DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12294700 B2 in view of Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation, wherein, in the decoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used, in the instant claim 1. See the table below.
Samuelsson teaches wherein, in the decoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used (610 of fig. 8, inter prediction processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inter prediction of Samuelsson into the patent to improve the compression efficiency of a video signal.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12294700 B2 in view of Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation, encoding into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and wherein, in the encoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used, in the instant claim 2. See the table below.
Samuelsson teaches encoding into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS)) ([0135]), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0; [0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); wherein, in the encoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used (514 of fig. 7, inter prediction processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS, determined parameter, and the inter prediction of Samuelsson into the patent to improve the compression efficiency of a video signal.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12294700 B2 in view of Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation, obtains from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and wherein, when the image decoder decodes the image, at least inter prediction is used, in the instant claim 3. See the table below.
Samuelsson teaches obtains from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS) ([0135]), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0;[0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); wherein, when the image decoder decodes the image, at least inter prediction is used (610 of fig. 8, inter prediction processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS, determined parameter, and the inter prediction of Samuelsson into the patent to improve the compression efficiency of a video signal.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 of U.S. Patent No. US 12294700 B2 in view of Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation, encodes into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and wherein, when the image encoder encodes the image, at least inter prediction is used, in the instant claim 4. See the table below.
Samuelsson teaches encodes into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS) ([0135]), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0; [0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); wherein, when the image encoder encodes the image, at least inter prediction is used (514 of fig. 7, inter prediction processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS, determined parameter, and the inter prediction of Samuelsson into the patent to improve the compression efficiency of a video signal.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12294700 B2 in view of Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation, obtaining from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and wherein, in the decoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used, in the instant claim 5. See the table below.
Samuelsson teaches obtaining from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS) ([0135]), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0; [0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); wherein, in the decoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used (610 of fig. 8, inter prediction processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS, determined parameter, and the inter prediction of Samuelsson into the patent to improve the compression efficiency of a video signal.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12294700 B2 in view of Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation, encoding into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and wherein, in the encoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used, in the instant claim 6. See the table below.
Samuelsson teaches encodes into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS) ([0135]), wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0; [0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); wherein, in the encoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used (514 of fig. 7, inter prediction processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS, determined parameter, and the inter prediction of Samuelsson into the patent to improve the compression efficiency of a video signal.
Application 19/083,295
Patent US 12294700 B2
1. A method of decoding image data for one or more images, wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices, and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures, the method comprising:
obtaining, from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS),
first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture,
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and
decoding the image using at least the determined parameter,
wherein, in the decoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used.
3. A device for decoding image data for one or more images, wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices, and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures, the device comprising:
an information decoder which obtains, from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture;
a parameter determiner which determines a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture, and
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and
an image decoder which decodes the image using at least the determined parameter,
wherein, when the image decoder decodes the image, at least inter prediction is used.
2. A method of encoding image data for one or more images, wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices, and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures, the method comprising:
encoding, into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture,
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and
encoding the image using at least the determined parameter,
wherein, in the encoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used.
4. A device for encoding image data for one or more images, wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices, and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures, the device comprising:
an information encoder which encodes, into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture;
a parameter determiner which determines a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture,
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and
an image encoder which encodes the image using at least the determined parameter,
wherein, when the image encoder encodes the image, at least inter prediction is used.
5. A non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program instructions adapted to perform, when executed by one or more processors, a method of decoding image data for one or more images, wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices, and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures, the method comprising:
obtaining, from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture,
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and
decoding the image using at least the determined parameter,
wherein, in the decoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used.
6. A non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program instructions adapted to perform, when executed by one or more processors, a method of encoding image data for one or more images, wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices, and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures, the method comprising:
encoding, into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture,
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile; and
encoding the image using at least the determined parameter,
wherein, in the encoding of the image, at least inter prediction is used.
