DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Veloz et al. (US 20230331532 A1).
Claim 1, Veloz discloses a monolithic handle (208; FIG 7B; [0043]) having a plurality of fluid inlet ports (302, 304, 306, 704; FIG 8A, 9A) and a plurality of fluid outlet ports (216, 240, 308; FIG 6C, 7B, 8A, 9A, 11A);
a plurality of valves (106, 202, 206; FIG 2, 9A; [0038]) situated within the handle, each valve movable in response to actuation;
a plurality of internal fluid channels (702; FIG 7A-B, 9A-9B; [0030], [0063] - [0065]) integrally formed within the monolithic handle, each internal fluid channel possessing smooth walls without irregularities;
wherein a first internal fluid channel (see fluid channel coupling an inlet; FIG 8A-9A) of the plurality of internal fluid channels fluidly couples a first fluid inlet port of the plurality of fluid inlet ports to a first valve of the plurality of valves; and
wherein a second internal fluid channel (see fluid channel coupling an inlet; FIG 8A-9A) of the plurality of internal fluid channels fluidly couples the first valve to a first fluid outlet port of the plurality of fluid outlet ports.
Claim 2, Veloz discloses wherein a third internal fluid channel (see fluid channel coupling an inlet; FIG 8A-9A) of the plurality of internal fluid channels fluidly couples a second fluid inlet port of the plurality of fluid inlet ports to a second valve of the plurality of valves, and wherein a fourth internal fluid channel (see fluid channel coupling an inlet; FIG 8A-9A) of the plurality of internal fluid channels fluidly couples the second valve to a second fluid outlet port of the plurality of fluid outlet ports.
Claim 3, Veloz discloses wherein the first internal fluid channel contains a carbonated fluid ([0068]).
Claim 4, Veloz discloses wherein the second internal fluid channel contains the carbonated fluid ([0068]).
Claim 5, Veloz discloses wherein the first internal fluid channel includes a first turn of at least 30 degrees (FIG 9A).
Claim 6, Veloz discloses wherein the second internal fluid channel includes a second turn of at least 30 degrees (FIG 8A-8E).
Claim 7, Veloz discloses wherein the first internal fluid channel has a cross-sectional area that is substantially circular in shape from the first fluid inlet port to the first valve (FIG 8E).
Claim 8, Veloz discloses wherein the second internal fluid channel has a cross-sectional area that is substantially circular in shape from the first valve to the first fluid outlet port (FIG 8E).
Claim 9, Veloz discloses wherein the third internal fluid channel contains a non-carbonated fluid (Veloz discloses the same structure as is claimed and is therefore inherently capable of carrying the same function).
Claim 10, Veloz discloses wherein the fourth internal fluid channel contains the non-carbonated fluid Veloz discloses the same structure as is claimed and is therefore inherently capable of carrying the same function (Veloz discloses the same structure as is claimed and is therefore inherently capable of carrying the same function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veloz as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Scanlan et al. (WO 2019048212 A1).
Claim 11, Veloz substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on wherein the monolithic handle is formed of medical grade nylon powder.
Scanlan teaches wherein the monolithic handle is formed of medical grade nylon powder ([0050], [0057], [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Veloz with nylon as taught by Scanlan in order to reduce biofouling in the monolithic handle.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754