying process; and in the second conveying process, the controller is configured to cause the conveyor to perform the second conveyance.
However, these limitations amount to a manner of operating the device. The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. Please see MPEP §2141 II.
Regarding Claim 5, wherein: the controller is configured to execute second control different from the first control so as to generate a third recorded item being the first medium which has an image A recorded on the first surface and an image B recorded on the second surface, and a fourth recorded item being the second medium which has an image C recorded on the first surface and an image D recorded on the second surface; the second control includes: a first surface-recording process of causing the recorder to record the image A and the image C on the first surface of a second objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the second control; a second surface-recording process of causing the conveyor to perform the second conveyance after the first surface-recording process, and of causing the recorder to record the image B and the image D on the second surface of the second objective recording medium; a second conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium so that the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the second surface-recording process; and a second cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the second objective recording medium after the second conveying process; and in the second conveying process, the controller is configured to cause the conveyor to perform the second conveyance.
However, these limitations amount to a manner of operating the device. The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. Please see MPEP §2141 II.
Regarding Claim 11, wherein: the controller is configured to execute second control different from the first control so as to generate a third recorded item being the first medium on which a third image is recorded and the second medium on which no image is recorded; the second control includes: a second recording process of causing the recorder to record the third image on a second objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the second control; a second conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium so that the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the second recording process; and a second cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the second objective recording medium after the second conveying process; and the second conveying process includes causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium along the first conveyance route from downstream toward upstream of the first conveyance route until the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position.
However, these limitations amount to a manner of operating the device. The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. Please see MPEP §2141 II.
Regarding Claim 12, the conveyor is configured to perform: first conveyance of conveying the recording medium along the first conveyance route so that the first surface faces the recorder; and second conveyance of conveying the recording medium from the first conveyance route to the first conveyance route via a second conveyance route so that a state that the first surface faces the recorder is changed to a state that the second surface faces the recorder, the second conveyance route branching from the first conveyance route at a branching 4 point in the first conveyance route and joining the first conveyance route at a joining point which is located upstream of the branching point and the cutting position in the first conveyance route; the controller is configured to execute second control different from the first control so as to generate a third recorded item being the first medium which has an image A recorded on the first surface and an image B recorded on the second surface, and a fourth recorded item being the second medium which has an image C recorded on the first surface and an image D recorded on the second surface; the second control includes: a first surface-recording process of causing the recorder to record the image A and the image C on the first surface of a second objective recording medium being the recording medium which is single and which is an object of the second control; a second surface-recording process of causing the conveyor to perform the second conveyance after the first surface-recording process, and of causing the recorder to record the image B and the image D on the second surface of the second objective recording medium; a second conveying process of causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium so that the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position after the second surface-recording process; and a second cutting process of causing the cutter to cut the second objective recording medium after the second conveying process; and the second conveying process includes causing the conveyor to convey the second objective recording medium along the first conveyance route from downstream toward upstream of the first conveyance route until the cutting planned position of the second objective recording medium is located at the cutting position.
However, these limitations amount to a manner of operating the device. The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. Please see MPEP §2141 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa (U.S. 2023/0191808 A1).
Hayakawa discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 14, all limitations of Claim 1 (from which this Claim depends).
Hayakawa does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 14, wherein a distance from the recorder to the cutting position in the first conveyance route is 182 mm or less. However, Figs. 8-9 of Hayakawa strongly suggest a distance from the recorder to the cutting position in the first conveyance route being far less than the size of the medium M. Furthermore, Hayakawa discloses cutter positioning as one of the ways to advantageously reduce the size of the printing apparatus. Medium M is, in turn, known to typically not exceed the A4 size, with the maximum dimension of 297 mm. Please see MPEP §2144.05 I for obviousness of overlapping ranges.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa (U.S. 2023/0191808 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Miura (U.S. 2021/0178785 A1).
Hayakawa discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, all limitations of Claim 1 (from which this Claim depends).
Hayakawa does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, a container which is configured to accommodate a plurality of the recording medium having mutually different lengths along the first conveyance route, wherein a distance from the recorder to the cutting position in the first conveyance route is smaller than a half of a length of a recording medium having the length which is greatest among the plurality of the recording medium.
Miura discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, a container which is configured to accommodate a plurality of the recording medium having mutually different lengths along the first conveyance route (§0129). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the container of Miura to the recording apparatus of Hayakawa to enable printing on various available media.
Miura does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, wherein a distance from the recorder to the cutting position in the first conveyance route is smaller than a half of a length of a recording medium having the length which is greatest among the plurality of the recording medium. However, Figs. 8-9 of Hayakawa strongly suggest a distance from the recorder to the cutting position in the first conveyance route being far less than the size of the medium M. Furthermore, Hayakawa discloses cutter positioning as one of the ways to advantageously reduce the size of the printing apparatus. Please see MPEP §2144.05 I for obviousness of overlapping ranges.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER D SHENDEROV/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853