1. A method of decoding image data for one or more images, each image consisting of one or more tiles and being divisible into one or more slices, wherein a slice is capable of including a part of a tile, and the image is divisible into one or more subpictures, and the method comprises:
See claim 12 and 15 for (SPS)
obtaining information indicating a width of a subpicture and information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter associated with one or more slices included in the subpicture using the obtained information indicating the width of the subpicture and the obtained information indicating the height of the subpicture; and
Claims 2-5
decoding the one or more images using the parameter obtained from the determination.
2. The method according to claim 1 wherein the part of a tile is an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit, CTU, rows within a tile.
3. The method according to claim 1, further comprising defining one or more slices using: an identifier for the subpicture.
4. The method according to claim 1, further comprising defining one or more slices based on whether only a single slice is included in the subpicture.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein parameter associated with the one or more slices is a number of slices in the subpicture.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein when a slice comprises one or more parts of a tile, said slice is determined based on a number of rows or columns of Coding Tree Units CTUs to be included therein.
7. The method according to claim 1, further comprising obtaining from, a bitstream, information for determining one or more of: whether only a single slice is included in the subpicture; and a number of slices included in the subpicture.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the information for determining is obtained from a, Picture Parameter Set, PPS.
9. The method according to claim 7, wherein the information for determining is obtained from a, Sequence Parameter Set, SPS.
10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the subpicture comprises two or more slices, each slice comprising one or more parts of a tile.
11. The method according to claim 10, wherein the one or more parts of a tile are from a same single tile.
12. The method according to claim 1, wherein a slice consists of one or more tiles, said slice forming a rectangular region in the image.
13. The method according to claim 12, further comprising obtaining from the Picture Parameter Set (PPS), information for determining whether only a single slice is included in the subpicture.
14. The method according to claim 12, further comprising obtaining from the Picture Parameter Set, PPS, information for determining a number of slices included in the subpicture.
15. The method according to claim 12, further comprising obtaining from, a bitstream from the Sequence Parameter Set, SPS, information indicating whether a subpicture is used in a video sequence or not.
16. A device for decoding image data for one or more images, each image consisting of one or more tiles and being divisible into one or more slices, wherein a slice is capable of including a part of a tile, and the image is divisible into one or more subpictures, and the device comprises:
an information decoder which obtains information indicating a width of a subpicture and information indicating a height of the subpicture;
a parameter determiner which determines a parameter associated with one or more slices included in the subpicture using the obtained information indicating the width of the subpicture and the obtained information indicating the height of the subpicture; and
an image decoder which decodes the one or more images using the parameter obtained from the determination.
19. A method of encoding image data for one or more images, each image consisting of one or more tiles and being divisible into one or more slices, wherein a slice is capable of including a part of a tile and the image is divisible into one or more subpictures, and the method comprises:
providing, information indicating a width of a subpicture and information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter of one or more slices included in the subpicture using the information indicating the width of the subpicture and the information indicating the height of the subpicture; and
encoding the one or more images using the parameter obtained from the determination.
17. A device for encoding image data for one or more images, each image consisting of one or more tiles and being divisible into one or more slices, wherein a slice is capable of including a part of a tile and the image is divisible into one or more subpictures, and the device comprises:
an information encoder which provides, information indicating a width of a subpicture and information indicating a height of the subpicture;
a parameter determiner which determines a parameter of one or more slices included in the subpicture using the information indicating the width of the subpicture and the information indicating the height of the subpicture; and
an image encoder which encodes the one or more images using the parameter obtained from the determination.
18. A non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program instructions adapted to perform, when executed by one or more processors, a method of decoding image data for one or more images, each image consisting of one or more tiles and being divisible into one or more slices, wherein a slice is capable of including a part of a tile, and the image is divisible into one or more subpictures, and the method comprises:
obtaining information indicating a width of a subpicture and information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter associated with one or more slices included in the subpicture using the obtained information indicating the width of the subpicture and the obtained information indicating the height of the subpicture; and
decoding the one or more images using the parameter obtained from the determination.
20. A non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program instructions adapted to perform, when executed by one or more processors, a method of encoding image data for one or more images, each image consisting of one or more tiles and being divisible into one or more slices, wherein a slice is capable of including a part of a tile and the image is divisible into one or more subpictures, and the method comprises:
providing, information indicating a width of a subpicture and information indicating a height of the subpicture;
determining a parameter of one or more slices included in the subpicture using the provided information indicating the width of the subpicture and the obtained information indicating the height of the subpicture; and
encoding the one or more images using the parameter obtained from the determination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5, Samuelsson discloses a device for decoding image data for one or more image (fig. 8, a decoder for decoding an encoded video), having
a non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program instructions adapted to perform, when executed by one or more processors, a method of decoding image data for one or more images ([0020] a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause one or more processors of a device to signal a syntax element indicating an intended display width of each picture referring to a parameter set and signal a syntax element indicating an intended display height of each picture referring to the parameter set), wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2, [0033]), and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures ([0033] tiles, slices, and subpictures, [0297] num_slices_in_pic_minus1, sps_num_subpics_minus1), the device comprising:
an information decoder ([0472] entropy decoding unit 602 receives an entropy encoded bitstream. Entropy decoding unit 602 may be configured to decode syntax elements and quantized coefficients from the bitstream according to a process reciprocal to an entropy encoding process) which obtains, from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS) ([0073] sequence parameter set (SPS) and a DPS and a VPS may be optionally referenced by a SPS; [0135] As provided in Table 2, a NAL unit may include a sequence parameter set syntax structure. Table 4 illustrates the syntax structure of the SPS provided in JVET-P2001), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture ([0173] subpic_width_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY. The length of the syntax element is Ceil(Log 2(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)) bits. When not present, the value of subpic_width_minus1[i] is inferred to be equal to Ceil(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)−1; [0417] Tables 7A-7C, illustrate examples, according to the techniques herein, where a flag is signaled in the SPS indicating whether the intended display width and height are respectively equal to the width specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples and the height specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples;
[0174] subpic_height_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY. The length of the syntax element is Ceil(Log 2(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)) bits. When not present, the value of subpic_height_minus1[i] is inferred to be equal to Ceil(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)−1); [0417] Tables 7A-7C, illustrate examples, according to the techniques herein, where a flag is signaled in the SPS indicating whether the intended display width and height are respectively equal to the width specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples and the height specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples);
a parameter determiner ([0472] Entropy decoding unit 602 may determine values for syntax elements in an encoded bitstream in a manner consistent with a video coding standard. As illustrated in FIG. 8, entropy decoding unit 602 may determine a quantization parameter, quantized coefficient values, transform data, and prediction data from a bitstream) which determines a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture ([0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice. single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices. When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1; [0170] sps_num_subpics_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of subpictures. sps_num_subpics_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to 254; [0173] the width of the subpicture; and [0174] the height of the subpicture), and wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0; [0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); and
an image decoder which decodes the image using at least the determined parameter ([0490] decoding video data),
wherein, when the image decoder decodes the image, at least inter prediction is used (610 of fig. 8, inter prediction processing unit).
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6, Samuelsson discloses a device for encoding image data for one or more image (fig. 7, an encoder for encoding video), having a non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising program instructions adapted to perform, when executed by one or more processors, a method of encoding image data for one or more images ([0020] a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause one or more processors of a device to signal a syntax element indicating an intended display width of each picture referring to a parameter set and signal a syntax element indicating an intended display height of each picture referring to the parameter set), wherein an image is capable of including one or more slices (SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2, [0033]), and the image is capable of including one or more subpictures ([0033] tiles, slices, and subpictures, [0297] num_slices_in_pic_minus1, sps_num_subpics_minus1), the device comprising:
an information encoder (518 of fig. 7, [0406] and [0408] Entropy encoding unit 518 receives quantized transform coefficients and predictive syntax data (i.e., inter prediction data and motion prediction data. Entropy encoding unit 518 may be configured to perform entropy encoding according to one or more of the techniques described herein) which encodes, into a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS) ([0073] sequence parameter set (SPS) and a DPS and a VPS may be optionally referenced by a SPS; [0135] As provided in Table 2, a NAL unit may include a sequence parameter set syntax structure. Table 4 illustrates the syntax structure of the SPS provided in JVET-P2001), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture ([0173] subpic_width_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY. The length of the syntax element is Ceil(Log 2(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)) bits. When not present, the value of subpic_width_minus1[i] is inferred to be equal to Ceil(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)−1; [0417] Tables 7A-7C, illustrate examples, according to the techniques herein, where a flag is signaled in the SPS indicating whether the intended display width and height are respectively equal to the width specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples and the height specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples; [0174] subpic_height_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY. The length of the syntax element is Ceil(Log 2(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)) bits. When not present, the value of subpic_height_minus1[i] is inferred to be equal to Ceil(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples/CtbSizeY)−1); [0417] Tables 7A-7C, illustrate examples, according to the techniques herein, where a flag is signaled in the SPS indicating whether the intended display width and height are respectively equal to the width specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples and the height specified by pic_width_max_in_luma_samples);
a parameter determiner ([0406] intra prediction processing unit 512 outputs intra prediction data (e.g., syntax elements) to entropy encoding unit 518 and transform coefficient generator 504; [0472] Entropy decoding unit 602 may determine values for syntax elements in an encoded bitstream in a manner consistent with a video coding standard) which determines a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture ([0005] (i) a maximum width syntax element specifying a maximum width of each decoded picture referring to the sequence parameter set, (ii) a maximum height syntax element specifying a maximum height of each decoded picture referring to the sequence parameter set; [0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice. single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices. When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1; [0170] sps_num_subpics_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of subpictures. sps_num_subpics_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to 254; [0173] the width of the subpicture; and [0174] the height of the subpicture), and wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter ((SLICE0, SLICE1, SLICE2, Subpicture0, and Subpicture1 of fig. 2; [0033] the number of slices in the subpicture; [0344] num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of rectangular slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to MaxSlicesPerPicture−1, inclusive, where MaxSlicesPerPicture is specified. When no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1, the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0; [0346] slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile columns. The value of slice_width_in_tiles_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to NumTileColumns−1, inclusive; [0347] The value of num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice); [0348] slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of CTU rows for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile. The value of slice_height_in_ctu_minus1[i] shall be in the range of 0 to RowHeight[tileY]−1, inclusive, where tileY is the tile row index containing the i-th slice), wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile ([0347] num_slices_in_tile_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the number of slices in the current tile for the case where the i-th slice contains a subset of CTU rows from a single tile); and
an image encoder (518 of fig. 7), which encodes the image using at least the determined parameter ([0408] Entropy encoding unit 518 receives quantized transform coefficients and predictive syntax data (i.e., intra prediction data and motion prediction data). It should be noted that in some examples, coefficient quantization unit 506 may perform a scan of a matrix including quantized transform coefficients before the coefficients are output to entropy encoding unit 518. Entropy encoding unit 518 may be configured to perform entropy encoding according to one or more of the techniques described herein), wherein, when the image encoder encodes the image, at least inter prediction is used (514 of fig. 7, inter prediction processing unit).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
The applicant is currently considering filing a terminal disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejection. However, a terminal disclaimer has not been filed. Therefore, the non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
The applicant asserts that paragraphs [0170], [0173], [0174], and [0343] of Samuelsson do not disclose or suggest two of the key claim features that are directed to the main inventive concept of this case are: "obtaining, from a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS), first information indicating a width of a subpicture and second information indicating a height of the subpicture" and "determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture".
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. It is submitted that Samuelsson discloses and suggests two of the key claim features with other claim features that are disclosed in the patent application publication (US 20250220175 A1) in the table below.
Claim features
Claim features are disclosed in the patent application publication (US 20250220175 A1)
Claim features are taught by Samuelsson et al. (US 20230040376 A1)
an image is capable of including one or more slices, and
the image is capable of including one or more subpictures;
Figure 2, [0100]
Figure 2, PIC0-PIC3, SLICE0-SLICE2, Subpicture0-Subpicture1
[0033]
[0297]
obtaining, from
a Sequence Parameter Set (SPS),
[0115] the number of subpictures in the picture is coded with sps_num_subpics_minus1 syntax element
Figures 4B-4C and 5,
[0073]
[0135]
[0170] sps_num_subpics_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of subpictures. sps_num_subpics_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to 254
first information indicating a width of a subpicture and
[0115] The subpic_width_minus1[i] and subpic_height_minus[i] syntax elements signal the width and height of the i-th subpicture in CTU units
[0173] subpic_width_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY
[0417]
second information indicating a height of the subpicture
[0115] The subpic_width_minus1[i] and subpic_height_minus[i] syntax elements signal the width and height of the i-th subpicture in CTU units
[0174] subpic_height_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY
[0417]
determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture
[0142] single_slice_per_subpic_flag
Figure 2
[0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag
Figure 2
using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture,
[0142] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice. single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices.
[0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice. single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices.
[0170] the subpicture is defined
[0173] and [0174] the specified width and height of the defined subpicture
Figure 2 shows SLICE2 in Subpicture1
wherein the number of slices included in the subpicture is further used to determine the parameter, and
[0142]
When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1
(which is the number of subpicture defined at SPS level).
[0343]
When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1.
[0344]
[0346]
[0347]
Note: [0170] sps_num_subpics_minus1 is the number of subpictures in the range of 0 to 254, [0173]-[0174] the defined subpicture comprises the specified width and height, and Figure 2 shows SLICE0 and SLICE1 in Subpicture0
wherein the slice is capable of corresponding to an integer number of consecutive complete coding tree unit (CTU) rows within a tile
[0147] slice_height_in_tiles_minus1[i] [j] plus 1 specifies the height of the j-th rectangular slice in units of tile rows in the i-th subpicture.
[0347] slice_height_in_tiles_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th rectangular slice in units of tile rows
and encoding/decoding the image using at least the determined parameter,
Figures 10 and 11 for encoding /decoding
Figures 7 and 8 for encoding/decoding
wherein, in the encoding/decoding of the image, at least inter/intra prediction is used
In the encoding, fig. 10, 9413 for intra prediction, 9414 for inter prediction.
In the decoding, fig. 11, 9565 for intra prediction, 9566 for inter prediction
In the encoding, fig. 7, 512 for intra prediction, 514 for inter prediction.
In the decoding, fig. 8, 608 for intra prediction, 610 for inter prediction
The applicant asserts that as an initial point, applicant does not agree that "single slice per subpic flag" is a parameter associated with one or more slices included in the subpicture, but rather is a parameter associated with the subpicture(s) themselves. That is to say, whether or not subpictures contain one, or multiple, slices pertains to a property of the subpictures, not to a property of the slices.
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. It is submitted that Samuelsson discloses a parameter associated with one or more slices included in the subpicture ([0343] for single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice and figure 2 for SLICE2 in Subpicture1 and single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices and figure 2 for SLICE0 and SLICE1 in Subpicture0), so Samuelsson suggests a parameter as single_slice_per_subpic_flag associated with one or more slices in the subpicture as when single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 and 0.
The applicant asserts that we do not agree that Samuelsson discloses that "single slice per subpic flag" is determined using first information indicating the width of a subpicture, and second information indicating the height of a subpicture. Paragraph [0343] merely states that when equal to 1, numslicesin pic minusl is inferred to be equal to sps num subpicsminus1. The Office Action further refers to paragraph [0170] which simply defines sps numsubpics minus1 as specifying the number of subpictures - but this passage does not disclose or suggest that sps num subpicsminus1 is determined using the width or height of any subpictures. The Office Action has included a vague reference to paragraphs [0173] and [0174] which describe the "subpic widthminus1" and "subpic heightminus 1" syntax elements, however these paragraphs make no reference to "sps num subpics minus 1", "single slice per subpic flag", or any other slice-related parameters and there is no link between those two separate disclosures in Samuelsson whatsoever.
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. It is submitted that Samuelsson discloses paragraph [0343] for single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice and figure 2 for SLICE2 in Subpicture 1, paragraph [0343] for single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices and of figure 2 for SLICE0 and SLICE1 in Subpicture0, paragraph [0170] for sps_num_subpics_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of subpictures. sps_num_subpics_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to 254, wherein the subpicture has a width and height as shown in figure 2, paragraph [0173] for subpic_width_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY, paragraphs [0174] for subpic_height_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY. The disclosures disclose and suggest the number of subpictures is defined in sps_num_subpics_minus1 in figure 2 and paragraph [ 0170], the specified width and height of the defined subpicture in paragraphs [0173] and [0174]; the determined one or more slices in the defined subpicture in figure 2 and paragraph [0343], so the determined one or more slices is related to the specified width and height of the defined subpicture. Therefore, Samuelsson teaches determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture ([0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag) using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture (Subpicture0 and Subpicture 1 of Figure 2; [0173] for subpic_width_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY; [0174] for subpic_height_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY; and [0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice. single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices).
Samuelsson further discloses paragraph [0343] When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1, paragraph [0170] for sps_num_subpics_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of subpictures. sps_num_subpics_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to 254, which suggests the specified subpicture is at SPS level, and the figure 2 illustrates SLICE0 and SLICE 2 in Subpicture0; paragraphs [0173] and [0174] for the specified width and height of the specified subpicture, so the disclosure indicates the one or more slices in the specified picture that included the specified width and height for encoding and decoding.
It is noted that Samuelsson further discloses paragraph [0343] states When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1, which is the same paragraph [0142] of the patent application publication (US 20250220175 A1) states When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1 (which is the number of subpicture defined at SPS level). The paragraph [0343] of Samuelsson is the same as the paragraph [0142] of the patent application publication (US 20250220175 A1) that covers the claim features as wherein the number of slices ([0343] num_slices_in_pic_minus1) included in the subpicture ([0343] sps_num_subpics_minus1 defines the number of subpictures, e.g. figure 2) is further used to determine the parameter ([0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag and num_slices_in_pic_minus1).
Samuelsson further discloses determining a parameter associated with a slice included in the subpicture ([0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice, SLICE2 in Subpicture1 of fig. 2, single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices, SLICE0 and SLICE1 in Subpicture0 of fig. 2) using the first information indicating the width of the subpicture and the second information indicating the height of the subpicture ([0170] sps_num_subpics_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of subpictures, sps_num_subpics_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to 254, Subpicture0 and Subpicture 1 of figure 2, each subpicture comprises a width and height; [0173] and [0174] the subpicture has the width and height that are specified as subpic_width_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the width of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY and subpic_height_minus1[i] plus 1 specifies the height of the i-th subpicture in units of CtbSizeY; [0343] single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice, SLICE2 in Subpicture1 of fig. 2, single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist one or more rectangular slices, SLICE0 and SLICE1 in Subpicture0 of fig. 2. When subpics_present_flag is equal to 0, single_slice_per_subpic_flag shall be equal to 0. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1; wherein sps_num_subpics_minus1 is the number of subpictures at SPS level in paragraph [0170], SLICE0 and SLICE 1 in subpicture0 of fig. 2; wherein the width and height of the subpicture are specified in paragraphs [0173] and [0174]).
Since Samuelsson discloses sps_num_subpics_minus1 defines the number of subpictures in the range of 0 to 254 in paragraph [0170], the specified width and height of the defined subpicture in the range of 0 to sps_num_subpics_minus1 in paragraphs [0173], [0174], and [0343]; and one or more slices in the defined subpicture is specified in figure 2 and paragraph [0343], so the disclosures in figure 2 and paragraphs [0170], [0173], [0174], and [0343] link together to specify the width and the height of the defined subpicture and one or more slices included in the defined subpicture for encoding and decoding.
The applicant asserts that Samuelsson neither discloses nor suggests the use of information indicating the width and height of a subpicture to determine a parameter associated with one or more slices.
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. Samuelsson discloses the use of information indicating the width and height of a subpicture ([0173] and [0174]) to determine a parameter associated with one or more slices ([0343] and figure 2) as shown in the table above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425